A flavour explosion.

Most photos today are taken yesterday or a few days earlier, the clouds started to cover the sun just as we went out today.

Most photos today are taken yesterday or a few days earlier, the clouds started to cover the sun just as we went out today.

I was waken at 1:38 am this night by a desperate dog and I was way to sleepy to get what was going on and had to pay for it rather badly. Hector has a bad stomach and it took me thirty minutes to get the floor clean and toss it all out in to the compost. So I bought fish to him and Orvar today because Orvar also has a bad stomach but not that bad thank god. The smell stayed much longer though even if IΒ used chlorine to clean up the mess.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0022

Solomon's seal in the forest. Can be invasive in the garden though.

Solomon’s seal in the forest. Can be invasive in the garden though.

He did what he could though the poor dog. I wish they didn’t eat everything nasty smelling they can find when we’re out walking. So I had to stop by the grocery store on my way home to buy frozen fish. The other healthy two did also want some fish so I poured the water in which I boiled the fish over their food so I had four happy dogs after their dinner πŸ™‚ I boiled enough for tomorrow morning too of course and lost of rice. I guess I’ll have to continue with this for a while.

There is something very interesting down the slope :-)

There is something very interesting down the slope πŸ™‚

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

It is never easy to fall asleep again but eventually I did and when I woke up I wondered why my knee felt a bit odd, it turns out a tiny tick had found a nice place to drink my blood there. It was totally flat so I guess it just had bitten me when I found it. Naturally I now feel ticks all over my body πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but so far this is the only one I’ve found on me. Nasty critters! not liked by anyone, not even birds like to eat them. It seems that the ticks single purpose in the world is to spread disease and death I’m afraid.

 

In my  garden right now, Bleeding hearts. We call this one the Lieutenant's heart.

In my garden right now, Bleeding hearts. We call this one the Lieutenant’s heart.

Weeds are welcome in my garden if they are cute like this one, a Geranium (not the potted plant You English speaking call geraniums).

Weeds are welcome in my garden if they are cute like this one, a Geranium (not the potted plant You English-speaking call geraniums).

Cushion spurge (Euphorbia polychroma).

Cushion spurge (Euphorbia polychroma).

It is time for something to eat. I could cook some sausages or I could make a few sandwiches. I baked a bread yesterday, in the electric oven and was rather successful. I’Β¨m not used to bake in that one, I almost always bake in the fire heated stove so I was a bit unsure how to get it right πŸ™‚ I didn’t put chives in this one, instead I poured in rosemary, oregano and basil. It is a flavour explosion in the mouth πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0033

DSC_0034

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

Have a great day!

10 responses

  1. Hi Christer,

    So sorry about your untimely experience with Hector, causing you to lose sleep. Your wildflower photos are marvelous! I am familiar with Bleeding Heart. I believe there is a similar, white version called Dutchman’s Breeches. There is no danger of frost here now; that ended mid-May. But we have had an unusually beautiful, frost-free spring here in the eastern US. My neighbor put up a bird nest box for me in April, and birds have now built a nest in it. I wrote about it on my blog: http://barnswallowfriends.blogspot.com/2015/05/our-bluebird-nest-box-tenants-arrive.html

    Hoping you can get more sleep tonight!

    Adele

    May 18, 2015 at 7:21 pm

    • Hi Adele!

      Well as we say, shit happens πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I do hope the fish and rice helps already tonight!

      There are several species of Bleeding heart, this one is the biggest and perhaps the most beautiful one. We don’t have another name on the white one though, I usd to have it but theytend to be less long lived than the red ones.

      We’ve had plenty of frost nights here but I think tonight will be frost free, it’s very cloudy now. We can have frost way in to the first week in June, usually around the sixth.

      I took a quick look at Your blog now andthat is a truly beautiful bird! I’ll sit down and read it tomorrow, I’m just about to go to bed now πŸ™‚

      I’m holding my thumbs (as we do for luck here, crossing fingers here means we’re lying πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ ) so that we all get a good nights sleep.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 18, 2015 at 8:30 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    We call them geraniums, too. Well, those of us who bother to look things up call them geraniums. πŸ™‚

    Sorry about the stomach problems. At least you didn’t wake up at your usual time and step in it all unknowing.

    Keep an eye on that tick bite. I know you don’t have Lyme disease there yet. Probably. But there are other tick-borne diseases to watch for as well.

    I once rescued a wild dicentra-type flower. I did identify it from a wildflower book but I’ve forgotten the name. It was a very small plant. The flowers were two-tone pastel pink and greenish yellow. It was growing in a spot that was going to have a house put on it so I dug it and stuck it in my yard. I figured it would probably die but it was going to anyway. It lived and flowered for a couple of seasons but it failed to show up one spring. It was a pretty and I’ve not seen any like it since. I’ll have to find that wildflower book and check for the name.

