I’m glad it’s a bit dull.

The photos showing FalkΓΆping is taken around the town square.

The photos showing FalkΓΆping is taken around the town square.

I really didn’t feel like going out this morning, the rain was pouring down and there was a weak but very effective wind, so I waited in the longest to go outside. Nova and I both hesitated when I opened up the door but the majority, including Bertil wanted to take a walk. We hadn’t walked far when the rain turned to drizzle and then stopped totally. Still no rain but it is anything than inviting outside.

 

DSC_0057

One of two giant silos. This is farm country.

One of two giant silos. This is farm country.

DSC_0049

There’s no difficulty for You to understand what the sign says, is there πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0050

The sign says: The new patisserie. I’m not sure that’s true any longer but I doubt they’ll change the name on the place πŸ™‚ The house at the end of the road is an appartement building.

 

After our walk I had to go to town for some errands and I hoped that if I went away so I would be in FalkΓΆping at the time they were opening the stores there wouldn’t be many other out to shop and how right I was πŸ™‚ I was the only one outside when I arrived. On the way to the pharmacy to buy the medicine for Orvar and Hector I met one elderly woman (to be honest, she looked like she was 100 years old) who were out walking with Nordic walking sticks (I didn’t know they were called that πŸ™‚ ) and she had a high pace and didn’t walks as the age she looked πŸ™‚

 

My favorite coffee and tea shop. To be honest, there's no other in FalkΓΆping and it's many miles to the closest one :-) But it is a great place!

My favorite coffee and tea shop. To be honest, there’s no other in FalkΓΆping and its many miles to the closest one πŸ™‚ But it is a great place!

Lots of restaurants around the town square and I think it is appartements on the second floor.

Lots of restaurants around the town square and I think it is appartements on the second floor.

DSC_0053

DSC_0054

There was only one other customer in the pharmacy, a lady that walked like the age she looked to have and she was getting so many medicines that she had to sit down and wait until they had gotten it all for her. Thankfully for this lady we have a high cost protection and if this is what she usually gets this wouldn’t cost her anything. I thing the limit is around $ 110 US a year, we never have to pay more than that every year for medicine. Anyhow, there were actually a few people out walking when I came out from the pharmacy, mostly mothers with carriages. I guess that is one sure way to get babies to sleep πŸ™‚

 

See! A human is walking around in the town :-)

See! A human is walking around in the town πŸ™‚ Even two to be honest πŸ™‚

DSC_0056

 

 

On my way out of town. I was the only one driving around on the street so I could take this and the next without being dangerous in the traffic.

On my way out of town. I was the only one driving around on the street so I could take this and the next without being dangerous in the traffic.

One of thoise self service petrol stations. Too bad the sign doesn't work so You could see how expensive our petrol is.

One of those self-service petrol stations. Too bad the sign doesn’t work so You could see how expensive our petrol is.

The building You can see is FalkΓΆping hospital.

The building You can see is FalkΓΆping hospital.

I took a few photos and started driving homewards again. I stopped at the grocery store in Gudhem to get a package, I had bought a tele-photo lens to my old Minolta. No one else bade on it so I got it almost shamefully cheap πŸ™‚ I jumped in to my car when I had fetched it and when I turned the car key I lost the grip on it before the car started. I turned the key again but the car refused to start. Rather annoying to be honest. Suddenly another car drove in to the parking lot and it turned out to be my neighbor, the farmers up the slope πŸ™‚ I tried to start it several times but Colonel Hati, as I call my car had no wish what so ever to start again πŸ™‚

 

I did take a few photos on our morning walk too.

I did take a few photos on our morning walk too.

DSC_0033

They were in no hurry to leave when we came and stood there when we came back too πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

The garage I normally use when something is wrong isn’t far away and the number to the garage is also the owners private phone number. I knew I would be able to get home just in case since my neighbors were there but if it didn’t start it would be nice if they could take the car as soon as possible. So I called him and we talked for a while and I said that he could listen how it sounded through the phone when I tried to start Colonel Hati. Naturally he started as soon as I turned the key πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This has actually happened to me when I had a Volvo (it is a quite common problem) if the engine has to be stopped before it gets warm it can become cranky and flood the engine with petrol and when that happens it can take up to half an hour before the cars even thinks of starting again and when it does it sounds terrible πŸ™‚ But I have to say that Hati didn’t sound bad at all, on the contrary.

