It might be her ear again.

DSC_0055

Once again the night was pretty cold and today it took a while to get temperatures above 0C (32F), there was still ice on creeks when we walked around after 1pm. But the sun is shining and the wind is blowing which makes it pretty cold. But I started to boil when we walked where the wind didn’t reach so sometimes I had the jacket unzipped and sometimes I wished for a scarf and my yellow cap πŸ™‚ It looks nice when looking out the window though πŸ™‚

 

We walked down to the creek again and followed it up stream.

We walked down to the creek again and followed it up-stream.

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

It’s a bit strange because I still haven’t heard the Black Grouse out on the bog, the roosters are normally doing their best to impress the hen by now. I doubt that they started very early because of the lack of snow so they already are done, they can go on way in to June even though no hen even are close by then.

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

Hard to see what this shows but it is ants on an ant stack.

Hard to see what this shows but it is ants on an ant stack.

DSC_0033

 

I thought Nova had hurt her neck yesterday after playing hard with Sune, she came down the stairs with her head hanging low and complained when I lifted up her head. I massaged her neck and that didn’t seem to bother her at all and then I found a small injury that I cleaned but she still didn’t want to lift her head. Today she started to flap her ears again, I think it might be an ear infection, again! that gave her that pain. I cleaned the ear and dropped the medicine into it and she has no trouble at all to try to shake it out πŸ™‚ and she has kept on playing hard with Sune so now I doubt that it is the neck at all. I’ll keep an eye on her though and if this continues we’ll go to the vet again.

 

DSC_0034

The beavers seems to like this place.

The beavers seem to like this place.

Bridge number 1. That's the bridge leading to the hunting tower by the bog.

Bridge number 1. That’s the bridge leading to the hunting tower by the bog.

This ditch, which is wider than it looks and with swampy edges so I started to sink while I took this photo, stopped us from reaching the bog.

This ditch, which is wider than it looks and with swampy edges so I started to sink while I took this photo, stopped us from reaching the bog.

 

There isn’t much to watch on tv tonight so I think I’ll watch a dvd instead, I have plenty I haven’t seen yet, the weather has just been too good and I’ve been too tired in the evenings. It’s time to give myself something to eat, all the animals have already eaten.

 

Square photos means Hasselblad photos. I haven't edited these at all so I guess I'm getting the hang of it now :-)

Square photos means Hasselblad photos. I haven’t edited these at all so I guess I’m getting the hang of it now πŸ™‚

No, we are not having a snow storm now, these photos are at least a month old :-)

No, we are not having a snow storm now, these photos are at least a month old πŸ™‚

3

This photo came out totally flat, it is normally a very beautiful place but that's impossible to see here :-) More photos will come tomorrow.

This photo came out totally flat, it is normally a very beautiful place but that’s impossible to see here πŸ™‚ More photos will come tomorrow.

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    The flat photo is lovely. It looks like the distant forest is calling me but there’s a barrier across the way. But I want to find a way in. πŸ™‚

    Bridge No. 1? Where? It looks like all fallen logs to me.

    The ants look very busy. The other day as I was sitting out on the sunny steps I saw three houseflies and a small bronze metallic colored fly. They don’t waste any time getting up and running. A couple of warm days and they’re good to go.

    Poor Nova. Another ear infection. You might have to do preventative ear cleaning on a daily basis. That’s almost as difficult as brushing dog teeth especially when the dog doesn’t want it to be done. :/

    It’s hazy sunshine and cold here today. It’s supposed to rain tomorrow. Freezing rain actually with maybe some snow later on. I want to put my snowblower in the cellar for the season. Grr.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 13, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      The fun thing is that the way in sort of disappears in the snow πŸ™‚ It is quite visible when the snow is gone and I think that’s why the photo look so flat.

      Yes it does and that’s bridge number one πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The flies never really rested here during winter, they were only gone those times we had snow here, I’ve had them flying around here all winter, a very slow and tired flight though πŸ™‚ I guess more flies died this winter because of the warmer weather than during cold ones πŸ™‚

      The problem is that the ear is so tight that it hurts her when I try to clean it out and then the ear starts to ache just because of that. I tried one of those liquid ear cleaners but she can’t shake it out and then that gives her problems too! The vet said her ear is built to give her infections. But no matter how much it hurts she sits still and let me do it poor girl.

      There are few things I like less than freezing rain! I do hope it melts away fast! and more snow! I think You’ve had enough of it now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 13, 2015 at 6:02 pm

  2. Robin Larkspar

    So many photos with sunshine. And it is nice to see your creeks and streams running, instead of freezing over. That muddy ditch that you started sinking in, keeping you from the bog: I think it is a trap to catch humans for the Bog Ladies. Be very careful!!! I hope Nova doesn’t have to go to the vet.

    March 13, 2015 at 9:23 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      Even though we have had a mild winter we stilkl haven’t had any sunshine so guess if I’m enjoying every single second I can get from it πŸ™‚

      It might just be that πŸ™‚ It would at least have caught the old dogs because they are too heavu to stand close to it too πŸ™‚

      She always get these ear infections so I have plenty of her medicine here at home πŸ™‚ My old vet made sure I wouodn’t have to go to the vet station for a long time πŸ™‚ Too bad he doesn’t work any more.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 14, 2015 at 5:58 am

  3. jaz

    hi christer! i don’t know why but you photos no longer load well for me. i only get bits of them? i hope nova feels better soon. teddy’s bladder infection is back and we have 30 days of antibiotics this time. i just hate it when pups get sick. it was in the mid 50’s here today and rain is just moving in. tomorrow we go to our first maple festival! joyce

    March 13, 2015 at 11:07 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      How strange! I don’t have that problem here. Could it be the web reader? I have Opera and it gave me other problems for a while but now they have updated it so suddenly everything works as it should again πŸ™‚

      Nova does feel better today so I’m pretty sure it is that damned ear of hers again! Poor Teddy! Thankfully only one of my dogs have had that problem and it was difficult to get rid of it, I sure hope it gors away for good after this time with antibiotics!

      Have they started tapping the maples πŸ™‚ Feels like it wasn’t that long ago You were on one of those festivals. Time just flies!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 14, 2015 at 6:07 am

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! My heart fell when I saw those snowy photos but then read that those were older pictures. Whew! πŸ™‚ I hope Nova’s ear gets better quick! Poor thing, always something isn’t it? Our Willow has been having some sort of weird invisible thing with what I think is her foot but hard to say. When she goes to lay down she yelps. She’s not limping so I have no clue. Just keep watch I guess….I am sure you are tucked up in bed by now, I am late getting to the computer today to check my e-mails. We are due really good weather tomorrow and then it gets a bit colder. That’s ok, its melting the snow and that’s fine with me!

    March 14, 2015 at 2:10 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I thought it was best to write that it was some time ago I took those photos πŸ™‚

      The medicine works good so she’s already in a better mood, well as long as I don’t try to drop those drops into it πŸ™‚

      Could be Willow’s back that hurts but it would have been so much easier if they just could tell us.

      Yes I slept like a baby when You wrote here πŸ™‚ This morning is cold but cloud free and it will be rather warm during the day πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 14, 2015 at 6:11 am

Leave a Reply

