So much repotting to do.

First the dandelions color the fields yellow and then they color them white.

First the dandelions color the fields yellow and then they color them white.

Until early this morning the predictions said sunny after 2 pm and the rest of the day, now it says cloudy most of the time with rain and perhaps some sunshine after 4 pm but it is rather warm in the winds that keep on getting stronger the longer the days passes by. The winds won’t be nearly as bad as they had predicted thoughΒ according to the new predictions πŸ™‚ I’ll stay at home anyway so it really doesn’t matter how wrong they all are but it would have been nice to sit on the kitchen stairs with a cup of coffee in my hand. The every now and again showers from the sky stops that though.

 

DSC_0022

DSC_0023

This doe jumped up from the high grass just as we passed her.

This doe jumped up from the high grass just as we passed her.

and as You can see she was in no hurry to get away, she didn't even flash the white in the back :-) It's a good thing we know almost all of them who lives close to the cottage :-)

and as You can see she was in no hurry to get away, she didn’t even flash the white in the back πŸ™‚ It’s a good thing we know almost all of them who lives close to the cottage πŸ™‚

We were up and about early today, just after four am and I thought it would be nice to take a walk by the fields and we did that until I realised the castle has cut off the road by connecting two cow pastures again. That would have been no problems if I had walked alone I’ll just keep the cows away while I passed through that part of the pasture but with three dogs afraid of cows and electric fences that’s more or less impossible. Cows have been known to kill dogs if they have calves and dogs passes through, leashed, with their owners. So we had to walk back when we had come half the way.

 

Another one passed acroos the road down at the Portal.

Another one passed across the road down at the Portal.

Lily of the Valley.

Lily of the Valley.

DSC_0032

I do like cows but not when they make it impossible to pass with my dogs. They'll most likely stay around for a few weeks until they've eaten all the grass.

I do like cows but not when they make it impossible to pass with my dogs. They’ll most likely stay around for a few weeks until they’ve eaten all the grass.

I have moved out most pots with seedlings this morning and I have replanted most of the tomato plants I had indoors too. I don’t have enough with big pots though, doΒ You remember what I did earlier this spring? I put all the grass turfs I got when I made the vegetable patch bigger in the big pots and the old wheel barrow, covered them with ground carpet so I could use that to the squash and pumpkin plants later on. There is no big pot left after that πŸ™‚ I haven’t checked my potting shed (well it’s actually the old outdoor toilet πŸ™‚ ) I might have one or two bigger pots there that I can use. I could of course, if I’m really lazy, just open up the soil sack and plant the tomato plants I have left straight in to them instead πŸ™‚

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0035

DSC_0036

DSC_0037

I still need to replant a few passion fruit vines that I have here indoors, they’ll be placed outdoors as soon as the summer see it fit to arrive properly, the risk of night frost should be over after tonight though but according to predictions which none of us really believe there’s no risk of that tonight so I might actually do that already today. The potatoes I’ve planted are showing in the vegetable patch now and some broccoli seeds have germinated as well so it is time to sow the broad beans too now. Still no signs of either carrots or red onions though.

Orvar peed the Paradise apple tree to death so now I've planted a clematis beside the dead tree so it can climb it up and cover it. I've also put down pee protection sticks so Orvar and Sune will aim at those instead :-)

Teodor waited at home, he wanted to go inside to get some food.

DSC_0020 - kopia

Orvar peed the Paradise apple tree to death so now I’ve planted a clematis beside the dead tree so it can climb it up and cover it. I’ve also put down pee protection sticks so Orvar and Sune will aim at those instead πŸ™‚

The Aronia bush might give tart berries but it is very beautiful when in bloom.

The Aronia bush might give tart berries but it is very beautiful when in bloom.

Paeonia vetchii.

Paeonia vetchii.

 

I better get out and check if I have any bigger pots in the old outdoor toilet and start to replant those passion fruit vines, after that we’ll take another walk I think. I have a few more photos in my National Geographic album if You would like to see them. Here’s a link:Β National Geographic.Β  A new window will pop up if You click on the red text.

 

My tree peony has lots of big buds now. They will most likely open up when the wind and rain will destroy them as fastest :-)

My tree peony has lots of big buds now. They will most likely open up when the wind and rain will destroy them as fastest πŸ™‚

My Balck Walnut! Finally it shows leafs but it isn't the last one to do so though.

My Balck Walnut! Finally it shows leafs but it isn’t the last one to do so though.

DSC_0028

Hundkex or Dog bisquits as it would be in English.

