Sunny and cold morning.

DSC_0032

The night has been rather cold and the morning walk felt somewhat chilly even though the sun shone with full power and there were only a few clouds around, the weak wind didn’t make much difference though. I could hear cranes shouting out on the bog and trumpet swans flew just a few meters above our heads. We walked to the little lake because I thought there might be a few birds there now but none could be seen, the lake had frozen during the night and the big lake would probably have some open water spots so they would go there instead.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0033

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

 

I saw some new fence poles by the old decaying cottage so I guess that it soon will be torn down to make place for cattle. I took a few photos and You can see them in my NG photo album: National Geographic.Β Just click on the red text and a new window should open up showing my photos. You’ll also be able to see two that I took with my Hasselblad camera that I won’t post here. Nothing much happened during our walk though, not even the sound of aa animal moving around could be heard.

 

DSC_0044

The old decaying cottage. I saw new fence poles close to it so I guess it soon will be torn down.

The old decaying cottage. I saw new fence poles close to it so I guess it soon will be torn down.

DSC_0048

DSC_0051

More photos from this cottage can be seen in my NG album.

 

 

I bought some vegetable seeds when I was at the super market yesterday, they were for some reason price reduced with 20% so I thought why not πŸ™‚ I bought a big pack withΒ broad beans and normal sized packages with spring onion, broccoli, squash and different colored carrots. The ground here isn’t good enough for carrots though, too many pebbles in it so they split and get fun shapes but I was thinking of growing those in raised beds together with the spring onions. If lucky that will confuse both the carrot and onion flies.

 

I've never really looked towards this place before but it does look like an old stone wall, perhaps this was the place where the priest once lived close to the old church that later on was abandoned?

I’ve never really looked towards this place before but it does look like an old stone wall, perhaps this was the place where the priest once lived close to the old church that later on was abandoned?

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

The night was cold but I didn't expect to see the lake frozen.

The night was cold but I didn’t expect to see the lake frozen.

 

I’m thinking of finding a potato that is resistant towards potato blight which is a big problem here, I guess the air is too humid so it thrives on my potatoes every time I grow them. I will of course also sow at least one pumpkin plant, after all I did get one pumpkin last summer even if I didn’t see it until all leafs had been frost-bitten πŸ™‚ I’ll sow some tomato seeds today too, can’t live without at least a few own grown tomatoes πŸ™‚

 

Yes spring is here, the coltsfoot flowers :-)

Yes spring is here, the coltsfoot flowers πŸ™‚

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

DSC_0069

 

It is time for the last cup of tea for the day, after that a short nap and then we’ll head out for another walk. Nova’s ear seems better and doesn’t hurt any longer, I have plenty of medicine for her so I’ll just keep on dropping it into her ear for as long as it is needed.

 

Square photos are Hasselblad photos. I'll show two more from this roll of film and I'm still waiting for that last roll to be developed.

Square photos are Hasselblad photos. I’ll show two more from this roll of film and I’m still waiting for that last roll to be developed.

2

3

6

 

Have a great day!

 

This is Jupiter and I still haven't figured out how to take photos that doesn't show it like a burning star :-) I'll get there but it will take some tries. I'll try tonight again if the sky is clear.

This is Jupiter and I still haven’t figured out how to take photos that doesn’t show it like a burning star πŸ™‚ I’ll get there but it will take some tries. I’ll try tonight again if the sky is clear.

Orion's belt.

Orion’s belt.

The last three just shows randomly taken photos of the night sky. These stars are towards nort- north west. Lots of them out there and lots are even galaxies.

The last three just shows randomly taken photos of the night sky. These stars are towards north north-west. Lots of them out there and lots are even galaxies.

DSC_0029 DSC_0030

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Love the photo of Nova impersonating a tree mushroom. πŸ™‚

    It’s not fair that you have spring with flowers already. I protest. Here is only dirty snow and bits of mud.

    Why does Jupiter photographs like that? It should show like the moon does because it’s reflected light. Unless your exposure time is long enough to get a bit of celestial motion? It almost looks like a double exposure with that part circle above it. And where does the halo come front?

    Today has started out frustratingly. I went into the bathroom and spied a coyote hunting in the back woods. Of course, if I went to get my camera he would have disappeared by the time I returned to the window so I opted to watch him until he ran off. Lovely animal. Reddish colored. Great.
    So 10 minutes later I took the dogs outside for their morning duties. And the coyote ran across the back yard from the other end of the street. I need a camera with a full set of lenses surgically implanted in my head along with the capability to wirelessly upload, download and print. Seriously.

    Frustrating thing 2 is that my computer keeps telling me my start up disk is full. It says I have 25 Gb left and one usually needs 30 for the thing to work right. Adding up all the file sizes does not come anywhere near the capacity of my laptop so I have no idea what’s happening.

    Happy Pi Day. I missed the 3/14/15 9:26AM celebratory countdown. Maybe I’ll remember for the PM one. Probably not.
    Enjoy the day. Eat some pie. πŸ™‚

    March 14, 2015 at 3:26 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      πŸ™‚ I dolike that one too.

