Frost!

DSC_0020

We woke up at 4:30 this morning and since the sun was on its way up I thought we just as well could take a walk. I have to admit that I got a bit surprised when I saw how cold it was outside -1C (30,2F). The world wasn’t covered in white but the frost did cover lots of plants even though the sun heated up the air rapidly.

 

DSC_0021

The flowers didn't look too happy, frost covered as they were.

The flowers didn’t look too happy, frost covered as they were.

DSC_0024

Can You see the tiny ice crystals on the dandelion seeds?

Can You see the tiny ice crystals on the dandelion seeds?

We walked down the road towards the fields and later on the creek so we would be as much as possible in the sunshine. The dogs didn’t mind if it was cold but I did πŸ™‚ I brought the camera with me so all photos You see today comes from our morning walk. Β I had hoped that I would see the fox that usually walks at the end of that road every morning but I guess we were a bit too early this time.

 

DSC_0032

DSC_0033

DSC_0035

DSC_0038

The day has been even warmer than yesterday and I don’t think we’ve had any wind at all either. So I only wore a t-shirt on our walk this afternoon. I brought the Hasselblad camera with me, there was still five photos to take before I will send the film rolls to get developed. I took some what I think really nice photos but to my surprise there will be no photos from this roll of film, I’ve put it in backwards πŸ™‚ ( The film is covered by paper on the backside so no photos if it is put in the wrong way πŸ™‚ ) I tried to roll it back again so I could start all over but I failed miserably πŸ™‚

DSC_0040

DSC_0042

DSC_0043

DSC_0045

It is time for something to eat and to see the news on tv before I go to bed.

Have a great day!

 

DSC_0048

16 responses

  1. The dandelion is beautiful Christer,such delicate crystals.
    i hope it is a bit warmer tomorrow for you.

    June 9, 2015 at 7:53 pm

    • Hi Lesley!

      I wasn’t sure how that photo would look like but it turned out rather fine πŸ™‚

      I do hope this was the last frost night but it does feel a bit chilly outside right now.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 9, 2015 at 8:15 pm

  2. beautiful photos!!!!

    June 9, 2015 at 8:31 pm

    • Hi Laurie!

      I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 9, 2015 at 8:34 pm

  3. Caryn

    Hi Christer,
    I love the dandelion photo. Very delicate. Excellent shot.

    It’s another manifestation of Murphy’s Law that you are certain to take the best photographs if you have put the film in bass ackwards. I remember taping myself playing guitar and singing. I did a great job with that song and was glad I had thought to tape it. I hit the rewind and the tape recorder shredded the tape. 😦

    Plants are okay with a light frost as long as it warms up quickly after sunrise and there’s not much wind.
    No danger of frost here now. It’s humid but the wind is cool. I got a grocery delivery this morning and the delivery driver was wearing a sweater and tee shirt. I commented that it was getting kind of humid and he said he didn’t like humidity. He was from Brazil and was going back to visit family. He showed me where he was going and it was where Brazil sticks right out into the Atlantic. Very, very humid there. Probably worse than here.

    I turned off the switch to the oil burner so it won’t go on at all. I may even put my winter clothes away. It finally might be okay to do that. πŸ™‚

    Enjoy the day.

    June 9, 2015 at 8:36 pm

    • Hi Caryn!

      I do like that one too, it isn’t the same as the one on Ng and I did cut it a bit so the crystals would be a bit more visible.

      It is so typical! But to be honest, I can’t remember doing anything different that time when I put in the film πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Too bad it was the photos of the old tomb field that I lost by doing this πŸ™‚ I did put in a new one this morning and took all twelve photos today, so I’ll ship three films to be developed tomorrow morning.

      Oh the eating tape recorder! I don’t know how many times I lost tapes to my recorders πŸ™‚ I can imagine how You felt when that happened!

      It is the tomato plants I worried about, they can die if the temperature falls below 39F. Thankfully they stood just beside the wall of the cottage so it never got that cold there, they still look fine but will most likely not grow anything more this and perhaps next week πŸ™‚

      T-shirt weather today despite a semi strong wind, it was strong enough to keep the mosquitoes away but not the stronger flies πŸ™‚

      Poor man πŸ™‚ Those temperatures and high humidity and doesn’t like that πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

      I have one radiator still on but it doesn’t start until it gets colder than 59F indoors, so it has been rather calm these last days πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 10, 2015 at 6:26 pm

  4. Christer,
    I am amazed at how short a summer you’ve had. I would really hate that. Our summer hasn’t even started yet, and we’ll have all of July and August and part of September.

