I’ve heard the Black Grouse :-)

DSC_0037

We’ve had another wonderful day here, no wind almost sunshine ( the clouds were so thin that it shone right through them and 14C (57,2F). So who is surprised about the winter making a return here tomorrow when the weekend starts πŸ™‚ but it will be short-lived, the warm weather will be here on Tuesday according to predictions. I’m not sure I believe them but I still hope they are right πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0041

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

I finally heard the Black Grouse this morning πŸ™‚ I worried that we didn’t have any left any longer. I guess I’ve been out too late in the mornings on the weekends since I’ve waited for the sun to rise and daylight has been around for quite some time before that happens. There are now around 4000 cranes by the lake so it will soon be time for my annual visit to the lake to take some photos to show You here. They’ll also start the web cams tomorrow so I’ll give You a link to them if I remember. otherwise just tell me to do it if I forget πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0029

 

I might stop writing here for a while, not because I don’t want to but because my shoulder aches something really bad when sitting and writing. I have a doctor’s appointment next Thursday and it’s about my shoulder, my feet and my toes. They are all protesting against every move I take πŸ™‚ I can only walk on my heels when I get up in the morning and it is a bit tricky doing that when walking down stairs πŸ™‚ It gets better as soon as I have been moving around some but I think I need some special insoles in my shoes from now on.Β 

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

 

I am lucky being ambidexter, both right and left-handed, because I now only paint with my left hand. Oh the joys of having rheumatism πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So if I don’t post anything one day it is because it aches too much in my shoulder. I will however read blogs even if I might not comment. These things come and go in periods so it might get better already during the weekend since I won’t use my arm that much then but I will see the doctor anyway, after all that’s why I pay my taxes πŸ™‚

 

Some Hasselblad photos again.

Some Hasselblad photos again.

See a human!! in my photo :-)

See a human!! in my photo πŸ™‚

I like the sky in this underexposed photo. Now I'll know better when using the remaining film rolls I bought, the 100 ISO slide film rolls :-)

I like the sky in this underexposed photo. Now I’ll know better when using the remaining film rolls I bought, the 100 ISO slide film rolls πŸ™‚

 

Have a great day!

 

I'm pretty sure this was flying to the USA. It must have started around 5:30 pm and it was flying towars west.

I’m pretty sure this was flying to the USA. It must have started around 5:30 pm and it was flying towards west.

16 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Chirster,
    The voice of the Black Grouse is heard in the land. All is well. πŸ™‚

    The Hasselblad photos today look good. A bit to one side or the other of the temperature scale maybe but not unpleasantly so. And a human, too!

    Sorry to hear your rheumatism is acting up. I know how that feels having only certain bits that will work in the morning. My right hand is practically useless until it’s been warmed up for an hour or so. I can walk on my feet but they and my knees complain for a long time every morning.
    Be careful with shoe inserts because if you get the wrong ones or don’t use them correctly, they will mess up other things higher up your body like knees, hips and lower back. They change the way your foot hits the ground which changes how the stress is transmitted through the rest of the musculo-skeletal structure. If there are weaknesses farther up, they will be exacerbated by those changes.

    It’s sunny with a wicked cold wind chill factor today. Tomorrow and Saturday are supposed to be snowy. I want to put the snowblower away now, Mother Nature. Do you think you could oblige? πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    March 19, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes the Grouse is heard and all is well πŸ™‚

      I kept on thinking how I took the photos with the ISO 400 and adjusted the camera after that. That wasn’t right since I then underexposed these photos too much πŸ™‚ But I’m learning and have lots of fun looking at the totally failed ones πŸ™‚ I said to my neighbor that this probably would be the first photo with a human in it and that it would enmd up inmmy blog and he liked that πŸ™‚

      It is an adventure to just walk down those stairs in the morning, especially if I don’t let the dogs run down first πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      That’s the reason I’m going to the doctor, so they can do a foot cast and make those inserts after that. I really don’t need more problems with my feet or legs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It will be much cheaper if I get them on prescription too. I hope they can do something about my shoulder too, I can’t take pain killers since I’ve destroyed my stomac by using that but I guess doctors have other things they can give as a shot or something.

