Windy!

DSC_0020

I have to say that it is a quite nasty day here and it is the wind that destroys it all. We went away towards the lake in the forest this morning and had to walk through the village, well to be honest, most of the village is actually big pastures. The wind was cruel even if it actually wasn’t that strong. We had come a third of the way when the snow came, thankfully those tiny flakes we’ve had lately but together with the wind it was like walking through a sandblaster. I had the warm scarf from Joyce so I was rather well protected but my nose was hit bad πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0022

The snow passed almost as quickly as it came, thankfully.

The snow passed almost as quickly as it came, thankfully.

DSC_0025

 

But as soon as we made it to the forest it got too warm to wear a scarf πŸ™‚ but I rather get too warm than freeze. We walked to the lake and for once we continued and walked up on the top of the hill. It’s more like a ridge because it is almost as steep on the other side as it is towards the lake. I’ve never walked there before and found a world that wasn’t affected by the winds at all. Too bad I had the telephoto lens because I couldn’t take any photos that showed the world on the other side. The area consists of ridges and vallies and is quite beautiful.

 

We walked in the road leading towards the lake and also the old church ruin.

We walked in the road leading towards the lake and also the old church ruin.

The old cottage that is slowly falling appart. But one can find beauty in decay too.

The old cottage that is slowly falling apart. But one can find beauty in decay too.

DSC_0033

 

I’ll go there soon again because it will be too late soon because they are making it to a big pasture for the castles cattle. I guess that means that there will be no deforestation there from now so it will be protected that way but then again it will be hard to walk there with the dogs since I won’t know for sure if they have cattle there or not. Cattle with calves usually accepts humans but often tries to kill dogs as they see as wolves. I’ll ask the castle employees later on if they can inform when they have cattle there or not.

 

There isn't much left of the church. It got abandoned long ago and they used the stones to build the new church in Bjurum by the crane lake. They think the old church was abandoned because they thought all the graves could spread the plague. I can't find any tomb stones though.

There isn’t much left of the church. It got abandoned long ago and they used the stones to build the new church in Bjurum by the crane lake. They think the old church was abandoned because they thought all the graves could spread the plague. I can’t find any tomb stones though.

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

 

I did the laundry as soon as we came home and when I had hung it to dry in the wind on my patio my neighbor passed and he said the hunters hadn’t come today, I’m not surprised since it must be awful sitting there with the wind hitting all the time. Salmiak came too and walked on the entrance stair since he knew all dogs and cats were inside πŸ™‚ He and Bertil are so much alike but Salmiak is always nice, Bertil very seldom πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0038

Some of these tree funguses are one foot wide (around 30-35 cm).

Some of these tree funguses are one foot wide (around 30-35 cm).

DSC_0041

 

The fire is burning in the stove and I’m just about to make a pot of tea. It looks like the sun tries to shine through the clouds but I can’t see any rips in the cloud cover so it’s just a short visit I’m afraid.

The little lake. Much of it is filled with rush.

The little lake. Much of it is filled with rush.

DSC_0046

DSC_0045Β 

 

The song contest second part was yesterday and I can’t pretend it was much better than last time πŸ™‚ It is amazing how they have managed to pick out such bad songs and bad singers! I think that they at least would be able to hold a tune for at least one time in an entire song but I guess it is more important that the competitors are known from reality shows than being able to sing.

 

It is hard to see in a photo but the road is quite steep here.

It is hard to see in a photo but the road is quite steep here.

The trees are rather far apart but still it is hard to see the sky when looking up.

The trees are rather far apart but still it is hard to see the sky when looking up.

The ridge is rather thin and there are valleys and other ridges to the right of this one.

The ridge is rather thin and there are valleys and other ridges to the right of this one.

 

It is time to make that pot of tea and then to check if I won anything in the lottery yesterday, I doubt I did πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

DSC_0056

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! we have a wind warning here and it is only the 3rd time we have ever had one. the windchill is -30 this morning and getting colder tonight. i can’t let teddy pout for more than a few minutes. it’s going to be like this for a week too. Brrrr!!!

    February 15, 2015 at 2:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      That’s nasty low! and even colder tonight! Well I guess I better stop complaining about our weather now πŸ™‚ The sun is actually shining now and the wind got warmer too so it is nice outside now.

      Poor Teddy! A week can be nasty long when not being able to stay out for longer periods than that!

