It won’t stay thankfully.

DSC_0031

It’s just as warm today as it was yesterday but not nearly as nice to take walks, the winds are blowing hard and the forest is the only place to be if one wants to avoid the winds. However it isn’t a good thing to walk amongst trees if one of them suddenly give up and breaks or falls. The temperature will drop though and I just saw the first snow flake fall outside my kitchen door window.

 

DSC_0032

 

Geese. They flew so fast with the help of the wind that I almost missed to get this photo :-)

Geese. They flew so fast with the help of the wind that I almost missed to get this photo 🙂

DSC_0035

 

It won’t stay on the ground though, it will still be too warm and later on the rain will start to fall. I doubt I’ll take another walk if this weather continues, if it does I think the dogs will have to do with the garden. This will be a day of total laziness and most likely dvd watching. It is the last day of the cross-country world championships and today it’s the 50km men. I can always take a nap in front of the tv as long as that goes one 🙂 I used to think it was fun to watch cross-country skiing but now days they often start all at the same time and that usually means no one will try to ski away from the others making the race rather uneventful. Nothing really happens until the last km.

 

One of those lumps on trees that skilled people make beautiful bowls from.

One of those lumps on trees that skilled people make beautiful bowls from.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

 

My throat is sour and my neck stiff, I really hope It doesn’t mean I’m about to get the flu, it hits everywhere now I’ve read. None of the flu shots that has been available seems to work either, no I didn’t take one so at least I saved that money 🙂 🙂

DSC_0044

Bertil really didn't want us to pass this bridge. I guess wild hogs were on the other side of the creek.

Bertil really didn’t want us to pass this bridge. I guess wild hogs were on the other side of the creek.

DSC_0047 

 

I suddenly remembered that I can’t have a day of total laziness, I have the laundry to do and I really need to do it because I have no clean clothes left to wear 🙂 But besides that I will be lazy. 

 

Beaver activity.

Beaver activity.

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

 

The fire is burning in the stove and I’m about to make a pot of tea. I better do that laundry now, the longer I wait to do it the less I want to 🙂

Have a great day!

 

The Hazelnut bush flowers.

The Hazelnut bush flowers.

23 responses

  1. The shot in the woods are great.

    March 1, 2015 at 10:37 am

    • Hi roamingpursuits and welcome to my blog 🙂

      Thank You!

      Have a greatd ay and welcome back 🙂
      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 12:29 pm

  2. Loved the picture of the side of the cottage and th window. HOW I wish there were more red houses here. There is only one and I make PH drive by it on Saturdays when we are out.
    Suppose to be rain here today..and hopefully snow in the mountains.
    See how smart Bertil is? He fussed about you crossing that bridge! Isn’t he WONDERFUL? LOL 🙂 I know, I know, but I’m such a fan of his.
    He reminds me of the neighbors cat in the “Peanuts” cartoon. Are you familiar with that cartoon? The dog, Snoopy, sits on his dog house roof and makes fun of the cat next door and suddenly SWIIPE and half the roof is gone and all you see is HUGE claw marks.. and Snoopy goes flying!
    Yep..that’s Bertil!!! 🙂

    March 1, 2015 at 10:53 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I do like that one too today.

      As a Swede I can only agrre, the world need more red cottages 🙂

      Yes he’s our guard cat and surprisingly he’s now less nasty. Well he has his moments but far less often. I’m even allowed to pat him when we’re out walking 🙂 He’s getting older of course and that usually calms down most of us 🙂

      Yes I’m very familiar to Peanuts, here it’s called Snobben after the Swedish name on Snoopy. I’ve always admired that cat 🙂 But I don’t think we’ve ever seen it, just what’s left after he has been around 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 12:37 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Lovely window shot.

