So cold.

DSC_0037Yesterdays weather predictions was so wrong that I actually got surprised, we were supposed to get rain and snow during the day and just a few degrees above freezing. Instead we got over 50F and a dry day with some sunshine. The sun however didn’t show itself for more than a few seconds during the 85% solar eclipse, that I missed of course but a work friend managed to take a photo that he showed me afterwards.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0024

 

Todays predictions however are rather accurate unfortunately. It has been below 0C (32F) all morning, it has been snowing and the wind has been awful. So we walked in to the forest to stay away from most of it. I did however go down to the lake to get some photos showing the cranes that hangs around and I realised that even by the fields this village is very much protected from the winds, it was just nasty by the lake.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

I brought my old Kodak Browning No.2 with me and the tripod since it can’t go faster that 1/50th of a second. I’m not sure that helped especially much though, the wind was so strong that the tripod trembled and I had to lean towards it to keep it as still as possible. I could just find one place where the light might have leaked in last time I used this camera but taped every place that might let in light anyway. I’m pretty sure I stopped the leak and can only hope I managed to keep the camera so still that the photos will turn out good. I used the slide film rolls since it only is ISO 100 and that old camera would be impossible to use with any more light-sensitive film.

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

The wind was so strong that it looked like the cranes were hovering 🙂

 

 

But I naturally also brought my digital one so I van show some photos today too. I didn’t take many though because it was so colds my fingers felt like they would fall off 🙂 Stopped me from thinking of my shoulder and feet though so it wasn’t totally bad 🙂 🙂 🙂 I’ll go there when there are more cranes (only around 4000 yet) and the weather is nicer. It is amazing that they don’t freeze to death in this weather no matter how much food they give them.

 

The yellow building in the back to the right is Dagsnär Castle.

The yellow building in the back to the right is Dagsnär Castle.

The old school and the teachers old root cellar.

The old school and the teachers old root cellar.

DSC_0039

 

The sun is breaking through the clouds right now and the wind will calm down some towards the evening so we might get a nice last walk for the day. Tomorrow will be mostly cloudy, cold and the wind will return again. The temperature will go up and down like a Jojo all week but it looks like it will be above freezing during the days anyway. This is typical spring weather here I’m afraid but a month early 🙂

 

The two last Hasselblad photos for this time.

The two last Hasselblad photos for this time.

The little lake by the ridges.

The little lake by the ridges.

DSC_0036

 

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We are cold too!! -14 this morning! You are right, spring weather is tricky. Glad to see you are back posting, missed the lovely pictures!! 🙂 That is alot of cranes!! We have the Canadian geese here now and this is such a good thing, we know spring has finally come. We didn’t get to see the eclipse as it was still very early morning here (5:00 a.m.). Still dark at that time! I hope your shoulder and feet are feeling better. Nothing worse than aching. Have a good evening!!

    March 21, 2015 at 3:04 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thankfully not that cold here but the wind made it really nasty.
      We normally have it like this in April though so I hope April will be like May, warm and nice 🙂

      Still it is only 4000 totally around the lake, we had well over 20 000 last spring 🙂

      Most people missed the eclipse here too because of the clouds, next time it will happen here is 2039 and that is the last chance I’ll have to see it in this country but I’m pretty sure it will be cloudy tyat day too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 21, 2015 at 4:28 pm

  2. I’m so glad the Cranes are back to you, no spring here, no eclipse , warm weather will sooth those aching bones,,, it has to come soon, I love the last photo with Sune’s nose t the ground,

    March 21, 2015 at 4:00 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m too and lots more will come before they all head for Norway. Some nest here though and they’ll of course stay all summer.

      Unfortunately my joints usually get wosr when the warm weather comes 🙂 It’s not the heat itself but the high pressure that does that I think.

      I do like that photo too!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 21, 2015 at 4:34 pm

  3. Christer,
    The afternoon got bit warmer, and the sun came out for a while. All I could hear was dripping from the roof. My neighbor’s house had steam across the roof from the warmer day and the snow.

    Tonight should be colder. We still haven’t had a spring day.

    The cranes are magnificent.

    The first Hasselblad photo is amazing. I love the tree in the front.

    Enjoy the evening!

    March 21, 2015 at 10:49 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The wind did calm down considerable towards the evening and the sun shone but it stayed cold all day, the night has been nasty cold. No sun today but still warmer than yesterday they say.

      They are fantastic birds and I’m glad they’re feeding them otherwise they all would have died yesterday 🙂

      It is a bit too bright on the tree perhaps but compared to the reaslly failed ones it’s a master piece 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 22, 2015 at 5:16 am

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Love all the cranes everywhere. ONLY 4000? I don’t remember you having such close up shots of them before.
    I like the glowing Hasselblad tree, too.

