They’re here!

DSC_0020

The morning was foggy and slightly chilly today but there was no wind so I decided not to wear my yellow cap even if the hair on my skull only have grown a mm or so. I could hear the birds singing spring songs and I heard a goose honking somewhere in the distance. But no sounds from any crane, they have arrived though. I checked yesterday and the first ones came here two days ago. The mobile homes are never wrong πŸ™‚

 

After breakfast rest for the bulls.

After breakfast rest for the bulls.

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

 

The sun broke through the fog when we came home and it’s so warm that I don’t have to start a fire in the stove and not even a single of the radiators works now, it’s not that warm outside though, barely above freezing point. I know there most likely will come a nasty setback with lots of snow and cold winds but I can’t help feeling spring has arrived πŸ™‚ I’ll enjoy it for as long as I can.

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

Even the trees and plants down in the cool cellar feel something, it’s usually rather cold down there at this time of year so the plants are still hibernating. Now however new leafs can be seen on almost all of them. Fig leafs, Kiwi leafs and Katsura leafs are the latest ones to show so now I must check quite often so they don’t dry out too much and I need to keep my self calm so I don’t drown them with too much water either.

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

 

I watched After Earth with Will Smith and his son yesterday evening. I’ve heard that it is really bad but had to check for myself. I laughed out loud several times during the first minutes of the movie because it is truly a bad performance from Will Smith πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ He is a great comedian but this is no comedy and he failed throughout the entire movie. His son however did what he could with his part and he might be a good actor if he likes to be one. I normally disconnect the logic part of my brain when watching movies like this but the story in this movie is so illogical quite often that it was impossible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Do I regret buying the film? No I love really bad movies and it was on sale, very cheap πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0040

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

I’ve vacuumed the floors and washed them too. It is so warm here right now that I walk barefoot and the feeling of walking on newly washed floors is quite nice πŸ™‚ It is time for some tea and then a small nap I think.

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. jaz

    no bare feet here! we broke the recorded today. it was -9 here this morning. even teddy is cold. bertil always looks so determined!

    February 28, 2015 at 3:20 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      No bare feet here either if it was that cold here πŸ™‚ It would be feeling like walking on ice here on the bottom floor πŸ™‚ It’s a temperature both Orvar and Hector loves though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day in the cold!
      Christer.

      February 28, 2015 at 3:48 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    No spring here though I do hear the birds singing. Not spring songs, just morning songs. Mostly it’s the Tufted Titmice that are singing. The English sparrows do their normal constant chirping. I used to think it was cheerful chirping but now I know they are just complaining about everything. The dogs are too close. There’s no bird seed out. I’m too close. It’s too cold. There’s still no bird seed. Complain, complain. Cheep, cheep. πŸ™‚

    It’s brilliantly sunny here and cold. Snow is forecast for tomorrow. 3 to 6 inches. Pfft. A mere dusting. I won’t have to shovel that. A lot has melted over the past sunny days. I can see some of the old fireplace and a bit of the barbecue grill. A little more sun and I might be able to open the side door again.

    Enjoy the day.

    February 28, 2015 at 4:10 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I’ve always wondered if English sparrows sound any different in spring, I can’t hear any difference to be honest πŸ™‚ They have their normal chattering and the angry one and that’s it I think πŸ™‚ They don’t care a lot about the dogs comming close but the angry one can be heard as soon as any cat show up πŸ™‚

      We’ll get snow tomorrow but it won’t stay, it will stay above 32F all day and rain will arrive during the night. 3-6 inches is nothing πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think that’s what we’ve gotten in total this winter πŸ™‚ I never open my kitchen door during winter so I wouldn’t care if that was covered with snow, it would probably only be warmer in the kitchen if it did πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      February 28, 2015 at 4:48 pm

  3. Christer,
    I’m wearing socks and slippers otherwise my feet would freeze.

    I am amazed at the total lack of snow in any of your pictures. Here we are still the white world of snow. We did have sun all day long, and it felt warm to me even though it was in the 20’s. We have had such low temps that the 20’s are balmy.

    Enjoy your warmth!!

    February 28, 2015 at 11:38 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Normally I would have thick sock at this time of year πŸ™‚

      WE all are a bit surprised to be honest, last winter was similar to this one when it comes to snow but it was much colder. Still it was warmer than You have now. They say this most likely is a result of the greenhouse effect, we’ll get warmer winters but when it does come it will be nasty, like the one You are having now.

      I will πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 6:18 am

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! You are lucky to have such great weather! We are going into March like a lamb tomorrow and this is not good. It only means storms of winter and blizzards at the end of March. We are about -4 today and the same for tomorrow. Spring has found you now it needs to come to the Canadian prairies! πŸ™‚ Your pictures today are lovely – the fifth one down from the top is outstanding. I love fog and this with the trees is incredible. You should sell your art! πŸ™‚ Well, I am sure you are sleeping by now, I am late getting on the computer today to check my messages. Busy weekend! Watching a program now on the Nature of Things with David Suzuki about The Norse. Such interesting stuff!

    March 1, 2015 at 12:09 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I truly am πŸ™‚
      We’ll enter the month of March warm but windy and I am glad we don’t have that saying about March here πŸ™‚

      My favorite photo is number 8, I like that tree a lot. I wouldn’t have mind if the fog had stayed all day, even though I love sunny and warm πŸ™‚ I could have brought one of the old cameras up to the ridges.

      It’s strange how our old religion still fascinates! We have to thank the people in Iceland back in the days that they wrote down so much about them and other things happening here because none of the others, danes, swedes and norwegians seems to have done that.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 6:37 am

  5. I felt like bursting into John Denver’s song “Country roads” when I saw this post! What great pictures of dirt roads and the countryside.
    The people that come to see the cranes each year must be retired or wealthy! Isn’t it cranes that do some sort of fancy mating dance during Spring? I’ve read they are really interesting birds..not to mention their size!
    I alway laugh when I see Bertil’s face…he has such a “don’t even THINK about it ” look on his face. He’s GREAT!

    March 1, 2015 at 10:44 am

    • Hi Mona!

      It does happen that I sing that songe for myself while being out walking here πŸ™‚

      I guess they are both πŸ™‚ They can actually follow individual crane couples up to the place in Norway where these cranes nest and for that time and money are needed πŸ™‚
      Yes they jump and flap their wings to impress each other and top comfirm they still are a couple and as You say they are big!

      He is a serious cat πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 12:32 pm

Leave a Reply