 

This spider just don't get the term camoflague :-)

This spider just don’t get the term camoflague πŸ™‚

Have a great day!

18 responses

  1. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love the orange flowers in the cement whatever it is. πŸ™‚
    The doe looks a bit put out at having to move from her comfy spot.

    Your photos look like you’re having a similar day to mine but it isn’t raining here. Yet. It’s not supposed to be cloudy or rainy here today but one never knows.

    I checked out your photos on NatGeo. That’s what I see all over the place with the house sparrows. There are dozens of them nesting around here. Everyday I see both parents surrounded by birds as big as they are which are begging and cheeping and fluttering wings for food. The poor parents. It is like a bird fight though.
    I can’t favorite any of the photos because NatGeo isn’t letting me into my account. I am rather peeved with them at the moment because they are not answering email queries either. I’ve tried resetting my password but the reset screen doesn’t transmit. It doesn’t even start to transmit and then freeze. It acts like the Send button is not active. Oh, but I can sign in with Facebook, if I want, which I don’t. Sigh.

    My back is hurting today. I found the lost knitting needle yesterday so it’s not lodged next to my spine like the woman you told me about. How do people do those things? I mean I know how you can sit on a knitting needle but how do you not get it removed? My knitting needles are expensive little stillettos so they’re coming out. I need them to knit with. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 6, 2015 at 12:57 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      It’s pansies and I like that orange color on them too.

      Yeah, she wasn’t too happy about it πŸ™‚ I think she would have prefeered to sleep a bit longer πŸ™‚

      I think we had sunshine for around ten minutes a few hours back but it is still one hour until the predicted sunshine is supposed to show up πŸ™‚ not so much rain so far though, a few showers.

      Yes I thought they were fighting and perhaps they did because it seems four parents where there to feed their younglings πŸ™‚ I’m so glad I have a few of them nesting here.
      I had to login again today, something I usually never has to do. Normally they show a sign long after the problem is solved that says we might have some problems with the albums πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I wouldn’t sign in via facebook either, why should I have to? They make a lot of money on this so they really should be better on making it work better.

      I’ve always wondered that too! After all she just can’t forget something like that after a day or so πŸ™‚ I’m glad You don’t have it beside Your spine too πŸ™‚ Perhaps she thought she had too many of them anyway πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 6, 2015 at 2:08 pm

      • Caryn

        To a knitter there can be no such condition as too many knitting needles. Unthinkable!. πŸ™‚

        I have a nasty suspicion that signing in with Facebook would make my current NatGeo profile and photos disappear into the ozone or something equally irreversible.

        June 7, 2015 at 3:30 pm

      • πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        That wouldn’t srprise me at all if that happened πŸ™‚

        June 7, 2015 at 6:23 pm

  2. jaz

    that dandelion field looks like my yard! we have had hardly any rain but i guarantee that the moment my peonies open, the rain will come!

    June 6, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      No one of us living here bothers to try to get rid of dandelions in our gardens πŸ™‚ The leafs are after all green just like the lawn πŸ™‚

      That’s usually the reality but it looks like I’ll get several flowers open tomorrow and I hope the predictions are right and that we won’t get any rain or that the winds don’t change directions too much πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 6, 2015 at 6:06 pm

  3. Beautiful scenery around your place. Never a shortage of things to photograph.

    June 6, 2015 at 4:52 pm

    • Hi Jim!

      I must admit that it is very beautiful here especially now in spring when the different green colors shine like neon lights and all the mushrooms in the autumn comes.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 6, 2015 at 6:07 pm

  4. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Its pouring here at the moment, we are waiting for storms that “they” say are coming. Its a good soaking rain so I am happy I do not have to water. I have put out my watering can to catch the rain too. Might as well take advantage of Mother Nature’s generosity πŸ™‚ So far today I have made jello and done laundry. That’s about it! πŸ™‚ I will go out to the main flower garden tomorrow after the rain has nicely loosened the soil so I can dig up the sea holly that has made an appearance everywhere. I hate when that happens!! Back breaking work….. Have you ever checked out Pinterest to get potting/gardening ideas? They have tons of ideas and good tips. I am on it constantly! πŸ™‚ Have a good evening!

    June 6, 2015 at 5:37 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Sunshine here at the moment and the wind is really strong but less strong than they first predicted, I hope it stays that way!
      I have two 200 liter barrels that catch rain for me πŸ™‚ and I have two more that I can use for rainwater if I so wish. Still that wouldn’t last long if we actually had a draught here πŸ™‚

      Sand soil here so it is always easy to dig πŸ™‚ but I let the plants grow where they like it themselves so I let the sea hollys I get by self sowing stay where they are. My flowerbeds aren’t arranged as You can understand :-)I sowed a new one this spring and they’l be ready to be planted somewhere in a week or two.

