A bit chilly in the morning.

DSC_0020

-4,4C (24F) here when we went out for our morning walk but the sun shone and the wind stayed calm so it was actually quite nice. The ground was covered in frost where the sun hadn’t reached and sparkles as if it was covered in tiny diamonds. Now it’s almost 10C (50F) and even nicer, the wind has arrived though but I hope it will stayΒ reasonable calm today.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

Serviceberry bushes are rather popular here even in no one knows how delicious the berries are. I've tried to convince my neighbor to taste the berries but I don't think he dares :-)

Serviceberry bushes are rather popular here even in no one knows how delicious the berries are. I’ve tried to convince my neighbor to taste the berries but I don’t think he dares πŸ™‚

DSC_0026

I have the kitchen door open and Nova sleep in the sunshine on the stairs while Sune sleeps just beside the stairs on the ground. The old boys prefer to stay indoors and the cats walk in and out every few minutes. I’m thinking of planting the potatoes today but I need to make sure I have something to cover them with if the frost turns up when they have started to show on the ground.

 

DSC_0027

The Portal seen from another angle. It is getting green too now.

 

DSC_0028

Every white flowering tree You can see in this photo is a cherry tree (well several in some places but they look as one big.

DSC_0029

Cherry flowers.

Cherry flowers.

The cherry trees flower here now and I can see lots of them up on the mountain, The land owner here have cut down several of the ones we had here in the forest but I could still found several when we were out walking. It looks as if he took the trees growing too close to the road, they are no problems right now but they will be when they are fully grown because tractors and cars will have problems passing. But You should see the mountain where the hospital is, the mountain side was almost totally white in big areas.

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

I drove to the super market this morning, I had planned to go to FalkΓΆping but if I had I would have had to go to several stores to get what I wanted and I would have to go later too, the super market opens at 7 am and not many people are out by that hour so we weren’t many in the store when I arrived πŸ™‚ I finally found that black tape so I can cover the plastic container and ship away that film that broke in one of my cameras πŸ™‚ I also found a plastic bucket with a lid, I was thinking of going fishing You see. I don’t want any food fish, instead I want what we call MΓΆrt (in English they are called roaches ). They are tough fish that I thought I would have in my water barrels this summer.

DSC_0039

DSC_0041

DSC_0044

and in to the forest we went.

and in to the forest we went.

They’ll manage really well there and I’ll put them back before autumn gets too cold. They’ll be fat and jolly by that time and will most likely manage our winter better than those that still lives in the creeks and lakes πŸ™‚ I would rather have some Rudor (in English Crucian carps), they are so closely related to the goldfish that they for a very long time thought that the goldfish actually was a Crucian carp. I don’t think we have any here in the creek though. We’ve now had two mild winters so we’ll get plenty of mosquitos as it is so I don’t want my water barrels to help them to become even more πŸ™‚ We also have lots and lots of ticks now.

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

DSC_0049

DSC_0050

I check the dogs several times every day now and Sune seems to be a magnet for them. But he has none below his neck, I guess it helps taking lots of baths every time we’re out walking πŸ™‚ Soon it won’t be long until all the other nasty biters arrive, well a couple of months if we’re lucky but I’m pretty sure this will be a bad year. I can only hope that these winters also helped lots of insect-eating birds to survive πŸ™‚ It’ll also be another good year for the predators, two mild winters have made lots of rodents survive too, the fox will most likely have no problems finding food for all the cubs.

 

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0053

DSC_0056

I also bought two frisbees for the dogs, the frisbees won’t last long though since especially Nova tends to chew on everything she gets into her mouth πŸ™‚ I once bought a rubber frisbee to Hector and Orvar, it lasted less than five minutes, both got a hold of it and refused to let god πŸ™‚ I honestly thought it would hold longer since it was made for dogs and to hold longer πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0058

DSC_0059

DSC_0060

DSC_0061

It is time for a pot of tea and something to eat. To day will be the last really nice day for some time they say so I intend to enjoy it to the fullest πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Lovely day you’re having there.
    I left the kitchen window open last night and this morning the house was cold and damp. I had to turn on the heat. Just checked the temperature and it was 41ΒΊF. No wonder the house was cold and damp. πŸ™‚

    Toys don’t last long with my two either. Rocky shreds soft toys and pulls out the stuffing. He eats the fuzz off tennis balls. Piki Dog prefers to chew hard toys until nothing is left of them but splinters.