    It snowed last night and most of this morning but the temperature went up later and it all melted. That’s the kind of snow I like. Self-cleaning. 🙂

    When Piki Dog was at the emergency room the other night they gave him activated charcoal to eat in order to absorb the toxins in the chocolate. They should have told me what to expect when that stuff processed through his digestive system. It’s a bit startling to see a little dog poop charcoal briquettes. o-0

    Lovely shot of Sune. What a coat.

    Hope your shoulder and feet ease up soon.

    Enjoy the evening.

    March 21, 2015 at 11:33 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Have You looked at the header? 🙂 🙂 🙂 Yes I go there every year to get some photos for You 🙂 The record is 26500 cranes at one day so we are still a bit behind that record 🙂 Normally they stay around 15000-20000 but bad weather can force more to stay for a few days.

      Yes self cleanig snow is the best 🙂 The little we got vanished here too and the night has been nasty cold, no sun is predicted for today and it will stay just above 32F all day, according to predictions which I don’t fully trust 🙂

      I have been waiting for some info about Piki Dog! Yes that does look a bit strange 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think it might work as charcoal briquettes too 🙂 Just let it dry for a day or so 🙂 🙂 I’m just glad he survived it!

      I do like that photo too, the fun thing is that he looked straigh ahead just milliseconds before I took that photo 🙂

      It would be nice I’m a bit tired of both now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 22, 2015 at 5:25 am

      • Caryn

        Oops. Duh. 😀 I think I tend to start scrolling right away so the header is often a flash of pixels.

        Piki Dog is back to normal; eat everything especially if it’s not edible. 🙂
        He was extremely hyperactive for over an hour after we got home from hospital at midnight. I had to leash him to me so he couldn’t get into trouble while I was sleeping. Theobromine in chocolate is supposed to slow them down but the sugar rush probably overcame that. 🙂 The next day he slept a lot and they both had rice with turkey (which they liked). Yesterday was charcoal briquette day.
        Late night in the waiting room at the emergency veterinarian is kind of somber. What comes in is usually not routine.

        March 22, 2015 at 12:45 pm

      • 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I’ve heard the heart can start speeding because of the chocolate. Orvar once ate a 200 gram chocolate bar but didn’t react at all but some dogs need almost nothing to get real directly.

        I hope he stays out of trouble from now on but I doubt that 🙂 🙂

        March 22, 2015 at 1:18 pm

  5. jaz

    wow….that’s a lot of cranes! it was in the low 50’s today but a good wind was blowing which made it feel cold. it is going to be in the low teens here for the next few nights. we are really far behind this year. i just noticed today that my snowdrops have not bloomed yet. that is very unusual. such strange weather!

    March 22, 2015 at 12:19 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      Still, we need around 22500 cranes more to reach the old record 🙂

      You are far behind and we far ahead but we both have the same night temperatures right now 🙂 Scientiosts say this has been the warmest winter recorded with the exception of Eastern USA. Too bad the weather sort of can’t even out better around the world, it’s either too cold or too warm 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 22, 2015 at 5:28 am

  6. Visst var det hemskt kallt igår! Jag skulle gräva ner en del snödroppar och vintergäck jag fått “in the green”, men efter en kort runda med kameran i trädgården så var mina fingrar så stelfrusna på grund av den hemska vinden att jag skippade trädgårdsjobben. Får se om det är bättre idag…..
    I fredags – i regnet – var vi en shoppingrunda till Visby och Biltema, sen bar det av österut för att köpa grönsaker och potatis på Stora Tollbys gård. Därefter åkte vi vidare till Dalhems Musteri där vi köper världens godaste äppelmust på den gotländska sorten Stenkyrka.
    Men…på vägen till Visby såg vi två (hela 2 stycken *fniss*) tranor! Jag läste på och såg att det brukar mellanlanda runt 4000 här på ön, och naturligtvis hade det varit roligare att se så många på en gång! Jag är lite avundsjuk på dig…..
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    March 22, 2015 at 5:48 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Här vid stugan var det inte direkt skönt heller men vid sjön var det bara hemskt 🙂

      I fredags var det dock väldigt skönt här, regnet kom inte förrän sent på kvällen, resten av dagen var i och för sig mulen men väl över 10 plusgrader 🙂

      Fast enda anledningen till att vi har så många här är för att de matas 🙂 hade vi inte gjort det hade det varit betydligt färre här. Jag gillar dem dock bättre när det bara är några åy gången 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      March 22, 2015 at 6:00 am

Leave a Reply

