He was back and now he’s gone again.

DSC_0028

Bertil stood outside my entrance door early this morning and I thought You all wanted to know that 🙂 I can also tell You that he stayed in the forest when we were out walking after work so he will most likely be gone again for a day or two 🙂  So You can start worrying again 🙂

 

DSC_0020

The birch is getting green.

The birch is getting green.

I guess the beaver won't like that they are restoring the ditches, this is its favorite ditch :-)

I guess the beaver won’t like that they are restoring the ditches, this is its favorite ditch 🙂

It is a much nicer day than they had predicted, the sun shines through gaps in the clouds every now and again and there’s no rain in sight. They have changed the predictions from yesterday so now we won’t get any rain until Sunday but we all know that can change any second 🙂 Not even the wind was disturbing today, on the contrary because when the sun is shining it gets so warm that even a sweater is too much.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

I couldn't figure out if the horses had been here or was here working.

I couldn’t figure out if the horses had been here or was here working.

We walked down to the creek and when we almost had reached it I saw a big van and a big horse carriage. The tracks on the ground showed that it was working horses and that they were pulling something heavy. The land owner has hired them to take care of all the trees that had fallen during all our winter storms. The ground is rather sensitive here since it is mostly bog and swamp land here so horses make less damage to the ground while working.

 

The bird house is slowly falling appart but is still used.

The bird house is slowly falling apart but is still used.

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

I could hear that they were working somewhere but not exactly where so I never got any photos while they were working but I did get a few when they were taking a break. There are more trees to take care of but I doubt they’ll be working during the weekend so the chance for me to get some action photos are slim to none I’m afraid.

 

DSC_0036

The Marsh marigold is growing fast now.

The Marsh marigold is growing fast now.

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

I fear I might need to mow the lawn again this weekend, I had hoped it would grow slow now at the beginning but I hoped in vain it seems. Well I can wait until next weekend but by then it might be so high that it clogs the mower all the time and that is so annoying. I need to buy a new big watering can, the one I had suddenly cracked at the bottom. I tried to fill it but it took forever and as soon as I stopped filling it the water level sank fast, there is a long crack almost around it at the bottom 🙂 I had several great ones in my old garden center, You know those big heavy nickel-plated ones but did I bring home any of them?

 

DSC_0040

DSC_0041 - kopia

I don't know much about horses but doesn't the blond one look a bit thin?

I don’t know much about horses but doesn’t the blond one look a bit thin?

It is time to make something to eat and I think I can enjoy one cup of tea, it is after all weekend and if I sleep bad during the night, so be it 🙂

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. jaz

    somehow i missed the last post and didn’t know bertil was missing. i’m glad he came home and hope nothing bad happens to him when he is gone. we are having very cold weather ad i am enjoying every minute of it!

    April 24, 2015 at 3:35 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I wasn’t that worried to be honest, I had just started to wonder if I had seen him when I wrote that post 🙂 He is out almost the entire time from now on until late autumn and will return when I start the fire in the stove again 🙂

      Enjoy the cold weather as much as You can, summer is closing in fast now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 24, 2015 at 4:02 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It’s okay to see some rib but you don’t want to see sunken flanks or protruding hip bones. It looks like this horse is older. Just like with people, gravity works and things start to sag. Older horses can have stick out ribs even when they are in great shape. The back and the belly line sag and it stretches the tissues over the ribs. This one looks okay. Dirty and in need of a good brush out but otherwise fine.

    Glad to know that Bertil came home for a bit.

    I suppose the beavers will just have to redo their favorite ditch. They’re patient. They won’t mind. 🙂

    I’m stuck home because the jeep is in the shop having work done. The windshield was cracked. When I went to have it replaced they wouldn’t do it because the windshield frame was rusted. It’s having the frame and glass replaced and I hope there are no further complications because my bank account can’t take it. 🙂

    There were a few snowflakes last night and today is windy, cool and mostly sunny. Out of the wind, it’s not too bad but it’s probably a good thing that I did not plant that grass seed yesterday. It will remain colder than normal for several days.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 24, 2015 at 5:01 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I did wonder since I know this man works with his horses every day and must take good care of them. I do think the blond one is truly beautiful and that says a lot since I really don’t like horses that much 🙂

      Yes it was nice to see Bertil again but I doubt he will show up until the weekend is over 🙂

      They must be patient since they came back to the creek even after they destroyed their dam 🙂

      I do hope there’äs nothing more wrong with the jeep! I know of several more fun things to spend my money on 🙂

      Today was much nicer than they predicted 🙂 The evening is fantastic and we’ve been out for quite some time now. The wind has calmed down to and that helps even more 🙂 I think we’ll have slightly warmer than normal here. The meteorological summer has arrived to many places in Sweden this week, not here though since we’ve had so cold nights

      Grass is tough, a bit cold won’t hurt them the least 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 24, 2015 at 5:35 pm

      • Caryn

        The shop called right as I posted here. All fixed and no complications. I was worried that there might be more rusted out stuff down inside but it was fine. It wasn’t as expensive as I thought but still a lot. My tax refund check hit the bank at 3AM today. The bill for this fix was a little bit more than half of that amount. Excellent timing, I think. 🙂

