We all survived :-)

DSC_0020

We’re having a rather wonderful but perhaps slightly chilly morning here. No wind and sunshine but it will not last for long, clouds have already started to arrive and we’ll get rain later in the evening. I just hope the lawn dries up enough so I can mow it before the rain starts to fall. There were still some frost on the plants when we started walking this morning and I heard the Cuckoo for the first time too (I don’t count that time a few weeks ago when I thought I heard it, if it had been here I would have heard it many times since then but I haven’t).

 

It looks as if all new kittens at the next door farm get long fur now days.

It looks as if all new kittens at the next door farm get long fur now days.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

The road association meeting was just as bad as I had feared but only in the beginning. The laws here are quite strict so I really can’t say who did what so they are recognisable. But the “wrong” person started like always and we all soon got tired of him but then our hero stopped it all 🙂 I must say I admire him because he has the ability to insult a person in a way that the person thinks it’s funny and finally actually give up and stay calm the entire time the meeting continues 🙂 To be honest, I don’t think the “wrong” person understood a thing but we got the result we wanted 🙂

 

DSC_0029

This doe did feel a bit trapped when we came closer to her. She's just too heavy now to jump fences, so we stopped and waited until she had found a way out and walked away far enough into the forest to feel safe again.

This doe did feel a bit trapped when we came closer to her. She’s just too heavy now to jump fences, so we stopped and waited until she had found a way out and walked away far enough into the forest to feel safe again.

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

This “wrong” person had a few days before the meeting called the chairman of the association screaming something about a musician we have in our village and complained about the sound from the instrument, that it was disturbing the entire village (no one understands what this has to do with the road since that part of the road doesn’t belong to the road association but is private and still it has nothing to do with the road at all!). Now I pass that home every day and the only time one actually can hear the instrument is if You actually stand close to the house walls 🙂 and it is a classical instrument so there is no amplifier connected to it. Talk about making oneself a fool 🙂 The “wrong” person must have been standing in the garden to be able to hear it especially well and therefore broken a law or two and is stupid enough to talk about it 🙂 🙂 🙂

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0039

After that we walked in to two other deers and these know us so they didn't exactly hurry away :-) Still I didn't want to come too close so we had to walk very slowly untill we had passed them :-)

After that we walked in to two other deers and these know us so they didn’t exactly hurry away 🙂 Still I didn’t want to come too close so we had to walk very slowly untill we had passed them 🙂

DSC_0046

So the meeting only took 1,5 hours 🙂 If we actually had just kept to what the meeting was about and also just accepted what the association had decided years back it would have taken 15 minutes. I did however get a good amount of gossip and actually some good totally true information as well 🙂 so the evening wasn’t a total waste of time after all and the coffee and pear juice was delicious as well as the coffee bread (as we call pastry here).

In my garden right now.

In my garden right now.

This is some kind of seviceberry. I have two different in my garden but theother one is much smaller yet and its flowers aren't open yet.

This is some kind of serviceberry. I have two different in my garden but the other one is much smaller yet and its flowers aren’t open yet. Delicious berries that the birds take before they ripen!!!

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

It is time to go outside, Nova is waiting by the kitchen stairs with her punctured foot ball (soccer ball for You Americans 🙂 ) and Sune with at least one stick 🙂 Nova gets it that she has to let go of the ball so I’ll be able to throw it away again, Sune however is still rather hesitant of leaving the stick to me 🙂 He just circles around me wanting me to throw it but as I say to him, I really need to get it unless he wants me to throw him too at the same time 🙂 He’s just too heavy to do that though 🙂 🙂

 

Buds on my peach tree. A few had already oprnrd up and got destroyed by the frost but there are still a few unopen so I might still get a peach or two with a bit of luck.

Buds on my peach tree. A few had already opened up and gotten destroyed by the frost but there are still a few unopened so I might still get a peach or two with a bit of luck.

My neighbors honeybees loves my sloe bushes. I'm glad they get some of their nectar from me since I do get some of their honey :-)

My neighbors honeybees loves my sloe bushes. I’m glad they get some of their nectar from me since I do get some of their honey 🙂

I think this daffodil (or easter lily as we call them) is a Rip van Winkle.