    I know hazel bushes flower in winter but I’m still very jealous that you have flowering things. First the snowdrops and now this. The closest I have is snow that drops. 🙂

    It’s cloudy and cold here. Snow coming in later on but just nuisance snow. Right now it’s 11ºF but when I woke up it was 3. Just 3. This winter has made me adjust my expectation of what cold should be. 11F is looking relatively comfortable when compared to 3F. 20F is cool. Today’s high will be a tropical 32F. I may break out the summer clothes. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Enjoy the laundry and the lazy day.

    March 1, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think we all like that one.

      It is a bit early for the haels too but I’m not surprised since it is and has been so warm. I do prefer mu snow drops to Your snow that drops 🙂 🙂

      Nasty weather here right now, not that it rains or snows that much but the hard winds make it to a nasty combination, still over 32 here though 🙂 We only have spring here yet so I’ll keep my summer clothes in the closet for a while more 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 4:20 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am sorry to hear your throat is sore, I hope its just one of those things and that you are not getting sick. I hate getting sick. Thankfully I have managed to ward off all illness this winter, which is surprising, especially considering where I work. Everyone at work lately has been getting the stomach flu, so I have been washing my hands and using alcohol gel on them with hopes to avoid catching that bug. I hope your laundry is done and you are resting. I can’t believe you will get rain!! Lucky you! March is here today and has come in like a lamb, so I guess we are going to get wicked near the end of it. We still have lots of snow but they are calling for decent temps so hopefully it will melt. I made homemade ginger ale yesterday and its rather delicious! Today I am going to make spelt bread – its one of our favorites. My laundry is done, all yesterday. Your pictures today include one of my favorites, the window with the reflection. So lovely! You are very lucky to live in such a beautiful place, I wish I had a forest close by to walk in. I would have to drive to get to any forest around here, so to me it defeats the purpose of that! I am going to get outside today since I didn’t yesterday – unless you include taking the garbage out! 🙂 Have a good Sunday evening!

    March 1, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It feels better now so I do hope it is so 🙂 Some people have a defect gene and never get that nasty stomach flu and it seems I am one of those 🙂 I never get it even if they start throwing up just beside me 🙂 Nice that a defect actually can be a good thing once in a while 🙂 We have alcohol gel at work too, they do what they can to keeo us healthy or at least not spreading that nasty thing.

      I’m not sure if our weather can be described like a lamb, storm, snow, rain but above 0C 🙂 I guess this weather might show how it will be for the rest of the month 🙂
      I’ve never made ginger ale, to be honest I didn’t know what that was until I was fairly old, it isn’t that popular here but I think it is quite ok.

      I think we all like that photo 🙂 It really doesn’t matter where one lives in this country, a forest is never far away. It’s a good thing to live in a large country with little population, the big cities are never that big 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 4:28 pm

      • Dianna

        Hi Christer! I need to move to Sweden! I need the forest….. 🙂 and the sea 🙂

        March 2, 2015 at 9:39 pm

      • Hi Dianna!

        This is oddly the place in sweden where on find few lakes 🙂 normally it’s never far between lakes but on the other side we have the two biggest lakes in the country near by and we’re naver far from the ocean where ever we are here.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        March 6, 2015 at 5:16 pm

  5. jaz

    hope you don’t get the flu christer! we call those things on the tree burls. they make gorgeous bowls and i have a collection of them!

    March 1, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I hope so too and the sour throat is better but now I have a head ache instead 🙂 It’s always something 🙂

      I’ve always wanted one of those bowls but they tend to cost a small fortune and I’m not good enough to make one myself 🙂 I can’t for my life remember what they are called here, it’s an odd name but that’s all I remember 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 1, 2015 at 4:31 pm

    • I found the name, it’s called Vril, strange even in Swedish 🙂

      March 1, 2015 at 4:32 pm

      • Caryn

        We call those things on the tree boles. Talented wood workers turn them into bowls.
        Both words sound the same.
        English, it’s a strange language. 🙂

        March 1, 2015 at 6:39 pm

      • At least it sounds like bowl, Vril doesn’t sound like anything, perhaps a disease 🙂

        March 1, 2015 at 6:44 pm

  6. Christer,
    I see woods, running water, grass and no snow. It amazes me. Right not it is snowing heavily, and I can’t stand it. Everything that had appeared has now disappeared. The steps are covered, and I hate this winter tonight.

