I might as well do it today.

Frosted Scilla.

Frosted Scilla.

We’re having the most wonderful morning here. The day started out sunny and rather cold, -5C (23F) and now it’s around 10C (50F) and to my big surprise no wind! The kitchen door is open and the dogs walk in and out as they please, well that is if they can manage to pass above Nova because she won’t leave her spot in the sunlight 🙂

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0047

 

It isn’t especially easy to pass by since she is in a lousy mood, she refused to eat her food and I refuse to give her anything else. One could think that this would be a sign of illness but it isn’t, she willingly ate any crap she could find on our morning walk but her own food? No way! 🙂 She gets like this every spring so I’m used to it and hunger will eventually make her eat the food she gets 🙂

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0050

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

 

I’ll most likely mow the lawn later today but I need to find the grass collector. I usually never collect the grass but I was thinking of putting some in my composts. I can’t only have dog poop in them, well I could but it’s always best to mix with other things. I’ll also put some twigs in it so air can travel down to help with the composting. I’ve realised I need more composts, I fill them way too fast. I’ve saved a few sites in my computer in how to build composts, I could of course do it the traditional way on the ground but I also know that it soon would be filled with the worst weeds there is and I really don’t need to help spreading them even more effective 🙂

 

DSC_0055

DSC_0058

You can see two duck far down stream in the middle of the creek. It's probably the two Mallards that I see there every year.

You can see two duck far down stream in the middle of the creek. It’s probably the two Mallards that I see there every year.

DSC_0060

 

I could of course buy a new one but I also need to buy a new wood chipper, the old one is giving up now and I have a lot of twigs and branches to chip and will most likely have the coming years since I’m slowly removing most of my lilacs and I do have a few other dead things I can chop down. I also need a new chain to my electric chainsaw, it is time to trim the hedge. I do that every fifth year or so and the stems get rather thick during that time 🙂 I could of course buy a brushcutter, it would be more effective to be honest but since I now have that chainsaw I really don’t need one. 

 

DSC_0075

DSC_0076

DSC_0080

DSC_0081

 

It is time for a pot of tea and after that I’ll see if the grass has dried enough to be mowed.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. I keep forgetting to ask you what that big square red thing is that I see in behind the trees. It’s in the tenth picture.
    I’m almost through with Wind In The Willows and as soon as I came to the place where Mole had gotten lost in the Wild Wood and Rat had found him and they had walked through the snow to the little mounds down in the dell, I could see all of it happening in your forest. Those little mounds, covered with snow was where Badger lived. and they found his front door.. I have to smile as I see people in the animals. The behavior, lifestyles, etc. Interesting. 🙂

    April 18, 2015 at 10:38 am

    • Hi Mona!

      That is the top oh a hunting tower, I guess they thought they would be better hid behind walls but I doubt that, animals that big never tend to look upwards since their predators never come from above.

      I see the characters in that book everywhere here 🙂 Ratty lives by the creek and mole by the fields. I know where Badger lives but here he has a big family 🙂 I think the writer took the personalities to all the animals from people around him 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 18, 2015 at 11:50 am

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Choices, choices. Chain saw, brush cutter, grass collector, wood chipper. Sigh. I need all except the grass collector. Have that. Don’t use it. 🙂
    The battery pack for my snowblower is supposed to also power a chain saw and some other thing I don’t recall. I’m considering the chain saw even though it probably is a rather weak one that would only be good for saplings and small branches. It’s as much as I need. Bigger stuff needs a professional. 🙂

    My father’s compost container was an old metal barrel. The kind that looks like an oil barrel but the whole top comes off. One year he sheet composted the garden with pig manure. Whoof! Anyway, there was manure left over so he put it in that barrel where it stayed for years because we all remembered the smell and didn’t want to be reminded. Eventually it broke down and was really good compost as long as it lasted. The barrel was kind of eaten away though.

    Yesterday’s rain stopped about half an hour after I finished throwing grass seed down. Today is sunny. I guess I will haul out the hose and connect up the outside faucets after all.

    Are all your lilacs going to meet their maker? I know you hate them. I miss mine, though.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 18, 2015 at 1:41 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I almost never use mine either but I did find it. The cats used it as a bed last summer when they felt tired 🙂 It would be nice to have a brush cutter but I have the chainsaw so I really hgave no use for it. I would be able to work standing straight though 🙂 My chainsaw has a cord, I once had a battery powered hedge trimmer and it was totally useless 🙂 🙂 🙂 It didn’t even cut the weakest of twigs 🙂

      I can imagine the smell 🙂 🙂 🙂 I doubt there is a worse smell than pig manure 🙂 It must have taken quite some time to break it down and it does make metal cry 🙂

      Better safe than sorry but I think that rain may have been enough though, grass is tough 🙂

      No, not all. I’ll save some of it because if one only has a few it smells nice. I have too much and it’s just a nasty stench to be honest, especially when the flowers start to decay.

      Have a great day!
      Christere.

      April 18, 2015 at 2:32 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! We are having a great day too here! Except its really windy again, but will get to a high of 20. Tomorrow and Monday we are to get snow. Yes, that’s right, snow. I can’t believe it but it is the Canadian prairies….the only month we have never had snow is July. 🙂 We had the soup today. We all prefer it with vanilla frozen yogurt. I didn’t have ice cream but frozen yogurt is close to it! Its delicious!! I am going to make some oatmeal cookys as I think those would be really good with that too. Thank you again for the treat! 🙂 My brother and his family are coming tonight for a BBQ. I have made a bean salad and we will do burgers on the BBQ. I have yet to decide what’s for dessert. Maybe a lemon poppyseed cake. Our Willow does the same thing in the spring, and then her stomach sounds like its going to explode. Strange behavior! Have a good evening!!

