This mess I call home.

Bertil followed us as always.

Bertil followed us as always.

Teodor woke me up at 4:20 this morning, he was shouting so loud that I thought the cottage was on fire. He just wanted to go outside and I think it was he who had thrown up on the kitchen floor. He was nice enough to do it where I wouldn’t walk, something my dogs wouldn’t care about at all 🙂 There was no use in going to bed after that, it was already rather bright outside.

 

We just looked at each other for quite some time, I doubt the dogs even noticed thatbshe stood so close to us. I had to brighten up these photos quite a lot because there was no time to adjust the camera.

We just looked at each other for quite some time, I doubt the dogs even noticed that she stood so close to us. I had to brighten up these three photos quite a lot because there was no time to adjust the camera.

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

DSC_0026

So we had our breakfasts and went out on a walk. There are a few Black Grouse roosters still out there trying to impress the ladies even though that season is over now. The birds were singing of course and the one that has been waking me up every morning has now changed its tune, it sounds like a woodpecker and it is loud too. I do like starlings but this one is just crazy and I doubt any female like his song 🙂

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

It was rather nice outside, slightly above 10C (50F) but since there was no wind it felt much warmer. It is still around that temperature and it would have been just as nice and I would have had the kitchen door open if it wasn’t for the rain that comes and goes. I watched a few episodes of a Star Treck series, can’t remember the name, and then I started to clean the cottage.

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

The floors are scrubbed and vacuumed, I’ve started to throw away old clothes I can’t wear any longer, they have been worn at least one time to many so I can’t give them away to charity. It is starting to look rather nice in my home now but I still have a long way to go until I’m finished. I’ll just have something to eat, a pot of tea, another walk with the dogs and then I’ll continue to clean up this mess I call home 🙂

 

DSC_0039

Leafs on an Elm tree.

Leafs on an Elm tree.

I actually managed to catch the rain drops in this photo :-)

I actually managed to catch the rain drops in this photo 🙂

Have a great day!

 

My neighbor the beekeeper made the beehive bigger yesterday. I stood at a safe distance taking photos with my tele-photo lens :-)

My neighbor the beekeeper made the beehive bigger yesterday. I stood at a safe distance taking photos with my tele-photo lens 🙂

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

16 responses

  1. jaz

    hi christer! i just came in from watering my plants before it gets too hot outside. the pollen is awful and now my eyes are itchy and swollen. we sure need rain and there is none forecast. i love the photo of the rain! joyce

    May 10, 2015 at 11:59 am

    • Hi Joyce!

      Still that warm over at Yours then!

      I think this is an easy spring here for those allergic to pollen, there wasn’t much from the birches here and it seems as if both the pines and spruces did their worst last year. Rain would certainly help to reduce the pollen in the air so I hope You’ll get rain soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 12:09 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love the rain photo. I keep trying for that one, too, but have yet to succeed. Well, the only time I got close was when the rain was coming down in torrents and looked more like a waterfall than a rainstorm. 🙂

    The dogs and I have been out for our first walk. It’s warm and it’s going to get warmer. There weren’t any birds singing but I saw some cat birds in the neighbor’s shrubbery. On the way back there was a rabbit that hurried off before the dogs saw him. And Spawns of Satan, of course. They are always there. Another neighbor has a lilac bush that is just opening flowers. I tried to get a sniff of lovely lilac smell but these flowers didn’t have any. What’s the point of lilacs if they don’t smell like lilac? Same for roses, in my opinion. 🙂

    One of my friends had bees several years ago and the honey was great. Unfortunately, that winter was so cold that her bees chose to starve rather than leave the warmth of the bee ball to feed on stored honey. Other beekeepers in the area had the same problem but it discouraged her so she didn’t have bees for a few years. But she liked having them in the yard so she set up another hive this past weekend. We all hope it goes well.

