Not the nicest of weathers.

Dandelions are really beautiful and if they hadn't spread so enormously they would most likely have been popular in the flower beds.

Dandelions are really beautiful and if they hadn’t spread so enormously they would most likely have been popular in the flower beds. It looks a lot like a Gerbera to be honest.

I told my neighbor yesterday that it is so nice now when summer has arrived because now we don’t need to wear a sweater under the winter jacket, it’s enough with a t-shirt πŸ™‚ I guess that sums up what kind of weather we’re having here and will continue to have for the rest of the week it seems. But on June sixth the last night with risk of frost will come and after that I don’t care, all plants indoors will be tossed out no matter what πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0021

DSC_0023

DSC_0027

DSC_0029

But it was actually warmer than they had predicted this morning, 11C (51,8F) and that is what we’ll have as warmest tomorrow the entire day. I knew we would have to pay for having another warm and nice winter πŸ™‚ There are some good things with this cold weather though, the mosquitoes are still rather calm and all the rest of the insects stays in the trees and bushes most of the time which makes it easier for the birds to catch them. But the most important thing is that there’s no risk of over heating while mowing the lawn πŸ™‚ I still need at least a thick sweater while mowing and it still feels rather cold πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0031

DSC_0032

Home sweet home.

Home sweet home.

DSC_0036

I went down into the cow pasture yesterday to see if I could find the badger set, or at least the entrance too it. No problems at all actually. It’s placed perfect for the badgers but not as perfect for me when I’ll go down some late evening to get some photos if possible. The two holes are easy to find but just beneath them is a ditch or perhaps it is an old creek that they have dug out. The ground water pours out of the ground further up the cow pasture and this is its natural way to flow. Anyhow, the badgers must take a turn as soon as they go outside the set and walk up on the field on the other side of the creek, making it impossible for me to see them from where I’ll stand in front of the entrance.

 

DSC_0037

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

DSC_0043

My neighbor had been walking in that field a few days ago when suddenly a badger baby came crawling up on his foot πŸ™‚ The parents to it didn’t seem to mind at all so he said hello to the little one and walked away πŸ™‚ The dogs and I met one yesterday afternoon too but an older one and it didn’t seem especially happy to meet us at all, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a badger run away so fast. It was even quicker than the one Sune jumped up on two years ago πŸ™‚ That poor badger did everything it could just to get away while I tried to keep Nova away because she thought Sune was being attacked when it actually was the other way round. Well Sune was only 10 weeks old by the time and had no idea what a badger was πŸ™‚

 

There's two entance holes to entrance holes to the badger' set, this is the big one.

There’s two entrance holes to entrance holes to the badger’ set, this is the big one.

The smaller one and just below igoes the creek.

The smaller one and just below goes the creek.

I did wonder what kind of bird the Great tits were angry at.

I did wonder what kind of bird the Great tits were angry at.

It was the male Shrike. I wonder if it robs other nests?

It was the male Shrike. I wonder if it robs other nests?

It is time to make something to eat and then perhaps watch the news or what ever they might show on the Knowledge channel.

Have a great day!

8 responses

  1. Dianna

    Hi Christer! We are due rain for the next 4 days straight. Well, that’s according to the predictions. Who really knows. If it does rain that much, my veg trug will be happy! I won’t be, but its going to save money on watering! πŸ™‚ Those are mighty big badger holes! I hope no one steps in them mistakenly and gets a broken leg. Badgers are incredibly mean aren’t they? I would hope the dogs would know not to mess with them!! πŸ™‚ Not long now before you can set every plant out – and hope for the best! πŸ™‚ Those horses are just beautiful and something sure did catch their attention! Your cottage is so very lovely and so secluded! I wish I lived somewhere like that! Have a good evening!

    June 1, 2015 at 7:33 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Thankfully I can water as much as I please since I have my own well πŸ™‚ No need to water though and by the looks of it there won’t be any need the coming two weeks πŸ™‚

      European badgers are very kind and it’s possible to stand beside them without any problems. One of my cats always fled in to a badgres sett every time I was going home from my cottage I rented long ago, so she stayed there all summer and only followed me home when autumn came πŸ™‚ The badgers had no problems what so ever to have her there. They aren’t too happy about dogs but always run away so they don’t have to meet. But if one corners them they can be truly nasty and bite very hard. Badgers were until just reasently allowed to have as pets just because they are so friendly (but it was allowed mostly because hunters wanted to train their dogs hunting them. There were no risk for the badger though, there was a safety net between the dogs and the badger but it must have been very stressful for the badger anyway).