    I also have my groceries delivered. I love not having to go to the grocery store. If I need something in between, I have a wonderful store near me.

    Humidity is the worst of all. Summer is hot enough without adding humidity. It is unbearable then.

    Enjoy your evening!

    June 9, 2015 at 9:33 pm

    • Hi Kat!

      I guess it’s the price we have to pay after having such a warm and nice winter.

      It starts to cool down considerable here in August and we’ll get our first frost after the first week in September, I don’t mind the first frost as long as it kills the moose flies πŸ™‚

      The store in the village where I work is perfect! not too big, they have almost everything I need and they work really fast when we’re paying but still have lots of time to chat πŸ™‚ so I don’t mind grocery shopping there. Not too fond of the super market though.

      Yes humidity in summer is awful! It makes beautiful rime if it would happen a day before it gets really cold in winter though πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 10, 2015 at 6:32 pm

  5. jaz

    frost? how can i be living in heat hell and you have frost? the weather is too strange. i can’t imagine what our august is going to be like when we have 90 degree temps now. i also wonder how the plants will handle this heat for so long. it is not natural.

    June 9, 2015 at 11:00 pm

    • Hi Joyce!

      Yes but it should be the last time now, at least I hope so πŸ™‚

      90 is an awful lot already now and some plants just can’t handle that. But I know how much You water Your plans so they will most likely manage hot weather for a long time. The natural ones though will have a tough time, if it gets dry they might drop their leafs to save energy and try to survive until the next rain.

      Have a great day despite the heat!
      Christer.

      June 10, 2015 at 6:36 pm

  6. 90 degrees here too!
    : p
    Like the cow photo.
    πŸ™‚

    June 10, 2015 at 12:19 am

    • Hi Cindi!

      I think we almost reached 68F today πŸ™‚

      Cows are always right in photos πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 10, 2015 at 6:37 pm

  7. Oh, I’m so sorry about the frost! You weren’t kidding when you wrote that you can have frost in June! The poor flowers! By the way, the photo of the dandelion seed pod, or whatever you call it, is exquisite. Never in my life have I seen a frost-covered one. Superb photography, Christer, thanks so much for sharing. I greatly enjoy all of your posts. There’s been an unexpected development here on the other side of the Atlantic, too. The female Bluebird has vacated her nest, leaving her eggs unhatched: http://barnswallowfriends.blogspot.com/2015/06/ive-got-bluebird-blues.html

    June 10, 2015 at 8:53 am

    • Hi Adele!

      It is worse even further north, they still have problems reaching 50F. It looks like my tomato plants managed to survive it though πŸ™‚

      I had no idea what I should call that, dandelion seed pod sound perfect πŸ™‚ I think it is the first one I’ve ever seen too πŸ™‚ I’m glad You like them πŸ™‚

      I checked Your blog while working today but I’ll return either later today or tomorrow. I wonder what has happened?

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 10, 2015 at 6:40 pm

  8. Dianna

    Hi Christer! Frost!!! Oh no! That’s not what you’d expect to wake up to, let alone this late in June. Poor flowers! I have to say that the picture of the dandelion is perfect! So clear you can see such detail. We have been pleasant here with temps around 25 celcius. I rode my bike to work today – first ride to work of the season. It was really nice but left home too early, which meant I got to work too early! πŸ™‚ Oh well – its good exercise. The tree peony is beautiful!! Have a good Wednesday!

    June 10, 2015 at 1:16 pm

    • Hi Dianna!

      Everything survived though πŸ™‚ The tiny broccoli looks fine and now both the carrots and red onions show too πŸ™‚
      I do like that photo too πŸ™‚

      I think we reached 20C today and it is just perfect! I live too far from work to bike there, too bad I did it all the time back in the days. But my rheumatism has made my right foot pointing slightly wrong so my heel hits the bike when I pedal. I tend to get to work a bit early so I can sit down, have some coffee and read the news before I start working πŸ™‚

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      June 10, 2015 at 6:44 pm

Leave a Reply

