An hour of constant complaining!

This really bad photo, the lens decided it would focus on the plants beside instead, shows the first Crane over the village :-) There was one more but it flew just in front of the sun.

This really bad photo, the lens decided it would focus on the plants beside instead, shows the first Crane over the village 🙂 There was one more but it flew just in front of the sun.

 

It has been a truly wonderful morning and it could only have been better if the wind had calmed down some. The sun is shining, birds are singing, swans, both mute and trumpet pass by in big numbers up in the sky and I saw two cranes but heard several while we were out walking. The sun will be blocked by the clouds later on today but the winds will finally calm down some. Tomorrow seems to be a fantastic day, too bad I must work 🙂

 

DSC_0032

My neighbor has two windows towards the sun rise.

My neighbor has two windows towards the sun rise.

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

 

Another sure sign of spring hanging around is the Jackdaw’s hunt for a good chimney to build a nest in 🙂 So even if it isn’t cold indoors I will have the fire burning. I have a net strapped to the top of my chimney, the problem is that it doesn’t stop Jackdaw’s from pushing down sticks and other things they need to build a nest 🙂 I guess they think that as long as they can fill the chimney with the building material they’ll figure out how to remove the net later on 🙂

 

DSC_0036

Teodor decided he wanted to follow us on our morning walk today (Bertil was inside the cottage). I have no idea why he wanted that because he hates! to walk with us. He was shouting constantly for the entire walk! Over an hour!

Teodor decided he wanted to follow us on our morning walk today (Bertil was inside the cottage). I have no idea why he wanted that because he hates! to walk with us. He was shouting constantly for the entire walk! Over an hour!

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

 

I would have liked to bring the Edixa camera with me on our next walk but there’s a problem, the film broke at the end in the cassette it comes in and now I can’t open the camera to remove the film and place it in a container where the light won’t reach it. Back in the days the film cassette came in a black plastic container but today it comes in a see through container?! So I think I must buy something we call electric tape, a sort of elastic black tape that I can cover the see through container with so I can remove the film and put a new one in it instead. I have two other films from the Hasselblad camera just waiting to be shipped for developement.

 

DSC_0043

The gusts must have been even stronger than they sounded, this birch broke in two!

The gusts must have been even stronger than they sounded, this birch broke in two!

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

 

I also noticed that I have one film in my old Minolta camera that still has a few shots left but I can’t use that camera either because it needs batteries to work and I tend to forget to bring them with me so I get the right kind again :-), Soo many cameras still no chance of using them 🙂 I still haven’t tried my old Kodak No.2 Folding Autographic Brownie yet though (they made it between 1915-1926. It’s that camera I bought for less than 4$ US 🙂 It works just fine and I’ve seen it sold for much, much more later on. It is nice to be lucky once in a while 🙂 ). I just cleaned the lens which was amazingly easy 🙂 I would never dare to do that on any newer lens but this one was simple, just screw it apart and put it together again, it is impossible to do anything wrong 🙂 I think I’ll bring that one along on our next walk!

 

DSC_0047

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0055

 

But first I need to do the laundry otherwise I won’t have any clean clothes next week, I don’t mind but I guess my work friends will 🙂 🙂 🙂 I hope we’ll have sunshine long enough so I can try this old camera but I haven’t decided if I should use the only black and white film I have or a color film, in a way it seems to fit better to use the black and white with such an old camera.

 

We walked across the field to the place where the road had collapsed. He shouted so loudly that I couldn't leave him thete, every fox, lynx and wolf nearby knew he would be alone :-)

We walked across the field to the place where the road had collapsed. He shouted so loudly that I couldn’t leave him there, every fox, lynx and wolf nearby knew he would be alone 🙂

DSC_0057

He sisn't used to walk long distances so here he was totallu eh´xhausted :-) I had to carry him for a while. Shortly after this he left us to walk in the forest by himself, complaining loudly. I hope the fox hasn't taken him because he's not home yet.

He isn’t used to walk long distances so here he was totally exhausted 🙂 I had to carry him for a while. Shortly after this he left us to walk in the forest by himself, complaining loudly. I hope the fox hasn’t taken him because he’s not home yet.

DSC_0061

 

Have a great day!

 

Two happy and tired dogs after chasing eachother in the fields.

