Strangely warm for being February.

These photos are from last Sunday.

These photos are from last Sunday.

Hector got really upset after I’ve let them all in now when I came home from work. He talks loudly and this was really loud. I couldn’t understand what it was at first but then I saw it, Nova had taken his favorite blanket and was lying on it. I think he could have accepted her on it but she made sure there was no room for him on it too 🙂 That was at least a problem easily solved, I just called for Nova and the second she had left the blanket He calmed down and life was as it should be 🙂

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0061

 

I found the right brand of dogfood in the grocery store in the village where I work, it had arrived one day later, so now I have 20 kg (44 pound) with dogfood at home and it will last for two weeks but I’ll buy more of the right brand if I see it again just in case. I could drive to the factory myself and buy it there if the problems of finding it continues, it is some distance away but it would be worth it, anything to keep Hector happy 🙂

 

DSC_0064

DSC_0067

DSC_0068

DSC_0070

 

It looks as if we’ll keep this warmer weather for quite some time more according to predictions. Saturday will be a bit colder but after that we might get a day or two with spring temperatures again, very odd after all it’s only early February. Normally I’ll have a week with temperatures down to -30C (-22F) around now. I can’t say I miss it but the rime on the trees and bushes are usually spectacular when the temperature drops that much. Both nights and days are usually clear too and the wind absent so I never mind going out for walks on days like that (with lots of clothes and wrapped in the long, warm scarf I got from Joyce one winter.)

 

DSC_0071

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

 

It’s time for something to eat and I think I’ll have hot rose-hip soup. It’s more like a dessert than anything else and most people like to have it with whipped cream and almond macaroons. I don’t like whipped cream that much but the almond macaroons are delicious 🙂 too bad I don’t have any at home. But as we say here: One can’t get everything in life.

 

DSC_0076

DSC_0079

DSC_0080

DSC_0081

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I chucked at Hector and Nova. That little drama is played out multiple times a day in my house. Rocky does not want Piki Dog to have whatever it is that Piki Dog has at that moment. Rocky has a low frequency growl that is extremely annoying even though it’s barely audible. If Piki Dog is in his couch spot or playing with any toy, Rocky uses that growl to let me know that he is not pleased and I have to Do Something. Usually I get up and go to the kitchen because Piki Dog will follow and Rocky can steal the toy back or take his couch spot. In the middle of the night I am not so forgiving and I will snap at Rocky to suck it up and deal. 🙂

    It’s snowing here again. Or should I say it’s snowing here still? 🙂 And it is cold with even more snow and colder cold to come. 36 more days until spring. May they not be snowy days.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 12, 2015 at 7:16 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      🙂 Life with dogs isn’t easy 🙂 🙂 Hector is normally there long before Nova even think of that blanket but today I wouldn’t let him in before I had dried his weat fur and she had pulled the entire blanket so it all laid beneath her 🙂

      I’m not especially not especially forgiving in the middle of the night either 🙂 The only time I don’t snap at them is when it is Nova that wakes me up because that means Orvar most likely needs to go outside 🙂

      Strangely warm here and no snow or rain predictions for the coming seven days! This is my kind of winter 🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 12, 2015 at 7:21 pm

  2. jaz

    i sure am glad you can use that scarf so much! we are just the opposite here. we are going into the sub zero temps for the next week. but only an inch of snow. not my kind of winter at all. that is so cute about hector!

    February 12, 2015 at 8:27 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is odd that we have the opposite weather to what we normally have. I actually prefer when we don’t get any snow but have it cold anyway. I know the snow protects the plants but I don’t mind if a few plants say good buy 🙂

      He was so upset but didn’t know how to make Nova move 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 12, 2015 at 9:01 pm

