If it isn’t the rain it is the wind.

DSC_0021

 

The laundry is done and is now hanging to dry on the patio, the lawn is mowed (at least the parts in my garden, the rest outside I can take another day) so now I’ve done everything I felt I had to do before the work week starts again. We won’t get any rain today, according to predictions but instead we have a slightly insane wind so it was actually quite perfect to mow the lawn today. Most grass had dried up after all the rain that fell yesterday and the wind made it just enough cool so it still felt rather nice mowing.

 

This is one way to connect farming equipment :-)

This is one way to connect farming equipment 🙂

DSC_0025

Greater Celandine.

Greater Celandine.

DSC_0027

We even have some sunshine today, the sun manages to peek through the gaps between the clouds every now and again and since the wind blows from the right direction I can have the kitchen door open if it isn’t cloudy for too long, because if it is it gets a bit too cold indoors. I really should vacuum and scrub the floors too today but the dust won’t go away by itself so I feel I don’t have to stress to get rid of it before it eventually would have walked away by itself 🙂

 

DSC_0029

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

I sowed squash and pumpkin seeds a few days ago and now it looks as if all seeds have germinated. I would like to take them out already now but the coming week is the last one we usually get frost at night. So I keep them indoors until June seventh and hope that the frost stays away as it should but this year has been odd weather-wise. The warmest winter in ages and the coldest May in years. So who knows what will happen for the rest of the year 🙂

 

It's a good thing I took some photos when we were out walking yesterday afternoon, because I only took the ones above this morning.

It’s a good thing I took some photos when we were out walking yesterday afternoon, because I only took the ones above this morning.

DSC_0024

We had sunshine for around half an hour yesterday, just as we went out for a walk.

 

DSC_0025

The first Buttercups this year.

The first Buttercups this year.

I made some ice cream yesterday, I used pre made custard 🙂 Yes I know, custard is the easiest thing to do but i haven’t been i the mood to cook anything this last week. The ice cream turned out perfect! so I’ll do that today too, I still have half of it left in the package 🙂 Perhaps I should put some Aronia berries in the mixer and turn them down into the custard too? After all they worked great in the pie so why not in the custard ice cream. I better heat them up some first though, I think the heating of them actually make them edible which they aren’t as uncooked 🙂 🙂 Tart is a kind word to describe them as to be honest 🙂

 

DSC_0028

DSC_0030

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

But I’ll have something to eat first, then a short nap and after that we’ll take a walk before I make the dinner I’ll have at work next week.

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0038

 

Have a great day!

12 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    Cool moss. 🙂

    What with one thing and another I didn’t get around to mowing that back patch of grass yesterday. It rained overnight and will continue to be cool and rainy for the next few days. I might need a scythe by the time it dries out agains. 😦

    Something annoyed a skunk in the neighborhood last night or early this morning. I woke up to the smell of skunk spray wafting faintly but pungently on the morning breeze. Whew.

    Did you find the badger sett?

    Enjoy the day.

    May 31, 2015 at 12:14 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like moss and we have all kinds of it here 🙂

      I’m quite handy with a scythe since we usually had to use one at our summer cottage when I grew up 🙂 It’s even better than a lawn mower if one get the technique right, usually one doesn’t 🙂

      I’m very happy we don’t have skunks here 🙂 They are cute though 🙂 Yes I did find the badger sett and took a few photos of it today. No badgers out while I was close though. My neighbor had met one of this year’s babies two evenings ago, it crawled on one of his feet 🙂 None of the older minded though 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 31, 2015 at 1:26 pm

  2. jaz

    you don’t have skunks in sweden? does this mean you have never smelled a skunk? i wish i had never smelled a skunk! i am hoping for rain today but so far it keeps going north of us. they are supposed to start painting my houses tomorrow so that pretty much guarantees the rainy season will start!

    May 31, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Thankfully they’ve never been allowed as pets or had had a fur anyone wanted as a coat so no skunks 🙂 But I have an idea to how skunks smell since many relatives to it has a bad odor too.

