Rice and fish do the trick.

DSC_0022

It is amazing how great dog stomachs respond to fish and rice, we had a calm night and they were ok already this morning. That however doesn’t mean they are ok yet so we’ll continue with this for a few days until we switch to boiled minced beef and then slowly add their normal food. Sune and Nova wants boiled fish too so I pour the hot water over their food and that seems to be enough for them πŸ™‚

 

The ditch where the beavers like to hang out.

The ditch where the beavers like to hang out.

I've never seen this deep blue violets in the wild before.

I’ve never seen this deep blue violets in the wild before.

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

We were supposed to have rain all day here today and it sure looked that way when I drove to work this morning. But is anyone of You surprised if I say that it almost didn’t rain at all and now we even have sunshine πŸ™‚ It did rain some just after we came back from our walk though, it almost got wet on the ground but only almost. I’ve gotten my first mosquito bite now and the little devil must be somewhere here in my cottage. I also killed my first mosquito for the season when we were out walking by the bog today.

 

The rest of the photos show flowers in my garden right now.

The rest of the photos show flowers in my garden right now.

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

I would like some rhubarb pie now but I’m just too lazy to go outside to bring in any rhubarbs, I actually have everything else here in my kitchen πŸ™‚ I would also want to have some ice cream and I’m thinking I should try to make some this friday. I have all the ingredients for that too. The only problem is that I don’t know what kind of flavour I want on it πŸ™‚ Cinnamon or cardamom, would that taste nice in ice cream? Rowan jam, it has a bitter-sweet taste to it so I wonder if that would be yummy πŸ™‚ Well I have until Friday to decide πŸ™‚

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0036

The flowers on the apple trees open up now.

The flowers on the apple trees open up now.

It is time to make something to eat and perhaps I should make myself a cup of cocoa. I know it isn’t cocoa season but why not πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

14 responses

  1. jaz

    i’ll have to try fish and rice with teddy. she has allergies which give her the runs. i usually give her rice and chicken but maybe fish would be better. i just made a blueberry/rhubarb pie this morning and sent it to work with my son. it disappeared faster than any pie i have ever made. we had lots of rain yesterday which made me happy when i didn’t have to water today!

    May 19, 2015 at 7:59 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      It was my vet that said I should try fish since it is so stomach friendly and my dogs just love fish so it works perfect. They do love chicken too but it doesn’t take much time to boil fish compared to chicken πŸ™‚

      That sounds like a delicious combination! Must try that so I need to write down a list of what I need to buy for tomorrow πŸ™‚

      I’m happy we didn’t get that much rain, some gravel roads here are so full of water it’s impossible to walk on them.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 19, 2015 at 8:39 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Glad to hear things are settling with their stomachs! Nothing worse than that! I remember one year 2/3 of our dogs go into the compost (before it actually turned composted) and boy oh boy, that was not fun. Expensive trips to the vet and lots and lots of rice with mince. πŸ™‚ We are sunny and not terribly warm today, but I went out for my lunch time walk and its quite pleasant out. No rain in sight thankfully! πŸ™‚ Great pictures today I especially like the one of the thick forest! I hope you decide which to put in your ice cream – it would be hard for me to decide because I like both cinnamon and cardamom! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!!!!

    May 19, 2015 at 8:02 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      I was surprised over how fast they got better πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I have dog proof composts here πŸ™‚ My old dogs used to run around to my neighbors composts and eat what ever they could before I caught them πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It was much warmer outside than I thought it would be today but I was outside for only a short while. Sometimes when the weather is good it’s hard to go inside again πŸ™‚

      Yes what would life be without cardamom and cinnamon πŸ™‚ I can of course make more ice cream so I can have both πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 19, 2015 at 8:43 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Glad that the rice and fish seems to have done the trick.

    I’ve had cinnamon ice cream and it was good. Ginger ice cream is excellent, too. Cardamom is kind of lemony and lemon ice cream is good so cardamom should be as well. I’ve had lavender ice cream, rosemary ice-cream and green tea ice cream. All good.
    I’m pretty sure if you put enough sugar and cream in it and get it nice and frozen, it will taste just fine. πŸ™‚

    I’ve decided that my yellow flower is a celandine of some kind. Even if it doesn’t have orange sticky sap, it has all the other characteristics. It might not be Great Celandine though.

