Cleaning time.

DSC_0062

It is a sunny, chilly and windy morning but we walked down to the bog so it didn’t bother me so much. Hector has a bad leg day so we won’t take any longer walks until he’s better again. I think the running and jumping the other day may have been very fun for him but now it’s payback time. He’s in a good mood though and would rather die than not follow us on our walks.

 

DSC_0067

DSC_0068

DSC_0069

DSC_0070

 

I cleaned up the garden from lots of junk that has flown around in all the storms we’ve had this winter. Some of it was mine like pots but lots were things I’ve never seen before like plastic bags and candy wrappers. While walking around and realising I need to clean up after the dogs again I realised spring had progressed much further than I thought, spring flowers are in bloom everywhere now.Β 

 

We walked out on the bog but it's still too much water there.

We walked out on the bog but it’s still too much water there.

DSC_0073

DSC_0077

DSC_0078

 

Crocus, hepatica, scilla and of course the snow drops are in bloom and more is on its way. The peach tree will soon show its first leafs if it doesn’t get colder again. It is way too early because the setbacks here can be cruel. Days can be way over 10C (50F) and suddenly a night or two with -10C (14F) comes and destroys it all. Last spring some plants didn’t recover again until late summer.

 

Scilla.

Scilla.

DSC_0038

The Peach tree.

The Peach tree.

Lung wort.

Lung wort.

Hepatica.

Hepatica.

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0046

 

It is time to do the laundry, don’t have especially much today and the sunshine and wind will help to dry it up fast today. After that I’ll clean up after the dogs and then I think I’ll do some weeding in the flower beds. I’ll need a bigger vegetable garden this year, I might make the one I have bigger already today but I’m not sure I’ll have the energy for that πŸ™‚

 

There's lots of watchdog in Sune so everything he hasn't seen before is suspicious like this white plastic :-)

There’s lots of watchdog in Sune so everything he hasn’t seen before is suspicious like this white plastic πŸ™‚

DSC_0021

We went down to the creek yesterday afternoon.

We went down to the creek yesterday afternoon.

DSC_0023

 

Have a great day!

 

The two last from the Hasselblad. I guess I'll get thet photos from the last roll tomorrow or on Tuesday.

The two last from the Hasselblad. I guess I’ll get the photos from the last roll tomorrow or on Tuesday.

11

10 responses

  1. jaz

    i hope you don’t get a deep freeze after the mild winter you have had. that would be cruel if one came along and killed things.

    March 15, 2015 at 4:47 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      We always do but since this has been an unusual winter and early spring perhaps we’ll miss it this time. I can only hope πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 15, 2015 at 5:07 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! So incredible that you have so many little flowers starting! We are mostly rid of our snow, a bit here and there but we did reach 14 degrees again today although not much sun – which would have dried things up nicely, but I shall not complain!! I am decreasing my garden size this year. My brother is going to make me a vegetable trug which will be easier on my back. With my rotten troubles with my back, I just can’t get down and plant much anymore. So this will hopefully do the trick. I will, however, still get down on my knees to plant my pumpkins. That I will never stop doing, even if it hurts alot! πŸ™‚ Your forest photos are simply spectacular! I love all the moss. Poor Hector!! I hope a few days of gentle walking will help him along. Do you ever wear a pedometer to count how many miles your walk? I am always amazed at how much great walking you do! I wish I could do that!! Have a good Monday!

    March 15, 2015 at 10:10 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I have no problems getting down, up is worse πŸ™‚

      I have the trug I used last year (but I call it raised garden πŸ™‚ ) So I’ll sow the carrots and spring onions in that. I’m planning on more raised beds like that in the future since I never know for how long my rheumatism allows me to do anything much at all.

      We’ll get a setback next week they say, hopefully we’ll get above 0C dutring the days but it isn’t sure we’ll get that lucky. Just as well that the setback comes early so the damages get minimal.

      Hector walked much better already today so he’ll be back to his normal crappy walk on Friday πŸ™‚

      No I never wear a pedometer but it would be interesting to see how much I’m walking at work πŸ™‚ Sometimes it feels like >I’m walking a marathon every day πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 16, 2015 at 7:13 pm

  3. Robin Larkspar

    All those spring blooms, lucky you. I love the photo of ice in the pond. gorgeous.

    March 16, 2015 at 2:56 am

    • Hi Robin!

      It is nice to see them already but they say we’ll have a setback next week, hopefully it will stay just above 32F during the day but it is uncertain if we’ll be that lucky.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 16, 2015 at 7:16 pm

  4. Christer
    I’m looking at this on my iPad and the colors are vibrant and breathtaking. I envy you your flowers. I’ reading this from my bed, and I can hear the wind howling. It also snowed a bit today. Boston broke the record of amount of snowfall in a single winter. Not a record to cherish!

    Have a great day tomorrow!

    March 16, 2015 at 5:51 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We’ll get a setback next week and we’re all hoping the temperature will stay above 32F during the days but we might not be that lucky. I guess it’s best to get the setback before more opens up but I’ve come to enjoy this warm weather now πŸ™‚

      I read that, I’ve always thought that some records shouldn’t be broken πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 16, 2015 at 7:18 pm

  5. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’m jealous of your flowers. Nothing is showing in my yard except some things that are supposed to be evergreen but have been under feet of snow for so long that I think they’ve given up.
    It snowed here. We have beaten our all time record by one inch, I think. 108.7 inches of snow since January.

    The light in your photos is beautiful. I love the startled deer. I especially love the second photo, though. It looks so inviting. I want to walk there.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 16, 2015 at 4:41 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      We will most likely get a setback next week. We might get above 32F during the days if we’re lucky but I fear we won’t πŸ™‚

      108,7 inches! That is an awful lot πŸ™‚ I’ve always thought that some records shouldn’t be broken πŸ™‚

      I’m so glad I actually managed to capture that light! Normally I get it just a tiny bit too dark or light. That is one of my favorite spots by the bog.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 16, 2015 at 7:21 pm

Leave a Reply

