I guess I should see me as lucky.

Sunny and warm here today.

Sunny and warm here today.

I looked down on the stairs this morning when I let the dogs out and it looked oddly spotted. I thought it might be birds that pooped all over it and didn’t think more of it. But it wasn’t bird poop, it was hail that had frozen to anything it had hit during the night, my car looked as if it had some kind of disease πŸ™‚ It wasn’t especially cold outside though so I was surprised that it stayed for so long.

 

The willows will soon start to flower.

The willows will soon start to flower.

DSC_0022

I didn't see tyat rainbow to the right when I took this photo :-)

I didn’t see tyat rainbow to the right when I took this photo πŸ™‚

 

I had come two thirds of the way to work when I turned of the highway and in to the smaller road to work when the I heard an odd sound, sort of a pop. suddenly the signal for problems started to alarm in the car and the light showing the battery shone bright. I turned of the road, stopped the engine and started it again, just in case something would change but it didn’t. I started to drive again when I realised that it was very difficult to turn the steering wheel too.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

I thought it was best to drive as far as I could and then call them at work for help and naturally I turned off anything that could use electricity. I had no problems, except for making turns, at all and came all the way to work and I called the nearest garage as soon as I came in. Thankfully They said I could drive down immediately but they didn’t think they would be able to fix the car already today, after all they can’t have spare parts for each and every kind of car. I guess I should see myself as lucky, this could have happened yesterday on the highway to the hospital.

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

DSC_0033

 

So I drove to them and walked back to my job. Now I had to figure out how to get home after work today. I checked with the bus company and according to their calculations it would take one hour and thirty minutes to get to the castle by the lake and after that I would have to walk for minutes until I was home πŸ™‚ Not an option if I wanted to work tomorrow again, I can imagine how my feet would feel after walking minutes in my work shoes πŸ™‚ Β 

 

I didn't take more photos today so the coming ones are older.

I didn’t take more photos today so the coming ones are older.

DSC_0055

DSC_0069

 

So I went to the factory owner and asked if I might borrow one of the company cars. They have one pickup truck, one van and one rather nice Volvo withΒ automatic transmission. There was one more that needed to borrow a car so I thought I would get the van, not bad at all to be honest. But the other guy was nice and took the van so I could take the Volvo πŸ™‚ I’m not used to drive without a stick so he had to explain some things to me πŸ™‚ Cars don’t even have keys any longer πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I would never had got that car to start if he hadn’t explained how I should do πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

 

Hopefully I’ll get my car tomorrow and I do miss it but it was nice to try the Volvo. It is time for something to eat and then I’ll read the latestΒ Beetle Bailey πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. jaz

    i hope nothing too bad is wrong with your car! car problems are such a bother. we have spring here today! almost 70 degrees and the rain missed us. we do need the rain!

    March 31, 2015 at 9:45 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It was the water pump that broke down but it’s fixed now and it was of course expensive πŸ™‚

      Really nice here too, sunny and warm but far from Your temperatures, 70 is summer temperature here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 1, 2015 at 6:08 pm

  2. Ja du, Γ€r det inte det ena sΓ₯ Γ€r det det andra! 😦 Hoppas nu att bilen Γ€r fixad i morgon sΓ₯ du fΓ₯r den till pΓ₯sk – fΓΆr du Γ€r vΓ€l ledig dΓ₯!? πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚
    KRAM ❀
    Susie

    March 31, 2015 at 10:01 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      SΓ₯ sant! Bilen Γ€r fixad, det var vattenpumpen som skurit.
      Jo jag Γ€r allt ledig och skall nog faktiskt kΓΆra omkring lite fΓΆr ovanligehetns skull πŸ™‚

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 1, 2015 at 6:09 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Hail and car problems. Happy Tuesday. 😦 Sounds like something went with the power assist on the steering. It happens on my jeep when I stall it. Suddenly it takes all my strength to turn the car and I have to practically stand on the brakes to get them to depress.

    I love the photo of the little tree in its spot of sunshine. The rainbow is kind of amorphous and I had to look hard to see it in the photo even after I read that it was there.

    Today was lovely here. Sunshine and high 40’s Fahrenheit. I picked up more dog poop in the yard while the dogs lounged around in the dirt that used to be my lawn. It looks like there is some kind of fungus or mold growing on the grass around here. It’s fuzzy like the stuff that grows on old food in the refrigerator. I noticed it first on some poop but then I saw a lot of it on the grass right along the edges of the snow. When I was walking the dogs I spotted more of it in my neighbors’ yards also right along the edges of the snow. The grass isn’t dead and the fuzz is growing on top of the blades like spider webs. Not spider webs, though. Definitely refrigerator fuzz. πŸ™‚

    Hope your car is an inexpensive fix. Driving a strange car is always an adventure with all the new buttons none of which are where you think they should be. πŸ™‚
    Enjoy the day.

