Lots of birds.

Some frost on the ground todasy too.

Some frost on the ground today too.

The kitchen door is open and I can hear all the birds singing in y garden and by the field outside my fence. It is a truly wonderful but slightly chilly morning but the sun is shining straight towards the door so it neutralize the cold a lot. Today is the opposite to how it was yesterday and how it will be tomorrow. We’ll get rain but much warmer weather from Tuesday according to predictions and no one will believe that until we see it happen 🙂

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

It was foggy outside when I woke up but too cold to take a walk, I just didn’t want to be freezing that early in the morning 🙂 I doubt it was much warmer when we went away but at least the sun reached us most parts of our walk 🙂 Not a man-made sound could be heard, just the birds and breaking of twigs when animals moved around to avoid us. I wish You all could follow us those mornings just to listen to all the sounds. I know that won’t be happening so I found a site where the bird songs can be heard, so I’ll post links to some of those I hear here every morning in spring and early summer. There are of course plenty more but these are the ones that sort of are characteristic for areas like this.

I see more and more Marsh marigolds now.

I see more and more Marsh marigolds now.

Something has opened up this bird house, my guess is a marten or squirrel.

Something has opened up this bird house, my guess is a marten or squirrel.

DSC_0047

This violet only grows where it is very wet, unfortunately it was the road we were walking on :-)

This violet only grows where it is very wet, unfortunately it was the road we were walking on 🙂

Too bad the weather wasn’t as good as this yesterday because I had planned to go to a place where they have lots of old stone age tombs, in a sheep pasture 🙂 But that will have to wait until it’s either foggy or I will pass the area anyway. These tombs are unlike the ones we have here not covered with soil so it is easy to see how they were built, There are also a few menhirs that I’ve never taken a closer look at. There’s actually an old stone ship/ ship setting on my way to work. Every time I see it I’m thinking I must bring my camera one day to take a few photos of it when the sun is rising, I never remember to do it though 🙂

 

Some of them had already started to flower too.

Some of them had already started to flower too.

DSC_0053

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

I have brought home one (will bring home one more) plastic barrel (200 liters/ 55 gallons, that I will make a compost tumbler of. I can’t remember how I found this site on the net but it seems to work and I’ll give it a try, I can get the plastic barrel from work for free since they will be tossed away otherwise 🙂 This one is meant to be standing in the sun, the warmer the better it seems. The only thing I need to do now is to build a scaffold for it, no problems for a handy man like me 🙂 🙂 🙂 Well I hope it will hold together for its first year anyway 🙂 If it works as I hope I then can make as many as I feel I need and since I only have almost sand in the ground this compost will be welcome to mix down into it.

 

A male Lemon butterfly had decided to rest during the night on the ground and path, it was pure luck that the dogs didn't walk on him. The females are more green in their color.

A male Lemon butterfly had decided to rest during the night on the ground and path, it was pure luck that the dogs didn’t walk on him. The females are more green in their color.

DSC_0064

A tree has fallen and suddenly the sun can shine down on the ground.

A tree has fallen and suddenly the sun can shine down on the ground.

DSC_0073

 

It is time to make a pot of tea and after that I think I’ll take a tour in the garden.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0074

DSC_0075

DSC_0076

Sune and Nova running around chasing each other :-)

Sune and Nova running around chasing each other 🙂 I think Sune needed that after taking a bath in the really cold creek 🙂

 

Links to the different bird songs I can hear here in the morning, they should all open up in a new window. So watch the photos and listen to the birds and You’ll get something of what I have here every morning:

Black Grouse.

Curlew.

Bluetit.

Chaffinch.

Snipe.

Greenfinch.

Green Woodpecker.

Yellowhammer.

Wren.

Cuckoo.

Skylark.

There are of course lots more, they had for instance not the sound from Cranes but You can hear them in the background in the Bluetit tape.                                                             

                                                

10 responses

  1. Ledsen att jag inte kan lyssna på fågelsången, hade behövt lära mig vad som är vad! Men…jag råkade ju av misstag ta bort ljudprogrammet i den bärbara datorn – som är den jag använder nu för tiden. Typiskt klumpigt….. 😳
    Vi har väl liknande väder som er, igår duggade det hela dagen men idag verkar det bli fint. Fast vi hade “hela” 9 grader i morse när jag var ute med Santos. 🙂 Så nu hoppas jag att gräset torkar upp ordentligt till eftermiddagen så Rolle kan klippa klart i “parken”, han har halva kvar sen i förrgår och jag ska ta innertomten och förträdgården. 🙂 🙂
    Men jag köpte jag en låda med små orange tagetes i torsdags och dom har inte kommit ner i någon kruka ännu. 😦 Först var jag inte på humör efter läkarbeskedet, sen har det regnat. Visserligen kunde man ju stå på altanen, där kommer inte regnet åt en, men SÅ kul är det inte! 😦 😦 😦
    Nej, nu får vårvärmen komma tycker jag…..
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    May 3, 2015 at 9:28 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja ibland blir man lite överraskad över vilken sång som tillhör vilken fågel 🙂

