And so the weekend starts.

I didn't take especially many photos on our walk today so it will be amix with some I took yesterday.

I didn’t take especially many photos on our walk today so it will be amix with some I took yesterday.

It has been cloudy most of the day but the clouds were so thin that the sun shone through and the temperature rose to 10C (50F) and since the wind that was, was weak it felt like much warmer. Today was the last working day before easter starts and I’ll have a four day weekend now since Easter Monday is a holiday too here. Many don’t work the entire day today because they want to go to where they are spending the holiday already today so the roads can be rather crazy to drive on. Why drive careful and reach the destination when one can drive like insane and risk not only ones own life bt all around too?

 

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

 

I want home one and a half hour early too and missed the worst traffic, most people won’t drive to this county but from so the only thing I had to do was to look that no one coming towards me would pass other cars in a dangerous wayย risking hitting me ๐Ÿ™‚ They have lowered the speed limit here close to the lake because people who want to watch the cranes tend not to watch the road they are driving on and they have put up extra traffic signs so no one can miss that it is forbidden to stop on highways just because they happens to see a bird or two ๐Ÿ™‚

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

 

As soon as the cranes have flown to Norway everything calms down here and we can all take a deep breath, relax and see us selves as lucky to surviving another crane tourist season ๐Ÿ™‚ We’ve had 18 800 cranes here a few days ago but yesterday there were only 14 200 of them left. Here’s a link to the web cameras so You can see the birds for Your self: Cranesย ย A new window should pop up if You click on the link. Just remember the time difference, we are six hours ahead of the American east coast and nine of the American west coast.

 

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

DSC_0020

 

It is time to make something to eat and then I think I’ll find myself a book. They show Snow White and the Huntsman on channel Six tonight, I have it myself and the girl playing Snow White only seems to have one facial expression, desperate/ tired ๐Ÿ™‚ It is the evil queen that saves the movie from being totally bad ๐Ÿ™‚ There’s a garden show from BBC on the Knowledge channel but it’s one of those we’ll help You to create Your dream garden programs so I think I’ll find myself a book ๐Ÿ™‚ Tomorrow I’ll write something about our Easter traditions.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Christer,
    I went to my parents every year for Easter, but it isn’t the travel day that Christmas is. Dinner is usually ham, spiral ham being the favorite.

    I don’t think new Easter clothes are as important as they were when I was young. It was a tradition, and I realized when I was older that new clothes in pastels were to welcome the new season, to dress for spring.

    My sister remembers the Easter baskets were on our bureaus when we woke up. I remember them being on the table in the kitchen or in the living room.

    The sun stayed around most of the day, but it is getting chilly as the sun begins to get lower in the sky.

    Have a great evening!

    April 2, 2015 at 9:25 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It is a big travel day here but I think most people goes to their summer houses and not so much to their families. They all want to spend as much time away as possible so they stress like crazy.

      I can’t remember we ever buying clothes for easter, especially since it can bee nasty cold around here this time of year. I think most bought new clothes when they knew it would stay warm. Now days they buy new clothes every day ๐Ÿ™‚

      Our easter eggs always stood on the dinner table so we wouldn’t disturb the others if we woke up early ๐Ÿ™‚

      Realkly nice yesterday and this morning is cold but with a clear sky.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 5:12 am

  2. jaz

    i don’t have much planned for easter. i have been cooking so much for everyone else that i might take the weekend off from cooking and order chinese! are you having special easter dinner?

    April 2, 2015 at 10:12 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Me neither, I’ll just relax all weekend. I need to go to the grocery store on Saturday morning though so I think I’ll bring one of my old cameras and take some photos close to Gudhem so You can see something else than our mossy tree stumps for a change ๐Ÿ™‚

      No I won’t make anything special, too much fuss for only one person I think. Chinese sounds nice though, perhapos I should go to Falkรถping and order some too? It depends on how lazy I feel on Saturday ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 5:25 am

  3. I will look forward to the Easter Traditions tomorrow, beautiful photos today, its good you have a nice long weekend!

    April 2, 2015 at 11:37 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’ll see what I can dig up from other parts of the country too.

      Yes I’ll enjoy this weekend to the fullest ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 5:26 am

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I should know better than to sit down after 8:00 p.m. and click on a link to your place knowing full well it will be black as pitch. I was hoping that they would maybe shine a light on the lake?!? ๐Ÿ™‚ I will try again in the morning….silly me. Well, I won’t bore you with the details of our weather today. It was horrid. Its going to be a cold weekend here. Most of us get 4 days as well. We like the Easter holiday, 4 days off is always a good thing! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am going to make hot cross buns and paska this weekend. Give me something to do other than moan about the weather. The 3rd from last picture looks almost like a travel path for forest trolls! ๐Ÿ™‚ Logs going this way and that way….like little bridges. ๐Ÿ™‚ Can’t wait to read about your traditions! Happy Friday! ๐Ÿ™‚

    April 3, 2015 at 2:24 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      ๐Ÿ™‚ No, no lights aroundthe lake ๐Ÿ™‚

      I saw those photos and it doesn’t look nice! Soo much snow falling!

      Yes four days off is rather nice ๐Ÿ™‚ It will be sunny here most of Easter but nights will be cold.

      I won’t do anything special food wise, perhaps I’ll buy me a cheese cake andhave some persimmon jam with it ๐Ÿ™‚

      IU’m pretty sure trolls use that way by the creek ๐Ÿ™‚ the beavers have helped them with bridges by chopping down the trees ๐Ÿ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 5:31 am

Leave a Reply