    March 31, 2015 at 10:31 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It was the water pump that broke down and when it did the belt that turn that, the ater pump and the generator jumped of. I never checked if the engine got hot while driving the last part to work so I was worried I might have destropyed the motor but it seems to work just fine πŸ™‚ so far anyway πŸ™‚

      I couldn’t see any rainbow at all when I took that photo and it is more visisble on the original photo than it is here in the blog.

      Sunny and warm here today, I’m not sure it reached 50 but it must have been close. But the absence of wind can fool us pretty much.

      It could be something we call grass mold, happens here every winter and it’s the dead parts of the grass that feeds the mold beneath the snow

      No it wasn’t inexpensive. I guess my luck stopped by being close to work πŸ™‚
      Yes it was a bit odd and there wasn’t any way to keep the foot comfortable while pressing down the gas pedal. I was soo tired in my ancle when I came home πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 1, 2015 at 6:19 pm

  4. Grrr. Car problems. God they make me crazy.
    But you are right, it’s better to have happened today rather than yesterday
    and you got to drive a new Volvo! How nice.
    My van has so many repairs done to it that nothing should be left to go wrong.
    There! Now I’ve done it! Jinx’d myself.
    I will have it finally paid off in September and then it will probably fall apart in October.
    It’s been a zillion years since I haven’t had a car payment and the last time i paid off a car
    the next month someone smashed into the side of it and I had to buy another.
    Yep, hate car problems.
    I hope yours turn out to be an easy fix and not expensive.
    I’ll cross my fingers for you!
    πŸ˜‰

    April 1, 2015 at 12:42 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I can’t say I like them either πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ especially since this was a total surprise. It is better when one realises that something is wrong and can make an appointment at the garage lonbg before it breaks down.

      I liked the Volvo but I can’t say IΓ€m impressed. There was absolutely no way I could place my foot comfortable while pressing down the gas pedal. The cruiser didn’t work or as someone at work said, they could have adjusted it to go at certain speeds at a certain gear. Very odd!

      I really hope You didn’t jinx Yourself πŸ™‚

      It is so nice to finally have paid that last payment but as You say, we all know what that means πŸ™‚

      It was rather expensive, it was the water pump that broke down and since it is a SAAB its placement is a bit odd on the engine and hard to reach πŸ™‚ I’ll survive but it isn’t fun.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 1, 2015 at 6:24 pm

  5. Christer,
    Things I can’t fix drive me crazy. Having to get the new router and not being able to get the CD to open frustrated the heck out of me. Luckily it all turned out fine, but it took all afternoon. I am at a total loss when the car won’t work or it makes weird noises. When appliances die, I hate the expensive of buying a new one.

    This is another busy week, and I am missing my lazy days. Thursday is the only day I have nothing going on. It will be a stay around the house and read day as i went to the library today.

    I hope your car is an easy, inexpensive fix.

    Have a great day tomorrow!

    April 1, 2015 at 1:45 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It’s strange, I’ve built almost entire cars still I have no idea what’s happening when something breaks down πŸ™‚ Computer problems are almost worse to be honest. A car breaks down and goes to the garage a computer breaks down and the only ones who can help expects us to actually understand what they are saying to us while guiding us via the phone πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I won’t do much this weekend. It’s a long one with Friday and Monday of from work. I will drive around with my dogs to different places and taking photos with my old cameras if I have the energy πŸ™‚

      It wasn’t cheap but I have my car back anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 1, 2015 at 6:28 pm

  6. 80’s here every day this week! That’s just too warm for me. But..summer’s coming and then I will have something worth complaining about.
    Hospital??? What did I miss?? The dogs are all alright and you seem fine..so..I must check to see what happened. The…um..MY cat is fine isn’t he?? Everyone is good? I have to go see what happened. Sorry about your car. It’s awful to have car trouble!! I’ve been having battery problems. New battery..and this is the THIRD ONE. Another question/ No car keys? Really? You push a button? hmmmm..that’s interesting.

    April 1, 2015 at 5:32 am

    • Hi Mona!

      That’s what we have during hot summers πŸ™‚ I’m not sure how I would cope with Your summer temperatures πŸ™‚

      I went to the hospital so they can make me insoles to my shoes. My feet are killing me now so I really need them. I’ll get them much cheaper there and they’ll tell me all I need to know before I start using them so I don’t get pain elsewhere πŸ™‚

      Bertil’s just fine πŸ™‚ and so is all of us other too πŸ™‚ We have our squeeking joints but that’s it πŸ™‚

      So somethinbg is eating Your battery while You don’t drive? Check the radio, it’s usually that who destroys batteries even if You have turned it off.

