Clothespins can be used for many things.

DSC_0023

Waiting for breakfast.

 

It’s a fairly nice morning, the sun is shining but it’s covered with the eventual cloud that passes by every now and again. 10C (50F) and only a weak wind, weak but sort of sinister cold. I get the feeling snow will arrive at any moment but none is predicted and to be honest, there’s not a snow cloud in sight. I have the kitchen door mostly open but every now again the cloud is rather big and it feels like it takes forever for the sun to appear and warm up my kitchen again.

 

 

DSC_0024

Cherry I think.

Cherry I think.

DSC_0027

 

I got the phone call yesterday afternoon and off I went to pick up the thing I bought so long ago πŸ™‚ I was waiting with my car at a bust stop, the bus had just passed so I knew I could stand there for over an hour before the next one would arrive. It seems that several people had decided to meet there because several cars stopped and the drivers all asked if I was that or that person πŸ™‚ It was so warm that I opened up my car windows to let the air flow Β and when I had gotten what I was waiting for I had planned to drive in to Skara to take a few photos.

 

DSC_0028

I scoulded Nova and Sune for making me miss the pheasant and fox this morning. I told them to stand still and both times I was going to take photos of the both they pulled the leash. I would have understood it if they actually had seen the animals but this was just a "we don't give a crap about what You say" thing :-)

I scolded Nova and Sune for making me miss the pheasant and fox this morning. I told them to stand still and both times I was going to take photos of the both they pulled the leash. I would have understood it if they actually had seen the animals but this was just a “we don’t give a crap about what You say” thing πŸ™‚

At least I got this hare :-)

At least I got this hare πŸ™‚

Suddenly the window on the front passenger side sounded strange, like if some sand was crushed by the window and then the entire window fell don into the door πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So I changed my plans and drove home again, there was after all a weather prediction saying rain would come the same afternoon. I was a bit lucky in all this because a corner of the window still peeked up and it was very easy to get the rest up and in place too but then I had the problem of how to keep it there. In the old days one often saw car windows with a screw driver pushed down to keep it up. I however chose two wooden clothespins, You know the one with a spring attaching the two halves together.

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0039

DSC_0043

Not in a great hurry to get away from us.

 

I removed the spring, put the two halves back to back and pushed them down between the window and the car door. The window sits very well now and this is how it will stay until I feel I have the time to let the garage take care of it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I have so many other things to do that will keep me away from work, like doctors visits, that I feel that since this isn’t an emergency it can wait for some time. I know they usually have a car that I can borrow at the garage but sometimes other customers have gotten them before me πŸ™‚

The maples are in bloom.

The maples are in bloom.

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

So what was it I had bought You might wonder, well I think one can call it a candle house or light house even though it really isn’t a light house Β πŸ™‚ It is made from clay and can take our winter climate and one is supposed to put a light inside it so it can shine nicely when it is dark outside. I knew that the chimney was broken but I’ll buy some paint and try to make it look like a natural decay on a house left long ago. But I didn’t only get the house, my friend that had kept it for me for so long also sent me some other things.

 

This is the house that I had bought. I do like the colors and the maker says it is real gold on the parts that are golden. Hard to see here though :-)

This is the house that I had bought. I do like the colors and the maker says it is real gold on the parts that are golden. Hard to see here though πŸ™‚

As You can see is the chimney broken but I'll fix it so that it looks like normal decay, I'll just have to buy the right kind of paint.

As You can see is the chimney broken but I’ll fix it so that it looks like normal decay, I’ll just have to buy the right kind of paint.

DSC_0051

They were deep frozen and wrapped in a beautiful green blanket. I looked down into the two different plastic bags they were wrapped in and saw the biggest chicken I’ve ever seen together with two huge chicken legs and some pork. It all came from animals she raised herself and the animals never understood what happened the day they got slaughtered, the pig for instance was eating and had no interest what so ever about what happened around him. Well, it wasn’t any chicken to be honest, neither were the legs, it was a small turkey πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ She has told me to cook the turkey on low heat for a long time and when the days comes I’ll send You a mail Joyce to get a good recipe πŸ™‚ (no photos of the meat though, they are resting in my freezer at the moment πŸ™‚ )

 

DSC_0048

DSC_0049

DSC_0052

 

The laundry is hanging outside to dry and it is time to make a pot of tea and something to eat I think, well at least the tea will be made πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Thank you for mentioning that the pig didn’t see it coming. I wish all animals went that way.
    Your little house reminds me of my little “tissue” clay house!
    Mine is mostly grey. I found it in a Goodwill store. Someone had made it out of clay and left a hole in the top so that tissues could be pulled out of it.
    I use it now in my garden (I bring it inside during the winter) but last year I set it over an annual so that the flower grew out of the top.
    It’s my “fairy” garden. Fairy gardens are all the rage right now here in the US. I prefer to find unusual handmade pieces rather than mass-produced items.
    Love the horse photo!

    April 26, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      Neither did the turkeys! She truky loves her animals, yes they are meant to be food but one can love them anyway. So she does what ever she can to make sure they never understand that itΓ€’s time to go.

