Finally we reached it!

I always take a test photo before we walk away, normally it is towards my neighbors cottage but today it was towards the cow pasture.

I always take a test photo before we walk away, normally it is towards my neighbors cottage but today it was towards the cow pasture.

We have just come back after an hour and half walk this morning. I trusted the hunters wouldn’t come today since tomorrow is the last day for field hare hunting and the hunting leader said that would be their last hunting day for the season. They’ve never had the energy to go out two days in a row before so I guessed that would be tha fact today as well. So off we went to walk up-stream the creek. To my big surprise I saw foot prints in the snow that fell yesterday that showed that my neighbor was out walking.

 

DSC_0023

Salmiak climbed up almost ten meters (much the same in yards) when Hector tried to greet him :-)

Salmiak climbed up almost ten meters (much the same in yards) when Hector tried to greet him πŸ™‚

DSC_0025

 

We have normally been out for rather long before he gets up in the morning πŸ™‚ So we met him after a short while and his cat Salmiak had followed him on his walk this morning. Salmiak almost walked in to my cottage yesterday evening so I thought he wouldn’t be especially afraid of meeting my dogs. Well he wasn’t happy and climbed way up in a pine πŸ™‚ As soon as we had passed him he climbed down though. We continued on our walk and I looked for tracks from all animals that might have been out walking during the night. Very few had. I saw some from hares, a fox had passed the road and a moose too, no wolves though.

 

The morning was one of those that was so quiet that it felt like we were the only ones still around.

The morning was one of those that was so quiet that it felt like we were the only ones still around.

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

Instead of walking over to the other side of the creek as we have been doing the latest times we continued up-streams to the place where we met the wild hogs and beyond that. The problem is that when one comes to the point where the creek makes a sharp turn the ground gets swampy and normally it’s problematic to continue any further there but not today. The night had been enough cold to freeze the ground and the ice was sort of rubbery. It didn’t break but sort of slowly give in to our weights. We jumped over a ditch and after that we could continue out on the bog. So instead of breaking the ice we sort of slowly sank downwards. There are no deep holes there, just very muddy so we continued out on the bog, perhaps 50-100 meters (much the same in yards).

 

DSC_0031

The ants are still way down in to the ground and won't come up until spring arrives.

The ants are still way down in to the ground and won’t come up until spring arrives.

DSC_0033

 

We stopped there because it was even more swampy out there and the ice wasn’t that rubbery. We could have continued along the creek though and passed that hunting tower but I wasn’t sure if Hector would be able to walk any more today if we did, so we turned back home. We followed the creek and went out to the fields to whereΒ Β the electric fences stopped us and walked home over ground barely walkable since the wild hogs had worked hard in them πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0043

There's bridge number one.

There’s bridge number one.

Here You can see the ladder leaning towards the hunting tower. We are now standing on the same side and didn't need to walk over any bridge, just jump over a thankfully frozen wide ditch :-)

Here You can see the ladder leaning towards the hunting tower. We are now standing on the same side and didn’t need to walk over any bridge, just jump over a thankfully frozen wide ditch πŸ™‚

 

It is slightly foggy here today and I can only hope the fog will thicken much more until our next walk. I’ve ordered more 135mm film for my Edixa camera and I took a look at my old Minolta and I think I might be able to clean it up so I can use it again. I need new batteries to it though and there is a roll of film in it, I wonder what I’ve taken photos of though. The last time I used it I still had my garden center πŸ™‚ It’s time for a pot of Canadian coffee and something to eat, I haven’t had breakfast yet and it is almost five hours since I went up πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0046

Here we are standing out on the bog. Too bad it wasn't more frozen so we could have continued out to the lake. The lake is on the other side of the forest You can see to the left of this photo.

Here we are standing out on the bog. Too bad it wasn’t more frozen so we could have continued out to the lake. The lake is on the other side of the forest You can see to the left of this photo.

DSC_0048

 

Have a great day!

 

Nothing much had changed when we came home :-)

Nothing much had changed when we came home πŸ™‚

18 responses

  1. some of the photos today looked like new area than you have showed us before, the green of the ever greens is beautiful against the stark ground,

    February 14, 2015 at 12:47 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      The three last ones are new area but the others are just taken from different angles than I usually do since I walked on the other side of the creek.