  3. Våra älskade djur har en del egenheter för sig! Santos är ursnäll men…när det kommer till kloklippning så funkar det bara inte. Finns inte en möjlighet för mig att klippa dom. 😦
    Vår tax Brasse gillade det inte heller, men han var så snäll att man gjorde lite som man ville med honom. 🙂
    Penny, som var den tuffaste av dom tre, hatade det också tills hon upptäckte att man fick två pyttesmå bitar godis för varje klo. En för att hoppa upp bredvid mig och en som låg på ett knä och väntade tills klon var klar. Då kastade hon sig fram på en och ner på en sekund från soffan och tog biten i farten. Sen var det likadant för nästa klo….. 🙂 🙂
    Men så till Santos. Som en van utställningshund – och champion – som förmodligen fick klorna klippta väldigt ofta – och dessutom ljusa klor – trodde jag att med honom skulle det inte vara några problem alls. Ha! Han blir som en ål, en helt hysterisk ål!! 😦 😦 😦
    Min väninna med erfarenhet från massor av hundar och utställningar skrattade åt mig och sa att det där fixar jag direkt. Hon kom hem en eftermiddag, satt sig på golvet med benen utbredda och la Santos på rygg mellan dom. Sen fram med klosaxen (har två modeller). Efter en halvtimme gav hon genomsvettig upp och sa att det var den vildaste och räddaste hon träffat på! 👿
    Så idag har vi varit till vetten för att han skulle få lugnande spruta först och sen klippas. Men…jag sa ifrån att vara med utan satt mig i väntrummet utanför. Så försvann två tjejer med Santos och jag hörde ett jäkla tjut, sen hörde jag klippen och lite gnyn men inte mer. Det tog alltså inte 5 minuter ens och han hade inte behövt någon spruta! Yes!!
    Så inte bara att det blev betydligt billagare – 145 istället för 450 – så gick det fortare och han slapp sprutan. Jätteskönt! 😆
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    February 12, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Inga problem med kloklippning här, de ser ju ut som om jag misshandlar dem men låter mig göra det. Faktiskt ingen av mina hundar har haft problem med just kloklippning.

      Det gör ju aldrig något när man sparar pengar, borde räkna ut hur mycket mindre jag behövt betala för att klippa klorna på mina hundar, kunde blitt mycket pengar som jag kunnat spara om jag tänkt på att lägga undan 145 varje gång, för varje hund 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 12, 2015 at 9:06 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! You are so very lucky with the weather!! They are predicting our high for Saturday at -25 celcius. Enough already!! But I fear we still have March and most of April to deal with. Poor Hector! So funny that he makes noise when something is out of sorts. Our Tucker is like that when our Willow steals his “ducks”. And she has the nerve to growl at him when he tries to take it. Too funny. We are still freezing over here, no break in site I fear. And I have to go to the dentist after work. Not a fun day at all!! I hope your soup was delicious, I can’t quite figure out how it would taste since we only have rose hips in tea here. Have a nice night!!

    February 12, 2015 at 9:46 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Mars, April and even May can be nasty cold here so I fully understand You!

      Hector used to be more loud when he was younger, now it’s only when he’s really upset 🙂 Nova is like that, she can growl even when she knows she’s wrong 🙂 Nover towards Orvar though, he once taught her how to be polite 🙂 She bit him a couple of times the first week she moved here and finally he lost his good mood and showed what real pain is by biting her where it hurts the most 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Today is a bit cplder than yesterday and tomorrow will be even a bit colder but after that it will be warmer again. The plant life doesn’t like this at all though but I do concider me lucky with this warm weather 🙂

      It is delicious but I can’t compare it with rose-hip tea since I’ve never had that 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 13, 2015 at 4:19 pm

  5. Christer,
    It is snowing a bit right now, and we’ll get a couple of inches. Tomorrow the frigid air comes and the night will be 12˚. There will also be heavy winds. Saturday the big storm is coming. We are all sick of the snow and yet we have to abide more.

    Gracie doesn’t stay out long-she doesn’t like the cold. I don’t blame her.

    Have a wonderful evening.

    February 13, 2015 at 2:10 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It actually snows here on and off today, no such predictions but that’s no surprise really. But it is those tiny flakes that can fall an entireday without leaving much to talk about.

      It usually calms down here when it gets colder but it doesn’t seem to do that on Your side of the ocean. I hope the worst will miss You!

      It is so warm here that all my dogs like to stay outside a lot now, but when the temperature drops Nova usually wants to go inside quickly 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 13, 2015 at 4:26 pm

  6. Robin Larkspar

    Nova certainly knows how to push Hector’s buttons!! Good news about finding Hector’s dog food!! We are absolutely frigid here today. Not fun. Have a great weekend.

    February 13, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      I’m not sure she actually did this on purpose this time, normally she would have enjoyed it totally 🙂

      I was worried that somethging had happened to the dog food factory but it doesn’t look like that, thankfully!

      It will be a bit chilly tomorrow but after that it will turn towards warmer weather again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 13, 2015 at 4:28 pm

Leave a Reply

