Pre-summer doesn’t want to start.

I didn't take many photographs today, so most of them was taken yesterday. I did however photograph this male Shrike today.

I didn’t take many photographs today, so most of them was taken yesterday. I did however photograph this male Shrike today.

Another nice day here, fairly warm and weak winds but the pre-summer (as we say when spring is over but summer not really has started) warmth hasn’t arrived and won’t for at least a week or so. tomorrow will stop at just above 10C (50F) if predictions are right. I guess we expect more now when the winter was so nice and mild. The only thing we got from that was lots of ticks and possibly a nasty fly and mosquito year 🙂

 

Lots of pollen from the pines but still less than last year.

Lots of pollen from the pines but still less than last year.

DSC_0024

DSC_0025

Yesterday was so nice that I decided to sow some seeds in my big box outside my kitchen. I decided to sow three rows, one with carrots (several colors on them so I hope I got a good mix with orange, red and white ones), One row with red onions because it’s smart to sow both onions and carrots together because the onion smell will confuse the carrot fly and the carrot smell will confuse the onion fly 🙂 Well that is what we all hope every year anyway. I also sowed one row with broccoli.

 

The Cuckoo is hard to see and even harder to photograph, they are usually very shy. It looks like a small falcon when it flies around.

The Cuckoo is hard to see and even harder to photograph, they are usually very shy. It looks like a small falcon when it flies around.

DSC_0031

DSC_0033

I’ll sow more broccoli later on in my vegetable garden but I’m afraid the ground still is too cold for those seeds, the box keep a much higher temperature and that’s what’s soo good with raised gardens. Later on I’ll sow broad beans in the vegetable garden. I also sowed some pumpkin seeds and squash seeds but those will have to stay in my kitchen until after June sixth which usually is the last night with frost here.

 

DSC_0020

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

Now You might wonder what happened to that ice cream I was going to do? Well it happened 🙂 The thing I bought isn’t really an ice cream machine to be honest, I still have to mix everything together and the bowls must be kept in the freezer at -18C (0,5F) so what I really bought is a slow going electric whisk 🙂 the cold bowl freeze the ice cream batter and the whisk turns around the batter so everything gets frozen. The first one I made was with gooseberry jam and some cardamom and it was rather nice but I used too much jam so the taste got too strong.

 

DSC_0027

Rosa glauca in my garden.

Rosa glauca in my garden.

DSC_0044

The second one was a big success though, rowanberry jam and cinnamon! It turned out just perfect! But I don’t like whipped cream and I’m not sure if I did something wrong (I should perhaps heated up the batter a day before I was going to make the ice cream? but this recipe didn’t say anything bout heating it up) but the cream sort of stuck in my mouth as a thin layer, I almost had to use the toothbrush to get rid of it. I need to find a recipe that doesn’t have especially much cream in it or even better none at all. So despite that it was a really nice thing to do!

 

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0042

It is time to make something to eat, today I think I’ll grill some Wiener sausages and put them in hotdog breads 🙂

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I used to have something that sounds a bit like your ice cream maker. It was called a Donvier and consisted of an external container, a lid with a hole in the top through which the shaft of a paddle passed up and connected to a turning handle. There was also a special bowl with some kind of liquid in it that had to be put in the freezer a day ahead of time. It went inside the the external container. I poured my mixture into that and put the lid and paddle thing on and gave it one turn every 5 minutes for about 20 minutes. I didn’t have to use cream. In fact most of the time, I tore open a packet of flavored cocoa mix, mixed it with milk or water and turned it into ice cream (except no cream). 🙂 I used it a lot until it broke.

    Today is Memorial Day holiday here. It’s cloudy and 78ºF but it probably isn’t going to rain on anyone’s parade or back yard barbecue.
    For some reason the dogs and I are just too tired to do much. We started the day very late and we’ve continued to do nothing but nap and laze around. Perfect for a holiday, I think. 🙂

    Enjoy your ice cream and the rest of the day.

    May 25, 2015 at 6:52 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      They sound very much alike but I don’t have to put the special bowl in any other container though and this one is electric so the paddle thing turns until I stop it or the heat fuce stops it. No problem with the heat fuce stopping it, it does so before it gets over heated if there would be a risk of over heating. It’s supposed to turn from five to ten minutes depending on the batter.

