Happy Easter.

It didn't look promising this morning.

It didn’t look promising this morning.

The kitchen door is open and it will stay that way until it starts to get cold again this evening. The wind that is comes from north-west and my kitchen door heads towards south-east. The birds are singing, the flies are flying and the old boys are asleep in the cool livingroom 🙂 Nova sleeps in the sun on the kitchen stairs and Sune runs in and out every two seconds 🙂 He’s having fun by himself since the others rather sleep 🙂

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

DSC_0043

 

It was hard to believe that we would get this wonderful weather since the morning was even colder than it was yesterday morning and the clouds so much thicker and heavier. We even had some snow fall for a while, big flakes that fell so slowly that I actually thought it was beautiful, especially since it by them was so warm it melted just as it hit the ground. Orvar looked really fine the first two hundred meters (219 yards) but then his legs started to wobble again. Much better than yesterday though so I’m hoping this started only because the other dogs hit him while playing. It won’t go away once it started but perhaps it won’t get worse as fast as I feared yesterday.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

 

The sun started to shine when I drove away to get cat food, something I forgot last Thursday. I brought the Hasselblad camera with me and took some photos on the way to the store and stopped by the lake on my way home. It’s amazing how many different languages I could hear there today. German, English, Danish, Flemish, Norwegian and Swedish of course but I also heard at least one language from Africa. I could of course not identify it since I don’t know what different languages they speak down there, I guess they speak more languages in Africa than in most continents. But it was very visible that these people had their roots somewhere on that continent. I’ll send the three rolls of film I have to be developed next week. I didn’t bring any digital camera so You’ll have to be patient.

 

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

It is easy to understand that most of the oxygen on this planet comes from algea when seeing all the bubbles in the algea beneath a frosen water surface.

It is easy to understand that most of the oxygen on this planet comes from algae when seeing all the bubbles in the algae beneath a frozen water surface.

 

Swedes are really boring when it comes to holiday food, we eat much the same things every holiday with only small variations. Pickled herring in oh so many ways, smoked, grilled and pickled salmon, meatballs and prince sausages is sort of the staple food we have. Christmas has ham and Easter has eggs and chicken of course. Many want something we call Äggost (egg cheese) and I do like that 🙂 It is made from lots of eggs, milk, sour milk or sour cream. Oven omelet with a stew made from chanterelle mushrooms is a must for many and I think I’ll do one today but with another mushroom because I don’t have any chanterelle here at home.

 

The coming photos could have been taken today because it's just as sunny but I took them yesterday afternoon.

The coming photos could have been taken today because it’s just as sunny but I took them yesterday afternoon.

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

 

Today is the most likely day the risk of meeting warlocks and easter witches (or easter hags as the real translation is) begging for candy, we don’t have any kids in this village who will do that though, the one kid we have is too shy I’m afraid. Homes are now decorated with Påskris and naturally there are chickens and eggs on the drapes, table cloths and handkerchiefs. The witch is probably the biggest easter symbol we have here and Facebook has been flooded with witch jokes and how to fly safely and so on. The children have probably already gotten their easter eggs filled with candy already when they got up this morning. The eggs are made from paper and I’ve seen eggs so big that they most likely could contain more than four kilos (almost 9 pounds) of candy 🙂

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

 

The Easter bunny, or as we call it, the Easter hare, has never been especially popular here. We have him as candy and printed on the easter eggs but that is more or less it. I never really understood why a hare would run around and give us eggs at easter when I was a kid, I always thought that was a job for hens 🙂 We made lots of easter ornaments at school, like paper hen and roosters, chickens made with balls made from paper (can’t find any english name for them) and pipe cleaners. My mother has never been the nostalgic kind so nothing of that is left I’m afraid.

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

 

It is time for something to eat and a pot of tea. I think I might take a nap after that, I did that yesterday and slept for almost three hours and I was so tired when I finally woke up that I wanted to go to sleep again 🙂

 

I'm glad my neighbor decorated some outside since I didn't :-)

I’m glad my neighbor decorated some outside since I didn’t 🙂

Påskris.

Påskris.

 

Happy Easter!