    Today was cool and partly cloudy. The dogs had a vet appointment early this morning for shots and heart worm blood tests. Rocky was his usual well-behaved self. He ripped his blood test bandage off in 10 seconds flat. I’m proud to say that’s a personal best for him. πŸ™‚ Piki Dog shrieked loudly for each shot and still had his blood test bandage on when we got home.
    We all spent the rest of the day doing nothing and sleeping. Perfect. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the evening.

    May 19, 2015 at 2:49 am

    • Hi Caryn!

      I know the pelargonium is called geranium in English speaking countries and some people have believed that when I write geranium it is the pelargonium I mean πŸ™‚ So I tend to write that sentence every time I write about geraniums πŸ™‚ Both were once the same family but now days they are two different ones but the name geranium seems to have stuck well πŸ™‚ We actually have it on one of the pelargoniums too πŸ™‚

      Yes I will, someone must be the fist one to get lyme disease here too πŸ™‚ But I just learned that the red mark actually doesn’t have to turn up where the tick bit, it can show anywhere on the body!! Nasty disease! and then we have all the other diseases it can spread, like meningitis. Such a fun little animal πŸ™‚ But it turns out that our Moose flies is just as good in spreading those diseases!

      I actually think I know what dicentra You had (but now days genetics have shown that many of those species doesn’t belong to the dicentra family) but I can’t find the name of course πŸ™‚ I’ve wanted it in my garden for a long time. I reason the same way as You do and so did a garden friend way up north, that’s why I have so many hepatica in my garden πŸ™‚ It is strange really, the hepatia is sen as endangered here but it is still illegal to dig them up if for instance they are going to build a road on the spot they are growing!!??

      We were supposed to get rain all day here so no one is surprised that it hasn’t rained especially much at all πŸ™‚ It started again just after we came home from our walk πŸ™‚

      All the dogs here look as if they are about to die when they see those shots πŸ™‚ Only Sune whined some but forgot about it the same second it was over πŸ™‚ We don’t have heart worm in this area yet but we have it in teh country now, oh how I love that people buy smuggled dogs from countries that has all kinds of wonderful diseases.

      The stomacs where better already after the first time they had fish and rice, we’ll continue with it for a while though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 19, 2015 at 6:11 pm

      • Caryn

        The rash doesn’t have to show up at all and you can still have Lyme disease. I think something like 50% of the people who got Lyme never had the rash.
        I tried to find the pink/green dicentra in my old wildflower book but no luck. I was in the habit of making a note in the book when I found something new but apparently didn’t this time. It remains a mystery.

        May 19, 2015 at 8:42 pm

      • I’ve heard that but I didn’t know it was that many who didn’t get the rash!

        One day when You’ve forgotten all about this dicentra the name will pop up in Your head just like that πŸ™‚

        May 20, 2015 at 5:06 pm

  3. jaz

    hi christer! uh oh…i planted solomon’s seal in my garden last year and was very excited to see how well it came back this year. am i in trouble? tomorrow it will be cool here and i am going to rip out lots of perennials that are springing up where they don’t belong. at first i left them there but now they are really spreading and i don’t like the way they look. do you think i should take out the solomon’s seal? joyce

    May 19, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It depends much on what species You have, some of them behaves better. I have one in my garden too and it spreads fairly quickly. Doesn’t seem to push away any other plants though so I’ll just dig up a little of my plants. But keep an eye open just in case, I think You can wait until next year to see how fast they spred. It is beautiful plants though.

      My biggest problem here though is grass, we call it Quick root and that name says it all πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      May 19, 2015 at 6:16 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Boy am I late catching up on my emails…you’d think by the weather we had yesterday (snow) that I would have done nothing but sit by the computer. Clearly not so!! I am sorry to read about the upset tummies….that’s never fun! I hope whatever they ate is not found again. Our day today is much, much better than yesterday’s. We woke up to snow. It left by the afternoon but it still plays with your head somewhat. I took a nice walk to the library in the afternoon with my son and the wind was howling but the sun was shining. We will take it!!! We are supposed to warm up and by the end of the week be nice again. I fear for our plants but I did cover the tender ones last night, we got frost. We have had Baltimore orioles come through and they are currently loving all the oranges I am putting out for them. They are a very pretty bird. I am anxious to get out in my gardens and tonight will be the only chance I get until Friday. I have late afternoon/evening meetings tomorrow and Thursday night. Never fun but a necessity of the job! Have a good evening!

    May 19, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Their stomacs calmed down as soon as they started to eat fish and rice so we’ll continue with that for a while now. The stench stayed in the house for quite some time πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ The worst thing anyone of them ever eaten is a toad πŸ™‚ It doesn’t smell and it doesn’t give an upset stomach but my god how he (Hector) started to slobber πŸ™‚ We had to go to the vet so they could give him a shot so it stopped and the first thing he did when we came home was to chew on that dead toad again πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I think I would have been depressed if I had seen snow in the morning now πŸ™‚ No frost for a few nights now but it has been cloudy every night. We have no birds like the Oriol, none of ours would like oranges I’m afraid. I’ve see it in photos and it is very beautiful.

      It is raing here at the moment so I’ll just stay indoors and look out through the windows πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 19, 2015 at 6:22 pm

Leave a Reply

