Yesterday they flew to Blåkulla.

Frost covering everything.

Frost covering everything.

The morning is cold, sunny and wind free so it is quite nice to walk around outside. The cranes makes a wall of sound down by the lake and the Black Grouse’s a much quieter out on the bog. I wanted to take a long walk now when the weather is so nice but I turned back after watching Orvar.

 

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

DSC_0025

 

His back legs are very wobbly now and I’ve seen this in his mother and grand mother. Both suffered from lumbar paralysis at the end of their time and now it’s closing in on Orvar. He already get the medicine that could help him with this so I’m afraid the time is closing in now. This can come and go for a while and I hope he’ll get better fast. Orvar himself doesn’t seem to mind that his legs wobbles around though 🙂

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

 

Yesterday evening, if we had been watching up in the sky we would have seen a lot of flying objects we normally don’t see. It was all te witches (and warlocks) that started their journey to Blåkulla where they’ll have a party with the devil until they fly home again on Easter eve evening. There are lots of places called Blåkulla here but the “official” place is an island by the east coast called Blå Jungfrun, The Blue Maid. Normally they go by broom and they almost always bring a copper coffee pot and a cat on the broom. Some however travel by a flying cow or a goat 🙂 Here on the west coast we then start huge bonfires on easter eve and have fireworks to scare them from coming home again. Both are now days dying out because people don’t like it when we burn hedgehogs alive and fireworks scare our pets to death.

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

 

From yesterday and to easter eve we might also get visits from children dressed like witches (or warlocks now days, thank You Harry Potter. Even boys dressed as witches when I was a kid). Back in the days we draw easter cards ad gave them away for candy and I think they still do that today. What doesn’t kids do for candy 🙂 We have no kids in the village so I didn’t get any candy, I would only have eaten it all myself 🙂

 

DSC_0039

For once I actually caught the sparkling of the frost 🙂 Can You see all the colorful dots towards the bottom of the photo 🙂

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0043

 

It is time for something to eat, I’ve been up four hours and still haven’t had breakfast 🙂 I’ll tell You more about our easter tomorrow.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

 

Have a great day!

11 responses

  1. jaz

    poor orvar! i hope he is well again soon. how old is he? i just hate it when our pups get old. bertil looks like he is practicing his ballet moves! it rained here all night and it looks like it worked like a growth hormone on everything coming up for spring. i swear things grew by inches overnight. i better get moving here and grab my brrom and my copper coffee pot if i am going to make it to blakulla on time!

    April 3, 2015 at 3:24 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      He was sligfhtly better now this afternoon but I’m afraid this is something that won’t get better. I’m afraid this is a downgoing spiral.

      Bertil did look clumsy when climbing up that tower 🙂

      A spring rain can do that 🙂 I always get surprised when it happens 🙂 Too cold nights here for that to happen yet though.

      Take a break here if You pass over my cottage 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 3:56 pm

    • He’s eleven years old this september.

      April 3, 2015 at 4:10 pm

  2. Åh stackars Orvar! Eller man ska kanske säga “stackars dig”, för det är ju inget trevligt som väntar. Men…man är ju tvungen att ta sitt ansvar och även om du är van efter alla dina hundar, så känns det i hjärteroten. Dom är ju ens familj….. 😦
    Foto med frosten var otroligt vackert, du hade verkligen lyckats att få in det som glittrade i alla möjliga färger! 🙂
    Här har det också varit lite kallt, men vädret har varit fantastiskt fint hela dagen. Trots SMHI´s prognos att det skulle vara molnigt, komma lite regn och kanske t.o.m. snö, men man tror ju inte längre på dom! 😕
    GLAD PÅSK
    Susie
    Ps. Var bara en kort tur till Blåkulla, har så mycket att göra i trädgården!

    April 3, 2015 at 3:26 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag kan ju bara hoppas att det inte blir värre än det är just nu, men jag vet ju hur fort det kan gå. Van blir man nog aldrig, lika jobbigt varje gång. Så jag håller tummarna för att han i alla fall skall klara sig över sommaren även om jag kanske inte tror på det själv.

      Första gången jag faktiskt fått med glittret på bild och så kul att alla färger kom med också 🙂 Soligt och skönt hela dagen och vi verkar klara oss till måndagen innan moln kommer hit 🙂

      Ha det så kul på partyt så länge du nu är där 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 3:59 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Frost Fairies and Easter Witches. Alright! 🙂
    All this reminds me that I forgot to make a Päsk branch this year. I forget the whole Swedish word for it. The sticks from last year’s are still around somewhere but it’s a bit late to force forsythia or maple flowers in time. I’ll think of something.

    Yesterday I purchased a color enhanced orchid plant. I knew it was enhanced without reading the blurb but it was a beautiful shade of full chroma deep lavender and it had many extra buds (that may or may not open). It’s probably a phalanopsis orchid though the blurb does not say what species because it’s trademarked and they call it whatever they want.
    The last orchid I had was candy striped. It lived and bloomed for many years in the cheap container it was shipped in which was nothing more than a plastic gallon size ice cream tub. Eventually the roots split the container and it had to be transplanted. I used the approved medium and a proper orchid pot. Was the orchid grateful? No. It pined for its old plastic ice cream tub and eventually died.