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 15, 2015 at 3:30 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wind makes everything worse! We always have wind being on the prairies, nothing to stop it from blowing clear on through! πŸ™‚ We are snowy today and still cold. February was great at the start, not so great now. What a fantastic area you have to walk around in! I would love to see pictures of your new discovery when you can! Yesterday was so busy from start to finish, we were hardly home at all. I don’t like that as my weekends are so precious and when they fly by it hurts! πŸ™‚ I hope the wind slows for you, but am sure its making quick drying time of your laundry! Have a good Sunday evening!

    February 15, 2015 at 3:05 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I amlucky having the forest stoppingf most winds and most of the rest is stopped by my neighbors cottage πŸ™‚ I can’t remember it ever being this warm in February before. The wind is now warmer and the sun i shining too!

      I hate doing things on weekends, I want to stay at home and relax so the coming week doesn’t come too fast πŸ™‚

      Yes most of my laundry is dry now πŸ™‚

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 15, 2015 at 3:33 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The little lake reminds me of the beaver pond that I like to photograph. It’s mostly cattails, too, and only open in the deeper parts.

    Winter storm Neptune did not turn into a blizzard exactly. I wonder if they will take away it’s name now. πŸ™‚ Anyway, two of my three exterior doors are blocked with snow. The front door was okay but the snow was deeper than my dogs so I had to shovel before I could take them out. I only did the minimum amount and then waded through the snow to the driveway. My plow guy came around 6 AM and knocked down the mountain of frozen snow that the city plow left. I was able to get the dogs over what was left so they could get out into the plowed street and walk around. Rocky did all his business close to the house but Piki Dog has to walk far before he will do any of it. In the end he climbed up the giant snow mound next to the end of the drive and pooped on top of it. I guess he wants to be smelled as a really, really big dog. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Now the wind is picking up and blowing the snow around. It’s supposed to stop falling in the next couple of hours. Winter Storm Ophelia comes in on Tuesday. There is no end to it.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 15, 2015 at 3:32 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes they do remind of each other but Your beaver pond has more beautiful trees around it.

      It’s no use in having a name on a blizzard if no one will remeber there even was a blizzard πŸ™‚ So yes I think it should be removed πŸ™‚

      The sun broke through the clouds and melted the little snow we got. I guess Piki Dog think he is a great danme πŸ™‚ In a way it is a good thing to have a dog that wants to walk long distances to do his business, just think of all the exersice You would miss otherwise πŸ™‚ None of my dogs has that problem though, they would rather do it in front of the door if I had allowed them too :-.)

      It can’t be a good thing naming a storm Ophelia πŸ™‚ After all she went insane and drowned herself πŸ™‚ Feels like a bad omen giving that name to a storm πŸ™‚ I do hope it doesn’t get especially bad!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 15, 2015 at 3:41 pm

  4. Robin Larkspar

    I like all the different views of the forest. My favorite photo today is that large tree fungus with moss on the top. I have to show that one to my son, who is a fungi/mushroom enthusiast. We have terrible winds today too, with windchill warnings. Not a chance of getting out to walk today or the next few days. I have to just put Gwennie out for a quick “business” trip, and get her back in fast. Stay warm!

    February 15, 2015 at 6:34 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      I haven’t seen that big tree funguses anywhere else than on that old dead birch, they are truly impressive. Have no idea what species it is though. The odd thing is that this one still seems to do its job but old enough to have moss growing on it!

      The winds get stronger here now, otherwise the day has been nice from when the sun broke through the clouds. No problems with getting the dogs out here though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 15, 2015 at 8:06 pm

  5. Christer,
    You have no snow. I am more than willing to send you a couple of feet of ours. Right now it is still blowing like crazy. Shoveling is no guarantee the walk will stay clear. I don’t think they’ve even plowed yet. My guy is coming tomorrow.

    WE are entering a polar freeze with highs around 10˚ and nights in the minus. This has been the worst two weeks.

    Stay warm!

    Kat

    February 16, 2015 at 1:47 am

    • Hi Kat!

      There’s more in the deep forest though but compared to You it’s nothing πŸ™‚ Thank You but no thank You, I feel that it is Your time to enjoy a white winter for once πŸ™‚

      I always wait until I know the risk of getting more snow where I’ll shovel is minimal before I shovel anything πŸ™‚ It’s so little I need to anyway.

      We’ll get it warmer here. It looks like when we have a cold snowy winter You don’t and the opposite. Almost never the same!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 16, 2015 at 6:36 pm

Leave a Reply