    I was going to do more with today but somehow it slipped by without my doing much more than taking the dogs for a walk and feeding them and myself. I spent a whole lot of time transferring a bunch of photos from iPhoto to a memory stick where I keep them on file. Somehow I had forgotten to move most of the photos from May over to the memory stick when I downloaded from my camera. Very unusual of me to forget but it could happen. When I was about halfway through this exercise, I noticed an odd file on the memory stick. I opened it and there were all the photos I had forgotten to move. I had made a new file for May and put it in the wrong place.

    Today is drippy, dank, dark and cool. It was raining lightly the last time we went outside.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 19, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I am too πŸ™‚

      I’ve never connected cardamom as lemony, I’ve always felt ginger is lemony πŸ™‚ How different we can feel taste πŸ™‚ and cinnamon is alΓΆways a right choice :-)But You are right, enough sugar and cream and anything will tsate fine πŸ™‚

      I’m almost 100% sure that it is the Celandine poppy even if the petals look a bit thin. The leafs look just as they should though, flowers can change shape depending on frost and other things. I must get seeds to that one again because I like it a lot and it’s close relative S. lasiocarpum.

      πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ that is so typical πŸ™‚ But at least nowYou know You have those photos saved πŸ™‚ I get so tired when I do things like that and no one to blame but myself πŸ™‚

      A thunderstorm just passed by here but we were at the edge of it so we only got the rain, at least so far. I hope it calms down soon so we can take a walk before I go to bed.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 20, 2015 at 5:17 pm

      • Caryn

        I found the name of the pink/green bleeding heart that isn’t a dicentra. Pale corydalis or Corydalis sempervirens. It was noted in my wildflower book.
        And some of those yellow flowers that are probably celandine do have orange sticky sap. Some don’t though. I checked a few and now I have orange stained fingernails. πŸ™‚

        May 20, 2015 at 8:24 pm

      • πŸ™‚ that is a nice Corydalis but I think that is one of the ones that now days doesn’t belong to the corydalis, they’ve changed lots of names since they started checking them genetically. It just mess things up and suddenly nobody knows any name any longer πŸ™‚

        It could be both Celadine poppy and the other one, they like the same surroundings if I remember right πŸ™‚

        May 21, 2015 at 5:49 pm

  4. Christer,
    Your flowers are perfectly lovely. There are so many different colors.

    Gracie often has a stomach issue. She eats grass, and that seems to calm her stomach and she feels better quickly. When we go to the car, she stops to bite a few blades of the beach grass in my yard just because it is there.

    I’m seeing buds on the flowers in my garden so I’ll keep watch. Tomorrow I’ll buy a few more perennials and some more herbs.

    I hope you enjoyed your cocoa!

    May 20, 2015 at 2:18 am

    • Hi Kat!

      I do like my flowers and especially those flowering early, too bad I just loathe to plant bulbs πŸ™‚

      Grass wouldn’t do the trick this time. Hector did eat grass and got up what he needed but the stomach was still really bad. Now it’s fine again so I’ll keep on feeding them fish until Friday when I start with minced beef.

      Tell me what kind of perennials You bought!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 20, 2015 at 5:21 pm

  5. Hi Christer.
    Beautiful, beautiful pictures. I still dream of living in a place like that and sitting out on steps and watching the wild life.. Nothing but trains, planes and automobiles here, and sometimes when the planes come in for a landing I can see the sunglasses on their faces, they are THAT low. We are in the flight pattern when it’s windy and it’s always windy! How nice it must be to live in an area like that.

    May 21, 2015 at 10:27 am

    • Hi Mona!

      I love watching trains πŸ™‚ but going with them even more πŸ™‚

      But I have to admit that it woud be terribel to live so close to the planes, so You actually can see the people πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 21, 2015 at 5:50 pm

  6. Caryn

    You are correct, Christer. Pale corydalis is now Capnoides sempervirens and is the only species in its genus. I wonder if it’s lonely. πŸ™‚

    May 21, 2015 at 7:56 pm

    • It’s impossible to know anything about plants any longer πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t be surprised if it soon has a big family again πŸ™‚

      May 21, 2015 at 8:15 pm

Leave a Reply

