It shows in the garden.

Not a bad sunrise to wake up to :-)

Not a bad sunrise to wake up to 🙂

Another wonderful day here, spent indoors at a factory. Yes, I didn’t win the lottery yesterday either 🙂 But at least my dogs have been able to enjoy it and it is nice to bring in dry and clean dogs when I come home after work. We didn’t take any walk today, I want Orvar’s back to rest as much as possible and he looked much better than he did yesterday. We were out walking like always when he suddenly slipped on something and not only had problems walking at all, he also limped badly on one leg.

 

DSC_0034

The aquilega has started.

The Aquilegia’s have started.

Selfsown hepatica.

Self-sown Hepatica.

 

So he looked rather ok today, until he slipped here in the kitchen when he was going outside to the garden. He did recover rather fast since he was walking in his own pace with lots of stops as soon as he reached a tree or bush 🙂 The others have gotten their exercise anyway because they have been chasing each other  all over the garden now and I tossed a stick so Hector could run after that 🙂 I have warned them at work that there might be a text message in their phones one morning, if this continues to go downhill. So far so good though.

 

Another self-sown Hepatica together with a daylily.

Another self-sown Hepatica together with a day lily.

Corydalis of some kind.

Corydalis of some kind.

Self-sown Trillium.

Self-sown Trillium.

Some kind of Primula together with, I think, both White and Yellow Wood anemone.

Some kind of Primula together with, I think, both White and Yellow Wood anemone.

 

Things are happening in the garden now when both nights and days are warmer, It looks like all seeds from the pink dandelion has germinated (well it has a yellow middle but the rest of the flower is pink) the hardy pelargonium grows fine in my kitchen, I brought it in since I wasn’t sure how much cold tiny seedlings could take and I’ve found a few self-sown hepatica’s 🙂 So far it looks like nothing has died during the winter 🙂 Too bad the lawn didn’t die 🙂 because it looks like I’ll need to mow it already this weekend and I can’t pretend I’m looking forward to that at all 🙂

Won't take long now until the Tulipa tarda has big buds now.

Won’t take long now until the Tulipa tarda has big buds now.

New shoots on the bamboo.

New shoots on the bamboo.

Honeysuckle that gives edible berries.

Honeysuckle that gives edible berries.

My rhubarbs have grown more than elswhere and that's quite rare :-)

My rhubarbs have grown more than elswhere and that’s quite rare 🙂

 

It is time to make something to eat and after that I might go outside to see if I can find anything more going on out there 🙂

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0033

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Poor Orvar!! I know with our Tor I thought right before Christmas was going to be it for him, but something changed and he’s back to his baseline for an almost 16 year old dog now!! I hope he gets better…its so hard when you have to make that trip. Wow, things are coming along leaps and bounds for your garden!! We are at 13 degrees right now, so a few more days of this and we should see some great things in the gardens here. I might even make a trip to a garden centre this weekend! 🙂 That always makes me happy…. Everything is so green at your place, its incredible!! Still brown here, but that’s ok! 🙂 Hope your evening is great!!

    April 9, 2015 at 7:21 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      He is at least not worse at the moment so I’m taking that as a small winning 🙂

      Lots of things happen in both th egarden and forest right now, this is my favorite part of the year 🙂

      I rarely buy anything in garden centres any longer because of the fear of bringing home the Spanish slug. It has no natural enemies here and spread something nasty fast! I have gardenfriends that kill over 500 every day and they still can’t see any stop to it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 10, 2015 at 1:56 pm

  2. Underbar första bild! 🙂 Det är likadant här, jag börjar snart oroa mig för att jag måste klippa gräset också!! Det räcker så bra med allt annat man MÅSTE göra nu. Jag tvingade faktiskt ut gubben både igår och idag att rensa i vår lilla stenslänt, det kan han nämligen efter det jag talat om vilket han INTE får ta bort. Så nu har han ryggskott….. 😦 😦 Själv har jag beskurit alla rosorna, trodde inte det var så mycket att fixa men med 10 stora klängrosor, 10 buskrosor och en uppstammad så var det en hel del. Tog väl “bara” 4-5 timmar att rensa ur dom. 😦 😦 😦
    Jag gillar ju egentligen inte rosor, hade bestämt att aldrig ha något taggigt i den här trädgården. Men…bor man på “Rosornas Ö” så är man ju tvungen. 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    April 9, 2015 at 7:22 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja gräset är ju inget jag längtar efter att få klippa 🙂 Men det är enklare att rensa efter hundarna om det är kort 🙂

      Stackars gubben din! Hoppas det släpper fort!

      Jag är ingen rosfantast heller men jag har några få vildrosor som får växa här, behöver jag klippa en ros så åker den ut ur trädgården 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 10, 2015 at 1:59 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Hope Orvar stabilizes with some rest.

    Lots of action in your garden. So far nothing much here. I see a daffodil that really wants to bloom but is stuck in a green bud state until it gets warmer. There are some other things poking up but no flowers. The day lilies are sticking up a bit as are the star-of-bethleham. No chionadoxa have shown their blue faces yet and neither have the violas. I fear the pink and white peonies might have died over the winter. The red ones way down back seem okay. Time will tell.

    Yesterday was rain, snow, hail, more snow, more rain. Today is drizzling and cold. Tomorrow is supposed to be sunny and warm. I hope.

    Enjoy the evening.

    April 9, 2015 at 10:11 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      He is at least not worse today so I see that as a sort of winning 🙂 My daffodils also have buds but if it stays thgis warm I’m pretty sure they’ll open up soon. But peonies usually love a cold winter so I’m pretty sure they’ll show up soon.My peonies are never as fine as they are after a nasty cold winter here.

      The sun finally broke through the clouds so it is quite nice outside again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 10, 2015 at 2:03 pm

  4. jaz

    i sure hope orvar gets better. i still can’t get over how far ahead you are in the garden growth. i’ll post some pics of mine tomorrow. we are expecting a big storm any time now!

    April 9, 2015 at 10:16 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      He is at least not worse today so that’s positive 🙂

      It does feel strange knowing we are ahead of You 🙂 I like it though 🙂

      I hope the storm doesn’t get too bad!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 10, 2015 at 2:04 pm

  5. Oh….:(
    Poor Orvar.
    I have him in my thoughts and prayers.

    April 11, 2015 at 12:25 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      That’s life for many big dogs I’m afraid. His grandmother got it and so did his mother.

      But he’s still walking around even if it is a bit wobbly 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 11, 2015 at 7:29 am

Leave a Reply