      I think the reason we’ve had so lttle snow is because I placed the snow shovel close to the entrance door so I easily could reach it. I did that last winter too and we got very little snow that winter too. I’ll never put that shovel away again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 19, 2015 at 8:12 pm

      • Caryn

        I thought if I bought a snowblower, it would not snow here. Sometimes the magic doesn’t work. :/

        You can use a tennis ball (or something similar that’s hard but slightly squishable) to massage the shoulder area. If the pain is in the shoulder blade, sit in a chair, put the tennis ball between your back and the chair and lean against it. You can move it around by wiggling or letting the tennis ball slip down a bit. You can also do the same thing by putting the tennis ball between yourself and the wall and leaning against it.
        If the problem is in a part of the should that you can reach with your other hand, you can hold the tennis ball and press and roll it over that area. If the problem is nerve pain, tensing up the muscles to guard against the pain can make it worse. Massaging the area will relax the muscles and take away some of the tension and stiffness which will lessen the discomfort.

        As a test I took two photos of the same scene. One was manual and one was SCN or fully automatic. The SCN setting gave the results I wanted so I checked the info. Almost all of them are done at ISO 100 and everything else changes to accommodate that. However, I noticed that even if I duplicated those automatic settings on Manual, the color was always a little to the blue side. I don’t know what I’m missing there.

        March 20, 2015 at 4:35 pm

      • I think the problem could be that You just don’t hate using the snow blower enough yet for the magic to start working. If You start doing that and have it close to Your entrance door it might do the trick πŸ™‚

        This is on top of the shoulder and towards the front. It is my immune system attacking my cartilage and tendons and I don’t know if my immune system cares about if I use a tennisball πŸ™‚ But I’ll see if I can find one and try it. Until then I’ll use my heat pad.

        I never use automatic or ISO 100 and I really have no answer to why the resuolt gets different even if You have the same settings πŸ™‚ That’s a bit odd to be honest πŸ™‚ Could be the lighting, can You see what it chose and then take the photo directly after? That’s the only thing I have on automatic, the light.

        March 20, 2015 at 5:42 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I am sorry to read your are aching badly. I hope the doctor will have something good to give you and that maybe by then it will be better! πŸ™‚ Glad you heard the black grouse. Maybe they were a little shy? πŸ™‚ We are due snow tonight (after ours have all gone) and then cold for the weekend but then warm again next week. Similar to yours! I hope your Friday goes by quickly!

    March 19, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I hope so too so we’Γ€ll have to wait and see πŸ™‚

      I’ve missed that sound so it was nice to hear it again. They are soo shy πŸ™‚ It is almost impossible to get close no matter how quiet one walks but I guess I just was a bit later than normal πŸ™‚

      The weather predictions have been soo wrong today, the only thing they got right was cloudy πŸ™‚ It has been warm and not even close to rain or snow, I hope they’ll just as wrong with the rest of the weekend πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 20, 2015 at 5:23 pm

  3. Robin Larkspar

    I recognized your Hasselblad photos right away, before your caption identifying them! I am in strong sympathy with you..your shoulder and my neck. Difficult to type. What”s worse, I can’t do housework! yes that is just terrible! Looks like Nova got Sune’s stick! I am sure there are thousands of sticks, but they each have to want the same one!! Take care, hope the cold weather scurries away fast.

    March 19, 2015 at 10:20 pm

    • Hi Robin!

