The first butterfly!

DSC_0025

Yesterday the sun shone, it was very warm (over 12C, 54F) and the wind was weak. Angels flew in the sky praising the spring and the arrival of new life and then the first drop of rain fell and they all left 🙂 No angels praising in the sky today though, it’s rather chilly and the wind would probably blow them away and the rain really doesn’t help. It would have been rather nice if the wind just could have stayed away.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

 

The birds were singing and flocks of cranes landed on the fields nearby telling the world they were here. The Black woodpecker were busy making a new hole to nest in or perhaps he was just impressing his date with fancy drum rolls. No other animals could be seen or heard though, I guess they did their best just to stay away from the wind too.

 

We went down to the creek yesterday and Sune suddenly disappeared. I heard a big splash and understood that he had jumped down into the creek :-)

We went down to the creek yesterday and Sune suddenly disappeared. I heard a big splash and understood that he had jumped down into the creek 🙂

The problem was that it was so steep where he had jumped in that he couldn't get up again :-) He was so embarrassed when he had to call for me to take him up :-)

The problem was that it was so steep where he had jumped in that he couldn’t get up again 🙂 He was so embarrassed when he had to call for me to take him up 🙂

DSC_0064

 

The laundry is already done and it’s now hanging outside to dry on the patio. It will take some time though since the wind blows so the rain will hit it but I’m in no hurry. The rest of today will be a do nothing day. I was planning on vacuuming the floors and scrub them too but the dogs will only mess them up again anyway as soon as they would get in again. 

 

Beavers really don't need a lot of water to go around in. This ditch is rather far from the creek and it has been very busy here. There are more signs of beaver activity here than anywhere else.

Beavers really don’t need a lot of water to go around in. This ditch is rather far from the creek and it has been very busy here. There are more signs of beaver activity here than anywhere else.

DSC_0066

The first butterfly!

The first butterfly! It’s a bit blurry but it simply refused to stay still long enough for me to focus on it 🙂

 

The teapot is filled and it’s time to make breakfast, I might take a short nap after that but I’ll check if there’s anything interesting to watch on tv, if not I’ll most likely fall asleep in front of the tv anyway 🙂

 

Some of what is happening in my garden.

Some of what is happening in my garden.

DSC_0046

This is an Aralia relative and I can of course not remember its name now.

This is an Aralia relative and I can of course not remember its name now.

It is so thorny that only a very desperate animal would try to eat it.

It is so thorny that only a very desperate animal would try to eat it.

DSC_0051

DSC_0053

 

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Such a beautiful time of year. Everything comeing to life again. Little birds are checking out my front porch for nesting sites…I don’t wan to discourage them, but we DO sit out there with out coffee in the mornings..and..friends gather there. 🙂 You must be ending your Sunday in Sweden? 95 degree’s here yesterday and nearly that today! NOT good. Poor Sune! Nice of you to give the youngster a helping hand! 🙂
    Mona

    March 29, 2015 at 10:32 am

    • Hi Mona!

      It is, at least when the sun is shining 🙂 Here they have nests beneath the tiles up on the roof :-)but they tend to get used to us if we just keep on doing what we always do.
      At the time You wrote here it still was before noon, I’m nine hours ahead of You. I don’t mind if it gets a bit warmer but I’m sure glad we don’t have it that warm 🙂

      He was so embarrassed but he just couldn’t get up from the creek 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 29, 2015 at 3:02 pm

  2. Herregud vad söt Sune är där han sitter i bäcken! 🙂 Han ser lite skyldig ut, förstår att han ville komma upp. Det var väl inte alltför varmt och skönt!! 😦
    KRAM från ett blåsigt och regnigt Gotland
    Susie

    March 29, 2015 at 11:46 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Den stackarn var helt slut efter att ha försökt komma upp, men det var alldeles för brant och jorden alldeles för lös 🙂 Men han verkar inte känna av om det är kallt, han hoppar alltid ner i vatten även när det är vinter 🙂

      Vinden dog ut här så det blev riktigt skönt ändå 🙂

      ha det gott!
      Christer.

      March 29, 2015 at 3:05 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Maybe the beavers are exploring that little creek to see if it will be suitable for making a dam and a pond.

    No butterflies here. Only houseflies and some solitary midge-like things that flit by too fast for me to see what they really are.

    Yesterday’s snow did not amount to much. Just enough to make the old snow look clean again. But dirty snow melts faster and melting is what it needs to do. This morning is bright sun and frosty cold. It will warm up later so I’m not going out until then. 🙂

    I bought some more seeds yesterday. Poor things. 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Love the yellow and blue flowers. My favorite colors.

