Even I must admit it, spring has sprung.

I didn't take that many photos on todays morning walk, so today You'll see many of those taken after work this week.

I didn’t take that many photos on today’s morning walk, so today You’ll see many of those taken after work this week.

We had sunshine yesterday, sunshine and 11,8C (53,2F) and life felt rather nice even though my shoulder still aches and my back hurts and the cold that never really breaks out made me tired and gave me a head ache. But who can go on being grumpy when the Canadian geese pass by and the Lark is singing high up in the sky? I had my jacket open when we were out walking after work but I really just could have left it at home.

 

These four photos are from this morning.

These four photos are from this morning.

DSC_0022

Sally sitting in the window. That is her favorite spot, Salmiak on the other hand loves the window heading north.

Sally sitting in the window. That is her favorite spot, Salmiak on the other hand loves the window heading north.

DSC_0028

 

Today however is a bit different, really strong winds, cloudy and “only” 5,4C (41,7F) but the lark is still singing up there even though it had some trouble to hover in the same place as it normally does, the winds are a bit too strong 🙂 I was planning on walking to the little lake by the ridges this morning, I thought there would be some birds hanging around but the winds made it just too nasty to walk by the open fields. 

 

Out on the bog after the sun has set.

Out on the bog after the sun has set.

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0052

 

This week I saw the full moon and the sun at the same time 🙂 The sun was setting on one side of me and the moon rising on the other side. I thought this must be very rare but then I started to think about how it is here in summer, the sun is up shining for eighteen hours and the moon is often showing during the days here, so I must see this many times to be honest, I’ve just never really thought of it before. It was cool though 🙂

 

I took some photos of the night sky the other day, this is Saturn that You can see. I thought wrong and had the camera on a low ISO keeping the shutter open for a longer time. That is why Saturn look like a strong shining star. I think that I should have done it the opposite way, with a very high ISO and the shutter open for a short time instead. I was going to try that the next night but cklouds came and has come every night since then :-)

I took some photos of the night sky the other day, this is Saturn that You can see. I thought wrong and had the camera on a low ISO keeping the shutter open for a longer time. That is why Saturn look like a strong shining star. I think that I should have done it the opposite way, with a very high ISO and the shutter open for a short time instead. I was going to try that the next night but clouds came and has come every night since then 🙂

I edited the part with Saturn, rather heavily and this is what came up. I'm not sure if this is an optical illusion or if this actually shows the rings around the planet?! I'm afraid it is the first :-) Still it looks rather cool :-)

I edited the part with Saturn, rather heavily and this is what came up. I’m not sure if this is an optical illusion or if this actually shows the rings around the planet?! I’m afraid it is the first 🙂 Still it looks rather cool 🙂

DSC_0061

I think that the “fuzzy” stars in the middle can be distant galaxies.

 

This is what happens when the tripod moves :-)

This is what happens when the tripod moves 🙂 I guess the reddish is a plane flying by and I think that line up to the right might be a “falling star”.

 

The time when I can take photos after work when we’re out walking has started now, the photos are a bit dark but just that I can make me feel happy 🙂 so You’ll see a few of those photos today that was taken during my internet absence. 

 

DSC_0072

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

DSC_0076

 

I’ve realised that I no longer can drink tea or coffee in the afternoon, that happened over a night! and I think that is the reason for me not being able to sleep very well. As soon as I stopped drinking after work I started to sleep much better and that annoys me so much, I love my pot of tea before going to bed in the evening. Yes I know that there is caffeine free options but none of them taste like the tea Earl Grey 🙂 I’ll survive without it but I’ll miss it a lot 🙂

 

Ravens flying home after a successful day at the eagle feeding station :-)

Ravens flying home after a successful day at the eagle feeding station 🙂 We actually have too many now, they are attacking calves and lambs by chopping out their eyes and then a full attack when the animal can’t see to defend itself. A terrible way to go but nature isn’t a nice place unless one is the top predator.

