It is after all the workers holiday.

The first web this spring.

The first web this spring.

It rained all day yesterday and after that the cold came with the fog. So I woke up to a rather white world covered in frost. I had gone out just before I went  to bed to cover those plants I have on my patio and that turned out to be a good thing. Strangely enough it doesn’t look like the more sensitive plants I have in my garden got damaged, like they usually does.

Everything was covered in frost.

Everything was covered in frost.

DSC_0027

Still some fog in the distance.

Still some fog in the distance.

It was quite nice being outside walking though since there was and still is no wind. The birds sang and the Black Grouse roosters are still trying to impress the ladies 🙂 They tend to keep doing that long after any lady cares about it though and yesterday I could even hear them in the evening. The roosters tend to get a bit crazy and never really understand when it is time to stop 🙂 It was really wonderful out there, at least until a framer or one of their employees started driving around on a four-wheeler. Why is it that they don’t think they need a muffler on those things? They never change them after they have broken!

 

DSC_0030

The best view of the sun so far today.

The best view of the sun so far today.

DSC_0033

Today is May first, the workers day in big parts of the world and a holiday in Europe at least. People used to be out demonstrating for better living conditions but now days we tend to rather see the brave few on tv instead and use the day for a picnic or going to the summer house 🙂 This day used to be about getting better conditions for all but today people tend to see it like “I want it better but I really don’t care about others”. I’m not going to demonstrate but I still sympathies with those old ideals.

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

Instead I took a two or was it three hour nap 🙂 after that I vacuumed all floors and after that I also scrubbed them. I was thinking of doing the dishes too but stopped and thought that would be a bit too much, after all this is the workers holiday 🙂 The weather isn’t especially inviting even if there’s no wind. Still rather chilly and cloudy. The entire weekend will be like this but it will get warmer and sunnier again as soon as we start working on Monday 🙂 So typical 🙂

 

DSC_0038

The creek kept most of the frost aeay it seems.

The creek kept most of the frost away it seems.

DSC_0040

So, yesterday was Walpurgis night and no one here really knows why we celebrate that day, we’ve changed it to a day to welcome spring even if it doesn’t feel like it’s here right now 🙂 We have also renamed Walpurgis to Valborg, a more Swedish name even if it isn’t especially common to be honest. I think the only Valborg I’ve ever met (but can’t remember it because I was too young) was my grandfather’s brother which one of his wives (I think he had a few) was named Valborg. Walpurgis however was an English princess that became a nun and later on an abbess. She is said to be very successful in converting pagans to christianity and that usually means that if they didn’t want to do it they would be killed. The Christian church has always been rather successful in turning pagans that way.

 

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0046

But I doubt many know anything of that here in Sweden, so after they have celebrated the return of spring many seems to think that they need to get really drunk and start destroying other people’s properties, I guess it is much like St Patrick’s day 🙂 🙂 🙂  It is worse around the universities and close to the capital though. I couldn’t find any info about that in this part of the country, we have it around Easter instead 🙂

 

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

DSC_0051

 

It is time for something to eat and after that another walk.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0055

DSC_0056

10 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I have come to the conclusion that Swedish spiders have thicker silk than New England spiders. Those are heavy duty webs. Or are they coated in frost?
    Do you think the black grouse roosters that still call are ones that never got a mate? Here we have Mockingbirds. They sing beautifully and have a repertoire of songs that they learn from other birds and sounds in their environment like cell phones rings, rusty gates and truck back-up warning beepers. 🙂 I always hear a few singing long after they should be raising chicks. I found out recently that the ones that are singing at that time are ones that haven’t got a mate. Now I get a little sad when I hear them singing so late.

    Considering the attitudes of many who drive those four wheelers, I’d just as soon hear them coming when they are still far enough away for me to get away. They made trail riding on horses a very unpleasant experience. Many of them did it on purpose, flipping us the bird as they roared by and laughing as we tried to control spooked animals. I loathe those things and the idiots who ride them.

    I looked up Walpurga. Her father was St Richard the Pilgrim. Her two brothers, Willibald and Winibald, were both saints. Her maternal uncle was St Boniface. She was heavily involved in the family business, I guess. 🙂 Her two brothers were missionaries to Germany and brought her with them. She succeeded her brother Winibald as Abbess of a double monastery that he had founded in Germany. She died there in 779-ish.
    In Sweden, Finland and Bavaria, today is the celebration of the transfer of her bones to Eichstätt and her canonization. It’s a spring celebration because the peasants turned her into a substitute for the pagan Grain Mother. They made corn dollies in her image. Funny how the old gods seem to hang on in some guise or another. Thanks for sending me off on this google-fest. I love learning random new things. 🙂

    It’s cold here today. The sky is cloudy. The heat is running. The weekend is supposed to be much warmer. Our first normal temperature days since last fall some time. Whoo hoo!