Two happy and tired dogs after chasing each other in the fields.

DSC_0065

 

 

27 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Please let me know if Teodor comes home! I would hate to think he was so exhausted that he couldn’t fight for himself!! I did find it amusing that he complained and shouted the whole walk though. What a funny cat! I love ginger cats, I have one on my lap sleeping as I type this at the moment too, but she’s purring! 🙂 What fantastic window pictures! Those are calendar worthy! I hope you get your film sorted out and it doesn’t get exposed to light. Strange that they make the containers see through now! I am off this coming week, need to burn up my holidays before the end of the month or we lose them. Not willing to do that!! I am going on a sleigh ride today at our friend’s ranch. My husband goes up usually every weekend to drive the team of Percherons, winter and summer, so I thought I’d best get one sleigh ride in before all the snow melts. We are hitting plus temperatures this week! March is a peculiar month! Have a good Sunday evening!

    March 8, 2015 at 3:09 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I think I heard him complain when we were out walking a few hours ago but he still hasn’t come home. It isn’t far so he can easily walk home if he so pleases. I’m pretty sure he’ll come home when it is time to eat 🙂
      Ginger cats are special, a bit odd 🙂 He’s a big kind cat my Teodor.

      I thought those windows looked great this morning!

      As long as I get a black container I’ll be fine, I can make it completely black in my bathroom so no risk of light contamination. It is strange that they make those containers in see through plastic!

      Have fun at the sleigh ride! I wouldn’t want to loose holidays either! We cab save five days of our vacation up to five years if we wish and if we haven’t used them we’ll get the money on our pay check after five years. I never save any days, who knows if I will live long enough to use them 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 8, 2015 at 3:26 pm

    • Teodor is back and very hungry 🙂

      March 8, 2015 at 6:23 pm

      • Dianna

        Yay! Glad he found his way…. 🙂

        March 9, 2015 at 9:11 pm

      • Hunger helped him home 🙂

        March 10, 2015 at 6:50 pm

  2. Robin Larkspar

    Well, Christer, I think shaving your head brought Spring to you, but has had absolutely no effect here. I am glad the cranes are arriving! Nice to see lots of photos of Teodor. I hope he has made his way home safely. Maybe he has a touch of Spring Fever and wanted to feel the air.
    Good luck with all your camera issues. Make a list (as I have told you before!) so you don’t forget batteries and black tape. Hope the rest of your Sunday has gone well.

    March 8, 2015 at 4:23 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      I was so sure it would get cold here as soon as I shaved of my hair and therefore warmer where You live but it turned out to be just the opposite 🙂

      Still no Teodor here at home, I hope he didn’t decide to walk back the same way we came. He’s veryu kind but perhaps not so smart 🙂

      I need to bring those batteries with me because I can’t say what kind they are and nothing much is written on them either 🙂 They are so small too so I’m pretty sure I’ll lose them on my way tothe store 🙂 I did go out with the old camera today so now I’ll post thre rolls of film tomorrow 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 8, 2015 at 4:40 pm

    • Teodor is finally back and very hungry too 🙂

      March 8, 2015 at 6:22 pm

  3. jaz

    i am worried about teodor. i hope he makes it home safely. please let us know as soon as he comes home. we have our first spring day here and teddy could not be happier. she has been out the entire day!

    March 8, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I do wonder whu he didn’t want to follow us on the road but instead take the forest way. I’m not especially worried yet but I do hope he’ll be at home before I go to bed tonight.

      I so understand Teddy 🙂 We were out in the garden for a couple of hours but then the clouds came and covered the sun.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 8, 2015 at 5:19 pm

    • I can happily say that Teodor just came in and he’s very hungry 🙂

      March 8, 2015 at 6:22 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer
    Well Teodor’s whereabouts are going to be the worry of the day until he shows up. You might have to post his arrival on Facebook. 🙂 I hope he comes home soon.

    I was perplexed about the clear containers. Do you mean the outside plastic ones that the cartridge or canister comes in? Clear anything else doesn’t make sense. The film would get exposed as soon as you tried to put it in the camera.

