Congratulations USA!

DSC_0045

Today I’ll start by congratulating USA since You got both the silver and bronze medals in the cross-country world championship! It was a huge surprise, very few had heard those women’s names before 🙂 and that makes it even more fun that You won those medals! We took the gold and the fourth place and the Norwegians had a bad day by having the wrong kind of ski wax on their skis. They’ll come back and take all the other medals instead 🙂 they usually do. I didn’t sleep in front of the tv because I was at work but I have been reading about it on the net.

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

 

The day has been really warm but a strong wind has made it a bit nasty to be outside. I worked in the neighbor factory today and decided not to wear my yellow cap, it’s so close so it doesn’t even take five minutes to walk there. I did regret it after just a minute or so 🙂 But tough as I am I didn’t walk back to get it 🙂 I would like to say that’s how vikings do but really can’t since I’m too much russian and Serb to be saying that 🙂

 

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

The swamp behind my garage.

The swamp behind my garage.

 

I now have daylight when I come home after work and it’s more or less daylight when I reach work in the morning. Today the sun rose at 7:16 and went down at 5:23 in the after noon. The sun has the chance of showing itself six more minutes every day now (which it rarely likes to do I’m sorry to say) so soon I won’t think of when it rise or sink at all 🙂

 

DSC_0054

These coming photos were of cours taken before the snow melted away.

 

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

 

The fire is burning in the stove but the heat seems to have problems spreading in my cottage, I guess the wind comes from the only direction where it hits my cottage, it happens so rarely that I always forget how much colder it feels indoors. The thermometer however says it isn’t any colder and I guess it knows that better than I do 🙂

 

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

DSC_0062

 

It’s time for a pot of tea and something to eat, I still have a ciabatta I think so I’ll just fill it with things I like 🙂

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0057

14 responses

  1. Robin Larkspar

    The sun might shine, but if the wind blows it can chill you to the bone. I’m afraid we have not been following the World competitions in winter sports. But it is nice to receive congratulations for USA achievements. So far the shaving of your head has not helped our weather at all.

    February 24, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      Yes the wind can destroy an entire day and it blows hard right now. Thankfully it seems to have changed direction so it doesn’t feel tyat nasty cold now.

      We need more Americans, both from the USA and Canada to break the Norwegian grip on this sport 🙂 They were unlucky today but I am sure they’ll take most gold medals from now and and I wouldn’t be surprised if they took all the silver medals too 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I’m sorry that it didn’t help 🙂 That’s usually a sure thing to do, assoon as I shave off my hair the bad weather comes and we usually have bad and cold weather when You have the opposite 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 24, 2015 at 8:41 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope your head didn’t get too cold! 🙂 We are still in winter, with the temps really liking us as they are not moving along! They can go and find somewhere else to freeze, but at least the sun is out and this will also help evaporate the snow where it hits. Today is one of those days at work where there is either a steady stream of people to my office door or they like to call on the phone too. I can’t get any work done, so I thought it best to check my e-mails! 🙂 Lovely snaps you posted today! I love the forest ones! Have a good evening!!

    February 24, 2015 at 8:53 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      No frost bites on my scalp today 🙂

      The wind destroyed the feeling of spring but I enjoyed the walk anyway 🙂

      Those days usually pass fast though, perhaps just because it is impossible to do any work 🙂

      I love that I can see those different green colors again but winter is far from over so one never knows if it will return.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 24, 2015 at 9:14 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Yay, America. I wasn’t following it either. 🙂 I don’t want to see snow on TV. There’s enough of it outside my window to last me until summer. I got silly the other day and bought a solar powered silly purple flower which I stuck into the 4 foot high snow bank next to the front steps. It glows purple all night long. And it marks the spot where I buried the extra bag of ice cubes that wouldn’t fit in the freezer. 🙂

    It’s cold here today and very windy. I’ve been out a few times without my hat or my coat because it was just supposed to be short trips for the dogs or to get something out of the car. I figured I was tough enough. 🙂 Yeah. I sympathize with your frozen head.

