I’ll use my old wheelbarrow.

I rarely see the squirrels living here so when I do I always try to take a photo. I almost managed to focus on it today :-) But the tree trunk looks very focused :-)

I rarely see the squirrels living here so when I do I always try to take a photo. I almost managed to focus on it today 🙂 But the tree trunk looks very focused 🙂

Our morning walk sort of got destroyed by the castles tractors, I don’t think they even try to dampen the sound from the exhaust pipes. They come here to feed the cattle and I’m glad I don’t live close to where they drive around. Still the sound from them almost drowned the sounds in the forest and it was totally impossible to even hear the sound wall from the cranes down at the lake. The Black Grouse roosters gave up too and I wonder if it can be legal driving around with such noisy machines, especially since the entire village now is a bird protection area and will continue to be so till the end of this month.

 

DSC_0099

I'll continue to take short walks with the dogs until I can see any improvment in Orvar. So You'll see plenty of photos from this opart of the bog :-)

I’ll continue to take short walks with the dogs until I can see any improvement in Orvar. So You’ll see plenty of photos from this part of the bog 🙂

DSC_0102

 

It will be slightly more cloudy today but slightly warmer instead and the real warm weather will start from tomorrow, even nights will get warm. I’m not surprised it happens just when we start to work after the weekend again 🙂 🙂 Yes I know I shouldn’t complain, some of You still have nasty cold weather and some of You already have heat waves and draught. But still 🙂

 

DSC_0104

DSC_0105

DSC_0106

 

I had planned on going to town today but I think I might skip that, I don’t have the energy to be honest 🙂 I can get those things I want tomorrow at the grocery store in the village where I work. Instead I think I’ll continue to work some in my garden. I started to make my vegetable patch bigger yesterday. I thought I worked quite much but realised that I hadn’t 🙂 It’s hardly noticeable to see that it got any bigger to be honest 🙂 🙂 🙂 

 

DSC_0107

DSC_0108

DSC_0109

 

I usually toss away the turf I dig up at the left corner in my garden, there’s actually a tiny hill there now 🙂 I was once thinking of growing something there once but the stinging nettles thrive there because I also toss dog poop there that I then cover with those turfs I toss away. So yesterday I thought I could use those turfs better and brought out my old wheelbarrow. It is rusty and has big holes near the bottom and the tire has had no air in it for years. So I covered it on the inside with two layers of ground cloth, filled it with turf and then put two layers with ground cloth over it all.

 

I thought it was Bertil I saw and didn't bother to stop the dogs when they ran to great him.

I thought it was Bertil I saw and didn’t bother to stop the dogs when they ran to greet him.

Salmiak wasn't happy at all :-)

Salmiak wasn’t happy at all 🙂

DSC_0115

 

The rain that falls will be able to sink down into the barrow but the grass will have a tough time growing up through the cloth. I will later on make tiny holes in the cloth and plant something there. Squash perhaps? or pumpkin? I’m not sure yet and I’ll have plenty of time to decide since the last night with frost usually comes at the first week in June.Hopefully the worms that followed the turfs will do their best to decompose those turfs at the bottom of it all and hopefully the grass at the top will have a way to big job to grow through the double layer of ground cloth.

 

I didn't take especially many photos this morning, so the rest You'll see are from yesterday afternoon.

I didn’t take especially many photos this morning, so the rest You’ll see are from yesterday afternoon.

DSC_0078

DSC_0085

 

I’ll continue to make the vegetable patch bigger so I was thinking of doing the same today but with big pots, the ones I usually have tomatoes growing in. I have plenty of pots so I can just keep filling them and use the other pots for flowers if I want to or perhaps a potato or two 🙂 We’ll all know if this was a good idea or not when autumn arrives 🙂 I just hope I have enough ground cloth left, after all I’ll only need to put that on top of the pots since they only have the small hole in the bottom and that I can cover with a shard of any broken teacup I already have 🙂

 

DSC_0087

I didn't have time to adjust the camnera but it's a good thing one can edit a photo afterwards :-) This is a  male Chaffinch.

I didn’t have time to adjust the camera but it’s a good thing one can edit a photo afterwards 🙂 This is a male Chaffinch.

Not quite sure what this is :-)

Not quite sure what this is 🙂

 

The temperature has just passed 0C (32F) and is on its way upwards. I’ll make myself a cup of coffee and a hard bread sandwich and then I’ll start to work. To be honest, I don’t see it as work and I won’t get any problems with aching joints since I do it in my own pace and take lots of breaks for tea, coffee or cocoa 🙂

 

Scilla.

Scilla.

Haquetia.

Haquetia.

Chionodoxa. I don't have specially many of this one, it likes it better outside my hedge.

Chionodoxa. I don’t have especially many of this one, it likes it better outside my hedge.

 

Have a nice last day of Easter!

 

My old wheelbarrow. The holes are on the other side and a bit up from the bottom. So the bottom will be able to keep some water that the plants can use on hot days.

My old wheelbarrow. The holes are on the other side and a bit up from the bottom. So the bottom will be able to keep some water that the plants can use on hot days.

14 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! that wheelbarrow should work out well for you! we are warming up with lots of rain on the way. this will be good for all the spring plants. though you have much more growing than we do yet. who would ever think you would be ahead of us with warm weather? joyce

    April 6, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I think so, the question is what to plant in it. The easy and most pretty way would be to just have nasturtiums in it but I think I might have squash or pumpkins in it. I actually have seeds to the most hardy melons, perhaps I should have that in it and just place the barrow where it is most sunny and calm?

