I thought I heard a Cuckoo bird.

Sunset by the bog.

Sunset by the bog.

Another warm, sunny and wind free day here. It reached 13,4C (56,1F) here by my cottage and it will be much the same tomorrow and on Thursday. It turns on Friday when I only work half day and then it will stay bad all weekend and after that slowly turn towards warmer again. I’m not surprised that the bad weather will arrive already on Friday, why should it be nice when we are at home πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

One was a bit skittish today but calmed down quickly when the other one just didn't care that we walked by :-)

One was a bit skittish today but calmed down quickly when the other one just didn’t care that we walked by πŸ™‚

DSC_0025

 

Nights are a bit cold now though, I have been scraping my car windows before I’ve left for work both yesterday and today. It is so thin ice that I really don’t mind and I guess it’s good in that way that it keeps the plants calm, they would only freeze to death if they started to grow already now.

 

DSC_0031

Sune always wants to carry around a little stick in the forest :-)

Sune always wants to carry around a little stick in the forest πŸ™‚

DSC_0027

 

I had several flocks of cranes flying high above mu car on my way home and I think I heard a Cuckoo bird in the forest on our walk after work. It is way too early for them to be here already but it sure sounded like one. I haven’t heard any Black Grouse at all though and that’s very odd! I really hope the hunters haven’t hunted those, we don’t have that many and as it sounds no at all any longer.

 

DSC_0025

Things are happening in my garden now, the quince has small buds.

DSC_0026

The red leafed Elderberry bush starts a bit too early I’m afraid. its leafs will freeze this weekend.

 

The Ussurian Redberried elderberry bush has big buds now.

The Ussurian Red berried elderberry bush has big buds now.

 

It is time for something to eat. I have some Wiener sausages and hot dog breads or >I could make some sandwiches. I’m not really hungry but Wiener sausages are always nice πŸ™‚

 

Lets start with the really, really bad photos from the latest Hasselblad camera :-)

Lets start with the really, really bad photos from the latest Hasselblad camera film roll Β πŸ™‚

The snow looks ok anyway :-)

The snow looks ok anyway πŸ™‚

This one is a favorite :-) I can't say it looked this dark when I took that photo :-)

This one is a favorite πŸ™‚ I can’t say it looked this dark when I took that photo πŸ™‚

I guess this is my personal favorite after all, the sky is completely green :-) :-) :-)

I guess this is my personal favorite after all, the sky is completely green πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

 

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Do you normally get cuckoo birds? I thought maybe it was a rare occurrence where you live! We are slowly getting towards cold again, but not like what we had. Its sunny out but certainly brisk. I took our husky for his walk last night and it was a biting wind. I love that Sune wants to carry something – that’s sweet! πŸ™‚ I love the pictures! The last one looks like you are on another planet πŸ™‚ Hope your wiener sausages were good!

    March 17, 2015 at 7:46 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Cuckoos are getting rare but not here, we have several every year. It’s important from what direction one hear it for the first time. It is best to hear it from the west, if one hear it from south it means death, from north it means the summer will be too dry and from east You’ll need to comfort someone or get comforted by someone. I normally hear it from west so no deaths, sorrows or too dry summers yet πŸ™‚

      All those four last photos do look odd πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It is getting too late for sausages and I’m not that hungry so I might skip to eat πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 17, 2015 at 8:00 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Sune obviously agrees with Teddy Roosevelt; walk softly and carry a big stick. And jump in any water that you find. πŸ™‚
    Many years ago I knew a Weimaraner named Evan who loved to carry big sticks in the forest. His people owned a motel in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. Next to the office door was an tall old style milk can with a collection of 4 foot long sticks that Evan had collected on his many walks. Evan also like to carry the motel’s dirty sheets etc from the rooms to the laundry room. Very useful that. I wonder if I can train Rocky and Piki Dog to do the same. Probably not. πŸ˜€

    Latest Hasselblad results are interesting. Almost looks like the film was too old.
    Green sky is not good. My mother used to tell about the Worcester Tornado that happened in her youth. She said the sky was a weird green color that day.

    I have never heard a cuckoo. Today I heard a red winged blackbird though. I’m not sure they are supposed to be here just yet but maybe that early bird will get the jump on some good reeds in the swamp of his choice.
    My quince is under four feet of snow. Probably no buds on it yet.

    It’s St Patrick’s Day here. I have corned beef cooking because it’s tradition.
    Enjoy the day.

    March 17, 2015 at 8:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes those two had the same idea about that πŸ™‚
      But Sune rarely carries them home, he usually drops them as soon as it’s time to be leashed or sometimes Nova just takes it from him and drops it in the forest πŸ™‚ I’m afraid I wouoldn’t have any sheets left if I tried to learn Sune that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ He’s bad enough with my socks πŸ™‚

      Yes it looks like I’ve used a very old film πŸ™‚ I have an old polaroid photo of a giraffe that turns greener by the year πŸ™‚ But we had very nice weather even after that green sky πŸ™‚

      The Cuckoo sounds very much like the clock but much slower and deeper πŸ™‚ Yes some birds hope for the best and comes early just to get the best place, some of our Black birds even stay over winter and they love to eat all the old apples that still hang on the branches or lay on the ground. Some get very drunk by those fermented apples πŸ™‚

      I hope Your Saint Patricks day was a good one!

      Christer.

      March 18, 2015 at 6:49 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! you are far ahead of us with things budding out. though those buds make me nervous because of the potential to freeze! i made colcannon and corned beef with rye bread for dinner. we are getting very cold agin tonight. up and down and up and down…it’s spring! joyce

    March 18, 2015 at 12:58 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      We’ve had it much warmer here but I thought most plants here reacted on the daylight, not so much the temperature. The weather seems to be less bad than they first predicted so I hope those buds are tough enough to make it through.

      Nights are cold here too now but that’s how it usually is here in early spring.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 18, 2015 at 6:51 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    We still have snow and those green shoots I mentioned. Buds are a really long way in the future. We will be going down to the low 20’s and high teens tonight and the next two. The days are warm, and I did see the sun for about ten minutes today. It pelted rain early in the evening. That surprised me.

    You are so much closer to spring than I am so I am jealous!

    Hope your dinner was good!

    March 18, 2015 at 1:46 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We will get snow on the night towards Saturday but thankfully the predictions er getting warmer with less snow but more rain. Not that we need more water here but it sure is better than snow πŸ™‚

      Nights are chilly though and today was the first day we just had sunshine for a few minutes, just as warm though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 18, 2015 at 6:54 pm

  5. Robin Larkspar

    I love Sune and his stick!! Your temperatures and budding plants are wonderful to see! Maybe we will have some of that soon.

    March 19, 2015 at 3:08 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      He does his best to defend if from Nova but isn’t always successful πŸ™‚ but he’s just as happy chasing her to get it back πŸ™‚

      Winter will make a short return here this weekend but predictions show that it will be warmer already on Monday πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 19, 2015 at 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

