Didn’t give any taste at all.

DSC_0022

We’ve had a sunny but somewhat chilly morning, it would have been rather nice if the wind for once could Β have stayed calm. The clouds are already starting to cover the sky but it seems we won’t get that predicted rain after all but we all know how accurate those predictions are πŸ™‚ The temperature won’t rise above 10C (50F) and it looks like that actually might be right.

 

DSC_0023

The first strawberry flower in the forest.

 

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

DSC_0027

Nothing much has happened here since yesterday and so far this morning nothing has happened at all. I did bake some scones yesterday and put lots of chives in them but I must admit that I was a bit disappointed because I couldn’t feel any taste what so ever from the chives, I’ll put rosemary in them the next time I’m making scones.

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0035

This will be one of those day when it isn’t nice enough to do anything outside but it’s really not bad enough to stay indoors all day either. I could of course continue to clean up my home, I still have plenty to do if I so wish. I could read one of the two books my brother sent me last week or I could watch some dvd’s, I have plenty I haven’t watched yet and plenty I would like to watch again.

DSC_0039

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

DSC_0047

I think however I’ll start with a small nap, we went up almost as early today as we did yesterday, I am a morning person but this was a bit early even for me and I can’t blame the bird any longer, it has moved away to build a nest I guess. I’ll start with a cup of coffee though before I’ll do anything else.

 

DSC_0039

DSC_0040

DSC_0041 - kopia

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

 

Have a great day!

 

In my garden right now. This is some kind of Fritillaria.

In my garden right now. This is some kind of Fritillaria.

I've never figured out what kind of violet this is.

I’ve never figured out what kind of violet this is.

Apple buds.

Apple buds.

Ranunculus amplexicaulis.

Ranunculus amplexicaulis.

DSC_0051

Lonicera caerulea var. kamtschatica. Isn't pretty and smells nothing I think but it gives edible blue berries that are quite tasty.

Lonicera caerulea var. kamtschatica. Isn’t pretty and smells nothing I think but it gives edible blue berries that are quite tasty.

10 responses

  1. jaz

    hmmmm…i wonder what happened with the scones. maybe you didn’t add enough chives? i wish we had your weather. it’s in the 80’s and humid. i love the way the dew collects on the tips of the strawberry leaves.

    May 17, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It must have been too little chives in them even if I think I did put in a lot πŸ™‚ I’ll add even more next time.

      We’ve had much more sun than predicted and just slightly warmer than predicted too so it has been a rather nice day. 80’s already now would be too much for me too.

      I do like those water drops, they were sparkling so beautiful! But it’s actually not a strawberry but a Lady’s Mantle (Alchemilla alpina). It is one of the very few that has those kinds of leafs. It mostly grows up north in the high mountains but is for some reason actually common here further south in VΓ€stergΓΆtland as the region I live in is called.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 17, 2015 at 3:18 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Chives are a delicate flavor. Well, except for the ones that grow wild in my lawn. Those have no chive flavor. They are just plain HOT! πŸ™‚ There are a few things you can do if you really want chive-y tasting scones but a couple of them require thinking ahead. You could always try using way more chives than the recipe calls for but there’s a limit how far you can go with that. Older/bigger chives might have a stronger taste. In the thinking ahead group, you could make chive butter by melting it and adding a lot of chives in and letting it cool in the fridge. Use that butter for scones along with the fresh chives the recipe wants. OR you could warm the milk and steep a bunch of chives in it until it cools and use that in the recipe.
    Or you could just put rosemary in the scones instead of all that work. πŸ™‚

    Yesterday I went to my niece’s university graduation. It was cloudy and cool. It tinkled rain now and then. The school passed out yellow rain covers. They were made of very lightweight, transparent, yellow plastic and were styled as if one had taken a plastic trash bag, cut a hole for the head and two holes for the arms and put it on. Only nicer. These had hoods. πŸ™‚ If one is very talented with folding old style road maps, one could refold it and put it back in the little case it came in. πŸ™‚ I haven’t but I might try. I hadn’t dressed for cool weather because graduations are generally bloody hot. It was nice that the plastic helped retain some body heat. πŸ™‚
    The ceremony was lovely and well organized. They said it would be 2 hours and it was 2 hours. After 115 years, this school has it down to a science. I loved seeing all the colors of the academic robes and the different odd-shaped academic hats. Many of the Masters and Baccalaureate students painted the hard flat tops of their graduation hats with decorations and sayings. Not the Doctoral candidates. Their hats are a permanent part of their Doctoral Robes so no painting with glitter or anything. It tinkled rain off and on all through the presentation and the awarding of Doctoral and Masters degrees. When it came time for Bachelors degrees to be awarded the sun came out and shone for the rest of the ceremony.