    March 2, 2015 at 3:29 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I can tell Youthat You see right, noo need for stronger glasses yet 🙂 🙂 🙂
      We did get some snow yesterday but it melkted the same second it hit the ground, now You know how we usually have it here during winters, the only difference is that it normally starts much earlier, around eaely November 🙂 I don’t envy You to be honest.

      Have a great day even with all that snow!
      Christer.

      March 2, 2015 at 6:36 pm

  7. The sunset reflections on the window were quite beautiful, Christer. It was nice to see no snow in the forest photos. I tried to go for a walk in a nearby hiking trail, but the packed snow had melted a bit and then refroze and was thick ice, so not much fun to try and walk on. While we have not had any heavy snowfall in a couple of weeks, there have been some small ones that recover the existing snow piles and make them look white again instead of dark grayish. I hope you are feeling better after some hot tea. It’s hard t be lazy when laundry needs to be done and that was one of my weekend chores as well.

    March 2, 2015 at 3:37 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      It seems we all like that photo 🙂 But I am very glad my neighbors are asleep when I take those photos 🙂 I wonder what they would think if they saw me taking photos of their kitcen window early in the morning 🙂 🙂

      That’s so nasty when it happens, the snow turning to ice and it’s just impossible to walk anywhere! I’m so glad for this winter 🙂

      It is hard to be lazy when the laundry needs to be done 🙂 I hang it to dry in the hard wind on my patio, I guess it would have dreied really fast if not the rain and snow had reached it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 2, 2015 at 6:39 pm

  8. Visst var det ruggigt kallt i vinden igår, det märktes när jag gick rundan med Santos på morgonen. 😦 Så jag gick in och så till Rolle att “Egentligen skulle vi gå ut och såga ner alla stora prydnasgräsen idag INNAN dom börjar växa” men så tänkte jag om och sa “Fast det blåser alldeles för mycket, man kommer bli som en isbit så vi tar det en annan dag!” 😦 😦
    Efter en stund när jag sitter skönt parkerad framför datorn kommer Rolle in i hallen i full trädgårdsmundering och med motorsågen i högsta hugg och säger “Kommer du inte någon gång!?” 😦 😦 😦
    Så det slutade med två timmars jobb då vi sågade ner 5 skottkärror med dött gräs, två stora famnar med elefantgräs – som är för stort att lägga i skottkärran, dom blir 3-4 m – och en del annat smått och gott. Sen var man som en isstod….. 👿
    När vi inte längre orkade, så hade vi ändå “gräs- och bamburabatten” kvar på baksidan. Men det får vi ta en annan dag, idag är det alldeles för blött ute! Skönt – då får man vila lite! 😆
    KRAM/Susie

    March 2, 2015 at 9:39 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja hade det inte varit för vinden hade det varit riktigt skönt!
      Mina prydnadsgräs är såpass små, nysådda förra året, att det inte behövs göras något med dem i år. Får väl först se om de överlevt över huvud taget 🙂

      Kan förstå hur du kände dig efteråt 🙂 Samtidigt blir man ju vansinnigt varm medans man jobbar men oj så fort man kyls ned i vinden!

      Då vet du ju vad du har framför dig, spå passa på att vila så mycket du kan 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      March 2, 2015 at 6:42 pm

  9. Robin Larkspar

    Love the reflection of the sunset in your window! Laundry is just about one of my least favorite household tasks. Good luck.

    March 2, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      It’s actually a sunrise but just as beautiful 🙂

      It’s much the same here, laundry sucks the life out of me 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 2, 2015 at 6:43 pm

Leave a Reply