I think this daffodil (or easter lily as we call them) is a Rip van Winkle.

It is fun really, I used to suffer from arachnophobia before I moved out to the countryside, now I love them. Well not the big black hairy ones that sometimes crawl up from the shower, they are just creepy :-) This is the female.

It is fun really, I used to suffer from arachnophobia before I moved out to the countryside, now I love them. Well not the big black hairy ones that sometimes crawl up from the shower, they are just creepy 🙂 This is the female.

Because this one is smaller and therefore most likely the male and possible lunch for the female :ö)

Because this one is smaller and therefore most likely the male and possible lunch for the female 🙂

Have a great day!

18 responses

  1. Va, har ni frost fortfarande! Låter skrämmande!! 😦
    Hoppas den inte kommer hit för jag har planterat massor med sommarblommor och idag hade jag tänkt att få ner tomatplantorna (hela 2 st som jag fått) i en stor bunke på altanen. Måste ju göra det innan operationen på onsdag, sen lär man varken vara hemma på ett tag eller ha ork att kånka omkring tung jord ett antal veckor. 😦
    Annars har vi ett kanonväder och idag har jag “dukat” av/upp allt på altanen så att vi ska kunna njuta riktigt ordentligt. Jag kanske t.o.m. unnar mig ett glas rosé framåt eftermiddagen. En tråkig sak är dock att jag har fått ischias i mitt “grävarben” och nästan inte kan ligga på rygg och inte alls på höger sida. Men…man lär väl få lite smärtstillande efter operationen så det ordnar sig hoppas jag. Det kanske t.o.m. går över nu när jag inte kan gräva på ett tag…..Alltså,; “Inget ont som inte för något gott med sig!” 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM
    Susie

    May 9, 2015 at 9:53 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jo här härjar frosten ända fram till slutet av första veckan i Juni, så är det varje år. Har ju inte lyxen att vara omgärdad av havet som du även om du inte bor nära stranden.

      Ja det är lika bra att du kör på hårt nu, för som du säger lär det inte finnas mycket ork kvar när behandlingen startat. Men den kommer ju tack och lov tillbaka senare 🙂

      Riktigt skönt här också idag, än har regnet inte kommit och molnen som var här tidigare vandrade iväg. Vindfritt dessutom 🙂

      Ischias är skit! Hade det rätt ofta förr men nu så har det lugnat ned sig tack och lov! Hoppas ditt inte sitter i allt för länge!

      🙂 Så sant 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      May 9, 2015 at 10:53 am

  2. Hi Christer,

    Your photos are lovely, especially those of the flowers! Your deer look very similar to ours here in the eastern US, except they seem much healthier. Ours are called White-Tailed Deer. Glad you survived the Road Association meeting! I live next to a farm, also, one where horses are kept, and, as a result, we have plenty of free-roaming cats around.

    Thanks for your posts,
    Adele

    May 9, 2015 at 10:26 am

    • Hi Adele!

      Our deer are Roe deer. I usually feed them every winter here in my garden but this winter was so mild that they didn’t need any extra food. The strange thing is that they leave almost all my plants alone 🙂 They are otherwise feared by garden owners 🙂

      Any stray cat that wanders in to thius village has a home, all farmers here are organic farmers so they can’t use any kind of pestiside or herbicides so stray cats are more than welcome here 🙂 It is obvious that a long haird male must have moved in to the next door farmer this winter 🙂

      I’m glad I survived too 🙂 Still there are other road associations that are much worse than this one 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 9, 2015 at 10:57 am

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Hooray for someone who knows how to handle the Wrong Person. 🙂 It sounds like he is your neighborhood crank. Every neighborhood has a cranky person who sees and hears everything and complains about it all. My local crank was an old woman on the next street. She tried to terrorize her immediate neighbors by complaining about every little stupid thing. She complained to the people next door about sitting out in their own back yard too much. Those folks put a table and chairs in the side yard between their house and Cranky Lady’s and sat out there instead. 🙂 Cranky Lady died last year. I don’t know who has taken her place. I’m old enough and cranky enough to do the job but I don’t want the responsibility. 🙂

    What is flying through the air in that fourth photo? If it were here, I’d say a crow so I will guess a rook?