      I just followed the recipes that came with this thing but I’ll check on the net and it does sound delicious with just milk anf cocoa 🙂

      I realised it was since almost all American blogs I’ve visited today said it was 🙂 We don’t have anything like that here since we haven’t been to war since Napolen fell 🙂

      I was like that at work today. I sat on a chair painting when they stopped the production for a few minutes and then I fell asleep 🙂 I woke up in time but had great difficulties to open up my eyes 🙂
      It does sound like a prefect holiday 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 25, 2015 at 8:12 pm

  2. Dianna

    Hi Christer! I can send you some of our heat! We are at another 30 degree day here today. Too hot for May, very strange. Great snap of the cuckoo bird! I have never seen one except in my bird book. Lovely color! Your ice cream recipes sound really good! I have never had rowanberry and we have them here, but we are told not to eat them, that they are poisonous. Unless we are talking about 2 very different berries!?!? I am off in a bit to get the rest of my flowers into their respective places. Then watch it will snow. That would be my luck! 🙂 Have a good evening (or day as its likely very close to midnight there!) 🙂

    May 25, 2015 at 10:17 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Yes please, could it be here by the weekend? 🙂

      I do like how the cuckoo look, especially when it flies and looks like a small falcon 🙂

      I know the Rowan is called Mountain Ash in the US. I’ve never heard that any of the Rowans have poisonous berries but they are all really sour (two nights with frost make them just sour 🙂 ) The one I pick berries from is the Sorbus aucuparia but several can be used to make jam or gel. I also have one species in my garden that gives big fruits that look much like small pears or apples (Sorbus domestica) we call that one Apple Rowan or Pear Rowan. Mine is still too small to give any fruit though.

      That’s why I’m very careful not planting anything outside, I really don’t want snow 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 26, 2015 at 6:12 pm

  3. Christer,
    I love sausages of all types for a dinner. I fry some peppers and onions and eat the whole thing in a roll. It is usually my first movie night dinner as it is easy to cook on the grill. We have Chinese sausages which tastes like Chinese spare ribs.

    I bought the rest of my flowers and herbs today. There weren’t many vegetables left so I have to try a couple of other places tomorrow. I could only get tomatoes.

    The whole day was a nice one!

    Have a great day tomorrow.

    May 26, 2015 at 2:41 am

    • Hi Kat!

      They are easy to cook and anything goes with them to be honest. I like to buy thin bread and make thin bread rolls with lots of yummy things in them besides the sausage 🙂

      I took a chance with my vegetables but I think the risk of frost will be over by the time those seeds show any life. I already have plenty tomato plants flowering by my kitchen windows 🙂 Good luck in Your vegetable hunting!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 26, 2015 at 6:15 pm

  4. Eftersom jag varit inaktiv på bloggen över 14 dagar, men nu äntligen hämtat mig så pass efter operationen att jag kan öppna min dator, så ska jag bara passa på att säga att jag är riktigt glad över att lite “modern” musik vann (och jodå den australiska var också bra).
    Men som jag sa under röstningen att vinner den ryska, då ska jag aldrig mer titta på på tävlingen! Måns gillar jag, Måns låt gillar jag och sen älskar jag – till skillnad mot många andra – hans “outfit”. Det var vad jag kallar STIL, en del andra kreationer var ju hemska!!
    KRAM
    Susie

    May 27, 2015 at 4:32 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Jag har undrat så hur du mår! Förstår ju när du skriver att du först nu orkar öppna datorn att det varit tufft!

      Ja hellre Måns än italienarna! Ryskan kunde ju i och för sig sjunga men en andra plats för henne var nog tycker jag.

      Jag förstår inte varför de klagade på hans kläder, tror nog han har klädsmak nog för att veta hur det skall se ut. Nu börjar den stora fajten om var finalen skall gå 🙂 Tycker själv Stockholm skall ha den, där finns de riktigt stora arenorna. Göteborg kan få den svenska finalen istället.

      Ta vara på dig!

      Christer.

      May 27, 2015 at 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

