It looked like fog.

Not especially much snow left on the ground, at least not where the sun might reach.

Not especially much snow left on the ground, at least not where the sun might reach.

I had two things I had to buy on my way home today, fire logs and The old boys medicine. There are two towns I can go to if I want to be sure to get both and a third if I’m willing to take a chance but only get the fire logs if unlucky. To be sure I can go to the town where the vet is, the pharmacies there always have this medicine or I could drive to Falköping since this is a horse/ dog medicine and there’s no county that has more horses than Falköping in the entire country. The third place is Skara but the pharmacy there doesn’t always have their medicine.

 

It looks like fog in the distance but it is snow falling.

It looks like fog in the distance but it is snow falling.

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

I didn’t feel like driving a long way in the opposite direction of home so I skipped the vets town and drove to Falköping instead even if that means I most likely will have to drive a longer distance. At least it is the right way, homewards 🙂 But first I stopped at the grocery store in the village where I work to get the last groceries I need for the weekend. Today I’ll make warm sandwiches with soft thin bread. I sort of make them as a pizza and when they are done I just roll them to a nice roll if You understand what I mean.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

It looked like I was driving in to fog when I almost had reached Falköping but it turned out to be tiny snow flakes. I couldn’t remember any predictions for snow but the town is located high up on the mountain so it isn’t unusual that the weather can be very different from what it is at home down below the mountain. I got the medicine and the fire logs and also a yellow Moth orchid (Phalaenopsis) I’ve never had a yellow before (well I don’t count those I had in my garden center because those I really wanted to sell and not keep 🙂 They were 50% off and since they are the easiest of flowers to keep and to flower again I thought it was worth it. It now lives in my bathroom by the tiny window.

 

DSC_0031

Bertil can be a little deamon sometimes but he's always nice when we're out on our walks.

Bertil can be a little demon sometimes but he’s always nice when we’re out on our walks.

DSC_0034

 

It didn’t snow here at home as I suspected so we went out for a long walk that lasted an hour and a half, half way through the snow started to fall here too and even more intensive than in the town 🙂 It is tiny, tiny flakes that can fall for hours without making any bigger impact. It is cold enough for it to stay though so now all trees are powdered with a thin layer of pure white snow. I thought it best to walk in the forest today since we most likely can’t tomorrow, tomorrow is the last day they’ll hunt here until the autumn again, except for the occasional time they’ll go after wild hogs.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

 

It is time to make a pot of tea and something to eat. All the animals have already eaten and are now sleeping all over the cottage. Sune sleeps right beside the radiator here in the kitchen, Hector and Nova sleeps in my bed and Orvar beside the tv upstairs. I think at least one cat sleeps in the living room and one here in the kitchen not far from the heat from the stove.

 

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’d probably be curled up right next to the fire stove, if I had one. 🙂 I only have dogs and they don’t always want to snuggle.

    It’s sunny here so the snow is blindingly white. It’s also very windy and very, very cold. It’s all the way up to 9ºF right now but the windchill factor makes it feel like -10ºF. I should go out and pick up a few groceries before the snow storm due tomorrow but it’s too bloody cold. The morning walk with the dogs was painful. Even they didn’t want to be out there. I am seriously considering a giant cat box in the cellar for them. Of course being the contrarian dogs that they are, they would probably refuse to use it and do their business on the floor next to it. 🙂

    Enjoy the day. I’m staying inside where it is relatively warm. 🙂

    February 13, 2015 at 5:31 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It gets a bit too warm that close to the stove to be honest 🙂 I wonder why Sune prefers to stay just beside the radiator though, he isn’t a dog that easily freeze. His fur can be so warm that it feels like it would melt 🙂 🙂

      We might get some sunshine tomorrow and thankfully no wind but the sun predictions are a bit optimistic I’m afraid. 9F isn’t nice but it could have been acceptable if it wasn’t for the wind! Normally we have no winds when it gets that cold here. I can only hope that if it get that cold here that if the wind blows it comes from south-east to north because then I won’t notice it here in my garden 🙂

      Stay inside and enjoy the day!

      Christer.

      February 13, 2015 at 5:39 pm

  2. oh such beautiful photos, you have had such an unusual winter, I really think I could send you several meters of snow, honestly, we have plenty to spare, its very cold here, I think we must have done something very wrong to be cursed with this cold extreme weather and snow!!! I cannot for the life of me imagine having that medical test that I spoke of on my blog today done with no medication oh my gosh, you poor man, you are very brave!

    February 13, 2015 at 6:15 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m honest when I say that I hope You keep those meters of snow for Yourself 🙂 🙂 :-)I can’t say I miss it especially much 🙂 But I agree, we are having one of the warmest winters since they started to record weather.