    Today is sunny. It was 66ºF at 6 AM and it’s supposed to get up to 87ºF. Bleh. I won’t be doing much outside later on.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 10, 2015 at 1:03 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I guess it worked just because I not even tried to get a photo of the actual rain, just the water drops on the bushes 🙂 It must be just the right amount, not too much or too little, the tricky part is to undertsnd when it is right and I still haven’t done that 🙂
      I had to check how a cat bird look like and found some funny results on Google 🙂

      I rarely see the spawns here and we don’t have rabbits but we do have hares, I don’t like either of them 🙂

      I like the smaell of a few lilacs but if one has as much as I do I’d rather have the non smelling ones :-)But I agree, no use in having roses or lilacs if they don’t smell at all.

      I would like to have a hive or two myself but don’t have the space. I think I could have one in a corner of my garden but I’m not sure my closest neighbor with a one year old daughter would like that 🙂 My neighbor told me that could happen, that they rather starve to death than leave the little warmth they have. I guess they don’t feel hunger the same way we do 🙂 I’m holding my thumbs so all goes well with her new hive!

      Rainy on and off here but fairly warm and they say thge sun will show later this evening.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 2:31 pm

      • Caryn

        I had to google catbird. I see what you mean. 🙂
        It is the grey catbird. It has a habit of sitting up in the top of a tree and singing away.
        There is a saying attributed to Red Barber, an old-time radio baseball announcer, who used to say a batter was “sitting in the catbird seat” when he had three balls and no strikes on him. It’s made it’s way into general use here and means that someone has a big advantage. And it all started with that catbird sitting pretty up there in the very top of the tree. 🙂

        May 10, 2015 at 11:56 pm

      • Some of them were really good 🙂

        I’ve now learned that it isn’t a starling that keeps waiking me in the early morning, it is an Euroasian wryneck (Jynx torquilla). It is a woodpecker relative and quite small. I’ve only seen it when looking towards the sky and then it can be mistaken for a starling, if one actually can seethe colors it’s impossible to make that mistake 🙂

        It’s fun how a saying like that starts and then hang on 🙂

        May 11, 2015 at 4:51 am

  3. what a great saying, ” This mess I call home “, thats the best!! lol,,
    hope you have no more cat barf to clean up, not the best way to meet the day! Its cool here today, cloudy threatening rain,,,

    May 10, 2015 at 1:29 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is so true too 🙂

      I hope soo too but at least I couldn’t walk on it 🙂

      Raining on and off here today, they say however that the sun will shine later in the evening today. I’ll believe it if it happens 🙂

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 2:32 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! How nice that he woke you up to do more possible throwing up outside. We are not allowed to let our cats out in the city, we get fined if we do. So all ours just roam around inside, hoping to find an escape. 🙂 Great pictures today of the forest! And those bees! Do you get honey from your neighbor? I wish I could keep bees. We go through alot of honey for our tea, so that would be lovely! Have a good Sunday, don’t work too hard at cleaning! 🙂

    May 10, 2015 at 2:45 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I guess I should be gratefuil even if I wasn’t at that time in the morning 🙂

      We don’t have any law like that here in Sweden and the law we have about cats says that they can domore or less as they want without the owner being punished 🙂 But it is common to have indoor cats here too in cities since there are so many dangers that can hit them.

      Yes I do get honey and he just gave me a new jar a few weeks ago 🙂 So now I’m actually planning my garden so that his honey bees can get as much nectar as possible in early spring 🙂 He has also said that I can have a hive on his property so I am thinking about getting one, perhaps when his bees produce a new queen and half of the gang moves away with her 🙂

      I’ve been working really hard today, still I have lots more to do but now it actually looks like a human can live here without getting terminally sick 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 5:53 pm