    I saw that little long haired barn cat and my first thought was of all that matted fur. Maybe it’s the kind of long hair that doesn’t mat as long as the cat keeps it groomed. Monster my Maine Coon Cat had that kind of fur which was very fortunate for me because there was no way short of general anesthesia that he was going to let me brush it.

    Yesterday I saw a fat woodchuck in the yard. In spite of the fact that the woodchuck will consume all, I will plant vegetables anyway. There is always the possibility that a coyote will rid me of the ravening rodent at some point. I live in hope. 🙂

    Today is supposed to be 74ºF and sunny. It’s 47 under heavy cloud cover. We shall see.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 9, 2015 at 2:01 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes Hooray 🙂 We just sat there admiering how he handled the “wrong” person 🙂
      Yes it is the responsibility that stops me from being the crank neighbor when this old fart passes by 🙂 I mean miss one tim to be cranky about something and the fasad breaks down and it will require so much work to build it up again 🙂 I’m wondering about if I should tell the musscian abot this but I think I won’t, after all no one can actually hear anything unless one stands close to a window on that cottage 🙂 🙂

      I think it is a Jackdaw, could be a raven too but it does look too small for being that.

      Looking at the face of that kitten my guess is that the father must be a big part Norwegian Forest Cat and it has a very similar fur to the Main Coon. I sure hope so anyway because the stray cats living there may have a home and will get fed too but no one will keep that fur clean if it gets messy.

      Lets hope the coyote finds the woodchuck, I still hope that a hawk or falcon will find the starling that wakes me up every morning. Today it changed its tune towards loud wood pecker, that is actually even more annoying 🙂 🙂

      We have had a rather wonderful day but now the clouds cover the sky and the wind has started to blow too. I guess it won’t be long till the rain starts to fall.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 9, 2015 at 3:22 pm

  4. jaz

    glad to hear the meeting was not too bad. beautiful photos as usual! and such a cute kitty. the birds always get most of my service berries too. we are still killer hot here. i am so over summer already!

    May 9, 2015 at 3:57 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes it could have been much worse after all and I did get a loit of gossip and real info as well 🙂

      That kitten looks just like my old cat Cosmos but Cosmos fur was like tape, everything stuck to it and every now and again I had to shave him totally 🙂

      I can fully understand those birds but it would be nice if I actually got some myself too 🙂

      I hope You got Your AC fixed yesterday because it is impossible to live in those tempeeratures!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 9, 2015 at 4:00 pm

  5. it takes all kinds to make up a village and it sounds like you have some strong personalities in yours!!
    Your photos are beautiful,, looks like summer with you,,, you have a very gentle heart to let the deer feel safe passage,,

    May 9, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      We sure have 🙂 but I live in the good part of it 🙂 I think that’s because we just thik that a road is just a road and that we actually talk calmly to each other if something would disturb us, so far nothing has disturbed us especially much 🙂

      We would almost have had summer here if the nights weren’t so cold but I like long springs 🙂 It would have been nice to be able to plant things outside now though but that’ll have to wait for another month or so I’m afraid.

      Of copurse I wait, one should never stress someone who’s pregnant 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 9, 2015 at 6:14 pm

  6. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Late coming to my emails today. We have had a bad start to our weekend. We had to put our husky Tor down last evening. It was his time, and it came quick. Now we are left with broken hearts and tears. We are terribly sad. I love the daffodil picture. We are getting to below zero for the past few nights so I have been covering what I have. The lettuce I planted last Saturday still has not decided to grow. Not sure if its slow or the seeds were duds. I hope not. Have a good Sunday!

    May 10, 2015 at 1:11 am

    • degrees now when the cat woke me up at: Hi Dianna!

