I’ve been so busy!

Salmiak has been out hunting all morning and wasn't happy at all to see us before breakfast :-)

Salmiak has been out hunting all morning and wasn’t happy at all to see us before breakfast 🙂

I’ve had a semi busy morning today. It is now forbidden to drive around with studded tires and even though I do have excellent summer tires I don’t have any rims to them 🙂 so what to do? Well it isn’t illegal to drive around with winter tires without any stubs so this morning I went out and started to remove the ones still left in the tires. I had already removed the ones in the front wheels but there were plenty more left than I thought in the back wheels.

 

DSC_0044

That spruce has the perfect shape for being a beautiful christmas tree in any town. I hope it will be untouched and left here.

That spruce has the perfect shape for being a beautiful christmas tree in any town. I hope it will be untouched and left here.

DSC_0046

DSC_0048

 

So out I went and found the screw jack in the car, lifted it up and started to remove the stubs. The front wheels were no problems at all because they I could turn with the steering wheel, the back wheels are a totally different thing. Even with the car up in the air I still had problems reaching the inner stubs and to get a good angle when lifting them out of the tire. I really didn’t want any part of my body beneath the car, I never trust those jacks, it has happened that they just break down without any warning.

 

Not long until the birches have leafs now. We call them mouse ears when they are just new and small.

Not long until the birches have leafs now. We call them mouse ears when they are just new and small.

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

The Elm tree flowers now.

The Elm tree flowers now.

The ground was a bit wet so I had prepared a plastic bag filled with newspapers and that worked well on one side of the car, not so on the other since the ground is leaning steeply towards the cow pasture just beside my garage, so I kept on sliding down towards the now rather curious cows all the time 🙂 But now they are all gone and I’m driving legally again. I have rims just waiting for me at a work friends place. He has had a garage together with his brother and has all equipment needed to do this, the problem is that he also is a farmer and this is the busiest time of the year.

 

It felt magical in the forest and bog this morning.

It felt magical in the forest and bog this morning.

DSC_0054

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

So we’ll put on the summer tires on the rims as soon as he’s finished with the spring cultivation. I wasn’t planning on keeping the old winter tires for next winter so it is good that they still can do some good before I throw them away. Well we are of course not allowed to throw them away, they will be recycled and all businesses selling tires must take them back when it’s time to get new tires.

 

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0061

I’ve also done the laundry and it is now hanging on the patio to dry. It is nice outside but not nearly as nice as they said it would be. Clouds cover the sky but the sun does shine through it but it feels much chillier than it is. Now they predict that the clouds will fly away later but I’ll believe it when I see it 🙂

 

DSC_0062

DSC_0063

DSC_0064

DSC_0065

I replanted all my tomatoes yesterday and today I’ll replant my hardy pelargoniums. I don’t have any space left for pots though so I don’t know how I’ll fix this without throwing something away 🙂 I’ve also sown hardy Hibiscus ans have loads of seeds I need to sow now if they’ll have any chance of flowering this summer. Well at least it’s a pleasant problem, I’ll fix it somehow 🙂

 

DSC_0066

DSC_0067

DSC_0068

DSC_0070

It is time for a pot of tea and something to eat, I won’t do much for the rest of the day, I feel I’ve done my part already 🙂

 

Hares don't like eachother especially much. These two didn't even care about the dogs and I, they were too involved in their fight.

Hares don’t like eachother especially much. These two didn’t even care about the dogs and I, they were too involved in their fight.

Nova was leashed but she didn't pay much attention to them at all. Is there hope that she will stop chasing them after all?

Nova was leashed but she didn’t pay much attention to them at all. Is there hope that she will stop chasing them after all?

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

 

Have a great day! 

