Another one.

Before the thunder arrived.

Before the thunder arrived.

I had another tick on me this morning, I didn’t know it until I scratched myself on my back at work. The residues of it was tiny and flat so I guess it hadn’t been there for long. I think it’s the cats that bring them indoors because I go through the dogs thoroughly every day but the cats come and goe as they wish without me doing much. I need to go to the pharmacy to buy those anti tick drops for them.

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

Salmiak sitting in the middle of the road.

Salmiak sitting in the middle of the road.

Today is sunny, bright and fairly warm (it is colder than normal though. I’m not surprised since the entire winter and early spring was much warmer than usual so why should we get a nice spring πŸ™‚ ) but yesterday was rainy with thunder storms passing by. I arrived home just in time to bring the dogs into the cottage when one storm passed by, as soon as it has passed we went out and had just arrived to the bog when the next one came closer rapidly.

 

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0029

We did get a few seconds of sunshine in between though and most photos today comes from those few seconds yesterday πŸ™‚ The first thing I did after work today however was to spray both the dogs and me with anti tick spray. It is made from herbs and lemon I guess and at first the smell is kind of nice but it is awful after a few minutes πŸ™‚ It works rather well though, as long as the dog doesn’t take a bath in a muddy creek that is πŸ™‚ Sune did at least not dive down into it today so he smells like mud on his stomach and legs but this anti tick spray on the rest of his body πŸ™‚

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

The Eurovision Song Contest is this week and the first semi final was on Tuesday. I can’t say I was impressed by any song. Today is the second semi final and our song will compete for a place in the big finale. They have very strict rules to how long the song is allowed to be, 3 minutes, so there is a special sound to this music that doesn’t exist outside the Eurovision. There are so many countries that wants to participate that they need to have semi finals πŸ™‚ I think there is 26 songs in the big finale on Saturday. Five countries don’t need to go through the semi finals because they pay so much to the European broadcasting system (or what it might be called) and this year we have Australia in the competition too πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

The water kept on dripping long after the raining had stopped.

 

DSC_0039

The Australians are invited to participateΒ because the Eurovision has its 60th? birthday this year and the Eurovision contest is extremely popular in Australia. I can’t say I like our song especially much but it was still way much better than the other crap that participated in our competition πŸ™‚ It is however the big favourite and most Europeans believe it will win the entire thing. Russia is also popular so if the Russians don’t invade another country before Saturday it might win too. One never knows about the Russians though, if the country is small and with a weak army they might invade it and risk not winning the Eurovision even if they take this competition even more seriously than us Swedes πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

 

DSC_0046

DSC_0047

It is time for something to eat and then I think I’ll read a book, I might listen to the semi finale for a while before I go to bed though.

 

 

DSC_0048

 

Have a great day!

16 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I like that photo right before the rainbow one. It looks like a tiny fairy forest. πŸ™‚

    It is supposed to be a heavy tick year after our very bad winter. I haven’t seen any on my dogs or me, thankfully. The dogs get poisoned monthly with some kind of organic stuff. I say poisoned because the way these things work is by being absorbed into the dog’s body and poisoning the bloodsucking ticks when they feed.
    Piki Dog’s fecal exam came up positive for hook worms and coccydia. Both he and Rocky are now on medication and can’t be around other dogs until they get a clear test result in a couple of weeks. Of course, they had both been boarded overnight at doggy day care the Saturday before their tests so I had to call and inform the staff. Piki Dog loves to eat rabbit and cat poo which is possibly how he acquired his little friends. He’s wearing a basket muzzle from now on. No more poop treats for him. He hates it. So sad. πŸ™‚

    Today is mostly cloudy and a little cool. There’s probably rain somewhere in the forecast but it might not get to us.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 21, 2015 at 7:51 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Who knows, it might be πŸ™‚ It’s a fallen tree with lots of moss and now nature is taking it back. Fairies in our folk lore is quite nasty beings, they tend to give children dealy diseases and ecen grown ups can be stricken by them.

      It’s usually a good year if the winter is really cold and it’s best if the ground frost goes deep because that kills loads of ticks. We’ve had two mild winters so we are expecting lots of those nasty critters now and the beginning of thi syear has shown the our expectations were right, too bad!

      I do hope the heart woms we have here in this country stays where it is! hookworm isn’t especially common here thankfully, but roundworms and tapeworms are common and now we have the wonderful little small fox tapeworm who doesn’t bother the dog but kill humans. So much easier to buy a dog smuggled into the country bringing lots of fun diseases than to buy one of those already in the country that needs a new home.

      Poor Piki, no more poop treats πŸ™‚ I would have to have something covering the nose of all my four ones, can’t be a single hole in it because theyt would find a way to eat that poop anyway πŸ™‚

      They are changing the weather predictions here all the time now. Tomorrow should be sunny but now thgey’ve changed it to cloudy but then again the rainy and cloudy Saturday now seems to be warm and sunny instead πŸ™‚ No rain predicted soI guess we’ll have heavy showers from tonight and all weekend πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 21, 2015 at 8:13 pm

      • Caryn

        The winter was cold but the snow cover was very deep which insulates the little buggers very nicely. The best weather for dealing death to ticks and fleas is a winter with little or no snow cover and very cold temperatures for many days.

        Piki Dog has tried to scoop poop through the muzzle but he can’t. It extends out a bit beyond his mouth and has an extra security gate at the nose end. The holes in the gate are offset to the holes in the muzzle so no poop treats can get by. I’ve watched the poor guy pushing it down onto a poop and scraping it sideways across in hopes of securing his prize. All to no avail so far. He looks so sad when he can’t get it to work.