    Today is cloudy and warmish. I have nothing planned and that’s how I intend it to remain. Groceries get delivered around 5PM. I should be well rested by then. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    May 17, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I thought these would taste enough but I’ll try warming the milk next time, I will at least be successful once before I go back to rosemary again πŸ™‚

      Oooooh! Hoods too πŸ™‚ I know what kind You talking about but I’m not sure I’ve ever seen them with hoods πŸ™‚ I’m useless in folding those maps so I wouldn’t give it a try πŸ™‚

      We don’t have robes here when we graduate, not those hats either. I’m not even sure we have that kind of arrangement when they graduate from the university either, we are kind of useless when it comes to trhose things πŸ™‚ What kind of doctors are we talking about, I guess it isn’t the health care one πŸ™‚ and do they use those robes when they work too? As You see I know nothing about these things πŸ™‚ It would have been nice with a sparkling hat though, no matter what kind of doctor they are πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Our educational world is very different πŸ™‚

      Much better weather than predicted, lots of sunshine between the clouds and the wind did get a bit warmer too.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 17, 2015 at 3:28 pm

      • Caryn

        Doctor of Philosophy not medical doctor though many folks insist that the only Doctoral degree that counts is an MD. I think if you’ve put in the time, the study, the work, the research, the writing and the money ALL doctoral degrees count.
        I think our university system is based on the English and they have a lot of fancy dress. In the front of the program there’s a description of what all the colors are for. They don’t explain the funny shaped hats, though. Very medieval some of them. They only use the full academical robes for formal university occasions like Commencement. They teach in regular clothes. Some of them look quite scruffy sometimes. πŸ™‚

        May 17, 2015 at 5:10 pm

      • I agree, all counts but I have to admit that philosophy is a bit out there if You know what I mean πŸ™‚ I had philosophy in highschool and I doubt anyone actually understood anything πŸ™‚

        Still, a sparkling hat would make those Commencement’s a bit lighter spirited πŸ™‚

        May 17, 2015 at 5:39 pm

  3. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Well, I would take your weather over ours right now! We are gusting to 90 kmh with the winds. The rain is going sideways and then we are going to get ice pellets and then snow. I can’t wait! The birds are still eating all the seed at the feeder, the orioles are pecking away at the oranges I have placed and they are hanging on to them for dear life! Going down to -6 tomorrow night. I don’t think we got as much rain as they predicted, but the other weather is making up for it. I am staying inside today. We were going to BBQ our supper tonight but I don’t think that’s a good idea at the moment. I will have to come up with plan B. Lovely pictures today – the forest looks nice and calm. I am sorry you didn’t taste your chives in the scones. I hate when that happens – you look forward to baking something and then it doesn’t taste as flavorful as you wish. Have a good evening!

    May 17, 2015 at 7:36 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      So who am I to complain about our weather πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It has been hailing here though, I did think the rain sounded a bit much πŸ™‚
      I wouldn’t do and BBQ’ing either πŸ™‚
      We’ve had rather nice weather here to be honest, lots of sunshine between the clouds. At the moment we’re having this huge almost black cloud hanging over us and when hail come thunder usuallu not far away this time of year

      Things that happens πŸ™‚ I was more surprised than disappointed to be honest, I thought it would taste a lot of the chives πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I made a rosemary, oregano, basil bread today instead and there were lots of taste in that one πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 17, 2015 at 7:47 pm

  4. Christer,
    I so love the smell of rosemary. I run my hand up the stem to have the wonderful aroma on my hand.

    It was so warm here today that my friends and I were outside until close to 8:30. Even now it is warm here in the den so I suspect upstairs will need the AC for tonight as my bedroom is a third floor.

    Love the flowers and trees. You have such wonderful growing plants all over. Not much grows wild as this is a pretty settled area.

    The cherry trees are still in bloom and they are beautiful.

    Have a great Monday!

    May 18, 2015 at 3:05 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Yes rosemary smells just wonderful! I have trouble making it survive during winter in my cool cellar though and outside is just too cold.

      Our evenings are usually quite cool until late June or early July here and in the middle of August it’s cool again πŸ™‚ and not to forget the mosquitos and other biting insects to make the cool evenings even better πŸ™‚

      This is at the outskirts of the world so much nature here and sincve we by law can walk where ever we want (except inother peoples gardens of course) we have plenty of space to enjoy it too πŸ™‚

      They have just started to flower here so I guess I can enjoy them for another week or two more.

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 18, 2015 at 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