        April 24, 2015 at 6:39 pm

      • I’m glad there was nothing more 🙂
        I’m also glad it wasn’t as expensive as You thought it would be 🙂

        I won’t get my tax refund money untyil some time in August, I haven’t even filled the papers yet. I think I have until Monday two weeks. I have very little to add to the pre written papers they sent me, still I’m always late 🙂

        April 24, 2015 at 7:52 pm

  3. Så skönt att Bertil kom till rätta, men trist att han är ute på vift igen! Men det är ju den årstiden och även om han är kastrerad (?) så tror jag att det sitter i generna att dom ska ut och leta nu!! 🙂
    Hästen ser fin ut tycker jag, som dock inte är någon expert precis. Men jag tror att det är som Caryn skriver; Han börjar bli lite till åren! 🙂 🙂
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    April 24, 2015 at 5:27 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Han kommer att vara mestadels ute ända tills det blir så kallt att jag börjar elda i spisen igen (jo han är kastrerad), skogen lockar. Hans bror Teodor håller sig hemma hela tiden dock 🙂

      Ja kan någon något om hästar är det Caryn, hon har haft hästar själv. Tycker att den ljusa är otroligt vacker!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      April 24, 2015 at 5:37 pm

  4. He came back! 🙂
    But now he’s gone again? 😦

    I think the horse might be a bit thin but not overly so…. But I don’t really know either.

    April 24, 2015 at 7:58 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      This is how it will be all summer way in to the autumn but he will meet us in the forest and follow us on our walks 🙂

      Caryn knows horses so I’m sure that the horse just is old and very beautiful 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 24, 2015 at 8:35 pm

  5. Is Bertil home yet..and yes, of course I worry! 🙂 I was looking a the horse and thinking, “that horse looks a bit thin, I can see his ribs. Am I wrong, is it just the lights??” and then I read what you said. Yes, he/she does look a bit too thin.

    April 24, 2015 at 9:32 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      He popped in again for a few seconds just now but he didn’t stay for long. Just ate some and then off to the wild again 🙂

      Several have now told me that the horse most likely is old and when they are they can look thin even if they really aren’t 🙂 That never seems to happen to me 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 25, 2015 at 5:10 am

  6. Christer,
    I’m glad Bertil came home even if it was a short visit. There are probably many animals out in the woods to hold his attention. There is one cat around the neighborhood. It drives Gracie crazy who barks and jumps on the front door. The cat always stops and looks at Gracie driving her even crazier.

    I thought the horse looked okay. I didn’t see many ribs the way you do on animals which have been starved.

    It was cold today even though it was sunny. Gracie and I did a bunch of errands, and she was fine waiting in the car. She just came inside and barked at me. I’m guessing she wants a treat or something, but I told her to go away,. She went right to her dry food and had a snack. Pushy dog!

    Have a great evening!

    April 24, 2015 at 11:08 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      He popped in for a few seconds right now too but just ate some and then went out again. Yes I can imagine how exaiting it must be for him now when all the migrating birds are back again 🙂

      All cats here knows all dogs most likely can get to them so no such behaviour here 🙂

      Several have now told me that the horse most likely is old and that can make them look a bit thin, too bad that never happens to me 🙂

      Too early to tell what kind of day we’ll get but the night has been fairly warm. Very cloudy right now.

      Here it always mean they want me to go outside and play with them. Nove has her soccer ball, Sune his flat plastic bottles and Both Orvar and Hector prefers sticks 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 25, 2015 at 5:16 am

  7. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Boy, there sure is green starting to show everywhere isn’t there! What a lovely sight! We had a splendid day here today, even if I did have to work overtime on a Friday but that’s ok!! I hope Bertil knows how much we worry and that he should chime in at least twice a day while he’s out having spring fever! 🙂 I can’t wait to show my husband the heavies!! He will love that! As you know about our “boys”, the heavies that he works with. I don’t think the one horse looks terribly thin, but sometimes if a horse is older it can look like its starved but it isn’t. Also winter can sometimes be tough on an animal, and all depending on what kind of feed they are given can make them thin out a bit. They’ve got lovely feathers on them too! 🙂 The darker bay one looks a bit on the older side too, you can see the lightening around its eyes, grey hair comes to all of us eventually! 🙂 I am late today, its been a busy week and sitting down to catch up means around 8:00 p.m. here. I hope you are still sleeping after that cup of tea! 🙂

    April 25, 2015 at 2:22 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I love this time of yearwhen everything gets green again 🙂

      Bertil doesn’t care about what the world think I’m afraid 🙂 He only comes here for the free food 🙂 🙂 but I have to admit that he’s a really nice cat when we’re out walking 🙂

      Several people have now told me that it is because they most likely are old that tey can look a bit thin. I’m pretty sure this man has more horses and are devoted to them so I wouldn’t be surprised if he had two different horses on Monday.I doubt this winter was tough on them though, I don’t think we ever have had a winter this mild since they started recording weather 🙂

      I didn’t sleep too well but it was worth it 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 25, 2015 at 5:23 am

Leave a Reply

