The sun shines through the clouds.

I didn't take especially many photos this morning but I have plenty to use from earlier this weekend.

I didn’t take especially many photos this morning but I have plenty to use from earlier this weekend.

We’ve had a really cold night and rather cold morning, the wind is still rather weak and the sun shines through the clouds to make it look a bit nicer than it is. Still it could be worse, the predictions says strong winds all day but so far it’s rather calm. Lets hope they have that prediction wrong too because we shouldn’t be able to see the sun at all right now 🙂

 

Long time since we had this clear air, cold weather means no evaporation and that means clear air.

Long time since we had this clear air, cold weather means no evaporation and that means clear air.

So easy to see the houses up on the mountain this morning.

So easy to see the houses up on the mountain this morning.

DSC_0034

 

The birds don’t seem to care about any change in the weather though, they are still preparing for all the duties they’ll have the coming five to six months. Lots of singing and lots of gathering of nest-building materials. I’ll fill the feeders in a few minutes, I guess they’ll need any extra free energy to cope with the cold winds and nights.

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

I saw something on the road and hoped it would be a fox but it was a deer.

I saw something on the road and hoped it would be a fox but it was a deer.

 

Do You remember the dog Artur? The dog who got one meatball from a Swedish multi sport team and then decided to follow them. The members of te team fell in love with the seven-year old dog and one of them decided to bring him home to Sweden. That’s neither easy nor cheap to do when it is planned but they got lucky and the dog arrived to Sweden four months ago and placed in quarantine. Artur is now out of quarantine after four months and the first thing he and the one bringing him here did was to take a long run 🙂 From now on he’ll be a normal family dog but he will follow the team on competitions that isn’t too far away from home 🙂

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

The tomato seeds I sowed are now germinating and so are the seeds from the hardy Pelargonium (usually called geraniums in English) I had placed outdoors. They had already started outside and I thought it best to bring them inside since I didn’t know just how cold it would be and if that would kill those small seedlings. So it does feel very much like spring even though winter has made a short return to us.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

 

Time for some tea and perhaps a sandwich or two.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0021

12 responses

  1. Artur, vilken härlig och numera lycklig hund! 🙂
    Här är det så kyligt att jag hoppade över planteringen av dom “fådda” snödropparna och vintergäcken idag med. Nu är det bara att hoppas att dom tål att stå i en plastpåse några dagar till – jag vägrar att gå ut och jobba när fingrarna blir som istappar!! 😦
    KRAM
    Susie

    March 22, 2015 at 11:36 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Så länge de står ljust och har fuktig jord borde de ju stå ut ett bra tag tycker jag. Håller med, inte skall man vara ute och förfrysa sig, först blir man iskall och sedan kommer värken när fingrarna tinar upp igen 🙂

      Ha det gott!

      Christer.

      March 22, 2015 at 12:29 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Thanks for the update on Artur. That was such a great story.

    Are those pussy willow buds? I know two places where they are growing wild but I can’t get to either of them because they are behind huge piles of snow.
    I have some seed packets that I bought a few weeks ago in a moment of winter depression. Perhaps I should plant some of them. But I’m not convinced the ground will be clear of snow by the time they should go into it. 🙂 It’s been than kind of winter.

    The horses look ready to blow their winter coats. Ah, I remember all the brushing and brushing and brushing and more brushing. Every time there would be a mound of horsehair the size of a mini horse on the ground at my feet. I sort of miss that a little. Makes me appreciate the vastly lesser amount of dog hair I have to remove, though. 🙂

    It’s still early here. The sun is coming up and there are no clouds at the moment but it’s supposed to be very cold and cloudy. It’s cold. Cloudy could still happen.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 22, 2015 at 12:22 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is a nice story and I’m not asgainst bringing him here since he stayed in quarantine. Too man have adopted stray dogs from southern Europe and now we have all kinds of really dangerous diseases here, something that we wouldn’t have if the vets down there had done their jobs properly. They never examined the dogs but signed the papers that they were healthy. Now we have heart worms in some parts of Sweden, something we wouldn’t have had if those vets had done their jobs properly!