      If You got upset by that flower photo, don’t come here tomorrow πŸ™‚ More flowers will be shown πŸ™‚

      I have the shutter open for too long, I have so far let the camera decide for how long it should be open. If the sky is clear enough I will decide that myself so I’ll have to take plenty photographs to see for how long it must be open. I have a slight problem with ground light though, my neighbor always have lots of lights in their windows πŸ™‚ I think the halo is air pollution in our atmosphere.

      I think Apple soon will have that thing You wish for πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Too bad You didn’t have a camera with You. But isn’t it always like that, we see the most amazing things when the camera is out of reach πŸ™‚

      The second frustrating thing is odd though! Have You checked the Cash memory? It could be wise to delete all items in there but 30 GB, do You really need that much to start up the computer? Sounds an awful lot but then again I have no idea how much I need πŸ™‚

      I was thinking of making a pie but I only have gooseberries and they are so sour I would need a pound of sugar to make it somewhat sweet and I also have Aronia berries and they are so tart that nothing really helps πŸ™‚ To be honest they don’t taste anywhere near edible but they are very healthy but who cares when one is making pie πŸ™‚

      Happy Pi Day!
      Christer.

      March 14, 2015 at 5:37 pm

      • Caryn

        I cleared my history but I can’t find the cookies or the cache anymore. Everytime Apple does a new upgrade they hide it somewhere new. The last time I looked at it there were choices on what I wanted to have removed. I didn’t understand the choices so I did nothing.

        March 15, 2015 at 10:58 pm

      • Yes why do they do that!!! It’s the same with windows and I just hate when they change it so I can’t find it again!

        March 16, 2015 at 7:14 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! We were chilly this morning as well. Woke up to -2 but within the hour the thermometer is reading +6. Nice!! I can hear geese honking and things are melting quite nicely. We should hit 13 or 14 today and tomorrow then it gets cold again. I have sent my son your link to your NG page. He loves photography as does my husband and can appreciate beautiful pictures too! πŸ™‚ You have big fans over here in the middle of Canada! πŸ™‚ I hope Nova’s ear gets better quick. Our Willow is still yelping now and again when she goes to lay down so I am sure she’s hurt something. She thinks that she’s 2, but she will be 13 this November and her body can’t do what it used to. She likes to play hard but forgets she’s elderly! πŸ™‚ I am off for a lunch today with my boy and his friend and her mom. Should be a good time. We have my niece and nephew coming for a sleep over tonight so lots of energy and early to bed I am sure! πŸ™‚ Pancakes are on the menu for breakfast tomorrow. Have a good Saturday evening!!

    March 14, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      -6 here but it changed quickly but so did the wind and that made it feel much the same πŸ™‚ We reached 8,5 as highest today.

      I hope they like what they see in my album πŸ™‚ Some are really good and some are really bad πŸ™‚

      It looks as if the ear, with the help from medicines, is ok now. We’ll keep on with it for 14 days and hope for the best. I have those cortisone pills we can use but she got so sad while eating them so I’ll save them until we need them desperately.

      I do hope Willow also get better soon but old age has a tendency to make bodies ache. Hector has finally understood that he isn’t two any longer so even on good days he knows he shouldn’t jump over the meter high fence πŸ™‚

      Pancakes is never wrong πŸ™‚ But I can’t have any fried food for breakfast, lunch hwever is perfect πŸ™‚

      Have a nice lunch!

      Christer.

      March 14, 2015 at 5:45 pm

  3. Robin Larkspar

    What a fabulous night sky you have. In our urban area we can see maybe 20 stars. Out at our country place though the night sky is amazing.
    That photo of our Queen of the Universe is perfect!
    Good luck with seed sowing. Way too early here for us. I should start some seeds inside, but I don’t really have a place safe from kittens. Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

    March 14, 2015 at 6:46 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      It is amazing even though I stand right by my neighbors house which pours out light πŸ™‚ I really should walk out to the bog and check the night sky there! I bet it’s just as beautiful at Your country place!

      I do like that photo too! I wonder what it was she saw because I saw nothing πŸ™‚

      Tomato plants are usually left alone by cats, it both taste and smell awful for them πŸ™‚ My cats don’t bother about plants but they are outside most parts of the day this time of year πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 14, 2015 at 7:23 pm

  4. Christer,
    The difference between the snow pictures and the spring-like pictures is amazing. The snow looks like here though with today’s all day rain there may be much less snow. The sun pictures make me quite jealous. It was in the low 40’s today which I think is our new weather pattern. Gracie finally went out in the rain as she had stayed in the whole day.

    I didn’t go anywhere today so my list for tomorrow is now much larger. Gracie and I will go to the dump then to get some stuff for St. Patrick’s day. I have already ordered the meat for the corned beef and cabbage.

    Despite a slow day, I am really tired tonight so it will be an early night.

    Have a great evening!

    March 15, 2015 at 12:39 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It is and I’m so glad it is the spring photos that show how it is now πŸ™‚
      The warm weather will stay but tomorrow seems to be the last day we’ll see the sun. Friday seems to be cloudy which is not surprising since we’ll have a solar eclipse here (almost 90% will be covered if I remember right). So we’ll miss it like always πŸ™‚

      Sometimes it’s more tiering to do nohing πŸ™‚

      Have a happy St. Patricks day!
      Christer.

      March 15, 2015 at 6:24 am

Leave a Reply

