A bit chilly.

A filled Yellow Wood Anemone grosing in my woodland.

A filled Yellow Wood Anemone growing in my woodland.

It feels a bit chilly outside today even though it actually is just as warm but the sun doesn’t shine. It did for a few hours just as we were turning homewards on our morning walk though. We’ll get rain later on and I really don’t mind even if it had been nicer if it hadn’t come. There are other places on this earth that needs it more to be honest πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

I'm not sure how this one spreads but it shows up in spots some distance away from the original plant. It's a name variety so seeds should not give the same kinds of leafs as the original one has and they all have them. Can't find and roots travelling away either.

I’m not sure how this one spreads but it shows up in spots some distance away from the original plant. It’s a name variety so seeds should not give the same kinds of leafs as the original one has and they all have them. Can’t find and roots travelling away either. The stinging nettle in the front is something that needs to be removed!

Soon my neighbors root cellar will be covered in flowers.

Soon my neighbors root cellar will be covered in flowers.

The birds don’t seem to mind this weather though so who am I to complain πŸ™‚ I guess the insects, of which we already have plenty, is easier to catch when it is chilly outside, they just can’t move around as fast as they can on warm days. We have lots of dung beetles around now and they are rather quickly taking care of what the dogs leave in my garden but they too get slow in this chilly weather, I like them so I hope they taste bad for the birds πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

I’ve replanted several quince seedlings this morning. Normally it is just the Japanese flowering quince that can survive in this climate but I’m trying a new species this year, the Sweet flowering quince (chaneomeles speciosa). All seeds germinated and they can be a bit tricky because they must never be treated warm if one wants them to germinate. They must be kept in cold water the first week (and of course it must be changed every day), so the best way to keep them is in the fridge. As soon as they are taken out of the fridge they must be planted and placed outdoors before they become too warm πŸ™‚ I did it all right this time πŸ™‚

 

Sometimes it looks like they are trying to kill each other :-)

Sometimes it looks like they are trying to kill each other πŸ™‚

DSC_0030

But they are having so much fun :-)

But they are having so much fun πŸ™‚

I’ve had a tiny little bush in my garden for quite some time and have just not been able to figure out what it is (thank you magpies for nicking the name tags). This year it suddenly started to flower, no big flashy flowers though, it was pure luck I saw them. It took a while but now I know it is a Cherry prinsepia (Prinsepia sinensis). I thought all those plants I had died out long ago πŸ™‚ It will get edible berries so if I am lucky I’ll get two berries this year πŸ™‚ I have plenty of other plants to replant in bigger pots too, like my pink dandelion (well it has a yellow center but is pink around it). I could of course plant them on their spots already now but I have four dogs that loves to eat dandelions πŸ™‚

Sune won this time :-)

Sune won this time πŸ™‚

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

I think it is time for a nap, we went up already at 4:20 this morning. I might have a little snack first though. I was thinking of making a rhubarb pie but then I realised I have no custard or ice cream at home so that will have to wait because I don’t want to go to any store today.

 

DSC_0038

DSC_0040

DSC_0045

 

Have a great day!

 

The European Jackdaws are family birds. First the father and a last year youngling comes to the chimney where they nest with food for the mother (and perhaps younger siblings but I'm not sure if it is too early for that yet).

The European Jackdaws are family birds. First the father and a last year youngling comes to the chimney where they nest with food for the mother (and perhaps younger siblings but I’m not sure if it is too early for that yet).

Then a few other older younglings come to give more food for the mother. No risk of any babies starving to death :-)

Then a few other older younglings come to give more food for the mother. No risk of any babies starving to death πŸ™‚

8 responses

  1. The Jackdaws look like good parents!! My gosh those are some very sharp teeth being shown in the photos of the dogs playing!! You certainly were up early,, time for a nap for sure!