DSC_0079

I had planned to walk acrooss the fields to the creek yesterday but one look at the tractor mnade me change my plan :-) It might still be a bit too wet out there :-)

I had planned to walk across the fields to the creek yesterday but one look at the tractor made me change my plan 🙂 It might still be a bit too wet out there 🙂

DSC_0024

 

So here I sit with my last cup of tea for the day, better get used to it and perhaps stop having any at all. The fire is burning in the stove and all the animals are sleeping. Sune beside the radiator here in the kitchen, Orvar and Hector in the cool livingroom. Teodor has chosen the hall way between the kitchen and livingroom and Nova is upstairs. Bertil? have no idea, he might be outside catching voles.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0031

 

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. jaz

    wonderful photos christer! it is cold here this morning but i think spring will arrive this afternoon. we will be in the 50’s all week…way too hot too soon. it’s going to seem very hot since we have been so frigid. i guess i have to get used to it, winter is over. plus tonight we go on stupid daylight savings time which i hate. well, i 4 months i can start getting ready for fall!!! joyce

    March 7, 2015 at 12:24 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do like these darker photos and the ones of the stars.

      It’ll be slightly colder here and some nights will be cold but there’s no sign of winter returning for quite some time, it still can though. It was really warm here yesterday when we had that kind of temperature so I can’t even imagine how hot You must feel it is 🙂

      We go on saving time the last weekend this month, I can’t for my life understand why we must do that. Can’t even pretend to like it 🙂 I hope time flies fast for You as long as it slows down here 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 7, 2015 at 2:42 pm

  2. V i kom precis hem efter en tur i skogen där dom “vilda” russen går. Vi valde dock att gå i ett område en bra bit ifrån dom. Inte för att jag är rädd för dom , men om dom får syn på Santos så kommer dom rusande. Dom är precis som kor väldigt nyfikna….. 🙂
    Det blåser så ruggigt ute så vi valde att gå mitt inne i skogen. Tyvärr så visade det sig att där ett av våra tidigare favoritställen låg – där hade hela skogen avverkats! Inte kul alls!! 😦
    Förstår att sånt måste göras naturligtvis, men inte precis just där!! 😦 😦
    TREVLIG – om än blåsig – HELG<3
    Susie

    March 7, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Mina mindre hundar är rädda för hästar så de hade dött om de kom rusande mot dem 🙂 Orvar och Hector däremot älskar hästar så de hade bara blivit glada 🙂

      Nä det är trist när de avverkat skogen på ens favoritställen, har hänt ofta här de senaste åren. Man får se hur det hela startar om istället och fösöka njuta av det.

      Ja jisses vad vinden drar på, tur att det blev såpass varmt som det blivit annars hade det varit rent obehagligt att gå ut.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      March 7, 2015 at 2:55 pm

  3. Robin Larkspar

    Welcome back Christer. Hope you are all rested up. The night photos are great, I love the moon photos. Sorry to hear you have to give up your Earl Gray; have you tried herbal teas? There are so many varieties. I had no idea that ravens would attack farm animals like that. You are right that Nature can be quite harsh. I put a link on my blog yesterday (Friday) that I would love for you to go look at it. It’s hilarious, you will love it. Very short but very funny. Take good care of that “almost” cold and sore body parts!! Hugs and love to the furry family!

    March 7, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      I do like those a little darker photos and it’s so nice to walk by the bog when the light is almost gone, that’s when one can see the most odd things 🙂

      I am actually drinking some of the tea Joyce sent me this Christmas, They smell heavenly and taste very good as long as they still are warm 🙂 I like to drink cold tea sometimes but these did not gain anything on that 🙂

      Yes ravens do and they have become a big problem here. Just a few decades we barely saw any here and now they are so many. We all like them though but it won’t be long until they are hunted once again. The raven behaves much like the New Zealand parrot Kea who also kill animals, something very few know.