      They are a bit special πŸ™‚

      Too bad I still can do housework :-):-)

      Yes she took his stick and of course they can’t just take any stick πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      So far the weather predictions have been soo wrong πŸ™‚ It is cloudy, I must give them that but so warm I only had a fleece jacket when walking with the dogs πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 20, 2015 at 5:26 pm

  4. jaz

    the sound of the black grouse could be the beginning of a story! sorry about your aches and pains. i have been drinking a detox tea combo and it has cleaned my joints out. they were very achy and now they are good as new! i am now a big fan of this drink! just east of us will be getting 6 inches of snow by morning but all we are getting is rain…damn!

    March 19, 2015 at 10:58 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it could and it would of course have to be on the English moors πŸ™‚

      I’m not sure that would help me, thgis is my immune system attacking my own body. It inflames the tendons and cartilage.

      I have to say that when You get snow You do get a lot! 6 inches πŸ™‚ I would be happy if I gotr the rain instead πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 20, 2015 at 5:31 pm

  5. Christer,
    I do love the Hasselblad photos. They look more multi-layered than the other photos, and the color is wonderful. A human-I couldn’t believe it!

    I am so sorry about the pain you’re having. Hope the doctor can find some solution to all of them, especially the feet. My back is often bad so I know how the pain limits movement.

    We are in the middle of frigid weather. Warm to us is now 39˚ and if we’re really lucky, 40˚. Snow is coming!

    Have a great evening!!

    March 19, 2015 at 11:55 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I like the old time feeling I get when watching them. I nbever thought I would have a human in any of my photos but he rerally liked that I took that photo πŸ™‚

      Yes the feet are the worst, I can always use my left arm more than I do normally but it is hard to do anything with my feet πŸ™‚ I’m glad this doesn’t attack my spine too right now because then I wouldn’t be able to do anything πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      The weather predictions have been soo wrong here today! 50F, some sunshine and not even close to rain or snow. I do hope they are just as wrong with the rest of the predictions πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 20, 2015 at 5:35 pm

  6. Wendy from NY

    Oh my gosh, I understand about the aches and pains! So sorry you are having a rough patch! I hope the Dr. can sort things out a bit for you.

    I LOVE that picture of Bertil standing on the tree stump! Going to borrow that for my computer background so I can look at it some more. What a great shot of the airplane, I have tried that so many times, but never got a picture worth keeping 😦

    We have some kind of grouse here that thumps in the spring, but the real “spring” sound for me is the red winged blackbird. When I was a kid, I thought that thumping of the grouse was something inside my head! I had no idea it was a bird, and didn’t mention it to anyone for fear of having to visit the doctor ! I was almost an adult when I found out what it was πŸ˜‰

    March 20, 2015 at 9:46 pm

    • Hi Wendy!

      I hope so too πŸ™‚ But I still have a rather calm rheumatism (still) so I can imagine how bad it really can be πŸ™‚

      That cat is great in posing for photos πŸ™‚ This jumbo jet was so close that I was wondering if it was about to make an emergency landing, not that it was close but these planes are usually so high up that they are hard to spot over my village

      I’m glad You didn’t have to visit any doctor because of that sound πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Some birds just sound wierd πŸ™‚ Another spring sound is from our Black birds, they sit in the top of the trees singing loudly every evening during sprng πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 21, 2015 at 5:01 am

  7. well, I just read the todays post that told about your trip to the Doctor so I came back through past posts to see what was going on.
    (I’m so far behind on reading blogs, sorry. When I was working all the time, on my off time I’d visited Facebook briefly and then just tried to sleep) but I’m sorry to read how poorly you’ve been feeling.
    I’m constantly trying to find the right shoes. The cement floors at work are Hell on my feet.
    It’s no fun when you don’t feel your best. Sorry. 😦

    March 27, 2015 at 12:46 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I would have been surpised if You had had time to read any blogs during that hectic time at work πŸ™‚

      That’s life for one with rheumatism but it turns out my shoulder is just worn out πŸ™‚ I hope a weekends rest will help and that shot I got. Life goes on and I’ll get those insoles and life gets better again πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 27, 2015 at 2:41 pm

Leave a Reply