    The name for serviceberry here is shadbush or Juneberry because it blooms when the shad run in June. (Shad are a type of herring which taste fine but are more prized for the roe.) I knew you could eat the berries on our shadbush but I never have. It’s been a while since I’ve seen any around anyway.
    There used to be a lot of wild cherry trees in my neighborhood. Now there is one very old tree and a few very, very young saplings. We called them bird poop cherries because the birds ate them and dropped their cherry drupe poops on the car windows. πŸ™‚ I’m not sure which kind of cherry but most probably Prunus serotina or wild black cherry. The old one is as tall as the oaks and black walnuts but doesn’t have as wide a canopy. It’s not in good condition anymore either.

    Today will be somewhere around 74ΒΊF and either sunny or cloudy depending on which weather report I’m looking at. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    May 15, 2015 at 12:46 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I knew it most likely would be cold so no windows open here πŸ™‚ But I have only two radiators going now on low temperature, just enough to keep the dampness out.

      One could think that they would understand that if they destroy a toy it won’t work playing with any more but I guess they know a new one soon will arrive to the home so what’s the use of being careful πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I always get lots of different names on these bushes so I tend to use all of them every now and again πŸ™‚ Not all have delicious berries, some have just edible ones I’ve read. Birds love them though. Lots of cherries here too and I think we have a lot of different ones since we all spit out the kernels from those we’ve bought πŸ™‚ But the really high ones are perhaps not native but has been around for long and is named Sweet cherries (P. avium) and the low ones, which are native here are called sour cherries ((Prunus cerasus) and all the hybrids them between of course. We do have Your kind too (and european relatives) but I’m not sure they are edible for humans. They either smell wonderful or cat pee πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      We won’t reach those temperatures but it’s nice enough anyway, the wind starts to blow harder though, unfortunately.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 15, 2015 at 12:58 pm

      • Caryn

        P. seratina berries are inedible off the tree but can be used in jams and pies. When the berries are all 50 to 80 feet up, the only things that can get them are birds and squirrels. πŸ™‚

        May 15, 2015 at 1:52 pm

      • I didn’t know that but I don’t care how delicious they might be if I would have to climb up that tree or a ladder to get them πŸ™‚

        May 15, 2015 at 4:15 pm

  2. those frosty photos are lovely!! What a sight!!! I have never heard of putting fish in the water barrels to eat mosquitoes, but my husband and I are sitting here both thinking ,,, ‘ Why didn’t WE think of that ” !!!!!!! Very smart!

    May 15, 2015 at 2:18 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      It is beautiful but I would have preferred not to have it πŸ™‚

      I started to put fish in the water barrels because I thought it would be like an odd pond for them πŸ™‚ Deep but narrow πŸ™‚ and since they do poop that water will also work as fertilizer πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 15, 2015 at 4:17 pm

  3. jaz

    the birds eat my service berries but each year i manage to get a handful or two. it has been gorgeous here this morning but it is about to get really hot again. at least we will be getting some rain. i need a break from watering! teddy rarely plays with toys and never chews anything. all of her toys look brand new!

    May 15, 2015 at 2:36 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It’s the same here, not enough to make something but I do understand the birds, those berries are delicious πŸ™‚

      We’ll get some rain tomorrow and I guess weΓ€’ll get some showers the coming days too, at least according to predictions but I don’t trust them πŸ™‚