        May 21, 2015 at 9:12 pm

      • We usually get heavy frost before the snow fall here so lots of ticks freeze to death but last winter and the one before was mild and with almost no ground frost at all so now there are millions of them just waiting to bite us.

        Does he look like an aggressive dog with that muzzle πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think that I would be reported to the police if I put a muzzle on any of my dogs πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ especially since everyone here know they are harmless πŸ™‚ but I do like that they can’t get to the poop!

        May 22, 2015 at 2:08 pm

  2. I’m so glad the fish and rice worked, we have given our dogs rice and hamburger , never thought of rice and fish!
    We have been watching a show called The Voice, its similar to yours maybe, in a way,, all singing, its over now the winner was chosen, its mostly American TV for us, we are so close to the American border and to be honest there are very few Canadian shows, and even fewer good ones,
    I hope this is not an epic tick year!! Horrible things!

    May 21, 2015 at 8:09 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      Beef is the next step here so I’ll buy lots of minced beef on my way home tomorrow.

      We had The Voice here for a while but it never got especially popular, it is still Idol that is big here.

      I’m afraid that we’re having an epic tick year here now. So we better keep away from high grass and bushes, not easy πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 21, 2015 at 8:19 pm

  3. Dianna

    HI Christer! I just LOVE it when the sky turns that angry color right before a storm! I get so happy I get goosebumps! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ We have been having warnings about the pending doom of mosquitoes that are coming by next week. With all the water we had over the weekend its a prime time for the buggers to bloom. I hate them with a passion not to mention the dis-ease they carry. You can’t sit out at night without being eaten alive. I don’t like putting the spray on because its bad chemicals, so I sit inside until we get another frost – September! 😦 Oh well, it could be worse. Love the picture of Salmiak in the middle of the road and the rainbow!! So lovely! Have a good evening!

    May 21, 2015 at 8:22 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      The colors get so vibrant when the dark thunderclouds are in the background! I do like a good thunder storm too πŸ™‚

      I’m hoping for a draught now so all the puddles and ponds here dry out so the mosquitos have no where to lay their eggs and that the larvae from the other biting insects die in the bog. I really don’t care about the birds and that they eat those flies when it comes to biting insects πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      It is usually rather chilly here at nights so very few sit outside anyway, if we do we usually have thick sweaters so the mosquitos have very little space to bit on πŸ™‚ But then again, it is light here for almost 19 hours when summer is at its best so we do have time to stay outside anyway πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 22, 2015 at 2:01 pm

  4. WOW!
    I LOVE every photo! The colors are so rich and I do love a good storm (as long as I’m safe inside).
    I’m tired of singing competitions. It seems like there are so many on TV. It’s like they are on every channel! Although I did read somewhere that this is the final season for American Idol. Even though I don’t watch it, it surprised me to read that.

    May 21, 2015 at 9:02 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      The dark thunderclouds really bring out the best in those colors! and I do love a good thunder storm too πŸ™‚

      I never watch any of the other contests so it is quite fun. It was better before when fewer countries participated because then we got the really bad ones in the finale and got many good laughs πŸ™‚

      I thought our Idol was goiung to die too but it got a revival I’m afraid πŸ™‚ The winners never make it anyway and are soon forgotten. It is the ones coming fifth or worse that make it strangely enough πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 22, 2015 at 2:05 pm

  5. Christer,
    The post storm pictures are beautiful, filled with light and everything is just so green.

    Gracie got her first ever tick last week. I was patting her and found it. The tick was really small and started moving then I grabbed and flushed it. I keep checking her now. One tick makes for huge paranoia.

    Gracie happily is a healthy dog so I haven’t had to give her a chicken and rice diet. It worked well on Maggie, Gracie’s predecessor.

    I wish it would either rain or clear. This nothing day is not among my favorites.

    Have a great evening!

    May 21, 2015 at 9:13 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      The colors get so vibrant when those dark thunderclouds are behind them!
      Β¨
      I wish I could say these ticks were the first ones we’ve gotten too πŸ™‚ I can of course buy those drops for my dogs but Orvar and Hector can’t take them, they react really bad to them. Sune would wash it away since he always swims in the creeks and Nova rarely get any anyway πŸ™‚ So I buy this organic non poisonous spray and it works rather well. My entire body itched when I found those two ticks on me!

      The old ones get more sensitive by the year it seems so I boil rice almost every day even if they might not need it at the moment πŸ™‚

      Today is a gloomy and windy day here, tomorrow will be better they say.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 22, 2015 at 2:13 pm

  6. jaz

    hi christer1 i love the scary sky photos. but then, i love storms! i really am not a fan of any of those kinds of shows. not sure why. i guess i think most of the contestants sound pretty much the same. we are really nice and cool here and i am loving it! joyce

    May 21, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      I love how vibrant the colors get when those dark thunderclouds are in the background.

      You are so right, they all sound much the same and we have all heard the same songs before even if they all are new πŸ™‚ Some countries, like Finland this year can send something very different but those songs rarely reach the big final I’m afraid.

      Sort of half warm here now πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 22, 2015 at 2:15 pm

  7. Beatrice P. Boyd

    Hi Christer, glad the weather improved as when I saw the first photos it was ominous, but still beautiful. I like the way the sky turns darker and everything is much more dramatically highlighted.

    May 22, 2015 at 11:13 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Those dark clouds really bring out the other colors! The sky looked much worse than it was though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 23, 2015 at 4:34 am

Leave a Reply