12 responses

  1. Har dom väl börjat jaga så är det knepigt att få dom att låta bli! Penny var smart, hon jagade dom bara en liten bit men märkte att hon inte kom ikapp hararna, då vände hon och kom tillbaka. Förutom en gång när hon jagade en rabbis, då var hon borta VÄLDIGT länge. Men hon kom tillbaka som tur var….. 🙂
    Det blev inget hårt trädgårdsjobb för mig idag, hade alldeles för ont. Dessutom blev det alldeles grått och började blåsa och SÅ KUL är det inte att jobba i trädgården. 😦 Istället så tog vi en tur med bilen och jag hade stolsvärmen på hela tiden, vilket jag tror hjälpte lite för jag känner mig bättre nu. 🙂 🙂
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    April 19, 2015 at 2:28 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo det är ju tyvärr så, men jag måste erkänna att hon för en gångs skull inte var speciellt intresserad alls. Gamla Erna slutade inte jaga älg (av all djur, mindre djur sket hon fullständigt it 🙂 ) förrän hon var tio år 🙂 Tur för mig att vi plötsligt hade väldigt ont om älgar här 🙂

      Nova är varken snabb nog eller smart nog för att jaga hare så antingen (om hon skäms) springer hon direkt hem eller så kommer hon tillbaks inom en minut.

      Träningsvärk är inget kul, fast jag måste ändå småle när du skriver det 🙂 Vi har haft tur med vädret ändå, nu är molnen nästan borta och vinden har vänt så det är riktigt skönt i trädgården 🙂 Tack och lov för stolsvärmen 🙂 Tar sin tid i SAABen men när den väl kommer så 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 19, 2015 at 2:39 pm

  2. Jodå, vi gick (alltså jag stapplade) en vända med Santos också så han fick lite kul! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Susie

    April 19, 2015 at 2:29 pm

    • Jag kn nästan känna hur ont det gjorde att stappla omkring 🙂

      April 19, 2015 at 2:39 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    As I was reading about the removal of the tire studs I kept wondering if you had tires with removable studs or if you would have to get brand new winter tires. It seemed a big sacrifice in order to get around legally and the fine might have been cheaper. But then you wrote that the tires were on the chopping block anyway.
    Removable studs would be a neat thing, I think. Why don’t they come up with that?

    You need to get working on that greenhouse. More space. If you’re like me, you’ll fill it up fast and need even more space. It’s a vicious cycle.

    Speaking of vicious, I noticed on our walk this morning that the vicious roses are in bud. Everything is so late this year. The swamp maples and willows are breaking bud now but the sugar maple and Norway maples are not showing much. Forget about the oaks and the black walnuts. They are always last. Here we say that one plants corn (maize) when the leaves on the oak are as big as a mouse’s ear. The corn will have to grow fast this year because it’ll be going in the ground rather late perhaps. 🙂

    I washed dishes and made breakfast. It may be my only accomplishment for the day. It’s sunny and lovely outside but rain is forecast for the next couple of days. The dogs and I will enjoy the sun today.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 19, 2015 at 2:32 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Actually there is removable studs but it is more work and expensive than it’s worth, so not too many have them.
      These winter tires are not good enough for one more winter but they are good enough to use at least this spring. Winter tires are too soft to use during summer so they will be worn out before sumer ends.

      Yes I better get my thumbs out 🙂 I got almost all I need last year but I never came around to start building it 🙂 At first it rained and was too cold and suddenly the heat came over night and then it was too hot to do anything at all 🙂 I think I’ll lure a work friend to come here, he knows much more than I how to build things 🙂 and yes, I’ll soon won’t have any space left when I’ve built it 🙂

      My viscious roses have tiny leafs now, in fact most trees and bushes will start opening up within days if the weather predictions are right. Well except for the walnuts and oaks, they will need some more time. The Maples are just about to start flower here. Strange that You call that maple for Norwegian maple 🙂 It’s common all over northern Europe. We call it just maple or Forest maple. One of my favorite trees but it gets just too big for my garden.

      So itä’s You oaks that have mouse ears 🙂 Here we say that it is time to prune the roses when the birch has mouse ears 🙂 If we want corn here we must start it indoors early in spring, the farmners have special varieties that are fast enough but that corn is mostly used as animal food.