    May 16, 2015 at 7:48 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I doubt there are any better parents and siblings. Just imagine how safe those new ones are when they are fed and protected by not only the parents but by older siblings too. Jackdaws are my favorite birds, too bad they aren’t more colorful πŸ™‚

      Yes lots of sharp teeth πŸ™‚ I’m glad I know they are having fun πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 16, 2015 at 8:19 pm

  2. What great pictures of the dogs at play. All your pictures were wonderful today..the birds flying over the chimney.. πŸ™‚ all of them were great!
    So..where was my cat? Does he know his owner lives in California? LOL πŸ™‚

    May 16, 2015 at 8:12 pm

    • Hi Mona!

      πŸ™‚ You must check older posts, a few days is enough and You’ll se plenty of Bertil photos πŸ™‚ and I also have a few really good ones in my National Geographic album too!

      I’m glad You like my photos πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 16, 2015 at 8:21 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Sounds like you had a productive day! This is our only nice day today, so we have been outside since about 9 this morning. Did a bit of plant shopping, some errands that had to wait till the weekend and lawn mowing. Now we are settling in, batting down the hatches as we are due about 70 mm of rain starting tonight with thunderstorms thrown in. That’s alot of rain. Then the best part…..snow tomorrow night!! I know I can’t wait 😦 Lovely photos today! Glad you found out your tree – I hope you get some nice fruit from it. I have been brushing Willow today and putting her hair on the fence and the birds have been taking it for their nests. I also was feeding the crows some raisin bread too. We have our crow we call Papa Crow who comes to our feeders to eat and see what we have left them. Have a good Sunday!!

    May 17, 2015 at 12:14 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      It started out that way but then it quickly died out πŸ™‚ I did bake a few scones but that’s it πŸ™‚

      We’ll have a rather nice morning here now but it will soon be cloudy and we’ll get some drizzle later on. No snow is predicted though πŸ™‚

      It would be fun to try berries at least once, I’ve read that they can be really tasty.

      No use in doing something like that here, the birds just refuse to use it. I really don’t know why and they could have gotten as much as they wanted if they had liked that fur. No papa crow here, they don’t like ravens and we have lots of ravens here and the ravens won’t come remotely close to humans πŸ™‚ If any of those crow birds would come here it’s the magpie and they will come even if I don’t feed them πŸ™‚ For some reason they chose this garden to have their young ones even if it lives four dogs and two cats here πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 17, 2015 at 4:30 am

  4. Hi Christer,
    It was a damp cold all day here. It was long sleeve weather. I didn’t stay out on the deck much today. There are still a few of the flowers I bought waiting to be planted, but I need new clay pots. A few broke over the winter.

    My garden center says no veggies until next week. The truck won’t be in until Wednesday in the late afternoon. It has just been too cold for planting vegetables except maybe lettuce. I still haven’t bought my perennials. Some of the ones you suggested I buy came back quickly and even taller than before. What they are I don’t know. The flowers are white and look as if they have their heads down.

    I’m going to buy perennials which bloom later in the summer, and I need taller plants for the back of the garden. I had two bushes which had gotten big transplanted out of the garden so now I have spots to fill.

    I love seeing all the pictures of your flowers.

    Have a great Sunday!!

    May 17, 2015 at 3:30 am

    • Hi Kat!

      It did get very damp here in the evening and I did think we would get fog this morning but I was wrong, it was just too warm to create fog. Yes clay pots have a tendency to break when it gets cold, the ones garantued not to freeze is nasty expensive and they can freeze if there still is soil in them because the soil expands when being wet and freeze.

      I’ve planted the potatoes but that’s it,I think the frost would kill the lettuce here but that’s one thing that really likes chilly nights otherwise.
      Could it be Fox gloves? They tend to self sow a lot so it is important not to clean away seedlings in the flower beds too good πŸ™‚ I’m sowing some perennials right now and hope they’ll survive the winter and flower next year.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 17, 2015 at 4:37 am

Leave a Reply