      Yes, nothing starets the season like a spring rain! Too bad it goes for weeds too 🙂

      No I must admit that I never thought spring would come here earlier than to You 🙂 I guess it is once in a life time 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 6, 2015 at 3:46 pm

  2. Det är mycket man ska och framförallt kanske vill göra just nu. -) Men här har det inte gjorts nått i trädgården på tre dagar. Först var det regn och kallt och sen idag när det var varmare och soligt hade vi en massa annat att göra. 😦 Vi kom hem för en kvart sen och då tyckte vid det var lite väl sent. Dessutom finns ju jobben kvar, så man behöver inte stressa med dom….. *fniss* 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    April 6, 2015 at 2:51 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Nog mest vill här, jag har inga skall i trädgården 🙂 Livet blir så mycket enklare då 🙂

      Här har vi haft ännu en underbar dag med nästan ingen vind så jag har inte varit inne mycket idag 🙂 Men nu har jag laddat spisen med ved så att det bara är att tända när det börjar kyla på ute 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 6, 2015 at 3:50 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’ve often thought of using my old wheelbarrow for growing something but I’m not sure it has a bottom anymore. 🙂 I haven’t really seen it since last fall and it wasn’t looking good then. Interesting looking handles on your wheelbarrow. Are they comfortable to use?

    Usually the chionadoxa is the first thing up and blooming in my yard but not this year. The crocus along the house foundation beat them to it. I can’t even see green shoots where they usually come up. The snow has not been off those areas for more than a few days so they’ve had a handicap.

    The yellow bird reminds me of some American warblers.

    Poor Salmiak, always being mistaken for Bertil. And Bertil looked rather smug about it. 🙂

    Today is sort of brightly cloudy. The weather folks were mentioning snow flurries but none fell here. Yet. It’s 38ºF so probably not.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 6, 2015 at 2:53 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It would be a slight problem if it has no bottem any longer 🙂

      Yes those handles are perfect, so easy to find a way to hold it comfortable. I think this one might be home made back in the days and for some strange reason they’ve welded the wheel to the barrow so it is impossible to chgange 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I’m just happy I have a few chionadoxa at all, they don’t like my garden but grow very well just outside my hedge 🙂 It’s always the snowdrops that is first and after that the scilla and crocus.

      It does but I guess it might be a European serin, very rare here but since we’ve had two mild winters it isn’t impossible that it is that one. At first I thought it was the Yellowhammer but it doesn’t look quite right for being that.

      Yes Salmiak has a tough life 🙂 I think that he would have let them come rather close if it hadn’t been for them running too fast towards him 🙂

      We’ve had a just wonderful day here asnd I’ve enjoyed every second of it. No wind to speak of for most of the day and that is sort of enough to make the day perfect but the sun has been shining all day too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 6, 2015 at 4:00 pm

  4. you certainly are a long way into spring compared to us and you have been very busy!

    April 6, 2015 at 2:55 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Yes we are far ahead yet but You’ll catch up soon 🙂

      I was busy in a very lazy way 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 6, 2015 at 4:02 pm

  5. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I think the wheelbarrow is a good idea! I would put one of the vine plants in there, either squash or pumpkins. My brother is making me a vegetable trug this year. I am giving up my ground veg garden as its just too hard on my back. This will allow me to grow my veg at a height that won’t kill my back. I am looking forward to it! If it works, I will get him to make me another one next year! After all, you can’t have too many vegetables! 🙂 I am particularly anxious to start growing but know full well we are no where near growing season here. They are calling for rain or snow tomorrow. Today is lovely out, about 5 degrees. I hope Orvar’s legs get better enough to go further. Poor old dogs eh? The look on Salmiak’s face is priceless….he sure doesn’t like dogs! 🙂 I hope your Monday went well enough and that your evening is good too!

    April 6, 2015 at 8:07 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes I agree, one of tye vines will be best.

      That trug Your brother is building will work perfect! Just remember to check how often You must water it though 🙂

      It is way too early for growing anuýthing here too, There will be more setbacks before summer comes, they always do 🙂

      I’m just glad if Orvar doesn’t get worse than this and poor Salmiak 🙂 He wasn’t happy at all 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 7, 2015 at 6:04 pm

  6. Christer,
    I wouldn’t mess with Salmiak. He looked pretty scary with the look he gave you from that tree.

    The leaf blowers everyone uses here to clean up yards make too much noise. Their motors are loud and disruptive though I do agree they are quicker and easier to use than rakes. Today my landscaper was clearing the wild area between my house and the rental next door. I could hear the sounds of the power saw. A tree had fallen during the winter and they had to cut up the fallen tree and all the branches. They worked all afternoon. That is the best that area has ever looked.

    It is still cold at night.

    April 7, 2015 at 3:00 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Salmiak is such a nice anf kind cat 🙂 He may look like Bertil be he has a totally different temper 🙂

      I don’t think there’s a single leafblower in the village and they aren’t especially common anywhere to be honest. We just mow the leafs when we mow the grass 🙂 Really good for the lawn in the long run too. I just realised that I might have to mow the lawn already this coming weekend! It has started to grow rather fast now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 7, 2015 at 6:07 pm

  7. Is that Hector yawning? Love that photo.
    🙂

    April 11, 2015 at 12:15 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      Can’t seethat when I’m at the Admin site to my blog 🙂

      Have a grat day!
      Christer.

      April 11, 2015 at 7:26 am

Leave a Reply