      Yes if they’ll start painting tomorrow You will get rain and lots of it 🙂 🙂 So I hope You get some today and when they are finished. We’ll get plenty of rain this week I’m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      May 31, 2015 at 3:10 pm

      • Caryn

        If the skunk smell is very fresh and very close, your mucous membranes will be so irritated that you won’t care what it smells like. There’s a sulphuric component along with an ammonia component and it’s magnified to massive levels. If a terrier goes to ground on a skunk and gets sprayed in the burrow, the terrier often dies.
        Often times coffee that’s being brewed will smell a bit like skunk. Beer can smell skunky too. Old skunk smell can be kind of pleasant in a weird sort of way. 🙂 I can’t explain that. It just is.

        May 31, 2015 at 11:13 pm

      • I must say I’m glad I’ve never smelled one 🙂

        But badger pee smells just like newly brewed coffee, from a distance. Close up it smells awful 🙂 I can’t say that badger pee smells anything like beer though 🙂
        Smells can be odd like that, the nasty smelling things evaporates quickly and the left overs don’t need to smell that bad.

        June 1, 2015 at 5:59 pm

  3. Believe me, you are lucky to not have any skunks around. The smell can be very overwhelming…and they can carry rabies as well.

    Beautiful flowers as usual!

    May 31, 2015 at 5:08 pm

    • Hi Jim!

      I found Your comment in the trash bin and when I approved it I just couldn’t find it again 🙂

      Yes I think I’m lucky, I know that all my dogs sooner or later would be sprayed by a skunk 🙂 🙂 🙂
      We seems to have the raccoon now instead and we fear it might spread rabies here too, something we haven’t had since early 1800 here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 5, 2015 at 6:58 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We have an insane wind today too. Temperature wise it was much better than yesterday, but the wind is still cool and its been blowing nonstop since morning. It made for working outside pleasant though, so I got a bit of yard work done. Still managed to get a bit of sun color today tho. The sun is strong, even when the wind blows. I can’t believe how quick the weekend went – just busy from start to finish and no rest in between. I was hoping that things would have grown in leaps and bounds in my veg trug but no joy there. They are just growing slowly I guess 🙂 I hope your Monday is decent!

    June 1, 2015 at 1:45 am

    • Hi Dianna!

      It is still blowing hard here and I’ve heard it will be even worse tomorrow. But it has been a bit warmer than predicted, not much but some 🙂

      That’s the only time I like the wind, when it makes it easier to work or blows away all the flies 🙂

      Only five more days until the frost risk is over and I can bring out my plants 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 1, 2015 at 6:02 pm

  5. Det verkar vara “varannandagsväder” nu för tiden. Ena dagen blåst och grått – eller t.o.m. regn, nästa dag strålande sol och blåst. Och i båda alternativen är det isande kallt på grund av vinden. 😦
    Just nu är det 13,5 och hemsk vind, så jag lär inte komma ut på altanen och sitta där och njuta ännu på ett par dagar. Det var det jag såg fram mot när jag låg på sjukan….. 😦 😦 Men man kan ju inte få allt….
    Igår när det var strålande sol så tog gubben mig på en rundtur i bilen så jag skulle få se nått annat än dator, TV och säng – vilket var mycket trevligt och jag piggnade faktiskt till ordentligt. 🙂 Jag köpte t.o.m. en sommarblomma, en kruka med blandade hängverbenor i aprikos, rött och vitt. Mycket läcker! 🙂 🙂 NU gäller det bara att få Rolle att plantera den åt mig…och det är inte lätt! *fniss*
    KRAM
    Susie

    June 1, 2015 at 6:22 am

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Just nu hae´r vi väldigt mixat väder, vind hela tiden men växlande mellan solsken och regn. Det är ovanligt kallt nu, här är det ungefär en grad kallare i dygnsmedeltemperatur än normalt.

      Skönt att det hjälpte med rundturen, du behöver allt positivt du kan nu när behandlingen sätter igång.

      Konstigt, jag sålde mängder med verbenor av olika slag men har aldrig haft några själv 🙂 Måste nog skaffa det en dag 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

      June 1, 2015 at 6:07 pm

Leave a Reply