      Yes they are and most of the willows were taken down when they cleaned up the ditches but willows are weeds so they’ll soon grow back again 🙂 You could just put out those seeds and cover them with snow, nature will do the rest for You 🙂

      I sometime feels like I have more than four dogs when they all shed their fur 🙂 The strange thing is that I never find any from Sune?! He must shed his fur too but I can’t find any fur from him 🙂

      The wind has arrived and the clouds have become thicker so I prefer to stay indoors now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 22, 2015 at 12:35 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Winter is coming back to visit here too. Apparently. Tonight and tomorrow snow, then rain, then more snow! That’s the next 3-4 days. I hope they are wrong too. They were wrong with the predictions of last week. It will get cold again, in the minus double digits. March is like that! Great pictures today – I love the houses in the distance….so pretty!! I love geraniums. My grandmother always had geraniums in her kitchen, so red and they really brightened up the house. I try to plant them each year in her honor. I am having tea as I type, Earl Gray today! 🙂 Such a great story about Artur! Those kinds of stories makes my heart so happy, there are still good people in this world! 🙂 Have a great evening!!

    March 22, 2015 at 8:10 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It will come and goe this coming week, so tomorrow will be warm and sunny but the day after chilly and dull. This is, for us, typical April weather to be honest 🙂

      Red geraniums are still the most popular summer flower here but I miss the old varieties that grew big, the ones today stay small all their lives. The old ones can be really big and I miss that. These ones however aren’t red, they will be purple if I read right 🙂 It shoyúld actually be hardy enough to grow outside all year long, especially if the winters are like this one 🙂 But I’ll save a few and keep them in the cold cellar next winter. I will of course buy a few red ones too, no summer without them 🙂

      It is a nice story 🙂 This must have costed the new owner around 10 000 $ canadian 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 23, 2015 at 7:16 pm

  4. jaz

    that is great news about arthur but what a long time to be in quarantine! i bet he was happy when he got out. are you getting snow now? t is going to be crazy cold here tonight and then 60 on wednesday. such weird weather! i started working outside a bit today.

    March 22, 2015 at 9:39 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      All animals had to stay bin quarantine for four months back in the days, that’s how long the incubation time is for some diseases, like rabies.

      Yés he was and the first thing he had to do was to go to the vet for dental care, poor dog 🙂

      We have much the same weather here but slightly warmer. One day spring warm and sunny, the next wintery and snowy.

      I’ll wait with any gardening until the weather is a bit more stable 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 23, 2015 at 7:19 pm

  5. Christer,
    I don’t think I remember seeing the houses on the mountain before.

    Even though you have pictures of buds and flowers, the trees still look like winter. They stand bare of buds.

    I remember the picture of Arthur and reading the story of the team’s fight to bring him back. I am so glad he is now out of quarantine and is finally going home.

    You have spring far more often than we do. Today was just so cold again. My heating bill will be enormous.

    Have a great evening!

    March 22, 2015 at 11:30 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes You have and You said almost the same thing the last time 🙂 🙂 🙂 But to be honest, the air was so clear this time that the houses look much closer and it’s almost possible to see details on them. That isn’t the case most times.

      I think most plants react to the light here, it could be deadly for them to react on warm weather since it can change so fast here. So the longer the days get the less wintery it will look here.

      They said he liked the quarantine station very much, I guess they spoiled him rotten in there 🙂 It isn’t every day they have a world famous dog as guest 🙂 But he was happy to be able to follow his new family home even if the first thing they did was to take him to the vet for dental surgery. He’s fairly old and have lived a tough life so the teeth were a bit bad.

      It looks like we have spring every second day here now 🙂 One day winter, one day spring 🙂 I don’t think I’ve ever had this low electricity bill 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 23, 2015 at 7:26 pm

  6. Hi Christer…no, I had not heard of him..but it’s nice to know any pet has found a home and is wanted and loved.

    March 23, 2015 at 6:19 am

    • Hi Mona!

      So You’ve missed Artur, he’s world famous now days and press from all over the world have followed his way to a home in Sweden 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 23, 2015 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