      Just imagine how dull the world would be without the ever greens!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 1:03 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Salmiak looked fierce.

    The bog looks interesting. I want to walk out there and see what’s on the other side. That would be a bad idea, I guess. πŸ™‚ Maybe there is some kind of bog walking shoe one can get in order to facilitate bog walking. I googled it. Yes there are. They look like plastic snow shoes. Here’s the link. http://eng.gotravel.ee/wp-content/uploads/5017688122_ecfa021542_z1.jpg
    Now I want to find some so I can go into my back swamp. πŸ™‚

    I’m getting to be quite immune to cold. This morning it was -6ΒΊF for the first dog walk. It was okay because there was no wind. Rocky was not happy. Piki Dog tried to scrape off his dog coat again. Obviously he is not concerned about being cold.
    The sun is higher now and shining brightly so it’s warmed up to -1F.

    Big blizzard on the way tonight into tomorrow. Good thing, too. All this sunshine is just too upsetting. πŸ˜€

    Enjoy the day.

    February 14, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    • Both Your comments made it to the spam folder, why I have no idea?! I mean it isn’t the first time You comment here, in fact according to statistics You are the one who make most comments here πŸ™‚

      It wouldn’t have been a bad idea if the bog had been frozen. But I can tell You that if one walks long enough one reach a village called VΓ₯nga or its close relative Norra VΓ₯nga (north VΓ₯nga) :-):-) They are actually thinking of making some kind of bridge around the entire bog so people would be able to walk around if they want to. The problem is that either they are hunting there half of the year and almost the rest of the time there are blood sucking insects that would make life a living hell if walking there πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I guess that leaves one week every spring πŸ™‚ Snow shoes like those would be rather perfect now as long as they dont get tangeled in all the tiny bushes growing all over the bog.

      It can be very nice when it is cold outside, as long as the wind doesn’t blow. -6 is awfully cold though πŸ™‚ Nova hates her dog coat so I never put it on any longer, her mood drops below the ground and she stops walking. Just standing there looking miserable πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
      No sun here but fog and I like that just as much πŸ™‚

      Yes it is and the eyes get burned :-)) Nothing like a blizzard to keep the spirits up πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 7:19 pm

      • Caryn

        I’m chatty. πŸ™‚ My posts may have been spammed because of the link although I’ve done those before without a problem. Who knows?

        They could build a screened bridge with a slanted roof and so take care of bug season and snow season or just have a screen roof and not worry about snow.

        Oh, and it has started snowing here. Wet snow. Ophelia is showing her affinity for water, I guess.

        February 14, 2015 at 8:50 pm

      • Normally I only have to approve comments with links from You so I have no idea why they thought You were spam this time.

        I doubt they would spend that much money on a bridge here, it will most likely only be two parallel planks around the edges of the bog. The bog is so big that it wouold cost a small fortune to do anything better πŸ™‚

        Did they name the storm Ophelia? That’s never a good thing πŸ™‚

        February 15, 2015 at 6:15 am

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! All caught up now, and I feel like I am in Saturday now! πŸ™‚ As you know from my last post to you, today is not a good weather day due to an extreme north wind. I am watching my neighbor’s chimney smoke blow sideways…never a good sign. And it sure is blowing. Yesterday was the start of a big French festival in our city called Festival du Voyageur. Two weeks of fun! If you get a chance to google it, please do. There is alot going on and its really rather fun if the weather permits. As long as I can remember our city has done this. The massive ice sculptures are incredible and there are some really talented artists who carve the ice in our city. They use chain saws, hand saws, whatever else they can use to sculpt. Its a good excuse to make some french split pea soup too! πŸ™‚ Well, off to go start the laundry. We have a long weekend with Monday off. A nice break. Its called Louis Riel Day. He is another person who has an interesting past here in Manitoba. Quite the history behind him! Have a good evening!

    February 14, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Today has been very nice and the fog did thicken some so I have a few nice fog photos to show next week.

      It’s usually very calm here when temperatures dropΓ₯ a lot, it looks as if that doesn’t matter where You live πŸ™‚ So really cold days here are usually sunny and calm anf quite often very nice if dressed right.

      They always have ice sculptures up north, here the weather usually changes too often. So it can start really cold but then suddenly become warm so the ice sculptures melt and starts to look strange πŸ™‚ I’ve seen photos of it of course and the sculptures are always impressive.