      I’m so sorry!
      I know how hard it is and how much it hurts.

      It was rather warm here tonight, almost 9C when Teodor woke me up at 4:30, cloudy and rainy nights tends to be much warmer.

      Take care!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 3:54 am

  7. Beautiful pictures, Christer! It must be nearing time for baby fawns to be born. Never a meeting of groups of people that all goes perfectly smooth.
    Always a fool in the bunch it seems.
    This is such a pretty time of year…and your flowers are beautiful. I try hard not to fear spiders, but if one of those crawled out of my shower drain..I would probably have a heart attack!
    One day there was a large black Widow in our garage and I quickly killed it! Another spider, much smaller and brown (obviously the mate) rushed out and ran around and around the dead Widow in apparent great distress. He would rush up and touch her, back away, rush around her again, checking her over and over.. I couldn’t stand his terrible sow of grief and distress so I killed him too. I’m terrible, I know! 😦 Learned something about spiders that day..but it doesn’t matter. I can’t love them, but I did feel bad for the poor distressed mate. I probably handled it badly, didn’t I? *sigh*

    May 10, 2015 at 1:39 am

    • Hi Mona!

      Yes it can’t be long now until they are here 🙂

      You are so right 🙂 There’s always someone who will do his/ hers best to argue all night for nothing 🙂

      I doubt that the male spider felt any grief though, the female tends to eat him after he has done his part of securing the future 🙂 🙂 I was terrified about spiders until I moved here but I guess it is impossible to continue to be that afriad when living like I do 🙂 🙂 🙂 You do have dangerous spiders so the fear is just common sence, here we don’t. Well it is getting warmer and the Black Widows tend to follow containers from the USA so it can actually be found in garages now days 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 4:00 am

  8. Christer,
    I often had to deal with angry parents when I called. It took all my patience not to say why don’t you yell at your kid not me. I was’t the one who skipped class or did whatever. Kids were far easier to handle than adults.

    Sometimes at our town meetings one person makes strange, odd comments and people talk out-loud or laugh. The moderator is right on the crowd telling them to quiet down.

    We had a bit cooler of a day than I expected. Tomorrow, though, is supposed to be the warmest day yet. My sister in Colorado is expecting up to 10 inches of snow tonight, and she isn’t even in the mountains. My niece in the mountains had a blizzard by late afternoon.

    Have a great Sunday!

    May 10, 2015 at 4:47 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes parents almost never see their kids for what they are and always seems to believe they don’t have to raise them themselves, that’s probably the schools job from the day they sart there 🙂

      We aren’t that many on the assiciation meeting so one would think it woiuld be easy to just talk to each other 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I know we can get snow this time of year too and I do feel so sorry for them, but I must also admit I’m so glad it is over them the snow falls and not over me 🙂 10 inches is an awful lot now in spring!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 10:08 am

  9. I definitely know a lot of “Wrong” people. I had thought it was peaceful and perfect where you live!
    Just goes to show, wrong people are everywhere.
    Glad that you had a Hero to step up.
    Strangely enough I’m not frightened of spiders.
    I don’t want them crawling around my house but if I find one, I don’t freak out.
    I hardly ever see them inside, I think maybe the cats take care of them.
    That black kitten reminds me of my Harry…can you adopt him?
    Black cats are the best!
    well, White ones are pretty great too
    and grey….

    May 10, 2015 at 7:20 pm

    • Hi Cindi!
      He, he, he 🙂 Well it is in this poart of the village but not so much on the other side of it 🙂

      Yes we all just sat there and admired him 🙂 It isn’t many people who can insult people and still make them smile at the insults 🙂 🙂

      I had a terrible fear of spiders from something that happened when I was really young but it is important to live like this and stay afraid of them 🙂 and they eat flies 🙂

      I doubt Bertil and Teodor would accepot him, kill him perhaps but not accept him 🙂 But he or she will have a good life up at the farm. He looks very much like my old Cosmos but I sure hope he has a better fur that doesn’t get tangled in absolutely everything 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 7:30 pm

Leave a Reply