      No risk of anyone falling down there, it’s even impossible to know there is a badger sett if one doesn’t stand on the other side of the creek.

      It was the owner walking in to the paddock and I guess they were hoping they would get some treats πŸ™‚

      I actually have a cottage just to the left of this photo and the farm next door is just one hundred meters away too πŸ™‚ But I love it here!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 1, 2015 at 8:21 pm

  2. Christer,
    Today is a damp to the bones cold day. I can’t seem to get my hands and feet warm. I am wearing a sweatshirt as the house is colder than outside. because I had windows open all night. It rained but for only a little today. They predicted lots of rain, but it didn’t happen.

    I haven’t ever seen a badger. They aren’t found in this part of the country; instead we get the really ugly opossums. Gracie too would chase one. She grabs any poor creature who gets into the yard. The one animal she had second thoughts about was that skunk which sprayed her face.

    Have a great evening!

    June 1, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      Yesterday was warm and nice compared to today πŸ™‚ I guess they never predict the weather right when it is something we want πŸ™‚ So I better hope for rain and storms because that is what they are predicting here πŸ™‚ I can’t stand those days when it is impossible to get warm no matter what one does!

      The European badger is quite nice but I’ve read and heard that Yours isn’t. Most of the myths about how evil ours are comes from hunters and I too would be rather aggressive if someone tossed an angry dachshund into my home to get me out from it πŸ™‚ No opossums here but I know how they look and yes they are ugly but in a cute way πŸ™‚

      So there is actually one smell dogs don’t like πŸ™‚ It’s usually the worse the better otherwise πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 2, 2015 at 5:13 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    It’s a nasty day here. Cold with bouts of wind and rain. I think it never got out of the 40’s F. I put the heat on this morning because it was so cold and damp inside (and outside, too). It came on again a couple of hours ago. Very chilly day. The dogs were not happy about going outside in the rain.
    This cold front came in with a bang yesterday afternoon. Big thunderstorms and wind and flash flood alerts blaring out of everyone’s cell phones. Another intrusive new sound to get used to; weather alerts on everyone’s cell phone. A friend and I were driving back from visiting another friend and there was a strange, faint beeping noise coming from somewhere. She thought it was the car. I thought it was my cell phone. It turned out to be the weather alert alarm on her cell phone. It was so faint because it had fallen down inside the car door pocket and gotten covered up with stuff. I think weather alerts will become the new car theft alarm. Heard by everyone and ignored by all. πŸ™‚

    It’s looks sunny in your photos. It almost makes me feel warmer to look at them. We need the rain but the cold is not necessary.

    Enjoy the day.

    June 1, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      Sounds likethe weather we’re having right now! But we did reach 50F today, at least for a short while πŸ™‚

      My phone company sometimes send out those alerts but usually when it is all over again πŸ™‚ I can get crazy about sounds I hear but don’t know where they come from πŸ™‚ I never hear my phone though πŸ™‚ I hear everyones else but not mine πŸ™‚

      We neither need rain nor the cold now but they have once again predicted slightly warmer weather for at least Friday and Saturday, i won’t believe it until it happens πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 2, 2015 at 5:18 pm

  4. Hi Christer,
    Our weather is still more like April showers here in Cheshire uk.Torrential rain in the night.One of my clemetis has opened its flowers and is being battered by strong winds today.The tree blossom is everywhere like wedding confetti,it looks prettier on the treesπŸ˜•
    Love your photos.It is awesome to see Badgers.I got a glimpse of one ,a brown and white stripped one on its way back to its set one early morning after I’d taken my husband to work…A lovely surprise. Hope you are having a good Tuesday.

    June 2, 2015 at 12:55 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      I always know what kind of weather You had a day ago becuse it reaches us then πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ So if You have bad weather today we’ll get it tomorrow πŸ™‚ It is April weather here too and I guess it’s a price we have to pay after having that wonderful, warm winter πŸ™‚

      It is fun with badgers because the one living in the Uk behaves slightly different to the ones living here and on the continent, Yours are more social than ours! I see them quite often here since they don’t hunt them in this area. I feel very lucky that way! It’s the same with the foxes πŸ™‚ But they can be almost impossible to take a good photo of, they keep their heads down looking for snails and worms so most parts of them is hidden in the grass πŸ™‚ They are creatures of habit so You will most likely get a chanse to see it again if Yiou drive there at the same time another morning.

      Weather wise this is not a good day but otherwise it is πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 2, 2015 at 5:25 pm

Leave a Reply