 

14 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Happy Easter to you too! Love the witch in the tree at your neighbor’s! 🙂 Such fabulous folklore, I love it. You are right, it should be an easter chicken, not a rabbit. Although we have lots of rabbits around here, no chickens! 🙂 We are cold today. -8 right now. They keep promising warm, but I am losing faith. I made hot cross buns yesterday. A double batch. Some will have to go in the freezer. I love pickled herring, we only get that in very small jars here. Well, I guess its time to do laundry and the usual house chores. Have a good evening!!

    April 4, 2015 at 2:47 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I do liker that witch too 🙂
      It is fun how something we’ve seen as bad suddenly becomes the easter symbol 🙂 I don’t know how the raccit became the egg giver, must see if I can find out why!

      The wind changed direction some and suddenly I had to close the kitchen door, too bad it was so nice to have it open for once. It will get warmer in the middle of next week here, too bad it didn’t arrive earlier when we’re free from work. But I’m just happy it gets warmer 🙂 -8 during the day is way too low but would be rather normal here this time of year to be honest 🙂

      I can’t stand pickled herring 🙂 I can’t understand how many varieties there are and we do have really big jars too :-)We have it every big holiday and to be honest, people gulp0 it down any day 🙂

      Laundry day is tomorrow for me so today I’ll justrelax 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 4, 2015 at 4:09 pm

  2. Hi Christer,
    The other day I just happened to read why the bunny lays eggs. Here it is: “The original Easter Bunny myth comes from a pagan holiday which was celebrated on the Vernal Equinox. According to Pagan legend, Ostara, the goddess of spring, turned a bird into a rabbit. The rabbit was supposedly able to fly as fast as the bird could fly, but it was still disappointed that it was a rabbit and not a bird. Ostara had pity on the creature, and one day out of every year, on the Vernal Equinox, she allowed the rabbit to lay eggs like a bird. Due to the proximity of Easter and the Vernal Equinox, converted pagans continued to associate the myth with their new holiday, and the idea has been passed down ever since.”

    Lots of customs here for us at Easter. Ham is big meat for Easter dinner. We always colored eggs on the Saturday before Easter. My mother hard-boiled the eggs, put newspapers on the table and cups of different colored dyes. We’d dip and try too get creative. It had so much fun doing those eggs. When I was really young, we had an Easter egg hunt in the yard.

    I love the witch and the whole idea of the witch. The Easter Bunny is cute but I’d rather have your witch.

    Have a wonderful day!

    April 4, 2015 at 4:10 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I had read about Ostara but never that part about the easter bunny 🙂 Thank You, it’s always good to know where these stories originate. But still, I’ve never really thought he lay the eggs himself, I just thought he found them somewhere 🙂 🙂

      Ham is for Christmas here even though we can buy just the same kind if we want to but know it’s called holiday ham 🙂 Not a big thing yet though. Easter egg hunts are getting bigger though, I’ve read about several on facebook now. It didn’t exist when I grew up but we did read about it in school. It is fun that we made something we saw as evil becom the easter symbol number one 🙂

      I’ve just watched the latest Grimm (well season 3) (talking about witches 🙂 ) It is just getting better and better. Juliette has just understood that she won’t be able to go back to normal and now accepts that she is what she is and she just killed a bounty hunter that was after Nick 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 4, 2015 at 6:04 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Happy Easter. The Easter Hag is cool. I’ll have to borrow that one along with the Påskris.
    And I remembered how my keyboard makes this å instead that ä. It’s one less keystroke, too. 🙂

    Most holidays have traditional foods associated with them. Easter was always ham in my family. I don’t particularly like ham so now I opt for the other traditional Easter food…chocolate. 🙂 Just kidding. I cook lamb for Easter and season it with lots of garlic, rosemary and lemon. It’s the best.

    Today is changeable weather. It was cloudy, windy and raining when I took the dogs out this morning. But enough snow has melted that I could clamber over the snow barrier that has closed the road and get to the paths that we haven’t been able to use since January. The wind was nasty cold so we didn’t hang around there for very long. Later on, when we went out, it was raining on my house but not on the houses at the end of the road. The sun was shining down there. It’s gotten sunnier here but the wind is still biting.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 4, 2015 at 6:19 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      She is and this is the only free hanging one I’ve ever seen.
      I’m so glad I don’t have to think about how to print an å 🙂

      I had forgotten lamb! Not especially popular here because most people just don’t understand how to cook it without making it taste lkike wool 🙂 I like it a lot and have it quite often, never at easter though 🙂 I actually forgot to buy chocolate!!! How odd 🙂

      The wind changed direction here and destroyed the rest of the day, we wnt to the bog where the wind couldn’t reach us and I sat down on my favorite tree stump and just enjoyed the sun and the dogs either played or chew on tree sticks 🙂
      So You still have that much snow left! I’m so glad we had this mild winter 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 4, 2015 at 7:33 pm

  4. jaz

    i wish we had easter witches here. they are really cool. i might have to look for some swedish ones! wonderful photos today as usual. i really like the neighbors decorations. it is warm and sunny here. i guess i have to face the fact that spring is here!

