Finally the sun shines.

Not the nicest weather when I came home from work.

Not the nicest weather when I came home from work. I was thinking of walking across the field to the creek but they had spread manure all over it and I know what all my dogs would have done if we had walked there πŸ™‚

It took quite some time for the fog and clouds to move away so the sun finally could shine down and heat up the air and ground. The wind didn’t help at all to move it, instead it just made it feel cold and boring outside. It is still hazy out there but so much nicer now when the sun shines and the wind has calmed down.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

 

The cows just moved in to the pasture just outside my kitchen and it’s so nice to hear them mooing there again. There are lots of calves this spring and they all look just the same so I guess they all have the same father. They are all red with almost totally white heads and it is hard to see any difference in them at all πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

 

Orvar isn’t worse today so I see that as a positive thing. We walked to the bog and his hind legs do wobble around a lot but today he didn’t fall because of them. I might take the old boys on a walk of their own and then take a walk with Nova and Sune by themselves, then there will be no risk that Sune ands Nova runs in to the old boys while they are chasing each other.Β 

 

Just a few Chionodoxa on my side of the hedge but just see all on the other side :-)

Just a few Chionodoxa on my side of the hedge but just see all on the other side πŸ™‚

leaves are coming everywhere now.

leaves are coming everywhere now.

Red currant.

Redcurrant.

 

I bought anti slip strips that I can tape to the floor when I was at the super market today and I’ll tape them to the floor so it won’t be so easy to slip around as it is now, at least for old dogs with bad legs πŸ™‚ I’ll have it on the stairs too because it did sound as if Hector did slip down this morning and that’s not a nice sound to hear.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

 

It’s time for the last cup of tea for the day and after that I’ll see if there’s anything worth watching on tv, I doubt it though πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

 

My tiny tomato plants in the kitchen window but they are growing fast now.

My tiny tomato plants in the kitchen window but they are growing fast now.

10 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! That one picture of Bertil rolling on the ground cracks me up! πŸ™‚ I love it….Not much happening around here, still at work so I am just checking in on my break. Sounds like the one bull has been busy! πŸ™‚ They must all be siblings of Jesus. πŸ™‚ We are gearing up for a nice weekend, it is supposed to be 19 here tomorrow!! From famine to feast around here! πŸ™‚ I can’t believe how quickly your flowers are all growing, such a lovely thing to see! I need to get off my butt and send you some more tea…or would you prefer coffee? πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!!!

    April 10, 2015 at 5:32 pm

    • Hi Dianna!
      πŸ™‚
      Yes that bull has been busy and they all look more or less as Jesus so now I can’t say which one of them who is him πŸ™‚

      They say up to 17 here tomorrow but it will be a short lived heatwave but I’m glad it happens during the weekend πŸ™‚

      The growing season is so short here so everything seems to start at the same time πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 10, 2015 at 5:54 pm

  2. jaz

    those non slip strips are a good idea. i always worry about teddy on the steps especially as she gets older. chows have a tough time on stairs to begin with.

    April 10, 2015 at 6:26 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I read that the older a dog get the more they try to dig down their claws to the surface they walk on, so slip strips might be the answer. At least I hope it is πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 10, 2015 at 9:04 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love the picture of the three dogs with Bertil having a roll.

    Funny thing about chionadoxa, they don’t seem to want to stay where they’re put. Many years ago I planted some at the southwest corner of the house. They bloomed in spring at which point Leroy the oversized Peke decided to scratch them up. The following spring a small clump showed up in the middle of the large side lot 50 feet or more away. As the years went on more and more clumps showed up all around the house except for that first place. Leroy has been gone for 30 years and some chionadoxa just started growing next to that original spot.

    I’m glad that Orvar is not worse. No-slip strips and separate walks sound like good ideas.

    Dark, drear, damp and cold here. I did spy a green leaf peeping out of a clump of plant that I thought had died last summer after being buzzed by the lawn guys. Don’t remember it’s name and, of course, it is the only plant over there that has lost its tag.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 11, 2015 at 12:07 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      I have no idea why Bertil did that though since we weren’t standing still πŸ™‚

      Yes they seem to flower once, spread the seeds and then die on that first spot πŸ™‚ It is like a stubborn teenager πŸ™‚ Don’t You tell me wher I’m going to grow! You don’t know what I want and so on πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I do hope those anti slip strips works, I’ll put them on the floor and stairs today.

      Foggy, chilly and absolutely wind free morning here, just perfect πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 11, 2015 at 7:25 am

  4. Such a great idea to put down anti-slip strips! πŸ™‚
    It was 80 degrees here yesterday and a tornado touched down, not here but not really far away either.
    That doesn’t happen very often around here.
    Today it’s been on the low 50’s and very windy.
    So windy that it blew a truck over on the highway.
    That’s Spring in the Midwest!
    Hey! Do you Follow Tammy’s blog?
    She did a very nice post and talked your blog and showed some of your photos.
    I think you would be pleased.
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    April 11, 2015 at 1:26 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I hope it will help at least something.

      I did read about that tornado and wondered how close it was to where You live. That was a bit warm! We’ll reach 62 if lucky today.

      No I don’t but I’m glad she like my blog πŸ™‚

      Have a grerat day!
      Christer.

      April 11, 2015 at 7:33 am

  5. Christer,
    It is sad when our dogs get older. Gracie is a year and a half older than any of my other dogs got so I keep an eye on her. I think I might be making her paranoid.

    You are so far ahead of where we are right now. We have no buds, a winter lawn and cold nights in the 30’s. Garden shops only have a few plants outside, and they bring them inside every night. Pansies and some vegetables are all that are available.

    The weekend is supposed to be warm and dry. I’ll believe when I see it!1

    April 11, 2015 at 3:32 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes it is and it never gets easier, on the contrary. Hector is used to the extra attention from me but Orvar seems to think it is a bit too much sometimes πŸ™‚

      Nights can be nasty cold here still but they say we’ll reach at least 62F today, it started out foggy and chilly though. We know this is a very unusual spring so no one sell anything else than pansies here πŸ™‚

      I hope Your weekend will be warm and dry! You deserve it after this winter πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 11, 2015 at 7:36 am

Leave a Reply

