It wasn’t that bad.

DSC_0051

Today I had an inventory of my sewer system, strange name for it because they already knew what I had, well more or less because it was a t-pipe in it they didn’t know if it was there or not. Please don’t ask me what a t-pipe is because I actually don’t know more than that it is looking like a T πŸ™‚ I had that but I don’t have a sludge bed (I hope that’s the right name because that’s what Google translate gave me πŸ™‚ So what to do since my sewer system isn’t up to standard.

 

DSC_0059

DSC_0063

Early morning snack πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0065

 

I knew that it wasn’t so that was no surprise and I had the papers so I could apply to change system. At first I wanted a composting toilet but there was so much paper work to do and I would have to build a special compost to take care of my residues πŸ™‚ So I changed my mind and now wants a incineration toilet (I do hope that’s its name too because that was what Google gave me πŸ™‚ ) With other words it burns it all to ashes and then I can spread the ashes around my berry bushes.

 

DSC_0066

DSC_0068

DSC_0070

No problem they said but what to do with the water from when I shower, do the dishes and the laundry. I said that since there are two cow pastures just beside my cottage and my neighbor has municipal water and sewer it shouldn’t be a problem. They didn’t think like that at all πŸ™‚ We were all in a good mood so there was no arguing, instead they told me that I could get something we call Filter box in Swedish. It is a big filter that can stand on the ground (or be dug down) outside my cottage.

 

DSC_0072

DSC_0073

DSC_0074

There are at least two different kinds and my guess is that they’ll only agree to the more expensive one πŸ™‚ It is filled with some special kind of peat and the water will then drop down through it, the water that comes out on the other side is then so clean that it can run out in the ground in my garden and my old sewer system will no longer be needed. I’ll have to change the peat every now and again and put it in a compost so I later on can use it in my garden.This will be expensive of course (sort of I’ll cry for a short while expensive πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ) but still cheaper in the long run than both making a sludge bed or having municipal water and sewer.

 

Sally decided she wanted to reach the sky yesterday.

Sally decided she wanted to reach the sky yesterday.

and how close she was :-)

and how close she was πŸ™‚

Redberried elderberry flowers. We call this bush grape elderberry because the berries hang together like grapes.

Redberried elderberry flowers. We call this bush grape elderberry because the berries hang together like grapes.

 

I can buy it in cash but then I’ll have no buffer for unexpected costs, I can buy either the toilet or the filter on credit orΒ I can go to my bank which I more or less despise πŸ™‚ well there are two persons there that I actually respect so I can talk with either of them and perhaps take a loan for it all or for one of the things. It is nice to have that buffer after all.Β I think I’ll do that last and talk to the women at the bank and see what they have to say about it all. So all in all it wasn’t that bad and even though this visit will cost a lot it was worth it because now I know what I can do, it isn’t that clear when just reading all the papers one can get πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0057

My dogs liked this day, we have been on more walks than we normally do and I was away to work for just a short while πŸ™‚ It is time to make me something to eat and then watch some tv.

I have blue Forgetmenots in my garden.

I have blue Forgetmenots in my garden.

And white and also pink but I didn't see any yesterday.

And white and also pink but I didn’t see any yesterday.

DSC_0056

DSC_0071

DSC_0076

 

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! It sounds like you are on the right track for getting it all sorted. I would love a composting or incinerating toilet, but being in the big city, there is no way that they would allow that. If we ever get out into the country, that is what I will be looking at. Its wise to keep a buffer for unexpected purchases, but still would irk me that I would have to go to the bank! πŸ™‚ Boy can Sally ever climb high – and it looks like she is not scared at all. I hope she has sharp claws to keep good balance. We are still under cloud cover, cool and windy. I wish we would get nicer temperatures, nothing will grow at this rate. It is a long weekend here this coming weekend and no surprises that the weather is like this. Its always like this for the May long weekend. The last picture of the tree looks like several hundred tiny butterflies – lovely! Have a good evening!

    May 11, 2015 at 8:05 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I hope so anyway πŸ™‚ I think they would allow an incinerating toilet since all You get is sterile ashes and You’ll also get an extra chimney on Your house to let out the humidity that otherwise would fill Your bathroom πŸ™‚ They don’t smell at all, there’s some kind of catalyst to stop that.