    Bertil on the ladder is funny.
    I was going to say my favorite photo was the red building with blue frosty fields but then I saw the frost lights and those have to be faves too. The light in today’s photos is fabulous.

    Sad to read about Orvar. I hope his legs unwobble again. In the meantime you could try a sling around his body in front of his hind legs and use it to steady him some. A bit much to handle along with two dogs on leashes and a camera, though. And it only prolongs the inevitable, I guess.

    Today is warm and raining. I have turned the heat off for the first time since October. Most of the side yard is snow free though the back is still ice.
    Still, things are looking up. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    April 3, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      You mean påskris 🙂 I don’t have any this year, Sune and nova ate all the feathers and chewed the easter eggs that I hang in it too 🙂 I might get new ones if they have any in Gudhem tomorrow.

      Yes it’s most likely a phalaenopsis, I have a yellow one in my bathroom. It is odd that they tend to give up when they need a new pot, I often have the same problems and almost all my catleyas suffered bad this winter after being replanted. I’m lucky if I have one left when summer comes.

      My favorite is the sparkling frost and the one I posted on NG.

      Orvar is old now but I have to admit that I always thought Hectore would be the one to go first but his back has always been just fine. I hope it calms down but I know this is a down going spiral. He was a bit more steady this afternoon though. He weighs 220 pound and I’m not in the best condition either I’m afraid, my back would probably break too if I tried that.

      Sunny and rather warm here so I’ve enjoyed much of the day in the garden 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 4:09 pm

  4. I just read Joyce’s comment..she is so funny. I wouldn’t doubt one minute that she would try the broom and coffee pot thing! I wouldn’t wait up for her though, Christer! 🙂
    It’s sad when our Pet’s begin to show the signs of getting to the end of their lives. I am sorry to hear Orvar has the beginnings of the same problems his family members had. I am dreading it so much with Mele. She has been through so much with me.

    And THANKS SO MUCH for those pictures of Bertil!! :):) I get such a kick out of his serious, no nonsense little face! I loved the one of him climbing up the ladder! I mean I do not know of many cats that would do that! Scratches, my male cat, was so much like Bertil, but Bertil even out does Scratches. Scratches knew how to turn door knobs and until I found out it was him, I thought someone was trying to break into our home and call the police twice. No one there. Then one day I caught him standing on his hind legs with a paw on each side of the knob slowly turning it each way! You can tell by his name what he was like. He would lay in wait for the children of the neighborhood to come home from school. There was a big, very low to the ground, palm tree with spreading fronds that lay on the ground, at the corner of our street. Scratches would crawl under there and wait…tail switching! I could see the tip of it from time to time and I would go chase him out. If I forgot he would wait for the children and then jump out at them and scratch their legs. He got me in more trouble. Then they would come and quarentine him for 30 days. It happened three times while we lived there. He lived to 17 years and kept me busy the entire time. He needed a forest to roam in. 🙂 I loved him so much though. I was his “person” and when he was injured from a fight he would come and jump up in my lap to show me his injuries and I would put medication on them.

    I MISS having a cat so much!
    Sorry this was so long, Christer. 🙂 I do love your walks in the forest. I have always missed living in the country where I was raised as a child.
    In a little house much like yours.
    I’m looking forward to more of your folklore stories! Wonderful! 🙂
    Mona

    April 3, 2015 at 4:04 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      Well You never know with Joyce 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is sad seeing them slowly getting worse and foronce it would have been so nice if they just never woke up in the morning. I hate going to the vet to do what I eventually must do. Mele is a small dog so she will go on for a long time more 🙂

      I thought You would like some photos with Bertil 🙂 I took a few this afternoon as well so they might turn up tomorrow 🙂 Bertil isn’t heavy enough to open the door but I’m sure he knows how to 🙂 Teodor is heavy but not as smart as his brother 🙂 Bertil is actually much nicer now, I’m even allowed to scratch him behind his ears now days 🙂 Bertil is the same with injuries, then I can treat him as much as I like, at least until he feels better again 🙂

      I’ll see what I can find to write about tomorrow 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 3, 2015 at 4:16 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Poor Orvar! I hope the medicine fixes him and he is as good as new afterwards! 🙂 Our Tor’s back leg with the tumor is dragging more now and kind of floppy when he walks, so not sure if we wait until its his time or what. He is otherwise fine, no pain so I think we just wait. Let us know how Orvar gets on…. You have fairies in your forests!! I am sure that’s what those lights are….or the bog lady! 🙂 We have snowed most of the day – but its not really sticking. Just what we had yesterday is left over in some places. Ugh. Supposed to snow more tomorrow! Ugh. I hope your Friday was pleasant!

    April 3, 2015 at 11:46 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      He has taken this medicine for a few years now so It won’t help more than it does I’m afraid. I’m hoping that the others might have pushed him so his back reacted and therefore can get better again after resting. Thankfully there’s no pain. My old vet always said that as long as they are happy and wants to take walks, no matter how slow 🙂 they should stay with us, so I hope both my old dogs and Your Tor have lots of time left 🙂

      Fairies here are rather nasty little creitters so I sure hope we don’t have too many of those around 🙂 They like to give humans diseases and kill babies 🙂 So I sure hope that it’s ice crystals we see 🙂

      We’ll have this kind of weather the entire Easter according to the predictions and it willstay much the same after but nights will star to become warm again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 4, 2015 at 5:47 am

Leave a Reply