    Napping on a holiday to celebrate the workers of the world is perfectly acceptable. Enjoy the day.

    May 1, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Coated in frost so I don’t think they have thicker silk 🙂 We always have morning dew here and it rained yesterdasy and that’s why we can see the webs soo good early in the mornings. Later on it’s almost impossible.

      From what I know it’s all hormonal, they sort of go haywire in some of them. These does at least not attack other animals or humans like the mucj bigger forest grouse does. They can be trulky nasty and sometimes has to be shot. They usually tries to move them elsewhere but they have a tendency to fly back.

      I think that at least those living here on the countryside and use them while working behaves much better and to scare a hor´se here would be like cursing in church 🙂 This is the place in the country that has most horses 🙂 but I can’t understand how they can drive around in that awful noise!!!

      I read most of that about Walpurga but felt it too much to write down 🙂 I doubt however many Swedes ever have checked that 🙂 I guess those peasants had a little help to use her as a substitute though 🙂

      Not nice here at all but no use in complaining since I can’t do much about it. I just came in from the wood shed with some logs so I can warm up my cottage 🙂 I love the sound from real wood, fire logs are usually quiet while burning.

      I thought so too, napping and holidays goes together 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 1, 2015 at 4:10 pm

      • Caryn

        I don’t have a wood stove but I know what you mean about the sound from real wood logs. I have candles with wooden wicks. They sort of make the same noise as they burn but very very softly because they are, as you might guess, very tiny pieces of wood. 🙂 I wish I had a wood stove.

        May 1, 2015 at 5:43 pm

      • I’ve never even heard of candles with wooden wicks! but i do understand that they must be quieter 🙂

        Yes, that stove is the best thing I have 🙂

        May 1, 2015 at 5:49 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We had rain at suppertime and into the evening last night but this morning was fog, no frost thankfully! Your pictures are simply lovely with the frost – so very fall-like not the 1st of May!! 🙂 My grandmother (originally from Latvia) spoke of Walpurgis night (or nacht as she called it). I remember only bits and pieces of her speaking of it. But today is Beltane and I am happy to welcome the May Queen!! 🙂 Its not a holiday here, but it should be, just so I can go to the park and celebrate! I had a good chuckle at your stopping at doing the dishes, you are right, its a workers holiday!! 🙂 Have a good evening!

    May 1, 2015 at 3:58 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It did look nice this morning and a not too unfamiliare sight here this time of year. It has been unusually warm here so this is sort of getting back to normal 🙂

      I know we had celebrations this day before it became the workers day, but I don’t think it was like Beltane and no May pole. We have our Midsummer pole instead and I’ll write more about that when midsummer comes.

      Yes, I thought I had done enough with work for today 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 1, 2015 at 4:17 pm

  3. jaz

    oh wow…frost! i would be in big trouble here right now if we got frost. however, we are about to be in the 80’s so i guess i don’t have to worry about it. i just planted lots of things all morning.

    May 1, 2015 at 6:28 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I never trust these early springs so I have just placed some of the plants I had in my cellar outside on my patio so they are easily covered. 80’s already! Well when things start tohappoen over at Yours they sure happen fast 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 1, 2015 at 6:33 pm

  4. Christer,
    Much as I hate the cold, I love how pretty the world looks frosted. We too are still having cold days and colder nights. Boston will hit 60˚ over the weekend, and we’ll be in the 50’s. The ocean is still only 46˚ so it keeps us cold longer than away from the water.

    I only wore a flannel shirt today, and I was cold at the dump. I should have added a jacket.

    Lots of my spring bulbs have blossomed and a few green shoots are appearing in the garden. The garden calendar says May 30th is the date for planting as it is the last possible time for frost in this zone. I always plan\t earlier so next week I’ll do a bit of shopping. I have to get Skip to clean up the vegetable garden and the deck. It may be cold, but it will at least look a bit like summer.

    Have a great evening!

    May 2, 2015 at 12:30 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It does look beautiful and nothing seems to have been damaged by the frost so I didn’tmind 🙂 Today has started warmish with rain, I’m not sure I like that so much more to be honest 🙂 It’ll be warm and nice again as soon as we start working 🙂

      I had to start a fire in the stove to drive out the cold and humidity from my home.

      We usually plant as soon as the ground is warm enough, around 45F and then we’re prepared to cover everything if they say we might get frost. We usually get our last night with frost the first week in June.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 2, 2015 at 4:20 am

Leave a Reply