    Enjoy the day.

    March 29, 2015 at 2:14 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is either that or we have loads of them here now 🙂 They have choopped down several big trees there and I wonder if they move the trees because I can’t find them anywhere.

      The flies are active here now but only those that couldn’t care less about us humnans and the dogs. Those are the flies I like 🙂

      I have sometimes spread ashes on the snow to make it melt faster, the problem is that the dogs bring in the ashes since it’s so much fun to walk around in it 🙂 The wind died out so it has been rather pleasant to be outside today 🙂

      I have so much seeds now 🙂 I’ll spread them this week on the places where I want them to grow. Some needs to be sown indoors though because they can’t take any chilly weather in the beginning. I just don’t have that space 🙂 I can tell Yoiu that the pink dandelions are germinating now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 29, 2015 at 3:10 pm

      • Caryn

        I forgot about the pink dandelions. I really need to have some pink dandelions to go with the yellow ones in the lawn. 🙂
        The seeds I have should probably not be spread anywhere right now especially since everywhere is still mostly snow covered. And the birds would eat them anyway.

        March 29, 2015 at 4:26 pm

      • I’ll have to save some seeds then, if these survive, floer and give seeds 🙂 But the USA customs are really tough so I better know if they are allowed to send to You, I don’t want to to go to yail just because of some seeds 🙂

        March 29, 2015 at 5:00 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I think our wind blew our angels your way! It is so windy yesterday and today nothing stays in place. There are things blowing all over the place. We had rain in the night, now the clouds are moving so fast across the sky its very strange to watch. We are due for some sun today which would be nice to dry up all the melting that took place yesterday. We are actually going to get some nice weather for a few days which I won’t complain about. Poor Sune, you can just see that on top of the embarrassment a picture has been taken too! 🙂 But I bet he had the best time. Just going for a swim….. I am afraid we wont’ see butterflies for at least another month if not longer. But the crows have been flying around building their nests. I love watching them do that. Yesterday I saw one with a big piece of bread in his beak. I am sure he was pleased with that! Have a good Sunday afternoon and evening!

    March 29, 2015 at 2:23 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The wind died out here so it has been rather nice being outside even if it has rained most of the time. I can even see some blue sky out there at the moment 🙂 Our angels blew away too so I wonder where they went 🙂 We’ll get very mixed weather here this coming week, I guess that’s a way to not getting to many complaints about bad predictions 🙂

      Yes his eyes does say a lot 🙂 He really tried to get upagain but all strength left him afrer a while poor thing 🙂

      The butterflies we see now are the ones that has been hibernating here during the winter, it is so warm now thgat they need to find food fast or they’ll die fast.

      We have too many ravens here so crows won’t come close. But I can see Jackdaes flying around with building materials all day 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 29, 2015 at 3:17 pm

  5. jaz

    that butterfly would be an ice cube if it was here. we are only 12 degrees this morning. brrrrrrr!!!

    March 29, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    • HI Joyce!

      It has been hibernating here all winter and need food now, it’s just too warm to continue hibernating. I hope it did find something.

      Only 12! That’s a bit too chilly this time of year!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 29, 2015 at 3:18 pm

  6. Christer,
    Your flowers are far higher than mine, but I’m just glad to have any flowers. It is the same here with the wind. A nice day is spoiled by the wind and feels so much colder.

    The last place Gracie would go is into water. She stands at the edge, laps maybe but won’t ever go in. None of my dogs liked the water. Shauna used to pee in the water then run away from the water. When the dogs she was playing with when into the water, she watched.

    Your woods do look alive, spring-like. Sune always gives me a chuckle!

    Have a wonderful evening!

    March 29, 2015 at 10:04 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      To have anything in early spring is just wonderful 🙂 But it slowed down considerable here when the cooler weather arrived. But I’m happy for what I have. I can’t understand how much wind it is out there 🙂 It never stops, at least not until the day we want it to blow 🙂

      None of the other dogs would go down into the water even if their lives depended on it 🙂 Sune however just loves it 🙂 I can understand that Nove doesn’t want to but Orvar and Hector are big parts dogs that loves water 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 30, 2015 at 6:30 pm

  7. such beautiful photos,, spring has sprung for you!

    March 30, 2015 at 4:42 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It slowed down a lot when the colder weather arrived though but as soon as the sun shines spring really shows itself 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      March 30, 2015 at 6:31 pm

Leave a Reply