  5. I den här ordningen gillade jag dina foton; Först det på rådjuret som var otroligt vackert, sen det med almbladet och därefter det med regndropparna. 🙂
    Här har det varit grått idag, så det enda vi gjort var att åka till min “hovleverantör” av sparris och köpa ett påse. Hon har med tiden blivit en väninna, så när jag ringde och kollade om det hade blivit något i förrgår så sa hon att hon skulle fixa lite åt mig tills idag. När vi kom var hon på fältet och skördade åt mig. Färskare än så kan det inte bli! 🙂 🙂 Men…egentligen får jag inte äta sparris alls, inte heller kött i någon form, färska grönsaker, bröd, ris, pasta – inget överhuvudtaget som är fiberrikt!!
    Men har man bra läkare så har man. Hon sa till mig att det var väl klart att jag skulle äta färsk sparris om jag gillade det! Det var bara att knipsa av huvudena och äta dom och så fick gubben äta stjälkarna!! Så det är vad jag ätit tillsammans med lite Hallumi, romsås, riven ost och parmesan. Perfekt!!!
    Sen har vi sett Formula One och nu ska vi titta på Nascar som jag spelade in i natt. Hela 5,5 timme!! Det gäller att sysselsätta sig nu….. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    KRAM ❤
    Susie

    May 10, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag tycker nog bäst om bilden med regnet, bara för att den faktiskt visar regndroppar 🙂 Riktigt svårt att få till nämligen.

      Ja får du inte äta fibrer är ju sparris helt fel 🙂 Minns när min Viran åt en synål med tråd, hon fick bara äta sparris i flera dagar och nål med tråd kom ut som ett pärlhalsband där alla fibrerna från sparrisen hade rullat ihop sig 🙂 Men bara knopparna är ju inte dumt heller, sparris är ju så gott 🙂

      Har inte tittat så mycket på tv idag trots regnet, här har städats må du tro. Ändå har jag otroligt mycket kvar 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 5:57 pm

  6. I did the same thing, except outside yesterday.
    I made HUGE progress and I feel so much better now that it’s done.
    (of course the backyard still looks awful.)
    and this morning I went and bought some cleaning supplies for inside.
    I had energy when I left this morning to go to the store but now….
    well, this mess isn’t going anywhere soon!
    Enjoy your day! this is my last day of Vacation. 😦

    May 10, 2015 at 7:04 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      The only thing I really need to do outside is to get rid of most stinging nettles, they won’t go away either so I have plenty of time and I really don’t like getting stinged by them either 🙂

      I have to continue with the inside next week when I have a long weekend 🙂 I simply refuse to do anythiung like cleaning on work days 🙂

      Have a great last day of vacation!
      Christer.

      May 10, 2015 at 7:13 pm

  7. Hi Christer,
    The bee keeper pictures were really interesting, and I, like you, would have been a telephoto lens away.

    Your woods always look so green on your walks. You also see deer quite often. When we used to do the wood walk,, I’d see a rabbit or two maybe, but there were usually too many people and dogs for other animals to hang around. My other dogs could be off leash and they liked dogs. Gracie runs away so always has to be on a leash and she hates other dogs. We stay clear of the favorite walking trails.

    I like 50˚ during the evening but would prefer 60˚ during the day. Today is a bit warm for me so I have windows opened, but I noticed green pollen on my car so it is getting into pine pollen season-closed window season.

    I hope you had a great evening!

    May 11, 2015 at 5:29 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes I felt that it was best to stay some distance away 🙂 but they were actually quite calm even if we can see the bees all over him in the photos 🙂

      I try to find colors even in winter time and it was easy this winter 🙂 and now when all trees get their leafs it’s like a green color explosion out there 🙂 I think it is because most deers know us by now so they don’t feel any stress when seeing us and therefore stays or walks calmly away. I do see the occasional fox but only when they run away from us 🙂 Very few hares lately though so I guess the hare plague has passed by, we humans can get that too and die too if we don’t get to hospital in time. So hares aren’t my favorite animals 🙂

      Almost 35F here today but it will only stay like this for a short time they say, well I am enjoying it as long as it stays 🙂 It looks like we’ll have a low pollen season this year, last year was almost awful so I guess they are resting this year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 11, 2015 at 6:11 pm

Leave a Reply

