So we won the whole shebang.

DSC_0021

So we won the whole shebang yesterday in the Eurovision Song Contest 🙂  yesterday evening. Of course I’m happy but to be honest, my favorite was the Australian song and I know it’s very popular here since they got the maximum twelve points from us and they also gave us their twelve points 🙂 It seems that Australians have loved Swedish music since Abba won it all 1974. It looked like Russia would win for a very long time but suddenly a few countries didn’t give them a single point but gave us plenty so we passed and won with lots more points. (here’s a link to our song on You tube: Heroes) This year also China showed the show live, that means the show had a potential one billion viewers! I guess we’ll know how many it really was in a day or two.

 

DSC_0025

DSC_0026

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

 

It feels a bit ironic that the Russian songs always are about love and world peace when Russia itself doesn’t have any problems invading a neighbor country. But the Russian artist sure could sing and the song wasn’t that bad. I don’t think the quality of the competing songs have been this good in years. I did have some trouble understanding why the Italian song was so popular though, three young men looking and sounding much the same as Il Divo but with a song that was a bit old-fashioned. They sure could sing great though.

DSC_0030

DSC_0032

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

According to weather predictions yesterday today was supposed to be cloudy and grey, they’ve changed that to sunny and fairly warm instead this morning 🙂 still a bit windy though but since I’m going to mow the last part of the grass, the grass outside my garden, I won’t mind. Lots of flies around already but just the slightly irritating kinds so some wind will just be nice. I started to clean out the wood shed from old blankets and rags I’ve had in the dog house so they would have something warm and nice to sleep on if they so wished. They rarely wish that by the looks of it, it is amazing how many small pieces they can make from a small blanket 🙂

 

DSC_0036

Flowering spruce.

Flowering spruce.

DSC_0040

Squirrel berries (Maianthemum bifolium)  soon to open up its buds.

Squirrel berries (Maianthemum bifolium) soon to open up its buds.

After I’ve cleaned the wood shed I started in the garage. I had filled the trash bin though so I just took the worst in the garage and now have three big sacks of trash that I’ll put in the bin as soon as they’ve emptied it on Friday morning. Lots more in there though, Nova and Sune have done their best to spread things around and tear it all up in small pieces 🙂 I’ll do the laundry too today and after that I must take a nap because I didn’t go to sleep until 1:30 am and woke up as always just after 5 am 🙂

One of my favorite birds, the House sparrow. Can't sing especially well, have no colors to speak of but is usually unafraid and some even fly to pick food from our hands.

One of my favorite birds, the House sparrow. Can’t sing especially well, have no colors to speak of but is usually unafraid and some even fly to pick food from our hands.

A pink Spanish bluebell in my garden right now.

A pink Spanish bluebell in my garden right now.

This predator bird passed us yestyerday on our walk.

This predator bird passed us yesterday on our walk.

It is some kind of Buzzard. Either Common Buzzard or Honey Buzzard.

It is some kind of Buzzard. Either Common Buzzard or Honey Buzzard.

It is time for a pot of coffee and after that I’ll better get started.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Gorgeous photos!

    May 24, 2015 at 10:25 am

    • Hi Adele!

      Thank You 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 24, 2015 at 10:54 am

  2. jaz

    wow..that spruce is awesome. i saw that sweden won!

    May 24, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      They do look cool when flowering the spruces, all look like that now.

      I looked at some American web papers and all had an article about it 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 24, 2015 at 5:01 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Congratulations on Sweden winning again.

    The spruce is beautiful. They don’t turn that color here as far as I know. Ours get yellowy green.

    Lovely shot of the English Sparrow. I have to admit that I feel about them the way you feel about lilacs and for the same reason. 🙂 There are too damn many of them.

    Great shot of the buzzard. Whenever I see the word buzzard I always think of vultures not hawks or other birds of prey. Too many western movies with the line “the buzzards are circling” I guess.

    Today is sunny and hot as they said it would be. 84ºF. There’s a good breeze, too, but I don’t know if it’s a cooling one or one of those breezes from the open oven door. 🙂 I haven’t been outside since this morning. The dogs need another walk though so I’ll find out.

    Enjoy the day.

    May 24, 2015 at 7:47 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Thank You, it was an exiting vote last night 🙂

      I remember first time I saw one of the red ones on the ground, I thought I might have found a new species of spruce 🙂 🙂 I think the red one is the female flower that later turns into the cone.

      I guess I like them even more sib´nce there are so few of them here and they keep on getting fewer. They say it’s because the farmers are so effective here now that almost noo seeds fall on the ground during harvesting and the sparrows beed those desperately to survive here in teh countryside.

      I remember the first time I wrote that birds name in one of my previous blogs and the americans who read it back then were all surprside that we had vultures up here 🙂 🙂 It took me some time until I understood why they said so 🙂 I do like that photo too! I have another bird I’ll show tomorrow.

      No where near those temperatures here but it has been a really nice day with sunshine and weak winds. I have almost not been indoors all day 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 24, 2015 at 7:58 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer!! Your news made it all the way over to us in the middle of the Canadian prairies! Congratulations! Today went by so fast and I was so busy that I wish I had an extra day to just sit. I got the trug planted and bought all the flowers for my pots. I will plant those tomorrow. I planted two different kinds of pumpkins – one called Jack Be Little and the other is a warty goblin. I can’t wait!!! 🙂 I look forward to Halloween all year long! It was hot again here today, but they predict Tuesday will hit 30 or above. Strange for May. And to think just last week at this time we were snowing. I have never seen a flowering spruce tree! I have seen them with pine cones but never flowers! I have been feeding the crows – they are soaking what I have been giving them in the bird bath. Mama Crow must be on her nest if they are going that. I love your pictures today – the forest ones are fantastic! Love the predator bird! 🙂

    May 25, 2015 at 3:02 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      Big news it seems 🙂 But I’m actually more surprsed that it ended up in the US newspapers! Canada still have more connections to Europe than the USA so I’m not that surprised it even reached You on the Canadian prarie 🙂

      I’ve actually seen Jack the little pumpkin seeds for sale here too! I guess Halloween helps to make people grow their own pumpkins here too 🙂 🙂 But Halloween is still small here but seems to grow in popularity rapidly. We need anyexcuse to celebrate here when winters getting longer and darker 🙂

      It seems it will be cooler here again, just above 10C the coming days. It would be nice if we too could get some summer warmth now but not close to 30 🙂 🙂

      Too many ravens here for crows to like this neighborhood and the Jackdaws keep away now and I really don’t wqant to feed the magpies, they are annoying as it is anyway 🙂 I like them anyway though 🙂

      That buzzard is beautiful!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 25, 2015 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