      The clouds flew away and the wind changed direction so now it’s really nice outside, still not as warm as predicted though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 19, 2015 at 2:50 pm

      • Caryn

        We have many native species of maples here but have imported others because apparently ours aren’t pretty enough. 🙂 We have to make distinctions. Norway maple was used for street trees all over the place for quite a long time. Now they are taking over as many European imports do. 🙂 They don’t make good street trees as the roots get disturbed by the constant traffic vibrations. They’re not very fond of road salt, either.
        The two in front of my house succumbed a long time ago and they weren’t very old. They were planted in 1950 as 6 foot saplings and they died in the 1990’s after the town had dug up the roadway in front of them several times and failed to fix a leak in a gas pipe underground. Practically every street tree on my side of the road has died because of that.
        I need to put something there to get some shade in summer but it’s such a crappy place for a tree; stuck in a 2 foot piece of grass between a road and a sidewalk. Maybe I’ll go up to the church parking lot and dig up one of the little oaks that are growing in tiny piles of partly decayed leaves on top of the pavement. They’re tough. They might do okay. 🙂

        April 19, 2015 at 4:53 pm

      • We see it just the other way, we love Yoyr maples and want them here 🙂 They aren’t especially hardy though, our summers are too short for them so it’s mostly around the southern coast line they have them here.

        No never have our maples by the roads 🙂 The roots also tend to destroy the roads by lifting the asphalt 🙂

        Either oaks or tuhja, those two seems to be able to take anything 🙂

        April 19, 2015 at 5:34 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Wow, your day has been jam packed with stuff to do! We have taken off our winter tires too and put the summer ones back on. Well, I didn’t do it, my brother did it for us as my husband still can’t lift anything over 10 pounds after his surgery. We don’t have studs in them, jsut heavy treads to grip. And now its pouring down rain but will change to snow tonight!!!! Can you believe it? Yesterday was 24 degrees, now we get cold again. Sheesh. 🙂 What a beautiful picture of Salmiak!!! Incredible! 🙂 You have a good eye with pictures! I am out today with one of my friends, too bad its raining – makes for a bit of a hassle. I am still doing laundry, seems like the weekends are all laundry all the time. But its good having clean clothes I’d say! 🙂 I walked around my gardens a bit yesterday, things are starting to bud but I fear the snow coming might kill what’s up already. I hope not. My peonies are sprouting and I love my peonies, so would be sad to see them get killed back. Have a good evening!!!

    April 19, 2015 at 3:48 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      We are stillallowed to have studs in our tires but they are talking about forbidding them, the studs tear up the roads and give big problems in the cities. The dust pollutes the air there. I’ve had without studs and it just doesn’t work when the roads are icy since thet don’t care for the roads properly. I’ve been sliding out in cross roads with unstudded tires.

      Rain and snow! Not fun at all! The heat wave that should have come today seems to be here tomorrow instead, am I surprised? Of course not, it always happens when we work 🙂

      I always do the laundry on Sundays, I don’t have that much since it’s only me here. Well there are some blankets the dogs use every now and again too 🙂

      No the snow won’t kill anything, plants living where You and I do are used to it and will just shake it off 🙂

      My peonies are sprouting too and it looks like one of my tree peonies will flower again after almost te years 🙂 It isn’t especially hardy so it needs two warm winters to do that 🙂 It is yellow and smells like lemon if I remember right 🙂

      Have a great day with Your friend!
      Christer.

      April 19, 2015 at 5:30 pm

  5. Christer,
    Luckily I have all season tires, but I remember when I was young my dad had to switch from his winter tires when the weather got warmer. They too, his winter tires, were studded.

    One rabbit has made it his business to drive Gracie crazy. It sits beyond the fence and just looks at Gracie who barks and barks. Gracie would chase it if she had the chance.

    My cats have lived together for 16 years and don’t like each other. They’re like the hares.

    Have a good Monday!

    April 20, 2015 at 2:15 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Almost only pickup trucks anb vans have all season tires here, I’m not sure why tough. I guess that we who lives in the countryside want that extra security, real or imagined 🙂 that we think those studds give.

      I can imagine how much that rabbit enjoys driving Gracie crazy 🙂 It is most likely very well aware of the fact that she can’t get to it 🙂

      It varies very much between Teodor and Bertil, sometimes they just can’t stand each other and sometimes they spend all their time together 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 20, 2015 at 6:23 pm

Leave a Reply

