Snow drops.

DSC_0069

Snow drops.

I looked down in to one of the flower beds on the north side of the cottage yesterday afternoon and saw to my surprise that the Scilla sibirica is on its way up. So I walked to the east side of my cottage and saw to my even bigger surprise that the snowdrops are up and flowers! I don’t think they’ve ever been flowering this early here. I also heard the Common Buzzard, they are at least two weeks early this year 🙂

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

I don’t trust the weather predictions but they are nice to see because they show above 0C (32F) both nights and days ten days ahead. Normally they show really cold temperatures after four days but not this time 🙂 This might actually be a bit problematic if it gets warmer because the seeds I’ve sown need at least a month and a half of below 5C (41F) to start germinating. Well I guess I could lose one year if it actually would stay warm and not get cold later on as it usually does here.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

 

I was looking through the spam mail I’ve gotten lately and surprisingly many American credit companies wants to loan me a lot of money 🙂 I wonder if they would be just as generous if they knew I live in Sweden 🙂 Besides they are most likely not legal businesses anyway. A Veronica gets lots of offers from Swedish companies though. I wonder why they think a Veronica has that mail address since it starts with r and c 🙂 Lately I’ve also won a lot of money in the Euro lottery, I think it’s so nice that I don’t have to pay anything to win there 🙂 especially since it’s millions of Euro I’ve won 🙂

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

 

I’m just about to make a few warm sandwiches, the fire is burning in the stove and I’m just waiting for the oven to get warm enough. I bought some ciabatta’s and I think I’ll try them, normally I would use some other kind of bread but I really want ciabatta today. I’m not sure what I’ll put on it though, ham or spotted sausages or perhaps even sliced Wienerwurst. I thought I had tuna at home but I thought wrong 🙂

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

 

Have a great day!

17 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Lovely snowdrops. I am jealous. 🙂
    There were some crocuses poking their leaves out beside my front door back in January but that was before the 10 feet of snow fell. I expect they are snug and warm and just waiting for it all to melt. So am I. 🙂

    I don’t check my Spam box. Maybe I’m missing out on a ton of dollars. There was a Nigerian Prince that wanted to send me money that I apparently forgot I had. There was another official person who was going to share the vast sum of money if I would help get it out of whatever country it was in. I forget exactly why he couldn’t get it out on his own. It was something very legal of course. 🙂 🙂

    It’s sunny, windy and cold here today. Yesterday was like spring. I drove with the windows down and it was such a nice break.

    Enjoy the sandwiches and the rest of the day.

    February 23, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    • Hi Carun!

      I like them too but there are people who are insanely in love with them 🙂 All species look more or less the same so it’s the tiny details that separates them from each other but those can onkly be seen whild crawling on all fours 🙂 I haven’t looked for any crocus yeat but the ones I have are usually a bit later than the snow drops so I doubt they are showing yet.

      I have strangely enough a few deceased relatives in Nigeria and lots of money to fect if I only pay the authorities a lot of money 🙂 🙂 🙂 They never asked me for my account number though, I guess that would come in the next mail 🙂

      I had the car windows down last week, today was a bit too windy for that. It was hard enough to keep the car in the middle of the road 🙂

      The sandwiches came out rather well 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 23, 2015 at 8:51 pm

  2. Christer,
    I also have snowdrops in my garden and they are among the early flowers. I did have a few green shoots before the snow came so I don’t know how they fared.

    I always check my spam. It is like yours, that’s where the money is. I laugh at the ones who call me love and dearie. All they need is my bank account number!

    It is grey again today. Lat night was warmer than I expected but tonight will be freezing!

    I like ciabatta rolls and sometimes use them for panini.

    Have a great afternoon.

    February 23, 2015 at 7:42 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Normally my snow drops just show tiny parts this time of year, so this was a pleasant surprise.

