Nasty cold morning.

Doves.

Doves.

Nasty cold here this morning, -9C (15,8F) and I refused to go outside until the rising sun had warmed up the air at least some. So we came out rather late for being is in to a -5C (23F) heat wave 🙂 It was actually rather nice since we don’t have any wind at all this morning. The almost 20 000 cranes created a wall of sound that is amazing and I can’t understand how those living closer to the lake can sleep at all even with earplugs 🙂

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

 

They’ve changed the weather predictions again so this will not be the last nice day in Easter, tomorrow will be even warmer and after that the cold nights will have an end and daytime temperatures will rise too. 

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

One of my favorite plants, Myrica gale (Bog myrtle or Pors in Swedish). I love the smell they have.

One of my favorite plants, Myrica gale (Bog myrtle or Pors in Swedish). I love the smell they have.

DSC_0053

 

We went down to the creek this morning and walked over the fields to get there. I was a bit worried that it might be too much for Orvar but he managed to walk that far without any bigger problems, his legs are not wobbling worse or less and he doesn’t seem to be bothered about it especially much. Two deers stood in the neighbor field and a big flock of doves flew by on their way to the lake. I could see birds all over collecting nest-building materials so nature is very busy right now.

 

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

DSC_0057

The bird nest is almost impossible to see.

The bird nest is almost impossible to see.

 

The America clock is ticking loudly here ion the kitchen, I’ve always loved that sound. The chime doesn’t work thankfully 🙂 it is a nice sound too but the clock would start every fifteen minutes and I think that it in the long run would drive us insane 🙂 It is time to do the laundry and after that I think it’s time for a nap.

 

DSC_0061

Some photos from yesterday afternoon.

Some photos from yesterday afternoon.

DSC_0027

DSC_0030

 

Have a great day! 

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

DSC_0026

10 responses

  1. Vem vart det som stod på spången och otåligt väntade på att alla skulle komma för att gå över!? Gillade den bilden…och dom andra med förstås! 🙂
    Jag idag har det varit så hemskt trist att Santos inte ville gå långrundan här hemma ens, han stannade halvvägs och agerade “saltstod”. Men när Rolle frågade om han ville gå hem så vände han tvärt och började springa hemåt, så det var bara för gubben min att hänga på. Jag tror faktiskt han var lika glad att få vända han med….. 🙂 🙂
    Alldeles nyss kollade jag hur vädrat var för ett år sen då vi hade en extremt lång vinter. Det var -8 på natten (alltså lite kallare än nu), men det var hela + 8 på dagen -alltså betydligt varmare än idag då vi har +3! Så nu är vi tillbaka till det vanliga vädret efter att våren redan var här i februari. Men så här brukar det ju vara i april….. 😦 😦 😦
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    April 5, 2015 at 2:04 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Det är Nova, men hon fick snällt gå tillbaka för vi skulle inte åt det hållet 🙂

      Otroligt skönt här idag, över 8 plus och vinden har hållit sig någorlunda lugn och dessutom kommit från ett håll så att jag kunde vara ute i trädgården utan att bli störd av den 🙂 Lika skönt skall det visst bli i morgon 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 5, 2015 at 3:40 pm

  2. I can only imagine the sound all the cranes make, we only have them in groups here maybe 50 to 100 at most never at the numbers you have, it must be deafening! Beautiful photos of your dogs furry pals today, they are very handsome.

    April 5, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I love the sound of cranes when there’s only a few, it is anything but nice or beautiful when they are so many 🙂 🙂 It’s nice whan they let me take photos of them, normally they try to avoid it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 5, 2015 at 3:42 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Laser moss! Wow! 🙂

    Beautiful studies of the dogs. Orvar looks like a sleepy bear.

    Today is still cold and windy just the same as yesterday. The sun is shining brightly but it’s not counteracting the biting wind.

    The English sparrows here are busily gathering up the dried grass and bits of Rocky fur. The crows have been gathering sticks for a couple of weeks now so their nests must be ready for eggs by now. They are carrying on despite the frozen ground and cold temperatures. I guess Spring will be along any time now. Maybe. 🙂

    Enjoy the day.

    April 5, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Not many that have laser moss near their homes 🙂 I cut out that part and it’s just a tiny part of the photo and it does look cool 🙂

      Orvar is a big kind bear with a will of his own 🙂

      I’m so tired of the wind now, it never seems to calm down any longer, it was so nice when I was out of reach for it today!

      It’s the same with our jackdaws, they have been going on for quite some time so they must already have eggs. I don’t trust them though so I’ll continue to have a fire in my stove for quite some time more 🙂 I haven’t checked the Englis sparrows though, they too should have eggs by now and they nest beneath the tiles by my kitchen door so I’ll see if they are busy now 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 5, 2015 at 5:02 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We were cold too this morning, I woke to the outside thermometer telling me it was -11. But, the juncos have arrived and this is a very good sign! Even more so than all the geese that have been arriving. Juncos really tell me that spring is coming. Poor little things, all huddled around the bird feeders…I make sure the feeders are always filled this time of year, I really love juncos! 🙂 Went for an early morning Easter walk with Tor and my son today. Was chilly but great to get out. The sun is trying very hard to warm things up, but it still says its -6 outside. No wind to speak of thankfully. Your pictures are great today, just look at all the happy faces!! Don’t they just love to chew sticks! 🙂 Ours do too and I could never figure out why they don’t get slivers in their mouths! Hope your nap was nice. Have a good day!!

    April 5, 2015 at 4:46 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Even worse than here! It is when the Wagtails arrive here we know for certain that spring has come and I know they are close but still not here 🙂

      It is the wind that destroys it here, when I’m out of reach for it the sun does warm up so much. Not too bad today though and I could stay in my garden all day without freezing to death 🙂

      Yes how do they avoid that 🙂 I know they make vanilla substitute (called vanillin here) from rotten wood, could it be that the dogs actually can taste that by chewing the sticks? I know my dogs love vanilla so I wouldn’t be surprised at all 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 5, 2015 at 5:07 pm

  5. Christer,
    The dogs are beautiful in the sunlight. They seem to be enjoying themselves.

    It is amazing how much spring growth you already have, way ahead of us. My sister who lives north of me usually has buds by now, and there are none on any trees. It has been a cold spring for us. My croci are it right now for flowering plants.

    The sun looks so lovely!

    Have a great week.

    April 6, 2015 at 12:42 am

    • Hi Kat!

      They just love it out there by the bog, soo many sticks to chew on 🙂 and every now and again they all stop to chew to look out over the bog, they must have heard something pass out there.

      Still, it slowed down considerable when we suddenly got these really cold nights.Buds are big on many trees though and I hope they’ll calm down until the nights get warm again.

      This has been a really wonderful easter with all its sunshine 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 6, 2015 at 4:50 am

Leave a Reply