      It is the climate change/ greenhouse effect that makes these odd winters and it will only get worse with time. Next time however it might be we who has the terrible one and You the warm.

      I would say I was desperate since I had no way to get home otherwise 🙂 🙂 It was a truly horriffic experiense and I hope I never have to go through it again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 13, 2015 at 7:34 pm

  3. Bertil is a bit of a demon? 🙂 Yeah! I know! He is a TOM cat and has to have some serious spirit if he is to wander in the forest. I’m sure he runs into other neighborhood cats that would like to take over his territory!! GO Bertil!!
    Nothing but blue skies and soft breezes here. It’s beautiful and climbing to 76 degree’s at least, maybe it will even make it to 80 like it did last week.

    About the hunters. I’m sure you are used to them..but don’t you ever worry a stray bullet is possible?

    February 13, 2015 at 9:28 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      He sure is here at home but he changes totally when we’re out walking. I’m even allowed to scratch him behind his ears 🙂

      He’s always in fights and the only time he’s nice to me here in the cottage is when he wants me to take care of his wounds 🙂 But he has a friend in Salmiak, the cat that looks very much like him. Today Salmiak almost was prepared to accept the dogs because he wanted to visit Bertil 🙂

      I wouldn’t mind Your temperatures 🙂 80 is what we have here when it’s really hot in summer 🙂

      I’m not worried about stray bullets from these hunters, they never shoot towards the village and they have people out controlling no one enters the area and big signs that tell us that they are out there hunting. Too bad not all hunters are acting the same way.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 13, 2015 at 9:41 pm

  4. Det låter så mysigt när du berättar var dina djur sover någonstans! 🙂 Både gubben och jag skulle gärna ha haft fler djur, men i yngre dagar skulle vi inte ha hunnit med (lite jobbigt när man bor i storstan och dessutom har ett företag att sköta) och numera är vi för gamla för att orka. Dessutom kan vi inte ha katt här utmed landsvägen, vi skulle oroa ihjäl oss! 😦 😦
    Men…vi får vara glada över att vi i alla fall tog vårt förnuft tillfånga och skaffade oss lilla underbara Santos. Livet skulle ha varit enormt trist utan honom….. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    STOR HJÄRTLIG KRAM ❤
    Susie

    February 14, 2015 at 10:03 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst är det mysigt, i alla fall om jag lyckats få av Hector all skit han har i pälsen innan han skuttar upp i sängen 🙂 🙂 Kalla vintrar och torra somrar är problemfria dock 🙂

      Det gäller ju, som du säger, att man har tiden och orken. Visst skulle det vara tomt och trist utan något här, men jag skulle vilja resa utomlands någonstans någon gång, så jag hoppas det inte blir flera nu så att när den dagen kommer att jag kan ta en resa eller två innan det kommer hit nya 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 10:12 am

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Just finally catching up on all my mail! Yesterday was the day from you know where at work….not a moment to myself. Sometimes its very hectic there and I need to learn how to hide better! 🙂 I am only kidding….I wouldn’t have a job very long if I did that. We had a bit of your kind of snow yesterday. We are having high winds and there was this little snow all over the place, it was strange. It never really did land on the ground. Today we are currently -43 celcius with the wind and this weather is here to stay for a few days. I unfortunately have to go out today, not happy about that! I am glad to hear the hunters are leaving today. Now you have freedom again! 🙂 Do any of your cats ever bother your plants inside? My cats, especially my calico, is ridiculous with indoor plants. If she’s not digging in the dirt, she wants to eat them. I can only keep one plant inside as I have only one plant stand. Drives me crazy! Have a good Saturday evening, happy Valentine’s day!

    February 14, 2015 at 2:57 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Those days are crap but they tend to pass fast 🙂 I had a few last week 🙂 It’s hard for me to hide good too since they found one employeeed sleeping in a remote toilett at work 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It snowed for quite some time yesterday and it’s barely noticeable on the ground, I don’t mind those kinds of snow falls 🙂
      I have never experienced such a low temperature no matter how strong the winds might have been! I can’t even imagine how cold that is! -33 is the coldest I’ve had here. I’ve always wondered if my car even would try to start if it got that cold here. I wouldn’t even drive to work to be honest, just in case it broke down because of the cold weather and I would have to walk homewards. It wouldn’t have mattered when I lived in the city but here it could have been a death sentence 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I thought it was today they had their last day but it is tomorrow, I thought it was the 15th today. Well I know where to go tomorrow so we still can get nice walks.

      They tend to dig and then sleep in a big pot where a Monstera grows but otherwise they don’t care about my plants. I’ve had cats that ate them as soon as they got a place by the window 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