    Time for some corn chowder followed by peppermint stick ice cream for dessert.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 24, 2015 at 10:22 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Not many did here either since it all happened when we’re all working 🙂

      I think it’s a good idea to be silly sometimes, iot keeps us sane 🙂 🙂 So You have enough daylight to keep it glowing all night! Good thing that You now know where You have Your extra ice cubes 🙂 🙂

      Today was rather warm here, it was 39F already when I got up today but it is raining and even if that is better than snow I really think we have enough water here as it is 🙂
      A frozen head is never nice 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 25, 2015 at 6:09 pm

      • Caryn

        I think the glare off the snow covered world helps recharge the solar battery when the sun supply is muted. 🙂

        February 25, 2015 at 6:36 pm

      • So no use in getting one here then 🙂 No snow no matter where I look 🙂

        February 25, 2015 at 6:53 pm

  4. jaz

    that is quite a surprise that the usa won! i have radiators in my house. i rarely turn my heat up beyond 54 degrees in the winter. i like a cold house. but sometimes my house just seems so much colder. it must be from the wind. my house is so old and has lots of original windows and they leak cold air. i need to have this monster painted this summer which is not only going to cost a fortune but i don’t know how i am going to do this with teddy. i also have lots of rotten wood which will all have to be replaced. not fun to look forward to!

    February 24, 2015 at 11:49 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Not even all competitors had heard the name on the woman taking the bronze medal 🙂 I do like it when unknown win medals 🙂

      I have my radiators a bit higher, on 59., I don’t like a cold house but I really don’t want to pay more money to the electric company, they are all robbers! I rather have the fire burning in the stove but it can take its time to heat up my little cottage.

      I too have some rotten wood here that I need to fix this spring and summer.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 25, 2015 at 6:13 pm

  5. Christer,
    I am as surprised as you. I didn’t know we had world class cross-country skiers. Good for them!

    I am cold tonight. It is only 12˚. I put Gracie’s coat on even though she is only out a short time. She doesn’t mind. What she does mind is when the house heat goes way down when I’m sleeping. She gets under the spread.

    The nights will be chilly for a while, and we are expecting more snow. I have had enough!!

    Enjoy your evening!

    February 25, 2015 at 1:22 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Normally they aren’t 🙂 But everything went right for them yesterday! They started early so they weren’t bothered by the falling snow, they had exellent skis (a Swede is the head of the ski wax departement) and the Norwegians failed totally when it came to the ski wax. I’m so glad that the USA finally won some mdals, we need more countries up there amongst the winners. As it is now Norway usually win everything 🙂

      Nove rather die than have her coat on 🙂 She just stands there looking miserable 🙂

      39F here already when I got up this morning but now it raines, better than snow but we have enough water as it is 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 25, 2015 at 6:17 pm

  6. Håller med dig; Gratulerar USA, till 2:a och 3:e-platsen! :- ) Kul när det är någon helt otippad som placerar sig – och att Kalla vann!! 🙂 🙂 Såg faktiskt tävlingen och för en gångs skull var det riktigt roligt. Idag ska vi se herrarnas tävling som förmodligen blir spännande.
    Här är vädret väldigt behagligt – för att vara i februari – så det är inte utan att “trädgårdstarmen” har börjat göra sig gällande. Varje morgon ligger jag i sängen någon minut innan jag går upp och funderar på vad jag skulle kunna göra ute just nu. Men…när jag väl kommit upp och har varit ute med Santos så känns det inte riktigt lika lockande längre. Det “drar” nämligen lite varenda dag nu och det gör att det känns lite ruggigt! 😦
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    February 25, 2015 at 8:39 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Visst var det roligt att det äntligen blev lite okända som vann medaljer 🙂 Det gick ju bra på herrarnas idag också 🙂

      +4 redan när jag gick upp i morse 🙂 Vågar inte tro på att det håller dock och går och väntar på bakslaget 🙂

      Det blåser något eländigt här mest hela tiden, synd annars hade det varit riktigt skönt ute!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      February 25, 2015 at 6:20 pm

Leave a Reply