    April 18, 2015 at 6:47 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Now snow predicted but that can come any time yet. I remember when I graduated from Highschool, we got a snow storm that day, June sixth 🙂 It didn’t last that long and all te snow melted away pretty fast the same day even if we got quite a lot 🙂

      I’m glad You liked it 🙂 It is really popular here and we can buy it as powder or ready to drink in so many brands and variations.

      My neighbors BBQ’d today, I think they had hamburgers and sausages 🙂 I’m so lazy now days that I usually bring out the old electric grill 🙂 Not the same but it’s close enough 🙂

      Yes her stomach did sound a lot and loud too 🙂 but she did gulp the exact same food in the afternoon 🙂

      have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 18, 2015 at 7:18 pm

  4. well, it was 70 degrees here today! and hopefully tomorrow again.
    I had to work this morning and I will work tomorrow morning too.
    As you already know, i found that snake when i got home.
    I had intended on working in the yard but after my niece and her boyfriend left (they never found the snake), I just went inside and took a nap!
    Later I did go outside and rake a bit but it took me forever because I was on the look-out for it.
    I moved some roses and then I’ve given up for the day.
    I had contemplated enclosing the bottom of the yard with fencing but now, no.
    I’m just moving my flowers up front and enclosing the side area and the dog area and then taking that fence down so that they have a larger area.
    Or maybe not.
    Maybe I won’t do anything.
    LOL!

    April 19, 2015 at 1:52 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      70 already! We reached a bit above 50 here but it was quite nice since the wind kept calm most of the time.

      Those snakes have been there allthe time so there’s really no meaning in changing Your plans at all! Since it also were a non toxic one You really don’t have to worry about the dogs either. The more You and the dogs move around in that area the less is the risk of snakes coming while it’s daylight. I’ve been terrified when it comes to spiders so I do understand how You feel. I think You should try to do something about Your fear about snakes, life gets so much easier if You do! I domn’t mean You must love them 🙂 but knowing more about them and accepting them is the better way to go than to stop doing what You really want. Also, learn about what kind of snakes You might find in Your area, it is a good thing to know which ones are dangerous and which ones aren’t.

      So go on with Your original plans and learn more about what snakes You might be able to find and move around a lot because the snakes will not come close if they feel the vibrations from things too big to eat and that might hurt or kill them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 19, 2015 at 5:12 am

  5. Christer,
    It was a beautiful day here today until late afternoon when it started to get cold. It is supposed to be in the 50’s the next three or four days. That feels warm compared to what we’ve had.

    Lots of flowers have bloomed-all from bulbs. The front garden has lots of color for now.

    My landscaper’s guys cleared my front and back yards. The back had some really big pine branches which had fallen during the winter as did one in the side yard. I have a list of flowers I’ll add this year as I have two big spots where bushes had been moved last fall. They got too big for the garden.

    I don’t even own a lawnmower!

    Have a great Sunday!

    April 19, 2015 at 3:45 am

    • Hi Kat!

      We had long moments with clouds here but since the wind mostly kept calm it was quite nice. They had predicted up to 65F here today( Sunday) but they’ve changed that to slightly above 50F instead. The sun will shine though 🙂

      I don’t have many bulbs since I can’t stand plating them 🙂 I don’t know why though, I do like it when they show every spring. My daffodils still waits to open up though.

      What flowers are on Your list? I’m more or less giving up perennials and other flowers and plans for more bushes and trees. My rheumatism won’t get any better so I better plan my garden after that 🙂 I still have some though but mostly the kind that can take care of themselves 🙂

      Lucky You 🙂 Mine is electric (with a cord) and is so light that it’s easy to mow the lawn here. Looks a bit like a formula one car 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 19, 2015 at 5:18 am

  6. Vi – eller rättare sagt gubben – har klippt allt gräs som var jättelångt och tovigt. Det sista gjorde han igår när jag var på STA-möte hos Jonas i När (och kom hem med en massa blommor naturligtvis), så nu ser det snyggt och prydligt ut. 🙂 Snart ska jag gå ut och sätta igång att gräva, ska flytta en buske och plantera en nyinköpt. Om jag kan, jag körde ut en massa grus igår eftersom Rolle fortfarande lider lite av sitt ryggskott, så inatt har jag knappt kunnat sova för träningsvärk i benen – samt kramp på utsidan! Fruktansvärt!! 😦
    Men träningsvärken brukar släppa så fort man fortsätter att jobba, så den lär jag väl kanske slippa nu i natt. Men den där hemska krampen…..:evil:
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    April 19, 2015 at 10:26 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag klippte bara det som vuxit och lustigt nog var det samlat på samma ställe 🙂 Tog inte så lång tid men nu ser man tydligt var jag gjorde det, resten av gräsmattan ser lite rufsig ut 🙂

      Har inte mycket att plantera ut här nu, vi har fortfarande kraftig frost på nätterna, men jag har ställt ut en del från källaren ut på min uteplats så att det skall vänja sig vid uteklimatet. Jag har gett upp mina grusgångar och det betyder ju att jag nu får mer gräs att klippa 🙂 🙂

      Krampen är hemsk! Får den rätt ofta utan att behöva ha tagit i speciellt alls, undrar varför den uppstår egentligen?

      Ha det gott och arbeta inte ihjäl dig 🙂

      Christer.

      April 19, 2015 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