      Yes it is annoying to have to go to the bank but I sure do want to have that buffer so I’ll just have to bite that sour apple (a Swedish saying).

      I doubt it was her first time up there πŸ™‚ She and Salmiak jumped around like small monkeys up there without any problems πŸ™‚

      Long weekend here too, I was supposed to have a four day weekend but had to trade one day to get this day off πŸ™‚ So we’ll work on Thrusday (friday times so I’ll stop working at noon) and have the Friday off instead. We’ll get reasonable good weather but not especially warm, nights seems to stay bove 0C though.

      I do like that photo a lot πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 11, 2015 at 8:23 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I hate having to make big decisions like that. I always feel like there’s something they’re not telling me that is going to come back and bite me at the end. Sadly, experience has shown that I am generally correct in that feeling. πŸ™‚

    Today was a weird sort of day. It started out sunny and warm. The weather widget on my computer kept insisting that it was 59ΒΊF and I knew it was at least 70ΒΊF outside. I’d just come in from there. I reset the location on the widget and it said it was 57ΒΊF. Well, when I went outside it was indeed 57ΒΊF. Sometime the hour or so that I was messing with the silly widget a cold front came in and the temperature dropped. Now it’s cloudy and cold. Tomorrow is supposed to be back in the 80’s. Ah, Spring. πŸ™‚

    Sally is a beautiful cat.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 11, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Me too and I have the same feeling, I guess it won’t be long until they decide I should get some extra stuff to put after that filter box and that is most likely twicwe as expensive πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But this si what I have to go after so I can only hope for the best πŸ™‚

      Warm but rainy here, it wouldn’t have been so bad to walk after work if it had been a nice spring rain, now itwas more like a heavy shower πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 12, 2015 at 6:01 pm

  3. I think anything is alright in California as long as we don’t use water!! Grrrrr
    Pictures of the forest are always so magical!

    May 12, 2015 at 3:38 am

    • Hi Mona!

      We always hear here that the state in the US to follow is California, You have stricter environmental laws than the other states if wqe are correctly informed here. And of course the water problems, we hear a lot about that too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 12, 2015 at 6:03 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    I have a septic tank in the backyard as there is no sewage here. Nobody wants sewers emptying into the ocean. Around the septic tank is what is called a leaching field. Maybe that is what you mean. The septic supposed to be checked and emptied every 10 years. The last time mine was checked it had been 15 years, and it wasn’t even half full, but I had to have it emptied anyway by law. Now they want it checked and emptied again, and it is ten years. I will try and put it off as long as I can.

    I have an outdoor shower and the water goes into a hole underneath which is filled with rocks. The town worries about the ground water, but there is none under my property. Many people do have wells though.

    Good luck on all of this!

    Kat

    May 12, 2015 at 7:32 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      We have the same system here ( my problem is that they want me to have a large area with sand as a leaching field and I only have rocks) but they are tightning the rules now. They empty the tank once or twice every year and I always have problems filling my tank so they empty that one once a year. So it’s the same system as You have but we must empty our tank more often. An inceration toilet and this filter will make my home an almost zero nutrients leakage system and that’s a good thing but a bit expensive. Still it is cheaper than making a new leaching field (which I by the way can’t have even remotely close because of a road, two cow pastures, my garage and dog yard and a huge crab apple tree. I can make a raised bed but then I need to buy a pump and that’s always problematic).

      We can’t put it off no matter how much we try, if they set a date that’s it and if we fail to do as they wish the fines are so high it would have been better to make it to that date πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The odd thing is that the special peat ( probably expensive) is then suppoosed to be put in a compost and after that I can put that compost in the ground which is a bit odd because then I’ll add all those nutritients to the ground anyway πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ But that’s the law so who am I to complain πŸ™‚ Another rather odd thing is that they have no problems if I wash my dishes outside and just pour out the water in a flower bed πŸ™‚ Laws aren’t always logical πŸ™‚ So I guess I could shower outside in a flower bed if I so wish without any problems πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ My two closest neighbors don’t use their wells any longer so there’s no risk for them getting my dishwashing water, shower water or laundry water into their drinking water and they have never had any problems even with the sewer system I have now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 12, 2015 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