    April 4, 2015 at 8:05 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It is fun how they turned the witch from being something evil to become one of our most important easter symbols 🙂 🙂

      Yes I’m afraid You have too 🙂 Spring has sprung even over at Yours 🙂 Lets just hope we’ll get the summer we all want, no matter where we live 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 5, 2015 at 5:25 am

  5. Our Easter is in the morning…and Witches are usually for Halloween. The rabbits and eggs thing I never understood either. 🙂 How that came to be, I’ve always wondered. I wonder where you would find the answer to that. Folk Lore? Always an interesting thing from country to country.
    Traditions…love it. What beautiful pictures of Bertil. 🙂 You did good, Christer!

    April 5, 2015 at 8:04 am

    • Hi Mona!

      If You read Katry’s comment You’ll understand the rabbit thing 🙂 Like most things it came from the pagan believes.

      I do like our witches and they are always friendly here unlike most at Halloween 🙂

      He is great in front of the camnera that cat 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 5, 2015 at 8:19 am

  6. Här är och var typiskt aprilväder igår och idag; Regn och kyla! Nej, fy sjutton vad ruggigt det är så inte kommer man ut i trädgården idag heller!! 😦
    Man får vara glad att man hunnit så pass långt som man har, men det har gått rätt så fort när man är två. Tidigare fick jag ta hand om hela trädgården själv, men det orkar jag inte längre. Nu har vi bara en sak kvar att räfsa ur och det är vårt lilla stenslänt, som jag tänkte Rolle skulle få ta samtidigt som han tar bort en massa ogräs i den. (Man får inte vara dum, det gäller att passa på!) 🙂
    När han gör det ska jag ansa alla klängrosor samt börja med “finrensningen”. Det senare kan man ju hålla på med minst en månad, så brist på trädgårdsjobb har jag inte…..:-) 🙂
    Tyvärr har vi inte hunnit med några härliga långprommisar med Santos stackarn när det har varit bra väder och när det regnar vill varken han eller vi gå några längre sträckor. Så han tycker säkert att påsken varit otroligt trist…..och jag är böjd att hålla med. Nu vill jag ha sol och värme! 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    April 5, 2015 at 9:04 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Hade det inte varit för vinden skulle det varit otroligt skönt här, men den förstör så mycket tyvärr.

      Min trädgård är ju mest för hundarna och jag tillhör inte dem som skall städa absolut rent i rabatterna så mitt liv är enklare 🙂 Allt det gamla bryter jag ned i bitar och lämnar kvar i rabatterna, jorden behöver det och det syns inte senare ändå. Lathet är en bra kompis när det gäller trädgårdsarbete 🙂

      Så för en gångs skull har jag det varmare än du 🙂 Det händer inte ofta 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 5, 2015 at 9:08 am

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Glad I read all anout the Easter bunny here in a previous comment and that it saved me from looking around online.
    We used to get Easter baskets as children and that was many years ago for Pat and myself. Back then, they had some candy like a chocolate rabbit, jelly beans, and some other candies, but no toys. Now, it seems easter baskets have which seems like the wrong holiday.
    We have had ham in the oast, but it is not really my favorite. This year, we went to the home of Pat’s cousin and there was neither ham or lamb, but grilled chicken and assorted salads, which was ok with us.

    April 6, 2015 at 2:26 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I’m glad Kat told us 🙂 I had never heard anything about that before.

      Here we’ve never had baskets from what I know but our eggs made from paper and I’ve never heard oif any getting toys at easter either, only lots of candy 🙂

      Ham is too connected with Christmas for me so I’d rather have grilled chicken like You had but lamb is rather nice too. I’ve had neither this easter, I had grilled sausages 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 6, 2015 at 4:56 am

Leave a Reply