      I’ll pop over to Your blog straight away!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 7, 2015 at 3:57 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Moon over the bog is my favorite photo today though all are lovely. The Saturn one is cool. It probably is just the magnified effect of the atmosphere that did it but it’s fun to think otherwise. 🙂
    It often happens that the sun and full moon set/rise together. The trick is to be where you can see both horizons at the same time. There are lots of obstructions around me; trees, buildings, hills etc.
    Speaking of celestial things, I read that Europe is supposed to have a total eclipse of the sun this month. The power companies are worried that the resulting power surges will cause big power failures. They’re planning on all the lights going on and then going off when the sun comes back. Something like that anyway. It looks like you will have more than 90% of the sun covered. Better get some batteries for the flashlight. 🙂

    The tractor looks like it needs some assistance before it disappears into the muck.

    Hope you can find a substitute for the evening pot of tea.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 7, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I think I like the first moon photo better. I’m pretty sure that it isn’t the rings we’re seeing but it does look cool 🙂 Too bad we have clouds in the sky now I would like to take a new photo of Saturn but with high ISO and short time, I think the photo would turn out better even if the rings not might be visible anyway 🙂

      I actually had the forest where the sun was setting but it was just above the tree line and the moon was quite high too. I must have seen both during summer here since the sun shows all day if it is clear 🙂

      I didn’t know that, must check what date it’ll happen! It was cloudy here last time we had a total eclipse here and it will most likely be cloudy this time too, it always is 🙂 I have one flash light but I doubt I’ll need it 🙂

      Yes that tractor won’t leave by itself 🙂

      I can always have some warm milk, not the same but I like that too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 7, 2015 at 7:27 pm

  5. suz

    and I thought I was the only one who suddenly had to give up coffee and tea after 4 p.m. … it happened with me three years ago, and like you, I miss tea in the evening the most. decaffeinated-anything and herbal teas just aren’t the same, might as well be plain water.

    my face pix today are the backlit ones with the dogs and the hunting/observation stand.
    suz in usa

    March 7, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    • Hi suz!

      I nevber thought it would happen so fast! One day it’s ok to drink a pot of tea before I go to bed, the next I sleep really bad!
      No it isn’t the same no matter how tasty it is. I got some this Christmas and it is delicious but not the same.

      My favorite today is the first moon photo and I do like the ravens too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 7, 2015 at 7:29 pm

  6. Dianna Erwin

    Hi Christer! Spring has found us too! Sorry to hear you are still a bit under the weather. The Canadian geese have found you too!! What good news! Love the picture of Sally, such a sweet face. Have a good evening, we are off to the country for dinner at my brother’s.

    Sent from my HTC

    March 7, 2015 at 9:15 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Two Canadian geese flew just a few meters above my head when I left work last Thursday 🙂 There’s a horse paddock nearby so they had rested there I guess eating lots of grass 🙂 So spring has found You too 🙂 It does make life feel so much better 🙂

      I hope You had a great dinner!

      Christer.

      March 8, 2015 at 5:26 am

  7. Christer,
    It is so nice to see grass, running water and snowless trees. My world is covered in snow and will be for a while. We are expecting one day around 40˚ or 41˚ this week. It will seem like summer.

    I wish I could say we have turned the corner to spring, but it is still too cold. I did have a few green shoots before all the snow. I hope they will be fine until the snow melts. Meanwhile I have some cut flowers here in the house. I can pretend it is spring.

    Enjoy your good weather!

    March 8, 2015 at 1:08 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is soo easy to get used to winters like this and I’m not sure that’s a good thing. Just imagine how bad it must feel next time we get a real winter, starting in late October 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It was already 44F here when I got up at 5 am so if the sun actually shows today as they predicted it can be really warm.

      I have a flowering citrus tree in my hallway but I still have my little Christmastree in the living room 🙂 It does look so nice when I have the lights on 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 8, 2015 at 5:33 am

Leave a Reply

