Could it be genetically?

Oak leafs.

Oak leafs.

Sune just can’t stay still right now, I’ve just boiled some beef for the older guys and the smell drives Sune slightly insane πŸ™‚ He won’t get any beef himself but I will pour the water the beef was in over his food so it’ll taste aΒ bit like beef πŸ™‚ The others don’t seem to care about the smell though, they just lay on the floor sleeping.

 

Grey and dull today but nature is so full of colors now that it didn't matter.

Grey and dull today but nature is so full of colors now that it didn’t matter.

DSC_0023

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

It is a cloudy and windy day here, perfect for mowing the lawn but I just don’t have the energy. The sun will show tomorrow so I’ll wait until then. I think however that I will go outside to pick some rhubarbs and then make a pie. I was going to buy blueberries on my way home but on my way to the vegetableΒ section something caught my attention and the blueberries vanished from my mind πŸ™‚ Well a common rhubarb pie isn’t that bad either even if I would have liked to try that combination but there are still a long time until the rhubarb season is over.

 

DSC_0027

DSC_0028

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

Our song is now in the semi final in the Eurovision Song Contest. It is the huge favorite amongst the Europeans they’ve asked but that doesn’t mean it will win. The big finale is tomorrow night and the biggest opponents are Italy, Russia and Australia they say. My personal favorite is Montenegro, I tend to like Balkan ballads and have always done even before I learned that I’m a quarter Serb πŸ™‚ I wonder if taste can be a genetic thing? My all time Eurovision favorite is actually a Serbian ballad they competed with 2004 called Lane mojeΒ (click on the names in red and a new window will open with that song on YouTube.

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

DSC_0039

And yes all songs sound more or less the same every year πŸ™‚ It is hard to do much when You only have three minutes to fit in a song πŸ™‚ It is time to give the dogs their dinner and the cats of course. I’ll have to wait until they have eaten and been outside for a while. I better get out and pick those rhubarbs too while I still remember it πŸ™‚ I think I’ll have some cardamom in the pie too or perhaps cinnamon? No ice cream though, I’ll make that tomorrow. I’ll have custard to the pie πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. jaz

    well, you almost got a bluebarb pie! but as you said, you have a long rhubarb season.

    May 22, 2015 at 3:42 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      So close but still so far away πŸ™‚ Instead I got a aronibarb pie πŸ™‚ I mixed in some aronia berries together with the rhunΒ΄barbs and to my extremely big surprised it turned out fantasticly well. Aronia berries are very bitter so I was worried they would perhaps make the pie too less sweet but it was almost the opposite πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 22, 2015 at 5:20 pm

  2. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I’ve never heard of aronia berries but aronibarb pie sounds interesting. I might have called it rhubaronia pie. πŸ™‚

    Sune sounds like Piki Dog. Piki Dog can’t stand still if there is a possibility of any kind of food on the horizon. He jumps and runs around. When I do show up with his dish he dances on his hind legs and waves his front legs around frantically. Rocky just looks at him like he’s an idiot. πŸ™‚

    I’m not sure if taste is genetic. I love Japanese art, music and food. I’m a mix of several ethnic groups but Japanese isn’t one of them. Not even close. πŸ™‚

    Last night must have gotten cold because my heat went on at 4 AM. Today is sunny and mild. A lovely day. I didn’t do much with it except walk the dogs.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 22, 2015 at 9:10 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      The Aronia is actually a North American bush, also called Black chokeberry. Full of anti oxidants and vitamines. It’s really not a tasty berry before it has been hit by frost and after that it’s barely edible πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ but I have to say it worked with the rhubarbs!

      Yes they do behave much the same πŸ™‚ and Sune can’t be quiet either πŸ™‚ mostly it’s charming but some days it’s just driving me insane πŸ™‚

      Perhaps You should do a genetic test and see if there isn’t the tiniest bit japanese in You πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I was thinking a lot about something I read the other day about cellular memories and if that actually could exist and then I started to think about if genetic could actuallky sort of controll taste and then my mind wandered off to other subjects πŸ™‚ but I do wonder what it is in our heads that make us like some things and dislike other things?

      It has stayed few degrees above 32F here for a few nights now, not long until we should be safe from frost at nights again, June sixth should be that last night wiith risk of it.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 23, 2015 at 4:31 am

  3. Beatrice P. Boyd

    I too have never heard of the aronia berries and glad it worked out well in yiur pie, Christer. I much prefer blueberries in pie and also apple. I have had strawberry-rhubarb pie but it’s not a favorite as it requires a lot of sugar.

    May 22, 2015 at 11:09 pm

    • Hi Beatrice!

      They are also called Black chokeberries and it’s actually a north American bush.

      I have very little sugar in any kind of pie. Not even a tablespoon of it in an entire pie, the custard or ice cream will have totake care of any sourness in the pie. Rhubarb is my favorite pie closely followed by apple and peach pie πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 23, 2015 at 4:33 am

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Boy I am late today!!!! πŸ™‚ I am sure you are probably just getting up or close to it. πŸ™‚ I am sure its the smells that drive all animals crazy. When I am cooking, I always have our two dogs at my feet and one or two cats sitting on our window ledge just enjoying the air! πŸ™‚ It could very well be genetic I am sure! Our rhubarb is just about ready to harvest – the leaves are still a bit curled so not quite yet. By next weekend I am sure I will be stewing rhubarb to have with our yogurt. I love rhubarb stewed! πŸ™‚ My brother built me a veg trug and delivered it last night. I know what I will be doing this weekend! Getting soil and then its time to plant! I am happy. Nothing better I like that gardening. Well, its in my top 5 anyway. I love your pictures today – everything is really growing now!! πŸ™‚ Well, I guess I will wait until our morning to see Saturday’s post from you. Its just about 9:30 p.m. and I am heading to my nest shortly. Happy Saturday!

    May 23, 2015 at 3:20 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      I still slept for two hours after You wrote here πŸ™‚

      The other dogs show nothing but Sune just can’t sit still or be quiet πŸ™‚ The cats only eat one brand of cat food and only two varieties of it as well so they really don’t care if I cook anything on the stove πŸ™‚

      I had been thinking about an article I read about cellular memories and if that actually exists and then my mind started to wander away πŸ™‚ I do wonder what make us like some things and not other things though. What is it in our brains that decide what we like or not?

      I took my rhubarbs a bit early to be honest, so they were a bit weak in the taste.

      So the veg trug has arrived! We haven’t had night frost here for a few days now but it is still too risky to plant anything outside unless I can cover it all during nights. I will however sow some squash seeds and pumpkin seeds this weekend and keep them indoors during nights until we’ve passed June sixth πŸ™‚ I’va had a garden center so I guess You understand that I like gardening too πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 23, 2015 at 4:44 am

Leave a Reply