    Today is the first day of daylight savings time where we move the clock ahead one hour. It doesn’t usually bother me but this time it is. I’m all out of synch and lounging around like it’s still early morning. As far as I’m concerned it is but the clock says differently. I may ignore the clock.
    The weather is much warmer but cloudy and damp. I can see a bit more pavement peeking out from under the retreating snow line. There is even a tiny bit of dead grass showing up. Progress. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    March 8, 2015 at 6:05 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I can happily tell You that Teodor has come home, I just opened the door and in he went, very hungry 🙂
      It is the outside one, the inner one is metal and it was when I reached the end of the film that it broke from the cassette. So now I need to find one of those old plastic ones or tape one see through so I can remove the film from the camera, place it in the plastic one and send it to be develpoed. They said as long as I just put a notice on the plastic container that it can’t be opened in the light they’ll fix it without any problems.

      I truly hate daylight savings time, or summer time as we call it here. It’s just stupid and every time the change the time one hour ahead or back the heart attack rate goues up at least 5%. I’m not worried about a heart attack yet though 🙂 Still I am always out of synch for at least a month or two. So stupid!

      So there’s hope of a spring over on Your side of the ocean too 🙂 I cleaned after the dogs in the garden today, took an hour but now it’s clean out there 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 8, 2015 at 6:22 pm

      • Caryn

        There will be a mighty pile of dog poo in my side yard once the glacier melts. Both dogs climb up to the highest spot on the snow piles and poop up there. I can’t reach it and even if I could, it generally melts itself a crater in the snow and freezes in solidly.

        It snowed here for a bit this afternoon. Winter just will not give over.

        I’m glad to know that Teodor is safely home. 🙂

        March 8, 2015 at 10:31 pm

      • 🙂 I wish my dogs were more like that, they spread it as good as they can:-) Especially Orvar who continues to walk while pooping 🙂 🙂 🙂

        It is so strange that winter still hang around! I do hope it turns soon!

        I thought he woulkd return back home when it was time to eat 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        March 9, 2015 at 7:12 pm

  5. I long to hear the Cranes, they fly over us in June, heading for the farmers fields, I’m glad you have spring, good thing with your hair gone! Darn that Teodor for worrying us all, lol,

    March 8, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is a wonderfulk sound! They arrive here early and eat a lot before they continue on their way to Norway.

      I was glad to see that cat again 🙂

      Congartulations to the silver medal in cross country ski biathlon by the way! It was so fun to see someone else than the usual win a medal!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 8, 2015 at 8:20 pm

  6. Hi Christer,
    So glad to have read this post after Teodor returned home because I too would have been concerned like fellow readers. The window reflections were also my favorite photos in this post as well as the sunset on the water. I can recall when 35mm film came in small plastic containers that were light-proof, but the larger sizes like 120 and 220 film didn’t have similar containers.
    Hope you can make your solution work cause it’s so frustrating to have a film jam in a camera and it happened to me too years ago. Now, I only use digital camera, so the only problem I would have is a bad SD card. It’s also the reason I do not use large capacity cards as I would not want to lose too many images if the card malfunctioned, so I carry several smaller capacity cards.
    Yes, shaving your head definitely seems to have improved your weather from the wood scenes I saw with no snow. We still have too much here in NH.

    March 8, 2015 at 10:01 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I waspretty sure he would come home when it was time to eat 🙂

      I think we all like those window photos today 🙂 and it’s a sunrise photo by the creek, I rarely get any sun set photos, the forest is in the way I’m afraid.

      No the larger films are covered with paper instead and the 135mm is normally wound back into the cassette, It is so annoying that it broke inside the cassette!! I’ll buy electric tape on Friday when I go to the super market because I think it might be impossible to find a black light proof one now days.

      I too only have a small SD card in my digital cameras. But I rarely save any photos to be honest so I don’t need a big one.

      It is so odd, normally when I shave my head it only takes minutes until the bad weather arrives 🙂 This time it brought spring to us instead 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 9, 2015 at 7:09 pm

  7. jaz

    yay!!! i was so worried about him! i am SO glad he is home and safe. you said he would come home when he was hungry!

    March 8, 2015 at 10:54 pm

    • Yes he knows when the food is served 🙂 🙂 🙂

      March 9, 2015 at 7:12 pm

  8. Christer,
    I hope Teodor has made it home. My two cats don’t go out at all. We had two cats poisoned and one hit by a car when I was young so our cats never go outside. Many here also do not. I was once told that outside cats only have a 50-50 chance of making it home.