      No Holidays here until easter but I’ll see what I can find about that Louis Riel on the net πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 4:44 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I commented but my brilliant writing seems to have disappeared. 😦

    Salmiak looks fierce up there in the tree.

    The bog looks inviting. In my lost remarks I said I wanted to walk out there and wondered if there were special shoes for bog walking. There are. I inserted a link to bog shoes which are for bog walking. I don’t know where one can find them but here’s a link to the photo. http://eng.gotravel.ee/wp-content/uploads/5017688122_ecfa021542_z1.jpg

    It was -6ΒΊF when we took our morning walk. Rocky was not happy. Piki Dog tried to scrape his dog coat off in the snowbanks again. I guess he doesn’t mind the cold. The sun was out then but has since departed. It’s 17ΒΊF now but it feels cold because it’s also damp. Another blizzard is forecast for tonight into tomorrow. Good thing. All the sun was just too weird to take. :/

    Enjoy the day.

    February 14, 2015 at 6:13 pm

    • I found both of them in the spam folder. Not even god knows how WordPress works sometimes πŸ™‚

      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 7:20 pm

  5. Hi Christer,
    I am sitting waiting for the snow to begin sometime this afternoon, probably a foot or more. Your snow looks more like a dusting in comparison. You had a wonderfully long walk today, and I’m glad Hector was able to make it with you the whole way.

    I like the fog, and we have it often over the river though not this time of year.

    It is so very cold today, and I am glad I don’t have to go out anywhere. I’m just sitting here warm and cozy. Gracie makes the quickest trips outside. I don’t blame her.

    I have soup for lunch-perfect for a winter afternoon!

    Have a great evening!

    February 14, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes most of our snow has melted away now and the rest will most likely give up on Wednesday when we’ll have some rain and the warm weather starts again.
      I adapt our walks after how well Hector is able to follow us, if he starts to slow down I slow down too. It’s better to walk slow so we can take more walks during the day.

      I wouldn’t have mind if the fog had thickened even more but any real foog is a good fog πŸ™‚ I’m not a fan of haze though πŸ™‚

      I rarely mind if it gets cold since that usually means sunny and calm weather here but since I want a mango tree inmmy garden before I die it better start to heat up now πŸ™‚

      I’ve had plenty of rose-hip soup today πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 7:06 pm

  6. Robin Larkspar

    At first I thought that was Bertil up in the tree. I am glad hare hunting season is over. You are truly surrounded by so much natural beauty. I just love all the many types of trees in your photos. I would also feel a bit leery of walking where wild hogs make chaos. Are they nocturnal? Have a great Saturday.

    February 14, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      They look very much alike those two but Salmiak has brown eyes and Bertil has greenish yellow ones.

      I do love living here and since the forest is so young lots of trees grows here.

      Yes wild hogs mostly walk around at night but if they are disturbed they can move around during daytime too of course. I could see on new tracks that they have moved closer to my part of the village again.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 14, 2015 at 7:09 pm

  7. “Sort of rubbery” and “Slowly sank downward”…AAAARRRRGGGHHHH!
    now I will be imagining you and Hector sinking and stuck in the bog while the other dogs try to save you!
    I can’t take it.
    please stop walking on rubbery surfaces.
    :p

    February 14, 2015 at 9:29 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      That’s much better than fragile and breaking πŸ™‚ and that part of the bog is just swampy, no deep holes to sink down into πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 15, 2015 at 6:16 am

  8. That was really quite a long walk, Christer. Of course, you have so much to see and photograph along the way that time must pass quickly. I looked at the “dusting” of snow in the photos and thought of what we have on the ground here in New England (we are in Nashua, NH) and as many others have commented…more snow is on the way and already started in New England.

    February 14, 2015 at 11:54 pm

    • Hi Beatrice (nothing else, I wrote the wrong name and it took some time until I noticed it myself, sorry about that Beatrice!)!

      We would have been walking for much longer if Hector and Orvar had had good legs though, back in the days we could be out half the day.

      I’m glad most of the snow is gone now but the melt water tends to freeze during nights making every road very slippery instead. Like i better anyway πŸ™‚

      I’ll take a look online to see how much it is snowing on Your side of the ocean πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 15, 2015 at 6:19 am

Leave a Reply