      I actually have Pinterest but it’s a long time since I’ve been there but no I usually let the plants and nature do what they think is best by themselves πŸ™‚ My garden is mostly for my dogs to be honest, what lives in the flower beds must be tough πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 6, 2015 at 6:14 pm

  5. Hi Christer,

    Love your comment about the neon spider,what a beautiful colour it is. I hope your tree Peony survives wind and rain.Our shrub Peony has lots of buds on it,but the rain ruins the flowers so I take lots of pictures of them as soon as they open:)

    Nick Owen presented the ITV morning programme with Ann Diamond..that was a blast from the past.

    Hope you are having a good weekend.

    June 6, 2015 at 10:11 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      πŸ™‚

      The tree peony looked fine yesterday but I haven’t checked it yeat this morning. I think I might get a chance to see the flowers open before the wind might destroy them πŸ™‚

      Yes Nock Owen!!! I just couldn’t remember his last name πŸ™‚ I watched them every morning and they worked great together, must be more than 25 years ago I saw them the first time πŸ™‚

      So far so good πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!

      Christer.

      June 7, 2015 at 5:26 am

  6. Christer,
    My favorite picture is the one with the lantern cast in concrete with the orange flowers. It is a lovely picture. The deer are definitely used to you and see none of you, two or four footed, as a threat.

    I think I would also walk Gracie around the cows. She sees a cat across the road and wants to jump the fence to get them. I can’t imagine how she’d react to cows or deer.

    I wish I had even a small amount of the plant and flowers knowledge you have.

    Have a great rest of the weekend!

    June 7, 2015 at 1:14 am

    • Hi Kat!

      Those orange flowers rteally light up that photo.

      Yes one knows they know us well when they just move because they were surprised someone walked there at all πŸ™‚

      Always best to avoid cows if a dog follows You, cows can be truly nasty and tro be honest, a dog is just a wolf for them so they do feel the need to get rid of the threat fast.

      Sometimes it doesn’t matter that one knows a lot, the plants die anyway πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      CVhrister.

      June 7, 2015 at 5:38 am

  7. Thanks for the link to NG. Loved them all but especially the meditating Bertil.
    Great photos on this post too!
    The deer I showed on my blog has now visited several times. It makes me happy but now I’m worried about my flowers! Lol!
    I’ve also had a visit from a snake. Not the same one but smaller…. I can not find the words to describe how I’m feeling about this.
    😦

    June 8, 2015 at 4:09 pm

    • Hi Cindi!

      I saw that aboutr the latest snake on Fb πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ I think You were very brave to get rid of it Yourself and not killing it! I wish we lived closer so I could help You, not with the snake but with Your fear of them πŸ™‚ They do so much good and mostly they are just as afraid of You as You are of them. Do You have any poisonous snakes in Your city?

      Meditating Bertil is quite good πŸ™‚

      It’s fun but mtΓ½ deers don’t eat my flowers and that’s odd because the ones I have are usually favorites to eat amongst them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 8, 2015 at 6:20 pm

      • I wish you could help me too.
        I’m not sure how I could ever get over this fear.
        I hate having something possessing the ability of terrifying me so badly.
        And I truly don’t know anyone I trust enough not to throw or put a snake on me.
        I don’t even trust Lily my niece. People seem to think its funny, but it’s NOT.
        Any suggestions?

        June 11, 2015 at 8:11 pm

      • Hi Cindi!

        The first step is to just watch a snake through a terrarium, the next should be to look at one without any glass between You and the snake. First from a distance and then a bit closer every time You’ll go to where the snake is. Next just watch a snake sitting on its owner and this should all be taken slowly. You need to get used to see the snake for a long time every time until You feel less scared for each time. When You can stand close to the owner and the snake it’s time to touch it, just a light touch. You will realise that it will get easier for each time You meet the snake. The last step is when You actually hold the snake πŸ™‚ It is actually much easier than You can think! Never rush anything, You must feel relaxed before You take the next step.
        Another really important thing is to learn what kind of snakes You have in the wild where You live, it’s never a good thing to be too comfortable with a poisonous snake πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

        It’s anything but funny! Life will get much easier if You know what to expect, to learn what snakes are harmless and what snakes to avoid at all costs πŸ™‚

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

        June 11, 2015 at 8:37 pm

Leave a Reply