      I have actually seen a tissue house like that πŸ™‚

      I know how big fairy gardens are in the US since I read lots of blogs from there πŸ™‚ I feel however this might be a bit too big for that, perhaps a gnome house πŸ™‚ It could be that during summer and a candle house during winter πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 26, 2015 at 3:15 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Those clothespins are good for lots of things. When you take the springs out, they’re excellent wedges for keeping car windows up and house windows, too. I have the old kind of windows with the rope pulls that break. Hardly anyone ever fixes those things. Too much work when a clothespin or a big stick are so much easier.

    I love the house lantern. Real gold. Must be an upscale fairyhouse. πŸ™‚

    It is really annoying when a photo opportunity is ruined by doggy intransigence.

    Today is cool and cloudy but not windy so it feels warmer than the last few days.

    Enjoy the day.

    April 26, 2015 at 3:17 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I don’t think we have or have had those kind of windows because I can’t understand how You mean πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But those clothespins are perfect for many things πŸ™‚

      I thought that I can always melt down the gold when times are tough πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But it is a bit big for a fairy house, I think it would work well for a gnome perhaps πŸ™‚ Fairies here aren’t nice beings, tend to give children deadly diseases and older people not so deadly ones so I’m not sure I would like to have them as neighbors πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      They know that they shouldn’t move if I say that they shouldn’t! Normally I would have them off leash but the manure is just too tempting and then I saw the hare πŸ™‚

      It would have been perfect here if the wind had stayed calm, a bit over 51F today!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 26, 2015 at 3:31 pm

      • Caryn

        Old double hung windows have a pocket inside the window frame. There are pulleys at the top of the sides of the window frame and grooves in the windows themselves. A rope goes through the groove, over the pulley and into the pocket where a lead counterweight is tied onto it. When the window is opened, the counterweight keeps it in position. The ropes break over time and the lead weight falls off and down to the bottom of the pocket. The window will no longer stay open because gravity works. To fix it, you have to pull the side stops out of the the window frame, pull out the windows, remove the ropes, open the cover to the pocket and fish about to find the lead weight. You get new rope, feed it through the groove on the windows, measure it carefully, feed it through the pulley and tie it to the lead weight. Then you put all the things back together and stuff them where they are supposed to go.

        Or, you get a tall stick and jam it between the window sill and the bottom of the window that won’t stay up. In fact there are people who make special sticks just for this purpose.
        http://window-woman-ne.com/window-stik.html

        April 26, 2015 at 5:37 pm

      • I looked at the link first and realised we have had windows like that here too but instead of a rope they had some kind of break to the sides of the window that kept them open πŸ™‚ They tended to stop working after a while too πŸ™‚

        Gravity is a bum sometimes πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        I think I actually have seen that kind iΓ³f stick here too without knowing what it was used foor πŸ™‚

        April 26, 2015 at 6:40 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Terrible thing about your window in your car!! At least it didn’t break into little pieces. Good thing for clothespins! Not just for hanging up laundry anymore! πŸ™‚ We are having a splendid day here, its around 20 degrees and the sun is hot. We have been outside all day and I think we might just eat supper out here too! πŸ™‚ We are to get rain tonight and tomorrow and that’s a good thing. Its dry. We have a no burning ban on right now its that dry out. One would think with all the snow we get it would not be dry, but sadly it is. I pulled up a few raspberry bushes today – I need to find something else to plant and I have a few ideas but need to go to the garden store to see what i have is in stock. What a nice friend to give you some meat! πŸ™‚ I hope you had a nice evening!

    April 26, 2015 at 9:05 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      A bit annoying πŸ™‚ But as You say, it didn’t break so I hope this is an easy fix.

      We’ve had a rather nice sunny day and around 12C, it’s closing in to more normal temperatures now πŸ™‚ Nights are still below zero though. We had no burning ban here too but I think they lifted that because of the latest rains we had. Grass dries up so fast and doesn’t need much to start burning.

      I hope You find what You want, it’s always tricky and one never know what they have or not. It isn’t easier to live in colder zones either πŸ™‚

      Yes that was kind πŸ™‚ Especially since I know the animals had a wonderful life πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 27, 2015 at 6:04 pm

  4. jaz

    hi chriser! cute little house! let me know when you want a recipe for the turkey. she is right though, turkey is best done low and slow! have you ever eaten turkey before? joyce

    April 26, 2015 at 9:14 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes I thought thatb house was rather cute and it will shine nicelΓΆy when winter comes.

      I’ll mail You when I decide to cook that turkey.

      Yes I have but the only tie I can say it was delicious was when I visited a family in Portugal πŸ™‚ It was the father of the family that cooked it and he refused to tell how he had cooked it, a secret family recipe πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 27, 2015 at 6:09 pm

  5. Christer,
    I love putting decorations in my backyard and front garden. I have clay pots, fairy houses and prayer flags hanging between trees. I also have a string of colored lights which come on every night. They are strung on the deck rail.I also have a palm tree which lights up on the side deck. I love decorations.

    Turkey can get dry easily which is why a slow oven is best. Nothing is worse than dry turkey!

    Have a good work week!

    April 27, 2015 at 2:42 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I’m not that much for decorations but I do like things I can put candles in during the winter, so it will shine nicely on my entrance stairs.

      I always come to think about the movie Christmas vacation πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The best Christmas movie ever πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      April 27, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

