They say the sun will show itself.

DSC_0020

It is a somewhat chilly and foggy morning but no wind so it is quite nice to walk around with the dogs, Bertil preferred to stay at home sleeping because he had been out all night. Teodor was also out all night and he’s sleeping on the kitchen bench on the other side of the table right now. They say the sun will show itself soon and stay for the rest of the day and it does look like the fog slowly is giving up right now.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

I’ve started a fire in the stove, not so much because it was especially cold indoors but the Jackdaws are still looking for suitable chimneys to build nests in. I have a net on top of the chimney but that doesn’t stop them from poking down twigs and other things πŸ™‚ My neighbor picked out four living and one dead Jackdaw from behind his fireplace last year so now he too have a net over the chimney opening πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

 

I spread ashes around the berry bushes and some of the fruit trees before I started the fire, ashes contains lots of nutrition and I know berry bushes love it, not so sure about fruit trees but I figured they would need some food too πŸ™‚ Ashes also contains more lime than the lime one actually buy to spread in the garden so never pour out any close to plants that like a more acidic ground, they won’t thank You for it but most likely die or get very sick.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

 

I’ll go outside and clean up after the dogs as soon as the sun make its appearance but first I’ll have some breakfast. The tea is already made so all I have to do now is to figure out what I want to eat. I always want white bread and orange marmalade and cheese when I’m out travelling but I almost never want that when being at home πŸ™‚ I guess I connect that with warm weather and vacation πŸ™‚ I never have fried food like bacon and eggs or pancakes in the morning, something the rest of my family seems to love.

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0033

 

I could have some porridge though but I feel lazy so it might just be a sandwich or two, I’ll see what I have in the fridge πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

 

Have a great day!

6 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    My house used to be heated with a coal furnace. I have memories of watching the coal truck put a chute into the cellar window for the coal to be poured into the storage bin. I remember watching the coal lumps roll down the chute and I remember watching my father shovel the coal into the furnace. He changed over to oil heat as soon as he could afford to. The cool thing is that now when I dig in certain areas around my house, I find burnt clinkers. I think the original owners used to put the coal ashes into their garden beds. The woman who built the house in 1908 was the daughter of a neighbor who had gorgeous garden beds which I also remember.

    Breakfast is probably my favorite meal but I tend not to have it until I have been awake for several hours so it’s more like brunch. I like egg, cheese and bacon on toasted english muffin with iced coffee to drink. I usually settle for the coffee and the muffin because it’s easier. πŸ™‚

    It’s snowing. Tenth weekend in a row that we have had snow. That’s all the comment I’m going to make on the weather here.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 28, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes it is an old trick to make plants strong and happy πŸ™‚ and to be honest, where else is one suppoosed to put the ashes? But blueberry bushes and rhododendrons don’t like it at all.

      I do like breakfast and I normnally have it just after going up but I’ve noticed that during weekends I tend to have breakfast after being out with the dogs. Still too early to have something fried though πŸ™‚

      We’ve had a simply fantastic day here today and it still is! 54F, sunshine and almost no wind πŸ™‚ Tomorrow will be quite different though, rainy and chilly. I guess it will be a good day to do nothing or watch a dvd or two πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 28, 2015 at 3:15 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I hope the sun found your cottage! πŸ™‚ We are sunny right now, but later we will get cloud and rain. Its currently around -4 but will reach +6 today. I don’t think March is quite done with us yet! πŸ™‚ I tried going out this morning to clean after the dogs, but the ground is too frozen. Nothing worked properly. I will continue with my weekend regimen of cleaning and laundry. I will be making a ground turkey noodle bowl for dinner. Its the only kind of turkey I will eat! πŸ™‚ Have a great Saturday evening – do you guys participate in Earth Hour? Ours start at 8:30 tonight. I shall sit in the dark for one hour! πŸ™‚

    March 28, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    • HI Dianna!

      It sure did and we got 12C, sunshine and almost no wind πŸ™‚ It has been a fantastic day here πŸ™‚ The rain and chilly weather will come tomorrow again.

      I just don’t understand how much my dogs can poop πŸ™‚ I mean we are out walking a lot and thety always do what they are supposed to do but still I find so much in my garden that it looks like I have ten dogs here πŸ™‚

      Laundry and cleaning the house will be done tomorrow, I’ve just grilled some sausages in my electric grill so that was my dinner πŸ™‚ Turkey is something very few eat here, no one really knows how to cook it without getting it too dry πŸ™‚

      Yes we do and it starts 8:30 pm here too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 28, 2015 at 3:19 pm

  3. jaz

    we have sun here today but it is bitterly cold. teddy is sleeping inside because she got cold outside this morning!

    March 28, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      The day has been just wonderful here so I’ve enjoyed it as much as I can. Tomorrow will be very different so I’ll do like Teddy, stay indoors sleeping πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      March 28, 2015 at 5:23 pm

Leave a Reply