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

DSC_0041

I did however tell the garage owner that I will have to go to him for that window problem but it had to wait for a while since I am a bit too busy these coming weeks. So home I came and the first thing I did after letting the dogs out of the dog house and in to the cottage was to go to the woodshed and chop some wood. Naturally I hit my own hand πŸ™‚ No, no blood. I had to just get the ax to get a grip of the log so I took it very slowly and gently, I know what can happen πŸ™‚ and since the ax is slightly dull nothing bad happened. Had it been new however I would now most likely have been on my way to the hospital Β πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ At least I now have fire wood so I can start a fire later today πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

Guelder rose.

Guelder rose.

Cherry buds.

Cherry buds.

The man in the grocery store, I think he’s one of the owners, got really interested when he saw my camera so I might have to go back to show him some of my old cameras πŸ™‚ He himself have an old Rolleiflex, I have a Rolleicord the poor cousin from the countryside in comparingΒ to his πŸ™‚ It is time for a pot of tea and then I think I’ll take a small nap.

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! No doubt after that day I’d take a nap too! Sorry to hear of your car troubles, but glad it sorted itself out! I always get nervous when something happens to my car. I always see $$ signs even tho its still on warranty! πŸ™‚ Good thing your neighbor was on stand by! πŸ™‚ What a beautiful town you have! I love seeing pictures of different places and I am glad you shared! Those Nordic sticks are becoming popular here too. I see the odd person out walking with them. I wonder if they really do work like they say? I am up early and off to get some errands done myself. They are calling for thunderstorms today but we will see. Its awfully early in the year to be having those. They say we are to get up to 28 degrees today. Unheard of so early in the year here! By all rights we should still have a bit of snow here and there. Such odd weather. Oh, and before I forget to mention, when you said that someone put that skateboard on my car in hopes that they could park there I would hope that’s not the case!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I pay to park at that house!!!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So if someone wants my spot, I am afraid they are out of luck. At least until I retire or start taking the bus. Neither of which are coming anytime soon! πŸ™‚ I hope the rest of your Saturday is really good!

    May 2, 2015 at 1:27 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Well now I know why the car behaved like it did so this was really nothing πŸ™‚ But it did annoy me there for a while πŸ™‚ and since my neighbor came so perfectly I knew that I at least would get home easily πŸ™‚

      It is a beautiful little town and sooo boring πŸ™‚

      Yes those nordic sticks does help if one use them in the right way, many just sort of drag them along and that doesn’t help anything πŸ™‚ But using them the right way will give a stronger heart and many other positive side effects.

      I have an app in my phone that shows when the lightning hits in most parts of the world with just seconds delay,m I’ll watch it today to see if You get any thunder πŸ™‚ but if You do get up to 28 I’m pretty sure thunder will come along.

      So they’ll have to wait for quite some time to get that spot πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 2, 2015 at 3:43 pm

  2. Dianna

    Me again! I forgot to mention – your hand!!! Good thing that axe was dull…..wow, that was close! I am sure you might get a bruise out of your troubles…. 😦

    May 2, 2015 at 1:30 pm

    • It was a good thing πŸ™‚ I was just getting to make the ax get in to the wood so that I could continue without my hand anywhere near the log πŸ™‚ so I’m not sure it would have been so bad even if the ax had been sharp. But one never knows until it happens πŸ™‚

      May 2, 2015 at 3:48 pm

  3. Whoa, sounds like a day of Almosts.
    Almost had a car that wouldn’t run.
    Almost cut off your hand.
    I’d say it was a good day since you almost had big problems,
    but didn’t. πŸ˜‰

    May 2, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    • Hi Cindi!
      So true πŸ™‚

      It was a good day in that perspective but the weather has been too chilly so I’ll soon start that fire in the stove πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 2, 2015 at 3:49 pm