      So far none has asked me for my account number but I guess that will happen in the next mail. It’s been a few years since I woin the Euro Lottery but finally I’m winning again 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Very windy here but they say we’ll have sunshine all Thursday and maybe all Sunday 🙂 I believe it when I see it 🙂

      I’ve never heard of ciabatta rolls! Must check what it is. My turned out really well 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 23, 2015 at 8:55 pm

    • 🙂 So ciabatta rolls are round ciabatta’s instead of the usual rectangular ones 🙂

      February 23, 2015 at 8:56 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Wow, you are lucky to have some lovely flowers already! It is early but enjoy the little bit of spring. We wont’ see flowers until end of April – early May. And that’s only if we are lucky! We can’t plant our veg gardens until May long weekend (close to the end of May). I won’t be starting seeds for that this year but what I did do today (I had a day off today, vacation to be used up) was started sprouting seeds to eat. Today is kale. They should be ready in 3 days or so. They are soaking as I type. We are blustery and cool today. Today is supposed to be our warmest but the wind slices right thru. I don’t mind, its just nice being off! I am sitting down with a cup of tea and going to watch some Downton Abbey. I have them PVR’d so I can watch at my leisure. I also made chia energy balls today. I guess its a health day today! 🙂 Your photos are just stunning today! I love the ones of the dogs in the forest. Love the moss too! Have a good evening, I hope your sandwiches were delicious!

    February 23, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I was so surprised when I saw them 🙂 These are the earliest every spring but not this early, perhaps at the end of March.

      We always get a late frost here, somewhere around the first week in June so I can’t plant any vegetables before that unless they are very hardy. The Ulf stream does help us a lot by making it much milder that it usually should.

      I like sprouts but rarely do it myself and we’ve had some problems here in Europe with the ones we can buy, several people died last year after eating them. Someone had skipped washing their hands and nasty germs spread all over Europe.

      The wind destroys any nice day, the wind blows really hard here too now but a day off is a day off 🙂

      Downton Abbey is never wrong 🙂

      It’s so nice to see the green moss again 🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 23, 2015 at 9:22 pm

  4. Those sandwiches sound kinda icky to me. The sausage or anything with wurst is not too appealing for my tastes.
    I keep getting email that my car is ready.
    Hmmm
    And also that I can cheaply refinance my home.
    😖 spammers

    February 23, 2015 at 9:43 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I know You are eating less meat now so I can understand that, personally I like it a lot. But since You are reducing the meat just remember to eat lots of beans since there are some proteins You need that only excists in meat and some beans!

      They have never offered me a car so far 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 24, 2015 at 6:24 pm

  5. Robin Larkspar

    I cannot believe you have snowdops. Did you and I somehow change places geographically? I didn’t think I was that close to the Arctic circle. Bertil looks very serious and on a mission.

    February 23, 2015 at 10:49 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      I got so surorised when I saw them 🙂

      Who knows, maybe ther’s a mad scientist out there changing the geography 🙂

      He sure does 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 24, 2015 at 6:26 pm

  6. jaz

    it is frigid here but i should look around and see what is happening in the gardens. i sure hope all of the ramps we planted grow! those sandwiches sound so good. what is weinerwurst? is it like leberkase?

    February 24, 2015 at 12:18 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      Still warm here but the strong wind makes it feel rather cold. So far these are the only flowers I’ve seen.
      I’m pretty sure the ramps have made it, they are tough ones.

      I thought You had wienerwurst too, I found anoher name for them, frankfurters. I hope that helps some 🙂 I can’t really describe what they contain 🙂 They are like hotdogs but soo much tastier.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      February 24, 2015 at 6:30 pm

  7. your photos have taken my breath away, I am so glad I came here today, I needed this, we are a world of grey and white,

    February 24, 2015 at 2:56 am

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like them 🙂 It is nice to see those green colors again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 24, 2015 at 6:30 pm

  8. Till och med jag hittade blommande växter i trädgården; Vintergäck och Cyclamen – däremot verkar inte snödroppar trivas. Dom kommer upp, men dom blommar aldrig. Krokus kommer igen – fast bara om lökarna inte blivit uppätna av skogsmössen!! 😦
    Snöklockor växer nästan vilt här och jag har ett antal små ruggar i rabatterna som jag är rädd om, men dom blommar mycket senare så dom får vi vänta på ett bra tag!! 🙂 🙂
    Ibland undrar man om det verkligen kan löna sig att skicka ut alla dessa fejkade mail. Finns det folk som tror på dom…..!? 👿
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    February 24, 2015 at 12:23 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Cyclamen dör här en vanlig vinter och vintergäck trivs inte alls. Har prövat den flera gånger utan att lyckas. Jag har ett fåtal krokusar som alltid kommer men de andra jag planterat ger upp efter några år. Snöklockor har jag aldrig fått tag i, brukar inte komma ihåg att jag vill ha dem förrän det är för sent 🙂

      Det finns alltid någon som åker dit på sådana mail, annars tror jag nog de gett upp ganska snart.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 24, 2015 at 6:34 pm

Leave a Reply