      Tyvärr kom det rätt rejäla moln efter ett tag, men emellanåt tittar solen fram och det är trots allt varmare idag än igår tack och lov 🙂

      Kan ju mycket väl förstå att det inte känns så lockande att göra något efter den diagnosen! Framförallt inte när vädret dessutom varit som det varit. Det är väl först nu som vi har ganska normala temperaturer 🙂 Jag hade ing´te ogillat att det varit varmare än normalt hela våren 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      May 3, 2015 at 1:07 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I thought Sune looked a bit damp in that photo. 🙂

    The yellowhammer looks almost like our American yellow warbler.

    I have a ton of violets growing in my lawn. Violet ones and white ones both. It’s clay soil and can be wet towards the swamp side. It’s getting wetter every year, too. Some skunk cabbages and jacks-in-the-pulpit have made incursions into the swamp end of the lawn.

    The only insects I’ve seen doing their thing so far are flies, bumble bees, ants, worms and a harvestman spider. I’ve not even seen morning cloaks which are usually among the first fluttery things in spring. Not even black flies or no-seeums, those horrid little flying bugs that are all teeth and no mercy. 🙂

    I’ve been out with the dogs this morning. It’s supposed to be sunny and in the 70’s Fahrenheit. It’s cloudy and 50. We shall see.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 3, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It is fun to see how two different species can look so alike 🙂

      The violettes have just started to flower here and it’s only those that can manage dry soil that thrives in my garden, sand doesn’t hold water well 🙂

      Lots of insects here (and ticks) but still no biting ones. They’ll come but they are a bit late to be honest. I guess it is those cold nights that still holds them back, thankfully 🙂 Thankfully noseeums are rare here but we do get midges down by the creeks.

      Clouds came and covered the sky but every now and again the sun breaks through making it at least warmer than yesterday 🙂 So I brought out the wood chopper, it didn’t work as it should last year but perfectly this time. So now I’ve chopped most of those apple branches I cut off earlier this spring.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 3, 2015 at 1:37 pm

  3. the light and shadow is lovely in the photos, beautiful,
    the birds are like a chorus!I never ever tire of forest photos, I enjoy each and everyone!

    May 3, 2015 at 5:06 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad ou ike them 🙂 and I feel that You really need to hear the sounds I do too so You know a bit what it is like when I’m out early in the morning 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 3, 2015 at 6:26 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Oh boy did I ever enjoy hearing all those birds! Loved the cuckoo!!! That black grouse sounds very similar to our ruffed grouse that we have up at our cottage. We always see them poking around in the forest outside of our cottage, rummaging for bugs in the leaves and dead fall. Thank you for sharing! I have kept a bird log book since 2000 at whatever house we have lived in. Its amazing to see the migrating pattern of the birds that come back every year. I just love bird watching! 🙂 We had an extremely windy day again here. Makes for working outside near impossible. Its almost 7 p.m. and the wind is still blowing around. The dogs get very nervous when it blows hard like that. The forest pictures are incredible! Such magic there!

    May 4, 2015 at 12:48 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      The Cuckoo hasn’t arrived yet even if I thought I heard one long ago. We have rather many here in this area but they are saying they are getting fewer and fewer now days.
      I did wonder if You had heard any similar sounds from Your birds, after all You are living almost as north as I do.

      I have been thinking about keeping a log like You but I tend to forget it until it is too late every year 🙂 This year would have been interesting since everything started so early.

      Calm and rainy here but no wind so even if it wasn’t that warm it still felt like it 🙂 We’ll get really strong wionds later in the week though. I’m glad my dogs doesn’t care about the wind, makes life easier since it always blows here 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 4, 2015 at 6:16 pm

  5. Christer – I loved hearing your birds! Especially the lark and cuckoo – I’ve never really heard a cuckoo before ~ I’m sending a link to your blog to a birding friend of mine here is south Texas. He and his wife are avid birders, and who knows – maybe y’all can start another bird link or exchange. He (Paul) is also a great photographer of birds, so y’all have a lot in common.
    I’ve missed coming by lately, and won’t let that happen again ~

    May 5, 2015 at 1:54 pm

    • Hi noraannrodrigues and welcome to my blog 🙂

      I hear all these birds and so many more every year but really know very little about them 🙂 Most have brownish or greyish colors so they can be difficult to see at all in the forest 🙂

      I’m glad You like it here 🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back 🙂
      Christer.

      May 5, 2015 at 5:50 pm

Leave a Reply