    It was 39˚ today but with no sun it felt damp. At least there wasn’t any snow!

    Tonight was a good one: games with my friends and the new appetizers I tried. They were all delicious. The only drawback was I sliced the tip of my finger and there was a lot of blood. I’ll have to cover it again tonight so I don’t start it bleeding again. It was a ceramic knife which is very sharp.

    I hope you had a great evening!

    March 9, 2015 at 2:45 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes he came home when the food was about to be served 🙂 That cat wouldn’t miss the chance to eat even if he was dead 🙂 Cats are very loved here since they are organic farmers, noo poison of any kind is allowed. So many stray cats find a home here and not only feed on rats and mice but are fed too 🙂

      Well over 50F here today but nights are still rather cold.

      They did sound delicious those apetizers! I hate it when I cut my fingers while slising food! I once had a knife so sharp that I didn’t feel that I cut deep into my finger, I understood that when the bread was soaked in blood 🙂 It did hurt a lot after though 🙂 I hope it heals well!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 9, 2015 at 7:19 pm

  9. Skönt att läsa att Teodor var hemma igen! Man blir lite orolig när djuren försvinner så där i stora läskiga skogen!! 😦 😦
    Det är inte lätt med teknik, antingen är det fel batterier man har hemma eller fel lampor eller nått annat…just idag har vår tvättmaskin lagt av. Den tvättar visserligen jättebra, men den värmer inte längre vattnet. Vilket är ganska viktigt! 😦
    Efter konsultation med vår goda vän och elektriker – samt hans son som jobbar med att installera vitvaror – så fick vi naturligtvis beskedet att det inte var reparerbart. Vilket Rolle redan konstaterat, så det är bara att köpa en ny. Den var över 12 år gammal, så det kanske inte var så konstigt.
    Så nu är en ny beställd på nätet, då får man den hemkörd ända till dörren och dessutom är det 500:- billigare än att köpa samma här på ön. 🙂 🙂
    Nyss tog vi bort den gamla – vilket inte var lätt. Vi fick ta ut den på en pirra genom verkstaden och sen ska den upp i pickisens lastutrymme. Jag har sagt till att jag VÄGRAR att lyfta mer idag, nu får vi be nån starkare om hjälp. Men Rolle ger sig inte, han ska försöka baxa upp den själv…..så dumt! 😦
    KRAM/Susie

    March 10, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag var ganska så säker på att han skulle komma hem så fort det var mat på gång och där hade jag rätt 🙂 Bägge katterna är ju vana utekatter och om Teodor bara kunde hålla truten så skulle han klara sig från räven, men han har ju svårt med det,att hålla trutenb alltså 🙂

      Nej teknik har sina egna regler och lagar 🙂 trist med tvättmaskinen! Så då får vi hoppas du hittar en bra ny! Visst är det praktiskt med nätet ibland! Inte illa att få hem en billigare!

      De väger ju ton tvättmaskiner 🙂 Enklast är nog att bara skruva isär hela skiten och bära ut den bit för bit 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      March 10, 2015 at 7:05 pm

  10. It’s a relief to know that Teodor is home safe and sound. I always enlarge all of your photo’s..I was wondering what that square red thing was way back at the end of the creek bed?? As tired as Teodor was, I was surprise he went off into the woods alone. I bet he found a cozy safe place to take a nap and slept the day away.. do you suppose? 🙂 Take good care, Christer. The green moss is so vivid. Do you enhance your color at all or is it normally so green. Beautiful!! The set in the neighbors window..or was that your window…was neat! Like a framed painting.
    Mona

    March 13, 2015 at 6:13 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I was pretty sure he would come home as soon as I was giving them their food 🙂

      That is a hunting tower, the sides are for some reason covered in orange/brown metal.

      I can’t even imagine what reasons he had 🙂 My guess is that he simply walked to my neighbors stable and stayed there until dinner time 🙂

      No I never inhance the colors, the moss just looks like that and in the right angle towards the light it sometimes looks like it is luminous 🙂

      I have a hedge in the way of my kitchen window so these are my neighbors windows 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 13, 2015 at 3:37 pm

Leave a Reply