      <i wish my dogs had some of Teddy in them when it comes to toys πŸ™‚ So they are mostly playing with plastic soda bottles, when flattened they work pretty well as frisbees too πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 15, 2015 at 4:19 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Great frosty photos – love them all especially the horses today! And the forest too! We have our long weekend here and it is going to start to rain tomorrow and not stop until Monday. Typical first long weekend to the start of summer for us. We sometimes get snow but I am glad that that hasn’t happened! Its windy out now, I can see the trees swaying from my office window. I am not sure if we can grow service berries here – I wonder what the zone is for them? I will have to check it out! For our dogs, Tucker has his “ducks” that he eats eventually, then he poops out the fluff. Then he destroys them. Willow tries to steal his “ducks” but she doesn’t destroy she just steals. Tor never was interested in toys, but he sure loved bones! I hope your day was just as lovely as you had hoped it would be!! πŸ™‚

    May 15, 2015 at 5:54 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      It does look nice with frosty photographs but I would have preferred not to have it πŸ™‚ The horses were hoping I was the one giving them their breakfast πŸ™‚

      We’ll get soem rain both tomorrow and on Sunday but mostly it will just stay cloudy, sunny mornings though. Long weekend here too but I’ve mowed the lawn and planted the potatoes so I don’t have any more things to do really, I can stay indoors watching dvd’s πŸ™‚

      I think Sevice berries is zone 4 plants I think but if one can manage to give it a protected place, where wind doesn’t reach it too much it might work in Your zone too. The berries are delicious, honey tasting πŸ™‚

      I wonder what it is that make dogs just tear up their toys πŸ™‚ All the dogs here loves bones too and eat them as fast as they can so none of the others get any part of them πŸ™‚

      It was a quite nice day πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 15, 2015 at 8:27 pm

  5. Christer,
    Your pictures are so beautiful bright with sun. The different shades of green on the hills give so lovely a contrast. Our cherry trees were all in bloom starting last week. My neighbor has one in her front yard, and it is beautiful.

    I took the very first tick she ever got off Gracie today. She must have gotten it in the backyard. I was patting her, felt the small bump and got it off then flushed it down. I’ll have to keep checking her now.

    Today is cloudy but still a nice day-warmer than yesterday. The forecast is maybe rain tomorrow.

    All the deck plants are in window boxes and pots. I have a few plants left so I’ll have to buy a few more clay pots as I have the space for them. These are all annuals. In the front, I plant all perennials, and I haven’t bought those yet.

    Have a great evening!

    May 15, 2015 at 8:28 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      It has been a very nice and sunny day here today, the kitchen door was open most of it and the dogs and cats could go in and out as they pleased. We are always two weeks after the village where I work so their cherry trees flowered two weeks ago, I don’t mind if we are a bit late because then I can see flowering cherries for a longer time πŸ™‚ I think there are even more apple trees up on the mountain but all trees have leafs by the time they flower so I can’t see that from here.

      WQe don’t have many tick if we have normal winters here but now there’s been an explosion of them. I love mild winters but it does give us other problems instead I’m afraid.

      Still too early to plant annuasl here unless I bring them indoors every night and that’s just too much work πŸ™‚ I’ll have tyo wait a few more weeks.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 15, 2015 at 8:36 pm

  6. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Hi Christer, it has been such a long time since I visited your blog but family matters and moving have been quite time-consuming in recent weeks. Ecen this weekend, we are away from home as we are in CT to attend a memorial service for Pat’s Aunt Anne. She died a couple of weeks ago, but scheduling and everyone’s schedules did. Ot allow for an earlier service. I enjiyed seeing the landscape photos and unbelievable that there was frost in spring. Thankfully, our cold and snowy New England is gone now. I liked the purple vetch as it’s also my favorite color😊 hopefully, I will return to regular blog,posting within a couplf of weeks.

    May 16, 2015 at 3:00 am

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I understand that it must have been time-consuming, I read about Pat’s Aunt Anne.

      Oh, we have frost in to the first week of June here so it’s no surprise but I can’t say Ilike it even if it is beautiful when the frost sparkles in the sunlight πŸ™‚

      I was surprised to see the vetch in bloom before the Lily of ther Valley but that one has tiny buds too now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 16, 2015 at 3:34 am

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    And hile that the cold temps slow down or even kill off those nasty ticks.

    May 16, 2015 at 3:02 am

    • unfortunately it doesn’t. We need deep groundfrost to help us with that.

      May 16, 2015 at 3:35 am

Leave a Reply