      It was very odd, no keys! I pushed in what would be a key holder in to a hole in the panel and then I pushed the button πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I’m not sure I like it. No keys for the doors either so if you don’t have a good battery in Your car you won’t be able to even get in to it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 1, 2015 at 6:34 pm

      • I wouldn’t like the no key idea either. I’ve seen a car like that but I cannot remember when.
        Insoles..well, being on your feet all day long and you getting to be an OLD man.. LOL I’m teasing you! Even the young don’t do well with long hours on their feet. I hope the insoles work for you.
        The alarm system in the truck is causing the battery to die. I am going to have to have it taken out. I hate to do that as the truck is in high demand and I often get notes on it wondering if I will sell it. I guess they see it sitting so much…I need to drive it more. Yep..it’s the alarm system!

        I’m happy that all of you are well! Bertil has such a wanderlust that if you don’t mention him and I’ve missed a few days visiting, I get nervous!
        He is a good “watch cat” and warns you about dangers. Good cat, Bertil! Cranky or no, he is the perfect Tom cat.

        It’s cooled off here a bit..at least it was pleasant outside all day today. Easter is going to be spent with the family at the beach..so I am hoping the weather stays this nice all weekend.
        Take good care, Christer!
        Mona
        p.s. I just happened to find another “Wind in The Willows” book at a garage sale this past weekend. Not half as pretty as yours…but I am now reading it. πŸ™‚ Yep..I’ve never read it before! I am reading it out to the little girl across the street. She sits and listens with her mouth open..so funny..she is all involved. πŸ™‚

        April 2, 2015 at 6:37 am

      • Hi Mona!

        It was cool but I still like a key better πŸ™‚

        My rheumatism is killing my feet and old age does it best too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ so I really need those insoles. Even the doctor seemed to wonder why I didn’t came long ago πŸ™‚ I can’t walk properly in thne mornings and now it feels like I’ve broken a toe every time I walk down those stairs when I’m going down to the kitchen to make breakfast πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I wouldn’t like to remove the alarm either! But if You must You must. I once had an alarm system that could start at any time while being out driving πŸ™‚ It could suddenly just start and then I had one minute to stop the car by the road, turn of the car and then turn of the alarm otherwise the engine would just die and it was so cranky when I tried to start it again after that πŸ™‚ The alarm on the car I have now is slightly better, it doesn’t start while driving but I had to turn of the sound because it starts as soon as even the weakest wind hits the car πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        Bertil has actually calmed down a lot! I’m even allowed to scratch him behind his ears now. Ok he doesn’t love me but at least he doesn’t try to bite any longer πŸ™‚

        I’m glad it has ciooled down some and I wish it would get a bit warmer here but we’ll have sunshine for most of easter anyway.

        The Wind in the Willows is perfect to read for children! I do love my book I got from You and I read it quite often but for myself πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!

        Christer.

        April 2, 2015 at 5:39 pm

  7. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Sorry for being a bit absent over the last little bit. My husband had to go in to hospital for a bit of surgery but he’s now back home and regular blog post checking can commence! πŸ™‚ That’s interesting the hail didn’t wake you up! We have been having great weather here, up to 14 today. But tomorrow we snow and plunge back down to the negatives again. Typical!!! πŸ™‚ But that’s ok, I have a 4 day weekend coming up for Easter and I will enjoy it no matter what the weather!!! I hope there is nothing major wrong with your car. We had trouble with our Nissan Cube a few weeks ago and luckily we have extra warranty on it otherwise it would have cost us about $700 Canadian. Something with the steering suspension….its funny you mention that cars don’t start with keys anymore. Our Cube is a push button start. You need to have the fob and it will start with the button. Modern technology! πŸ™‚ Incredible photos today – the one with the rainbow is perfect! πŸ™‚ Have a good Thursday!

    April 1, 2015 at 10:42 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I hope it wasn’t too serious! Surgery is of course serious πŸ™‚ I hope he’s getting better fast!

      I rarely wake up at night unless there’s an explosion πŸ™‚ I didn’t wake up that night a previous neighbor got a bit crazy and tossed out all his furniture while his girlfrind was screaming loudly πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Really nice weather here too, today the sun shone through the clouds, very little wind and 10C. We’ll have sunshine for most of the weekend but nights will be chilly. I don’t mind, I sleep then πŸ™‚

      I really didn’t want to go to this garage because they behave a bit odd πŸ™‚ Last time I was there was when I had my little Mazda, instead of fixing what I wanted them to they didn’t care and told me they thought I would buy a new car instead πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But when they actually decide to do something they do a great job. Expensive though so it had been better if the car had broken down here at home so I could take it to my usual place.

      That was almost what I had to pay for this repair but at least I have my car again πŸ™‚

      It took some time until I figured out how to start it πŸ™‚ I must admit that even if I was impressed I still like a key better πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      By the way, the package is on its way πŸ™‚

      April 2, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