  4. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    My old Jeep used to do that same thing. I would have to open the engine compartment, remove the air filter, poke my finger into the butterfly valve on the carburetor and blow into it to help disperse the gasoline that had flooded it, go back and try to start the engine. It usually worked the first time but sometimes it took a repeat or two. Then I’d have to put everything back together while the engine was still running. One time it happened in the town square. A grumpy old man was passing by and he sneered, “You’ve flooded it. Now you’ll have to wait.” He was very pleased about it too. I said, “No I won’t!”, jumped out, did my routine, got the jeep started right away. So, take that, grumpy old man. πŸ™‚

    FalkΓΆping has a charming little square. I read the signs on photos of towns all the time. I like to see what’s on offer. πŸ™‚ It was immediately apparent that pizza, pasta, kebabs and Coke are universal. Kaffehandel Record is a mystery except that coffee is involved.

    The chefs on TV always tell us that dull knives are more dangerous than sharp ones because you have to put more pressure on them so are therefore more likely to cut yourself if your fingers get in the way. I guess the same does not apply to axes? Glad you still have all your fingers.

    Here it is sunny and cool. No plans for me today but I might plant grass seed. Or not.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 2, 2015 at 5:17 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes those carburator cars often flooded πŸ™‚ I remember my old SAAB V4 and my Citroen 21, I did much the same on them when I flooded them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s much harder with our modern cars with direct injection. One just has to sit there and wait and hope for the best πŸ™‚ It’s always rather nice to put those old geezers in their place as we say here πŸ™‚

      FalkΓΆping actually has two town squares and this is the pretty one. To be honest, the other one has sort of died out with only one big store and one or two small ones but it also has the train station.

      Record used to be something many different businesses was called here but I can’t figure out why. Could be a family name but then it must have been a huge family owning only smaller businesses πŸ™‚ I remember the one I grew up close to, it sm,elled like heaven from it all over the neighborhood and they also had a Hill myna (Gracula religiosa) in the store (strange because the laws have always been strict when it comes to animals and food and it shouldn’t really been allowed in there). Anyway, that bird could both talk and whistle the most amazing songs πŸ™‚

      It doesn’t seem like that applies to axes thankfully πŸ™‚ I am a bit sour on the spot but that’s it, I guess I might be blue there tomorrow morning πŸ™‚

      The fire is burning in the stove now, the sun is shining but it is too little too late πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 2, 2015 at 6:37 pm

  5. jaz

    i really loved seeing the pics from this town. i love the belgium block streets. we used to have them all over my city but they pulled them all out and paved the streets. now they wonder why they can’t drive on them in the snow and ice.

    May 2, 2015 at 10:48 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      We have a love/ hate relationship with those streets here πŸ™‚ They do look beautiful but are hard to walk on for people with walking problems and suddenly one day one of the stones will be just a tiny bit higher uop than the others and suddenly we all stumble on it πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ This street is a walking street only so no car problems in winter.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 3, 2015 at 4:02 am

  6. Christer,
    You had such a busy day. It seems so strange to see only a couple of people walking in the town and no cars on the road. It seems you can get anything you want in all those stores. I’m content with a coffee shop.

    I’m glad your car started again. Nothing is more annoying than a car which won’t work. I always feel helpless.

    I’m glad you didn’t cut off a finger or a hand. I am so prone to accidents that one or another of mine would be on the floor.

    Enjoy your tea and your fire!

    May 3, 2015 at 12:57 am

    • Hi Kat!

      At least a busy morning, the rest of the day was a do nothing day really. I couldn’t mow the lawn because of all the rain and I think it’s just too wet to do it to day too. Such a pity πŸ™‚

      Big holiday the day before so I guess people who didn’t work rather slept long πŸ™‚ FalkΓΆping is one of the few towns that still has a living town square even if there’s also a big area at the edges of the town with big super markets of all kinds. Most other towns in this size have very few stores around the town square now days.

      It was a bit annoying that the car refused to start but at least I knew I would get home and it was close to the garage πŸ™‚

      I’m really happy about that too πŸ™‚ I know they wouldn’t like it at work since a work friend is at home for several months after surgery, he had cut of a tendon while working πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I so enjoyed both of them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 3, 2015 at 4:09 am

Leave a Reply

